You are not logged in.

#26 2013-08-09 02:09:39

DarkPoe
Member
From: Cali
Registered: 2013-08-02
Posts: 5

Re: 2013.08-1 archboot "2k13-R2" ISO hybrid image released

Thanks man, I appreciate it and hope it all ends up good smile

Offline

#27 2013-08-11 07:09:46

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,262

Re: 2013.08-1 archboot "2k13-R2" ISO hybrid image released

One thing, which is pretty strange with your setup:
sda is managed as disk and fakeraid?
What sense does it make to install on a degraded fakeraid device?
sdb is not partitioned the same as sda and not involved into the fakeraid.

Offline

#28 2013-08-11 09:23:41

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,262

Re: 2013.08-1 archboot "2k13-R2" ISO hybrid image released

And can you please try to stop md device first and retry with dmraid -ay -I -Z
mdadm --manage --stop /dev/md126
mdadm --manage --stop /dev/md127

Last edited by tpowa (2013-08-12 10:46:32)

Offline

#29 2013-08-12 14:18:16

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,262

Re: 2013.08-1 archboot "2k13-R2" ISO hybrid image released

DarkPoe wrote:

Thanks man, I appreciate it and hope it all ends up good smile

https://projects.archlinux.org/archboot … ec1f5440ca
Please try this setup in your booted environment it should at least list all devices correct and you could try to install with it.

greetings
tpowa

Last edited by tpowa (2013-08-12 14:25:45)

Offline

#30 2013-08-14 23:25:38

DarkPoe
Member
From: Cali
Registered: 2013-08-02
Posts: 5

Re: 2013.08-1 archboot "2k13-R2" ISO hybrid image released

Idk, gparted gets to manage my fakeraid device well as /dev/sdX

Another thing

http://i42.tinypic.com/kt7xg.jpg

I tried the other setup, but it lists them (and i have md126p4 formatted as ext4) but it won't even let me format not mount it straightforware as /install it says error mounting as /install

So I'm kind of stuck in there sad




-- mod edit: read the Forum Etiquette and only post thumbnails http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/For … s_and_Code [jwr] --

Offline

#31 2013-08-15 18:06:19

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,262

Re: 2013.08-1 archboot "2k13-R2" ISO hybrid image released

Is it not possible to activate the array with dmraid when mdadm has stopped the devices?
You need to disable md126 and md127 else it's not possible to run dmraid activation.
What is the error message when you try to mount it? Anything in dmesg or console if you do it by hand?
Also what does mkfs.ext4 output say?

Thanks for helping tracking this down.

Last edited by tpowa (2013-08-15 18:09:07)

Offline

#32 2013-08-16 01:38:38

DarkPoe
Member
From: Cali
Registered: 2013-08-02
Posts: 5

Re: 2013.08-1 archboot "2k13-R2" ISO hybrid image released

As you see, i only have md126... Seems it takes sometimes the USB as md127

It is not possible as you see in the bottom, couldnt parse stripe destinaton

Will try to mount manually. When i do i will report back (also with mkfs.ext4)

Offline

#33 2013-08-16 10:50:25

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,262

Re: 2013.08-1 archboot "2k13-R2" ISO hybrid image released

DarkPoe wrote:

As you see, i only have md126... Seems it takes sometimes the USB as md127

It is not possible as you see in the bottom, couldnt parse stripe destinaton

This indicates that mdadm has not fully free your device. On my test setup in qemu, the fakeraid device should have a container device.
In my case this is md127 which contains only the metadata of the raid setup.
What does cat /proc/mdstat report?

Offline

#34 2013-08-20 12:46:23

cybe-arch
Member
Registered: 2007-09-02
Posts: 53
Website

Re: 2013.08-1 archboot "2k13-R2" ISO hybrid image released

When installing base system it gives me a loop of

/usr/bin/true: reloaction error: /install/user/lib/libc.so.6: symbol _dl_find_dso_for_object, version GLIBC_PRIVATE not defined in file ld-linux-x86-64.so.2 with link time reference.

Offline

#35 2013-08-20 12:50:16

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,262

Re: 2013.08-1 archboot "2k13-R2" ISO hybrid image released

Which program calls this? The installation routine is pure pacman so something is wrong in the repos.

Offline

#36 2013-08-21 07:56:19

cybe-arch
Member
Registered: 2007-09-02
Posts: 53
Website

Re: 2013.08-1 archboot "2k13-R2" ISO hybrid image released

Must be pacman.. When installing glibc

Video here

ps -ef | grep pacman

returns nothing.

When killing bash /arch/setup it stops the error loop.

Update: Tried to install with pacstrap /install base, then it went through without errors, but when i execute /arch/setup after the install it starts the relocation error loop again.

When removing ${DESTDIR}/usr/lib from LD_LIBRARY_PATH in /arch/setup it executes OK.

Last edited by cybe-arch (2013-08-21 09:01:57)

Offline

#37 2013-08-21 09:28:12

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,262

Re: 2013.08-1 archboot "2k13-R2" ISO hybrid image released

Ah thanks for this hint, this was added for installing grub correctly, seems we need to change this a bit.

Offline

#38 2013-08-21 10:53:26

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,262

Re: 2013.08-1 archboot "2k13-R2" ISO hybrid image released

Ok problem found and fixed in git, next version will not cause such trouble anymore.

Offline

#39 2013-08-21 14:29:31

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,262

Re: 2013.08-1 archboot "2k13-R2" ISO hybrid image released

New beta4 ISO will now sync to the mirrors.
ISO is based on archboot-2013.08-2

Offline

#40 2013-08-23 12:02:46

fredbezies
Member
Registered: 2011-07-28
Posts: 294

Re: 2013.08-1 archboot "2k13-R2" ISO hybrid image released

Another ISO to download and test ! Great big_smile

Small bug. I installed an archlinux with testing enabled. Packages grabbing and installation OK.

But when I looked at pacman.conf in "Configure System" section, both testing and community-testing where commented. Known bug ? Because if you install an archlinux with testing and after first boot testing is not enabled... Well big_smile

Besides this bug, nothing to add. Old bios partitionning setup is OK, grub-bios too !

I noticed something : I wanted to test uefi with VirtualBox and beta4 ISO : it took something to 4 or 5 minutes to boot sad

Had this bug on grub2 installation, but nothing wrong happened. I also accepted to copy efi file in a further step.

http://farm6.staticflickr.com/5325/9577 … 636c_c.jpg




-- mod edit: read the Forum Etiquette and only post thumbnails http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/For … s_and_Code [jwr] --

Last edited by fredbezies (2013-08-23 14:48:53)

Offline

#41 2013-08-23 20:07:42

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,262

Re: 2013.08-1 archboot "2k13-R2" ISO hybrid image released

In the meantime, final isos uploaded and released based on archboot-2013.08-3.
Enjoy this release thanks to all helped improving it.

greetings
tpowa

Offline

#42 2013-08-24 06:09:05

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,262

Re: 2013.08-1 archboot "2k13-R2" ISO hybrid image released

fredbezies wrote:

Small bug. I installed an archlinux with testing enabled. Packages grabbing and installation OK.
But when I looked at pacman.conf in "Configure System" section, both testing and community-testing where commented. Known bug ? Because if you install an archlinux with testing and after first boot testing is not enabled... Well big_smile

Will look at it, for next release.

fredbezies wrote:

I noticed something : I wanted to test uefi with VirtualBox and beta4 ISO : it took something to 4 or 5 minutes to boot sad

I don't know about virtualbox are you using ovmf for uefi? It's normal that uefi needs much longer too boot in emulation mode. I use qemu with --enable-kvm and ovmf to test UEFI.

fredbezies wrote:

Had this bug on grub2 installation, but nothing wrong happened. I also accepted to copy efi file in a further step.

Please post all steps that I can try to reproduce it.

Offline

#43 2013-08-29 09:27:53

raymondcal
Member
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 45

Re: 2013.08-1 archboot "2k13-R2" ISO hybrid image released

arokh wrote:

Great work but found one bug. The module "efivars" is missing from the ISO. It's needed for using efibootmgr when installing a bootloader in UEFI boot mode. As it is grub-install runs and seemingly works fine. On reboot though, the system won't find the boot record.

I have exactly the same bug, with 2013.08-1

Typing modeprob efivars shows no error, but then with lsmod, you can see the module efivars isn’t loaded.
And when you type efibootmgr, there are errors messages, saying that managing EFI is impossible.

Offline

#44 2013-08-29 09:31:34

fredbezies
Member
Registered: 2011-07-28
Posts: 294

Re: 2013.08-1 archboot "2k13-R2" ISO hybrid image released

Sorry for late answer wink

It's normal that uefi needs much longer too boot in emulation mode. I use qemu with --enable-kvm and ovmf to test UEFI.

I cannot get ovmf to work with qemu (git or 1.6 version). Got this every single time

qemu-system-x86_64 -enable-kvm -net none -m 1024 -bios /usr/share/ovmf/x86_64/bios.bin

KVM internal error. Suberror: 1
emulation failure
EAX=c0000033 EBX=fffe60e4 ECX=c0000080 EDX=00000000
ESI=fffe62c4 EDI=00005042 EBP=fffe6000 ESP=00000000
EIP=ffffff26 EFL=00000082 [--S----] CPL=0 II=0 A20=1 SMM=0 HLT=0
ES =0008 00000000 ffffffff 00c09300 DPL=0 DS [-WA]
CS =0010 00000000 ffffffff 00c09b00 DPL=0 CS32 [-RA]
SS =0008 00000000 ffffffff 00c09300 DPL=0 DS [-WA]
DS =0008 00000000 ffffffff 00c09300 DPL=0 DS [-WA]
FS =0008 00000000 ffffffff 00c09300 DPL=0 DS [-WA]
GS =0008 00000000 ffffffff 00c09300 DPL=0 DS [-WA]
LDT=0000 00000000 0000ffff 00008200 DPL=0 LDT
TR =0000 00000000 0000ffff 00008b00 DPL=0 TSS64-busy
GDT= 00000000ffffff80 0000001f
IDT= 0000000000000000 0000ffff
CR0=c0000033 CR2=0000000000000000 CR3=00000000ffffe000 CR4=00000660
DR0=0000000000000000 DR1=0000000000000000 DR2=0000000000000000 DR3=0000000000000000
DR6=00000000ffff0ff0 DR7=0000000000000400
EFER=0000000000000500
Code=00 c0 0f 32 0f ba e8 08 0f 30 0f 20 c0 0f ba e8 1f 0f 22 c0 <ea> 2d ff ff ff 18 00 e9 93 00 00 00 fa bb 00 f0 8e db bb 6c ff 2e 66 0f 01 17 66 b8 23 00

And grub install bug ?

Just do a clean install of archlinux with archboot iso in Virtual Box. Classic GPT partitioning. Only installed base and base-devel package with a network installation.

Setup locales, hostname in configuration step.

And I selected uefi / grub2.

Message happened just after installation. As far as I remember. Will try to add more information asap.

Offline

#45 2013-08-30 02:23:53

silencer
Member
From: Buenos Aires / Argentina
Registered: 2006-09-01
Posts: 95
Website

Re: 2013.08-1 archboot "2k13-R2" ISO hybrid image released

Any tips on installing it on a Macbook Pro (Sandy Bridge) with EFI enabled?

I could install older versions of Archboot by doing what Heema wrote here: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1185027 and then installing GRUB UEFI.

Now that doesn't seem to work,

Any tips?

thanks a lot!

Offline

#46 2013-08-30 16:24:12

silencer
Member
From: Buenos Aires / Argentina
Registered: 2006-09-01
Posts: 95
Website

Re: 2013.08-1 archboot "2k13-R2" ISO hybrid image released

silencer wrote:

Any tips on installing it on a Macbook Pro (Sandy Bridge) with EFI enabled?

I could install older versions of Archboot by doing what Heema wrote here: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1185027 and then installing GRUB UEFI.

Now that doesn't seem to work,

Any tips?

thanks a lot!

Well, I'm back with more info on the subject.  Archboot boots OK and installs packages fine. When the time comes to install a bootloader, Archboots detects I'm using x86_64 UEFI and asks me if I want to use a x86_64 UEFI Bootloader, I press <yes>.

Then, after I select Grub UEFI as my prefered bootloader, Archboot tries to install it but fails.

/tmp/grub_uefi_x86_64_install.log shows this:

install log


Any thoughts?

thanks!

Offline

#47 2013-08-31 09:22:34

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,262

Re: 2013.08-1 archboot "2k13-R2" ISO hybrid image released

Do you have mounted your efi partition in /boot/efi? This is what grub is looking for.

Offline

#48 2013-08-31 10:39:29

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,262

Re: 2013.08-1 archboot "2k13-R2" ISO hybrid image released

Latest setup code from git contains fixes for efibootmgr and probably grub, please try:
https://projects.archlinux.org/archboot … 42dcdd8ffa

Offline

#49 2013-09-01 22:46:24

silencer
Member
From: Buenos Aires / Argentina
Registered: 2006-09-01
Posts: 95
Website

Re: 2013.08-1 archboot "2k13-R2" ISO hybrid image released

tpowa wrote:

Latest setup code from git contains fixes for efibootmgr and probably grub, please try:
https://projects.archlinux.org/archboot … 42dcdd8ffa

Thanks tpowa, I'll give it a try now and post the results here.

Offline

#50 2013-09-01 23:37:33

silencer
Member
From: Buenos Aires / Argentina
Registered: 2006-09-01
Posts: 95
Website

Re: 2013.08-1 archboot "2k13-R2" ISO hybrid image released

I tried with the new script. The same happened.

I noticed something, though. Before the attempt to install grub uefi, a line in the console is printed, it says: "Target not found: efivar"

I don't remember if this message was there with the original setup script.

Last edited by silencer (2013-09-02 00:52:23)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB