You are not logged in.

#101 2014-04-13 20:08:33

ant32
Member
Registered: 2013-03-23
Posts: 24

Re: KDE Frameworks 5 packages

I fixed the ant32-kf5-git repo http://ant32.linuxd.org/

There are some packages that have some missing dependencies. I posted comments to the relevent packages.
kio-extras-git
kfilemetadata-frameworks-git
baloo-frameworks-git
milou-frameworks-git

There where also a couple packages that needed to be rebuild but didn't have a recent git commit. I bumped the pkgrel of those packages. (Hopefully taht doesn't cause issues.)
systemsettings-git
libksysguard-git
kwrited-git

I have been fairly busy lately.

Offline

#102 2014-04-17 13:16:54

edmael
Member
From: Corte de' Frati, Italy
Registered: 2012-07-19
Posts: 54
Website

Re: KDE Frameworks 5 packages

Ok, let's say I'd like to try this on a plain new Arch install.
Would you suggest it or should I install KDE4 and only then trying this repo?

There's an actual difference between the repo and building from AUR as for now?

Thanks!

Offline

#103 2014-04-19 12:36:32

alumni
Member
Registered: 2014-04-19
Posts: 1

Re: KDE Frameworks 5 packages

I just installed KF5 without KDE4. I copied the session file and the xinit script from plasma-workspace-git and I am trying to log in from the display manager. The mouse theme changes to oxygen white, but then I quickly get the display manager again.

I also added another session file which calls a script that contains the code from the first post (which sets all variables and launches plasma shell). In this case there are no window decorations and no icons. Also, the list of installed applications is not in the menu, you cannot log out (you need to kill plasma-shell from another tty).

Offline

#104 2014-04-27 17:45:51

hagabaka
Member
Registered: 2010-12-15
Posts: 26

Re: KDE Frameworks 5 packages

In ant32's kf5 respository, kdnssd replaces and conflicts with kdnssd-framework, but kdnssd-framework is still in the kf5 group, so you can't install the whole kf5 group due to conflicts.

Offline

#105 2014-04-29 17:16:29

ant32
Member
Registered: 2013-03-23
Posts: 24

Re: KDE Frameworks 5 packages

I think I fixed/updated everything now again. In my case I don't have window decarations but it could just be a temparary bug.

Offline

#106 2014-04-29 20:30:25

arojas
Developer
From: Spain
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 1,185

Re: KDE Frameworks 5 packages

ant32 wrote:

I think I fixed/updated everything now again. In my case I don't have window decarations but it could just be a temparary bug.

This was fixed in kwin yesterday

Offline

#107 2014-04-30 17:51:11

pepedopolous
Member
Registered: 2012-02-12
Posts: 71

Re: KDE Frameworks 5 packages

Updated today but it crashes and sends me back to KDM.

Online

#108 2014-04-30 20:34:10

ilpianista
Fellow developer
From: Lecce, Italy
Registered: 2007-10-06
Posts: 567
Website

Re: KDE Frameworks 5 packages

pepedopolous wrote:

Updated today but it crashes and sends me back to KDM.

Maybe related to https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/40149?

Offline

#109 2014-05-04 09:47:56

pepedopolous
Member
Registered: 2012-02-12
Posts: 71

Re: KDE Frameworks 5 packages

ilpianista wrote:
pepedopolous wrote:

Updated today but it crashes and sends me back to KDM.

Maybe related to https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/40149?


Thanks. Downgrading kdebase-workspace solved the problem.

Online

#110 2014-05-04 09:48:55

ilpianista
Fellow developer
From: Lecce, Italy
Registered: 2007-10-06
Posts: 567
Website

Re: KDE Frameworks 5 packages

pepedopolous wrote:

Thanks. Downgrading kdebase-workspace solved the problem.

It's already fixed since days. You should do an update :-)

Offline

#111 2014-05-04 10:06:32

arojas
Developer
From: Spain
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 1,185

Re: KDE Frameworks 5 packages

ilpianista wrote:

It's already fixed since days. You should do an update :-)

Actually it is still broken in kdm 4.11.9-2. As a workaround, add DesktopNames=KDE to kf5-plasma.desktop (already fixed in plasma-workspace-git in AUR)

Offline

#112 2014-05-04 10:10:08

ilpianista
Fellow developer
From: Lecce, Italy
Registered: 2007-10-06
Posts: 567
Website

Re: KDE Frameworks 5 packages

arojas wrote:

Actually it is still broken in kdm 4.11.9-2. As a workaround, add DesktopNames=KDE to kf5-plasma.desktop (already fixed in plasma-workspace-git in AUR)

What??
I did try with awesome here and it works.

Offline

#113 2014-05-04 10:21:45

arojas
Developer
From: Spain
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 1,185

Re: KDE Frameworks 5 packages

ilpianista wrote:

What??
I did try with awesome here and it works.

Must be something specific to plasma-next then: I removed DesktopNames from kde-plasma.desktop and it doesn't crash when loading KDE4, but it crashes when loading plasma-next if DesktopNames is not set in kf5-plasma.desktop.

Offline

#114 2014-05-04 16:16:26

AnAkkk
Member
Registered: 2014-03-03
Posts: 145

Re: KDE Frameworks 5 packages

Has anyone managed to use the screen backlight controls ? They work fine on KDE 4.13, but not with KF5. The battery monitor applet just says: "no screen or keyboard brightness controls available".

Offline

#115 2014-05-14 11:30:06

andre.vmatos
Member
Registered: 2010-07-28
Posts: 19

Re: KDE Frameworks 5 packages

Please, can someone update packages/list to Plasma Next beta1? Thanks

Offline

#116 2014-05-15 01:06:48

Buddlespit
Member
From: Chesapeake, Va.
Registered: 2014-02-07
Posts: 355

Re: KDE Frameworks 5 packages

andre.vmatos wrote:

Please, can someone update packages/list to Plasma Next beta1? Thanks

kde-unstable repo?

Offline

#117 2014-05-15 10:35:04

cruiseliu
Member
Registered: 2014-05-15
Posts: 1

Re: KDE Frameworks 5 packages

Buddlespit wrote:
andre.vmatos wrote:

Please, can someone update packages/list to Plasma Next beta1? Thanks

kde-unstable repo?

kde-unstable conflicts with KDE 4.13, while the AUR packages are installed in /opt
So it will be nice if some can update these packages.

Last edited by cruiseliu (2014-05-15 10:35:40)

Offline

#118 2014-05-16 23:24:26

ilpianista
Fellow developer
From: Lecce, Italy
Registered: 2007-10-06
Posts: 567
Website

Re: KDE Frameworks 5 packages

KDE Frameworks 5 packages are now in [extra].

I'll open another thread about Plasma Next.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB