You are not logged in.

#76 2005-12-13 22:57:24

codemac
Member
From: Cliche Tech Place
Registered: 2005-05-13
Posts: 784
Website

Re: December 2005 Arch Screenshots

jellywerker wrote:

To codemac: 2 things, how did you do that, and what is that toolbar at the bottom, googlebar for ff? also, ff 1.5 or 1.0.7?

Phrakture is right about it.  I can't remember where the extension for the rankings are now..

That is a screen shot from 1.0.7, but I use 1.5 right now, and it looks the exact same :-P

and here is the stuff I hacked up for the tabs on the side:

For your .mozilla/firefox/[random user id].default/chrome/userChrome.css

/* Display the tabbar on the left */
#content > tabbox {
  -moz-box-orient: horizontal;
}

.tabbrowser-strip {
 -moz-box-orient: vertical;
 /* note: you can set this to -moz-scrollbars-vertical instead,
    but then the scrollbar will *always* be visible.  this way
    there is never a scrollbar, so it behaves like the tab bar
      normally does */
  overflow: -moz-scrollbars-none;
}

.tabbrowser-tabs {
   -moz-box-orient: horizontal;
 min-width: 20ex;   /* you may want to increase this value */
   -mox-box-pack: start;
  -moz-box-align: start;
}

.tabbrowser-tabs > hbox {
   -moz-box-orient: vertical;
  -moz-box-align: stretch;
    -moz-box-pack: start;
}
.tabbrowser-tabs > hbox > tab {
  -moz-box-align: start;
 -moz-box-orient: horizontal;
}

/* remove the close-tab button */    
.tabbrowser-tabs > stack {
display: none;
}

The reason I put them on the side is that my laptop has a wide screen, and so to use vertical space on webpages for tabs limits a lot of what I can see.  So I moved them where they use more pixels than before, but webpages now have more vertical space.

Offline

#77 2005-12-15 19:24:16

rezza
Member
From: Edinburgh, uk
Registered: 2004-07-08
Posts: 234

Re: December 2005 Arch Screenshots

27.png

Offline

#78 2005-12-15 19:41:57

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: December 2005 Arch Screenshots

rezza: you're site rocks, thanks for all the configgy goodness

Offline

#79 2005-12-15 19:47:46

rezza
Member
From: Edinburgh, uk
Registered: 2004-07-08
Posts: 234

Re: December 2005 Arch Screenshots

You're welcome, s'aways good to know somone actually uses the crap that I put online wink

Offline

#80 2005-12-15 20:03:11

Dieggoh
Member
Registered: 2005-12-15
Posts: 9

Re: December 2005 Arch Screenshots

As usual, E17

e17clean2sz.th.png

The photo, part of the wallpaper it's from the December 6 show by Dream Theater here down in Chile, What a great show!


Arch GNU/Linux 0.7.1 (Noodle)
Linux 2.6.15.4

Offline

#81 2005-12-15 20:10:44

Legout
Member
From: Wuerburg/germany
Registered: 2004-01-19
Posts: 292

Re: December 2005 Arch Screenshots

Here´s mine for December.

Still Fvwm. I change some things some times;-)

screenshot-2004-12-15%5b20:11%5d.pngscreenshot-2004-12-15%5b20:09%5d.pngscreenshot-2004-12-15%5b20:03%5d.png

Offline

#82 2005-12-16 01:51:18

Rotonen
Member
From: Espoo, Finland
Registered: 2005-03-08
Posts: 31
Website

Re: December 2005 Arch Screenshots

snapshot11pd.th.png snapshot23vk.th.png snapshot35lw.th.png snapshot47so.th.png

Transparent menus, CrystalGL (third shot from the left, notice the "bending" effect on the titlebar), YaKuake, KDE, irssi, screen, amsn, transparent menus & taskbar. Blue in general. Now if I could only have the blue gensplash working with ATI.. roll

Any suggestions on anything?

Offline

#83 2005-12-18 12:35:09

Cam
Member
From: Brisbane, Aus
Registered: 2004-12-21
Posts: 658
Website

Re: December 2005 Arch Screenshots

[URL=http://img235.imageshack.us/my.php?image=fluxbox0380am.jpg]fluxbox0380am.th.jpg[/URL]

Offline

#84 2005-12-18 22:36:22

Theoden
Member
Registered: 2005-03-03
Posts: 240

Re: December 2005 Arch Screenshots

Something to wierd you out.  big_smile

archkde6wb.th.png

This is how KDE looks on Archlinux!

Enjoy!

--Theoden   8)


"If builders built buildings the way programmers write programs,
the first woodpecker that came along would destroy civilization."

Offline

#85 2005-12-19 06:19:50

EmbraceThePenguin
Member
From: New Mexico, USA
Registered: 2004-08-09
Posts: 197

Re: December 2005 Arch Screenshots

Here is my current screen shot. Its KDE with the deKorator themeing engine creating the theme. Really neat theme generator. Check it out on kde-look.org.

currentscreenshot_thumb.jpg

Enjoy smile

Joe

Offline

#86 2005-12-19 06:57:59

Cam
Member
From: Brisbane, Aus
Registered: 2004-12-21
Posts: 658
Website

Re: December 2005 Arch Screenshots

Theoden wrote:

archkde6wb.th.png

Cool shot!

Offline

#87 2005-12-19 19:19:46

shadowhand
Member
From: MN, USA
Registered: 2004-02-19
Posts: 1,142
Website

Re: December 2005 Arch Screenshots

r3con-121905_thumb.jpg r3con-121905-clean_thumb.jpg
^^ Busy ------------------------------ ^^ Clean

Xfce-svn. Wallpaper by me. Icons are Gant. Theme is m.a.t.t.e.


·¬»· i am shadowhand, powered by webfaction

Offline

#88 2005-12-19 19:45:09

jellywerker
Member
From: Sunny Seattle
Registered: 2005-04-04
Posts: 286

Re: December 2005 Arch Screenshots

dang rezza! your stuff is nice, are you willing to share your themes and such?

Offline

#89 2005-12-19 20:55:15

Gullible Jones
Member
Registered: 2004-12-29
Posts: 4,863

Re: December 2005 Arch Screenshots

EmbraceThePenguin wrote:

Here is my current screen shot. Its KDE with the deKorator themeing engine creating the theme. Really neat theme generator. Check it out on kde-look.org.

currentscreenshot_thumb.jpg

Enjoy smile

Joe

Holy cow! :shock: Does that run at decent speeds?

Offline

#90 2005-12-19 21:36:23

whargoul
Member
From: Odense, Denmark
Registered: 2005-04-04
Posts: 546

Re: December 2005 Arch Screenshots

I got inspired by rezza how he's have 4 torsmos at once. So I tried with Conky, but I only thing I got is flickering.

Do somebody have a clue?  :?


Arch - It's something refreshing

Offline

#91 2005-12-19 21:55:02

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: December 2005 Arch Screenshots

whargoul wrote:

I got inspired by rezza how he's have 4 torsmos at once. So I tried with Conky, but I only thing I got is flickering.

Do somebody have a clue?  :?

Don't use double buffering:
double_buffer no

Offline

#92 2005-12-19 22:39:18

whargoul
Member
From: Odense, Denmark
Registered: 2005-04-04
Posts: 546

Re: December 2005 Arch Screenshots

Well. Let me explaine.

I have to config files. One called .conkyrc and another called .conkyrc.mpd. Both have turned of 'double_buffer' and 'no_buffer' (saying no here). But still .conkyrc.mpd flickers and the another don't. Why does it do that?


Arch - It's something refreshing

Offline

#93 2005-12-19 23:12:02

EmbraceThePenguin
Member
From: New Mexico, USA
Registered: 2004-08-09
Posts: 197

Re: December 2005 Arch Screenshots

Gullible Jones wrote:
EmbraceThePenguin wrote:

Here is my current screen shot. Its KDE with the deKorator themeing engine creating the theme. Really neat theme generator. Check it out on kde-look.org.

currentscreenshot_thumb.jpg

Enjoy smile

Joe

Holy cow! :shock: Does that run at decent speeds?

Hey there... Yeah, my Linux desktop is lightning quick; but I have alot of horse power in my system (AMD X2 4400 2 gigs ram GeForce 7800 GTX and ARCH with the CK kernel).

However I have similar features enabled on a AMD 3200xp with a GeForce 5900 Ultra and it runs just as well.

Joe

Offline

#94 2005-12-19 23:16:45

Gullible Jones
Member
Registered: 2004-12-29
Posts: 4,863

Re: December 2005 Arch Screenshots

Oh wow. That is a powerful machine. :shock:

(So you have RenderAccel, that's why things are so fast, probably... I've got Unichrome onboard hardware. Transparency + shadows + CrystalGL borders on KDE was reasonably fast, but got a little sluggish sometimes. I'm guessing the drop-shadows did that, they seemed to be rather piggish compared to transparency in previous experiments with xcompmgr.)

Offline

#95 2005-12-19 23:17:44

LudoTheGreat
Member
From: Wisconsin
Registered: 2005-04-27
Posts: 40
Website

Re: December 2005 Arch Screenshots

My latest. Not usally what i go for, but i though i would change it up for a bit.
20051219_002.png

Offline

#96 2005-12-19 23:25:00

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: December 2005 Arch Screenshots

whargoul wrote:

Well. Let me explaine.

I have to config files. One called .conkyrc and another called .conkyrc.mpd. Both have turned of 'double_buffer' and 'no_buffer' (saying no here). But still .conkyrc.mpd flickers and the another don't. Why does it do that?

Try with:
double_buffer no
no_buffers yes

Also, make sure that you *don't* start it with the  -b option. If that still doesn't work, I can pm you 2 of my old config files. They don't use mpd but you'll be able to see if they flicker.

Offline

#97 2005-12-19 23:25:27

EmbraceThePenguin
Member
From: New Mexico, USA
Registered: 2004-08-09
Posts: 197

Re: December 2005 Arch Screenshots

Gullible Jones wrote:

Oh wow. That is a powerful machine. :shock:

(So you have RenderAccel, that's why things are so fast, probably... I've got Unichrome onboard hardware. Transparency + shadows + CrystalGL borders on KDE was reasonably fast, but got a little sluggish sometimes. I'm guessing the drop-shadows did that, they seemed to be rather piggish compared to transparency in previous experiments with xcompmgr.)

Yeah, RenderAcel is enabled. I am using the kompmgr that comes with KDE for the transparency. KDE has really cleaned up its transparency interface quite a bit from when it was first implemented.

For instance, you can now set individual opacity on windows dynamically and for each window independently. Which is nice to have more transparency for some windows and not others.

I really like it.

HOWEVER, there are some really bad annoyances that I would like to see fixed. One of those is when you resize a window by dragging it, it can really mess up buttons and other features of the window. The fix is simple; just minimize and maximize the window, but still bugs me. Another is animated menus are a little buggy with transparency enabled.

This biggest issue I have with it is when I am playing a game like Quake4 or UT2004 and have any superkaramba monitors or GKrellm up, you can see ghost images of the outline in the game from time to time and when you are playing a twitch and shoot game, it can get nerve wracking wink

Joe

Offline

#98 2005-12-19 23:51:47

whargoul
Member
From: Odense, Denmark
Registered: 2005-04-04
Posts: 546

Re: December 2005 Arch Screenshots

Snowman wrote:
whargoul wrote:

Well. Let me explaine.

I have to config files. One called .conkyrc and another called .conkyrc.mpd. Both have turned of 'double_buffer' and 'no_buffer' (saying no here). But still .conkyrc.mpd flickers and the another don't. Why does it do that?

Try with:
double_buffer no
no_buffers yes

Also, make sure that you *don't* start it with the  -b option. If that still doesn't work, I can pm you 2 of my old config files. They don't use mpd but you'll be able to see if they flicker.

'.conkyrc.mpd' still flickers. It seems that nothing is working, so i would be great if you could pm me some config files. smile


Arch - It's something refreshing

Offline

#99 2005-12-20 00:35:05

syamajala
Member
From: here, there, everywhere
Registered: 2005-01-25
Posts: 604
Website

Re: December 2005 Arch Screenshots

Offline

#100 2005-12-20 01:30:24

Gullible Jones
Member
Registered: 2004-12-29
Posts: 4,863

Re: December 2005 Arch Screenshots

That OSX, or KDE done over to look like OSX? :?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB