You are not logged in.

#51 2013-06-07 15:03:21

liticovjesac
Member
From: Stockholm-Belgrade-Köln
Registered: 2008-07-16
Posts: 88

Re: /usr/bin changes and grub legacy

Everything went fine. Upgrade successfull except that i can't start xfce anymore with exec ck-launch-session dbus-launch startxfce4. Just exec xfce4 works. Thanx a lot for advices!

Offline

#52 2013-06-07 15:08:03

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: /usr/bin changes and grub legacy

You shouldn't be using consolekit anyway.  It was removed from the repos a while ago when the same functioanlity was fully taen over by systemd's logind.  If that package is still on your system (which is shouldn't be after the /usr move), you can remove it and go on your merry way.  Also dbus should launch itself, so there is really no need to have the "dbus-launch" thing anymore.

Offline

#53 2013-06-07 15:13:27

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 13,698
Website

Re: /usr/bin changes and grub legacy

I might have to cross post this to the 'oh nice' thread.  When did dbus start launching it's own 'dbus-launch' process?  I still had dbus-launch in xinitrc.


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#54 2013-06-07 16:34:09

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: /usr/bin changes and grub legacy

I am not sure when this became the way, but with systemd at least, it is so dependent on dbus for interprocess communication, that it kind of has to be running in order for things to work.

Offline

#55 2013-06-07 16:55:01

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 13,698
Website

Re: /usr/bin changes and grub legacy

Eh, no - it doesn't need dbus-launch.

When I am in an x session, I have three dbus processes: two dbus-daemon (user dbus and my user) and one dbus-launch.  Dbus's dbus-daemon starts during the boot process.  The other two have always started only when I start X with dbus-launch in my xinitrc.  But these two aren't needed for everything.  Even before the new behavior, I could start X without dbus-launch, and most things would work fine with the single dbus process.  But web browsers would not start.

So previously:
  1 dbus -> most things work even in X
  3 dbus -> everything works, but the 2 additional processes had to be started with dbus-launch
Now:
  1 dbus -> most things work
  3 dbus -> everything works, and the 2 additional processes are launched on demand.

I can start X now with just one dbus-daemon running, then when I open my web browser, the other two process start - this is (relatively) new behavior.


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#56 2013-06-07 18:50:10

unhappy
Member
Registered: 2011-06-10
Posts: 7

Re: /usr/bin changes and grub legacy

I didn't want to create a new thread because my problem is exactly about /usr/bin and grub legacy.

First I did what Trilby suggested, namely:

mv /sbin/grub* /usr/bin/
mv /sbin/install-grub /usr/bin/
mv /bin/mbchck /usr/bin/
$EDITOR /var/lib/pacman/local/grub-<VERSIONNUMBER>/files

then as Kinux did I edited the file:

usr/bin/mbchk
boot/
boot/grub/
boot/grub/menu.lst
usr/bin/
usr/bin/grub
usr/bin/grub-install
usr/bin/grub-md5-crypt
usr/bin/grub-set-default
usr/bin/grub-terminfo
usr/bin/install-grub

lastly, I tried the update from the Arch Linux main page... but I can't seem to get "filesystem-2013.05-2" updated.

When I do "pacman -Qo /bin" it says that "/bin belongs to grub 0.97-21" ... and yes when I do "pacman -Qqo /bin /sbin /usr/sbin | pacman -Qm -"
it shows me "grub 0.97-21" is still there (although before I moved it into /usr/bin it was listed twice). And /bin is now empty by the way.

How can I fix this? I'm somewhat afraid to restart my computer because it might not do the job properly?


EDIT: OK I just deleted GRUB and installed Syslinux. Everything works flawlessly. :-)

Last edited by unhappy (2013-06-07 21:22:58)

Offline

#57 2013-06-07 19:22:28

liticovjesac
Member
From: Stockholm-Belgrade-Köln
Registered: 2008-07-16
Posts: 88

Re: /usr/bin changes and grub legacy

According to wiki https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xfce#Manually seems that today one doesnt need dbus-launch to start xfce. In my case those lines was there for a quite long time. Working quite fine.

Offline

#58 2013-06-07 19:34:00

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 4,896

Re: /usr/bin changes and grub legacy

if /bin exists and is empty, delete it

Offline

#59 2013-06-09 09:56:56

markus2107
Member
Registered: 2012-03-21
Posts: 46

Re: /usr/bin changes and grub legacy

Hey Folks,

I'm about to do what the news tells me .

I've updated all the aur packages, so that they're ready for an upgrade, expect for grub legacy (0.97-21).
It's still listed when i run the following command

pacman -Qqo /bin /sbin /usr/sbin | pacman -Qm -

And its there twice

grub 0.97-21
grub 0.97-21

I'm running arch on a MacBook and i'm really happy everything is working so far, so i really would like to stick with grub legacy.
So what are my options? Can i simply install grub legacy from the aur?

Thanks for your advice!

Offline

#60 2013-06-09 10:09:58

msthev
Member
Registered: 2012-04-05
Posts: 177

Re: /usr/bin changes and grub legacy

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=164456
grub-legacy from AUR is updated to use /usr/bin.

Offline

#61 2013-06-09 10:23:57

Kooothor
Member
From: Paname
Registered: 2008-08-02
Posts: 222
Website

Re: /usr/bin changes and grub legacy

I had the exact same thing. The newest grub-legacy PKGBUILD couldn't compile, so I installed GRUB(2) and everything is fine now smile

Offline

#62 2013-06-09 13:04:21

Xyne
Moderator/TU
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 5,644
Website

Re: /usr/bin changes and grub legacy

merged markus2107's thread

Offline

#63 2013-06-09 13:45:18

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: /usr/bin changes and grub legacy

Doesn't compile?  I did it just the other day as a test.  You need multilib enabled if you are on a 64bit machine.

Offline

#64 2013-06-09 19:43:07

markus2107
Member
Registered: 2012-03-21
Posts: 46

Re: /usr/bin changes and grub legacy

Thanks for merging my thread into this one, did'nt see it (<--- beeing sorry)
After reading through this thread i did mv the grub files to the new location in /usr/bin and changed the locations in the "files" file.

Thanks to all your advice, worked liked a charm!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB