You are not logged in.

#26 2013-06-19 19:25:54

ilpianista
Fellow developer
From: Lecce, Italy
Registered: 2007-10-06
Posts: 567
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

ontobelli wrote:

Could you please tell us  how to enable Wayland?

You have to follow Martin's post. Packages doesn't need any rebuild/change.

Offline

#27 2013-06-20 01:05:33

murugan
Member
Registered: 2010-08-02
Posts: 26

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

Finally I got success!. I just followed martin's blog post. I am replying from KDE session with wayland backend.
Window maximize/resize animation is really smooth.

Offline

#28 2013-06-21 13:54:00

sas
Member
Registered: 2009-11-24
Posts: 153

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

After this upgrade, Kate no longer finds any of its plugins on my installation.

It starts up fine, but all plugin-provided functionality (like the Konsole panel or tab bar) is missing, and the plugins list in the config dialog is empty: http://i.imgur.com/u3Z5Goy.png

Any idea what is going on, or how to debug this?

Last edited by sas (2013-06-21 15:21:09)


my AUR packages ~~ my community contributions ~~ my referral link for Copy.com (an Arch Linux compatible free cloud storage service - if you sign up via this link both of us get 5GB bonus storage!)

Offline

#29 2013-06-21 14:36:52

Cdh
Member
Registered: 2009-02-03
Posts: 1,098

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

murugan wrote:

Finally I got success!. I just followed martin's blog post. I am replying from KDE session with wayland backend.
Window maximize/resize animation is really smooth.

Kinda works, but plasma crashes when starting. And I haven't found any documentation on how to change the mouse speed in kwin.
And there's only llvmpipe available in wayland+kwin, not opengl.

Last edited by Cdh (2013-06-21 14:43:11)


฿ 18PRsqbZCrwPUrVnJe1BZvza7bwSDbpxZz

Offline

#30 2013-06-22 01:01:19

murugan
Member
Registered: 2010-08-02
Posts: 26

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

Cdh wrote:
murugan wrote:

Finally I got success!. I just followed martin's blog post. I am replying from KDE session with wayland backend.
Window maximize/resize animation is really smooth.

Kinda works, but plasma crashes when starting. And I haven't found any documentation on how to change the mouse speed in kwin.
And there's only llvmpipe available in wayland+kwin, not opengl.

Yes there are some problems. Mouse speed problem, unable to take screenshots and some of apps (gtk?) are too slow. But opengl should be available I think. It will work better If you have Intel graphic card.

Offline

#31 2013-06-22 08:21:12

arojas
Developer
From: Spain
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 1,185

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

sas wrote:

After this upgrade, Kate no longer finds any of its plugins on my installation.

It starts up fine, but all plugin-provided functionality (like the Konsole panel or tab bar) is missing, and the plugins list in the config dialog is empty: http://i.imgur.com/u3Z5Goy.png

Any idea what is going on, or how to debug this?

The plugins have moved to a new "addons" folder in the source, the PKGBUILD needs to be updated to package them too. Open a ticket in bugs.archlinux.org

Online

#32 2013-06-22 08:43:58

ilpianista
Fellow developer
From: Lecce, Italy
Registered: 2007-10-06
Posts: 567
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

arojas wrote:

The plugins have moved to a new "addons" folder in the source, the PKGBUILD needs to be updated to package them too. Open a ticket in bugs.archlinux.org

Thanks, fixed with kdesdk-katepart 4.10.80-3.

Offline

#33 2013-06-22 08:59:40

Cdh
Member
Registered: 2009-02-03
Posts: 1,098

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

murugan wrote:

But opengl should be available I think. It will work better If you have Intel graphic card.

I have intel graphics. glxinfo shows llvmpipe and opengl 3d programs are really slow (because they use llvmpipe...). I haven't really looked why.


฿ 18PRsqbZCrwPUrVnJe1BZvza7bwSDbpxZz

Offline

#34 2013-06-22 13:54:47

josephk
Member
Registered: 2011-01-09
Posts: 97
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

sorry if i ask, but why is it necessary to install packages from testing?
i'd like to test kde sc on a stable system, not kernel, xorg, grub, etc..
thanks to the packaging team

Offline

#35 2013-06-22 14:31:08

desaparecido
Member
From: Liège, Belgium
Registered: 2010-03-14
Posts: 139

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

josephk wrote:

sorry if i ask, but why is it necessary to install packages from testing?
i'd like to test kde sc on a stable system, not kernel, xorg, grub, etc..
thanks to the packaging team

hi, this one is an alpha release (unstable version, like the repo name say), so if you want a stable system you need to install KDE from [extra] repo 4.10, is the stable version


KF5 & Plasma5 (git versions) - Awesome WM
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX - AMD FX8350 - ATI Radeon HD 7970
[testing] repo

Offline

#36 2013-06-22 14:34:46

desaparecido
Member
From: Liège, Belgium
Registered: 2010-03-14
Posts: 139

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

scarpino wrote:
Box0 wrote:

@scarpino

hi, thanks for packages, I upgraded smootly and all works fine (nvidia card GT 440 with proprietary driver), only problem, like other is amarok crash.  I tried rebuilding from sources and still crash.  Now I installed amarok-git builded from AUR packages and all works fine now, can rediscover my music again wink

It's fixed in amarok 2.7.1-2.

even if after some days ...  but thank's for this update package... all works fine now and music with amarok it's a good time smile ..


KF5 & Plasma5 (git versions) - Awesome WM
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX - AMD FX8350 - ATI Radeon HD 7970
[testing] repo

Offline

#37 2013-06-22 18:43:12

Cdh
Member
Registered: 2009-02-03
Posts: 1,098

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

josephk wrote:

sorry if i ask, but why is it necessary to install packages from testing?
i'd like to test kde sc on a stable system, not kernel, xorg, grub, etc..
thanks to the packaging team

I can obviously not recommend it, but currently there are only a few packages in testing and community testing and they don't seem like kde would depend on libraries in any of them so right now it should kinda work installing it without testing.

But if you take a look at only kdebase-workspace, it depends on these packages:
kdelibs>=4.10.80  kdepim-runtime  lm_sensors  libraw1394  qimageblitz  polkit-kde  xorg-xprop  libxdamage  libqalculate  libxklavier  xorg-xsetroot  libxcomposite  libxinerama  xorg-xrdb  libxres  xorg-xrandr  xorg-xmessage  libusb-compat  kde-base-artwork  xcb-util-renderutil  xcb-util-image  ttf-font  xcb-util-keysyms  xcb-util-wm

If only one of the shared libraries in there gets an incompatible update in testing and kde-unstable is rebuilt against it, it will most likely break if you don't have that too.

But as I said, there's only a few packages in testing right now, so upgrading to testing will probably be quick and painless. And after the kde release you can simply remove the testing repository again and do pacman -Syuu to downgrade everything to the stable repositories (has a little chance of breaking stuff too, but for me it never really has)

edit: Only do such things if you know how to fix things that break. smile


Also edit:
I see still no way to get the notification window back when previously you had more monitors connected and they are now outside the current monitor area. Am I missing something?

Last edited by Cdh (2013-06-22 20:18:09)


฿ 18PRsqbZCrwPUrVnJe1BZvza7bwSDbpxZz

Offline

#38 2013-06-23 12:16:07

josephk
Member
Registered: 2011-01-09
Posts: 97
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

yeah, things are calm now, but, for ex., kernel 3.10 will hit testing in one week. that is to say, we have kde releases every 6 months and a testing window of minimum 2 months, there will be less painless cases ahead when you'll have to install kernel, xorg stack etc. what more will be more difficult, is to test a DE in a OS in major instability.

so, the whole point of my posting is: wouldn't it be nice to have testing packages upon which kde depends in kde-unstable repo, so to keep testing disabled?
anyway those packages will hit testing repo when kde stable will.

it sounds like a proposal
thanks for the feedback

Last edited by josephk (2013-06-23 12:21:53)

Offline

#39 2013-06-23 21:16:56

Cdh
Member
Registered: 2009-02-03
Posts: 1,098

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

By the way, am I the only one that can't associate "file types" with applications anymore in dolphin?

edit: and type 2 "Link" desktop files don't work in dolphin either.

http://standards.freedesktop.org/deskto … 01s05.html

If I make a file google.desktop with content

[Desktop Entry]
Icon=text-html
Name=Google
Type=Link
URL=http://google.com

then nautilus will open google in chromium, my default web browser while dolphin will open a message box "Could not find the program 'chromium.desktop'", go into a weird mode where it has "http://google.com/" in its url bar and prints

/bin/sh: chromium.desktop: command not found

Does this work with 4.10 dolphin?

Last edited by Cdh (2013-06-26 13:20:18)


฿ 18PRsqbZCrwPUrVnJe1BZvza7bwSDbpxZz

Offline

#40 2013-06-27 22:19:44

josephk
Member
Registered: 2011-01-09
Posts: 97
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

Cdh wrote:

Does this work with 4.10 dolphin?

in dolphin "dolphin does not support web pages, the web browser has been launched."

+ message box "could not find konqueror", while chromium is the default

Offline

#41 2013-06-28 01:21:03

murugan
Member
Registered: 2010-08-02
Posts: 26

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

josephk wrote:
Cdh wrote:

Does this work with 4.10 dolphin?

in dolphin "dolphin does not support web pages, the web browser has been launched."

+ message box "could not find konqueror", while chromium is the default

May be you have to set default browser in kde system settings > Default Applications > web browser.
It works for me.

Last edited by murugan (2013-06-28 01:22:14)

Offline

#42 2013-06-29 12:31:56

Radfahrer
Member
Registered: 2008-04-29
Posts: 31

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

Since the upgrade to beta 2 the oxygen widget style seems missing. Looks pretty ugly without it. Anyone else having this issue?

Offline

#43 2013-06-29 21:58:42

sl1pkn07
Member
From: Spanishtán
Registered: 2010-03-30
Posts: 312

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

sl1pkn07 wrote:

err...

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/6596386/err.png

with effect activated (nvidia)

edit
test opengl modes on systemsettings>effects

opengl 1.2: with effects OK | wout effects = OK
opengl 2.0: with effects NOK | wout effects = OK
opengl 3.1: with effects NOK | wout effects = OK

OpenGL version string: 3.3.0 NVIDIA 319.23
OpenGL core profile version string: 3.3.0 NVIDIA 319.23
nvidia gtx285

edit2 (segfaul fixed with rebuild smoothtasks)

fixed in rc2! \o/

Offline

#44 2013-07-02 11:26:46

josephk
Member
Registered: 2011-01-09
Posts: 97
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

so finally i've upgraded to 4.11 beta 2 and packaging work seems perfect, 0 problems with arch so far. few -little- regression in kde sc tough, but all in all everything runs smooth, apart from same 'ol bugs smile

what i miss is homerun in community/extra sad i'm bored with kickoff

Last edited by josephk (2013-07-02 11:43:02)

Offline

#45 2013-07-02 20:07:20

Arctus
Member
Registered: 2012-07-14
Posts: 85

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

Does anyone else have problems with the KWin/GRUB2 reboot controls? Mine seem to be broken.

Offline

#46 2013-07-03 01:22:54

relgueta
Member
Registered: 2010-04-26
Posts: 31

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

murugan wrote:

Finally I got success!. I just followed martin's blog post. I am replying from KDE session with wayland backend.
Window maximize/resize animation is really smooth.

could you write about what you do?, read the blog and wayland starts but no plasma hmm

Offline

#47 2013-07-03 09:42:13

murugan
Member
Registered: 2010-08-02
Posts: 26

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

could you write about what you do?, read the blog and wayland starts but no plasma hmm

did you modify the startkde script as mentioned in the post?

Offline

#48 2013-07-03 17:52:48

josephk
Member
Registered: 2011-01-09
Posts: 97
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

relgueta wrote:

could you write about what you do?, read the blog and wayland starts but no plasma hmm

same here (but at the end i don't care) (could it be fault of commented ttys in /etc/securetty or having root disabled?)

-*-*-*-*-

is "Confirm logout" option working properly to you, brave testers? here it isn't.

Last edited by josephk (2013-07-04 15:56:23)

Offline

#49 2013-07-04 03:28:19

relgueta
Member
Registered: 2010-04-26
Posts: 31

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

murugan wrote:

could you write about what you do?, read the blog and wayland starts but no plasma hmm

did you modify the startkde script as mentioned in the post?

here is my startkde http://pastebin.com/UR9sfj7J change line 26 for qbindir, add at the top the "wayland exports"

#!/bin/sh
weston-launch -- --socket=wayland-systemd-0 &
Xvfb -screen 0 1440x900x24 :99 &
startkde-wayland &

and thats my kwayland, your startkde-wayland and kwayland are the same??

Offline

#50 2013-07-05 11:14:17

murugan
Member
Registered: 2010-08-02
Posts: 26

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.11

relgueta wrote:
murugan wrote:

could you write about what you do?, read the blog and wayland starts but no plasma hmm

did you modify the startkde script as mentioned in the post?

here is my startkde http://pastebin.com/UR9sfj7J change line 26 for qbindir, add at the top the "wayland exports"

#!/bin/sh
weston-launch -- --socket=wayland-systemd-0 &
Xvfb -screen 0 1440x900x24 :99 &
startkde-wayland &

and thats my kwayland, your startkde-wayland and kwayland are the same??

here is my script to start kde
http://pastebin.com/AWTTEWN6
Just copy your modified /usr/bin/startkde to /usr/bin/startkde-wayland.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB