You are not logged in.

#1051 2016-03-23 21:08:23

Daviljoe193
Member
From: the boring old Fall River M.A
Registered: 2015-06-24
Posts: 36

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

samkostka wrote:

Can anyone recommend an SSD for the C720?  I tried the ZTC model, which froze after minutes or seconds, and I was using an ADATA Premier, but it crapped out after a few months.  I'd also prefer it if the SSD can run Chrome OS as well, which if I understand correctly, requires support for ultra-low power states.

Bump, the 32 GB Kingston SSD mine came with is becoming really uncomfortable to work with, and I'm just unsure what SSD will and won't work, especially with all the horror stories of replacement Chromebook SSDs dying weeks after purchase.


I'm a noob, a noob that has installed Arch (And Gentoo.) several times on obscure hardware, and a noob that has used Linux exclusively for 6 years now, but I'm still just a noob.
Main Computer: Dell Inspiron 11 - 4GB ram, 500 GB spinning rust, plain Arch X86-64, UEFI

Offline

#1052 2016-03-24 00:42:26

LeoFa
Member
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2014-10-14
Posts: 35

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

samkostka wrote:

...I was using an ADATA Premier, but it crapped out after a few months...

I had exactly the same "Premier Pro" experience with my SSD replacement, I feel ya sad

..I've been using a Transcend MTS400 SSD ever since.. might not be as fast as the ADATA one.. but still fast enough and a big + it's been stable for 6 months +2 weeks of almost daily usage now. big_smile

ps. mind u I don't do power management for the SSD and use the latest full Coreboot ROM from John Lewis,
always check with the vendor of the SSD you get if there are firmware upgrades for it!

related wiki content:
General hardware recommendations and remarks
Resolving SATA power management related errors

Offline

#1053 2016-03-24 03:52:01

samkostka
Member
From: Smallest State, Longest Name
Registered: 2015-09-07
Posts: 18

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

My one issue with the Transcend is that it would be a pain to keep Chrome OS usable with it, and if I drop Chrome OS completely, I run the risk of losing everything on the drive if my battery dies unless I flash John Lewis coreboot.

How reputable is Plextor?  I see them come up right after Adata and MyDigital on Amazon and Newegg.

Edit: Same question for Biwin, although I doubt they're decent as they're literally 1/2 the price of everything else.

Last edited by samkostka (2016-03-24 03:53:05)

Offline

#1054 2016-03-30 14:04:37

nariox
Member
Registered: 2014-03-19
Posts: 128

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

@samkostka: although they had a bad rep. and I had problems with an earlier firmware version. I have had a MyDigitalSSD one going firm for over 1 year now. Their latest firmware seemed to solve all problems.

Offline

#1055 2016-04-13 23:29:40

k7paul
Member
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 9

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

Hi Jason!
I've downloaded the snapshot from gitlab, but it seems to be empty (!). It only has the directory structure and a README.md.

jason.oliveira wrote:

You have an Elantech touchpad. do a modprobe elan_i2c, and see if your touchpad starts working. You'll have to modify /drivers/platform/chrome/chromeos_laptop.c in your kernel source (5 small changes), as nobody actually hooks the Elantech driver (already in the kernel) to this driver. I've placed the files on Gitlab if you're interested.

Offline

#1056 2016-04-25 19:38:37

mum1989
Member
From: france
Registered: 2009-09-19
Posts: 50

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

Hello, my Acer C720P (stock firmware)(with Trancend MTS400 256go) is a little bit slow to shutdown.
(I use Plama 5)

dmesg --level=err

[    0.946383] systemd[1]: netctl@wlp1s0\x2dcamerail1.service: Service lacks both ExecStart= and ExecStop= setting. Refusing.
[    1.352380] usb 1-4: string descriptor 0 read error: -22
[    1.461227] tpm_tis 00:08: [Firmware Bug]: TPM interrupt not working, polling instead
[    2.232945] usb 1-4: string descriptor 0 read error: -22
[  980.104620] cyapa 0-0067: invalid device state bytes, 8d 18

how to remove this ? (and maybye speed up the shutdown)

Last edited by mum1989 (2016-04-25 19:39:30)

Offline

#1057 2016-04-25 19:45:29

nariox
Member
Registered: 2014-03-19
Posts: 128

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

@mum1989: you can blacklist the tpm_tis module for the 3rd message.
For the usb descriptor errors, no fix available, seems not to affect anything.
For the first one, I'd check the x2dcamerail1.service (I'm assuming it's your WiFi network?)

You might want to try clean up your journald (with --vacuum-size or --vacuum-time)
This can sometimes help with shutdown.

Offline

#1058 2016-04-25 19:53:52

mum1989
Member
From: france
Registered: 2009-09-19
Posts: 50

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

I cant't get status or remove netctl@wlp1s0\x2dcamerail1.service.
It's an old wifi profile "Automatically generated profile by wifi-menu"

or I will try

Thanks

edit 2 :

No real change after clean up files.

My acer stuck on login (in console) about 1 minute or more.(but can't go on TTY or login)

maybye it's this bug https://github.com/systemd/systemd/issu … -202588915

but i found a fix here with watchdog :
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=203112&p=3

Last edited by mum1989 (2016-04-25 20:47:00)

Offline

#1059 2016-04-28 12:42:21

nariox
Member
Registered: 2014-03-19
Posts: 128

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

@mum1989: you might want to start a new thread on this, but let's look at it.
You can look at what's been slowing your boot with:

systemd-analyze blame

You may also want to see the critical chain:

systemd-analyze critical chain

By the way, I have re-enabled power savings on the ath9k module and haven't experienced any hangs. Anyone can confirm this? The change allows the cpu package to go to pc7, thus reducing power consumption a little bit. ( Since battery life = Charge/Discharge rate, a small change in discharge rate can improve the battery life significantly)

Offline

#1060 2016-04-30 14:22:27

mum1989
Member
From: france
Registered: 2009-09-19
Posts: 50

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

Thanks, but, my boot is always fast, it's only slow when I shutdown my C720P.

Offline

#1061 2016-05-02 15:45:59

porphyry5
Member
Registered: 2014-06-04
Posts: 88

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

mum1989 wrote:

Thanks, but, my boot is always fast, it's only slow when I shutdown my C720P.

I have this same problem, but not consistently. Sometimes it shuts down in seconds, at other times it takes 90+ seconds.
Sometimes, but not always, the system displays this message during the long shutdown:

A stop job is running for session c1 of user <username> (xx secs of 1m 30 secs)

There is no relationship between the length of shutdown and my activity on the computer. On occasion I have started the system and immediately shut it down and it has taken 90 secs to do so.
At other times I can work for hours with multiple file transfers across devices and it shuts down in seconds.

Offline

#1062 2016-05-02 18:07:12

Oguz286
Member
Registered: 2014-07-10
Posts: 4

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

Hi all,

I've got a peculiar issue with wifi which started a few days ago. When I login, the wifi icon does not appear, nor can I configure anything wifi related at all. The driver ath9k is loaded and dmesg only mentions that wlp1s0 is renamed from wlan0. When I view the network settings I can only see an unconnected cable connection, and a network proxy. Bluetooth does get loaded and seems to work however.

I "fixed" it by issueing:

sudo modprobe -rfv ath9k

and

sudo modprobe -v ath9k

Then everything just works fine. I updated a few days ago (which I do often, so it's not like I did a huge upgrade), but that appears to have caused it. Anyone else experienced the same?

Last edited by Oguz286 (2016-05-02 18:27:40)

Offline

#1063 2016-05-02 23:27:49

Renard
Member
Registered: 2015-04-20
Posts: 3

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

Same issue. Currently using my phone, have not investigated much. After reloading the ath9k module, I can scan networks, but my home network won't connect.

Offline

#1064 2016-05-04 17:34:59

WiseGuy1020
Member
Registered: 2014-06-20
Posts: 4

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

porphyry5 wrote:
mum1989 wrote:

Thanks, but, my boot is always fast, it's only slow when I shutdown my C720P.

I have this same problem, but not consistently. Sometimes it shuts down in seconds, at other times it takes 90+ seconds.
Sometimes, but not always, the system displays this message during the long shutdown:

A stop job is running for session c1 of user <username> (xx secs of 1m 30 secs)

There is no relationship between the length of shutdown and my activity on the computer. On occasion I have started the system and immediately shut it down and it has taken 90 secs to do so.
At other times I can work for hours with multiple file transfers across devices and it shuts down in seconds.

I'm pretty sure that is a systemd bug.


You can reduce the delay in /etc/systemd/system.conf:

DefaultTimeoutStopSec=15s

Offline

#1065 2016-05-04 19:49:22

Daviljoe193
Member
From: the boring old Fall River M.A
Registered: 2015-06-24
Posts: 36

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

@Oguz286
I just had the same issue today, but even easier for me, I just ran a simple...

sudo systemctl restart NetworkManager

...then suddenly, Network Manager showed the WiFi networks and the interface, like it's supposed to. Kinda annoying, but at least it's an easy bandage fix, since I can just add that to my MATE startup applications.

EDIT: Mildly sloppy writing fixed.

Last edited by Daviljoe193 (2016-05-04 19:53:54)


I'm a noob, a noob that has installed Arch (And Gentoo.) several times on obscure hardware, and a noob that has used Linux exclusively for 6 years now, but I'm still just a noob.
Main Computer: Dell Inspiron 11 - 4GB ram, 500 GB spinning rust, plain Arch X86-64, UEFI

Offline

#1066 2016-05-05 00:26:30

rwaweber
Member
Registered: 2016-05-05
Posts: 1

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

@Daviljoe193

I think I may be experiencing the same thing, I did some log digging in journalctl and found the following:

May 04 19:49:21 cricket NetworkManager[271]: <info>  [1462405761.6859] manager: Networking is enabled by state file
May 04 19:49:21 cricket NetworkManager[271]: <info>  [1462405761.6860] Loaded device plugin: NMVxlanFactory (internal)
May 04 19:49:21 cricket NetworkManager[271]: <info>  [1462405761.6860] Loaded device plugin: NMVlanFactory (internal)
May 04 19:49:21 cricket NetworkManager[271]: <info>  [1462405761.6860] Loaded device plugin: NMVethFactory (internal)
May 04 19:49:21 cricket NetworkManager[271]: <info>  [1462405761.6861] Loaded device plugin: NMTunFactory (internal)
May 04 19:49:21 cricket NetworkManager[271]: <info>  [1462405761.6861] Loaded device plugin: NMMacvlanFactory (internal)
May 04 19:49:21 cricket NetworkManager[271]: <info>  [1462405761.6862] Loaded device plugin: NMIPTunnelFactory (internal)
May 04 19:49:21 cricket NetworkManager[271]: <info>  [1462405761.6862] Loaded device plugin: NMInfinibandFactory (internal)
May 04 19:49:21 cricket NetworkManager[271]: <info>  [1462405761.6863] Loaded device plugin: NMEthernetFactory (internal)
May 04 19:49:21 cricket NetworkManager[271]: <info>  [1462405761.6863] Loaded device plugin: NMBridgeFactory (internal)
May 04 19:49:21 cricket NetworkManager[271]: <info>  [1462405761.6863] Loaded device plugin: NMBondFactory (internal)
May 04 19:49:21 cricket NetworkManager[271]: <info>  [1462405761.6912] Loaded device plugin: NMAtmManager (/usr/lib/NetworkManager/libnm-device-plugin-adsl.so)
May 04 19:49:21 cricket NetworkManager[271]: <info>  [1462405761.7029] Loaded device plugin: NMBluezManager (/usr/lib/NetworkManager/libnm-device-plugin-bluetooth.so)
May 04 19:49:21 cricket NetworkManager[271]: <info>  [1462405761.7065] Loaded device plugin: NMWwanFactory (/usr/lib/NetworkManager/libnm-device-plugin-wwan.so)
May 04 19:49:21 cricket NetworkManager[271]: <info>  [1462405761.7399] Loaded device plugin: NMTeamFactory (/usr/lib/NetworkManager/libnm-device-plugin-team.so)
May 04 19:49:21 cricket NetworkManager[271]: <info>  [1462405761.7466] Loaded device plugin: NMWifiFactory (/usr/lib/NetworkManager/libnm-device-plugin-wifi.so)

In my mind more important:

May 04 19:49:21 cricket NetworkManager[271]: <info>  [1462405761.7499] device (lo): link connected
May 04 19:49:21 cricket NetworkManager[271]: <info>  [1462405761.7523] manager: (lo): new Generic device (/org/freedesktop/NetworkManager/Devices/0)
May 04 19:49:21 cricket NetworkManager[271]: <info>  [1462405761.7755] manager: startup complete
May 04 19:49:21 cricket NetworkManager[271]: <info>  [1462405761.7942] manager: (wlp1s0): new Ethernet device (/org/freedesktop/NetworkManager/Devices/1)
May 04 19:49:21 cricket NetworkManager[271]: <info>  [1462405761.7982] keyfile: add connection in-memory (bc33db34-de26-4e3c-8cd3-fc92fa409e03,"Wired connection 1")
May 04 19:49:21 cricket NetworkManager[271]: <info>  [1462405761.8003] settings: (wlp1s0): created default wired connection 'Wired connection 1'
May 04 19:49:21 cricket NetworkManager[271]: <info>  [1462405761.8044] device (wlp1s0): state change: unmanaged -> unavailable (reason 'managed') [10 20 2]

Then I restarted NetworkManager to see the corresponding lines:

May 04 19:55:30 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406130.4019] Loaded device plugin: NMVxlanFactory (internal)
May 04 19:55:30 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406130.4021] Loaded device plugin: NMVlanFactory (internal)
May 04 19:55:30 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406130.4021] Loaded device plugin: NMVethFactory (internal)
May 04 19:55:30 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406130.4022] Loaded device plugin: NMTunFactory (internal)
May 04 19:55:30 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406130.4022] Loaded device plugin: NMMacvlanFactory (internal)
May 04 19:55:30 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406130.4023] Loaded device plugin: NMIPTunnelFactory (internal)
May 04 19:55:30 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406130.4023] Loaded device plugin: NMInfinibandFactory (internal)
May 04 19:55:30 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406130.4024] Loaded device plugin: NMEthernetFactory (internal)
May 04 19:55:30 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406130.4025] Loaded device plugin: NMBridgeFactory (internal)
May 04 19:55:30 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406130.4026] Loaded device plugin: NMBondFactory (internal)
May 04 19:55:30 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406130.4043] Loaded device plugin: NMAtmManager (/usr/lib/NetworkManager/libnm-device-plugin-adsl.so)
May 04 19:55:30 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406130.4091] Loaded device plugin: NMBluezManager (/usr/lib/NetworkManager/libnm-device-plugin-bluetooth.so)
May 04 19:55:30 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406130.4102] Loaded device plugin: NMWwanFactory (/usr/lib/NetworkManager/libnm-device-plugin-wwan.so)
May 04 19:55:30 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406130.4262] Loaded device plugin: NMTeamFactory (/usr/lib/NetworkManager/libnm-device-plugin-team.so)
May 04 19:55:30 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406130.4270] Loaded device plugin: NMWifiFactory (/usr/lib/NetworkManager/libnm-device-plugin-wifi.so)

important chunk:

May 04 19:55:30 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406130.4279] (wlp1s0): using nl80211 for WiFi device control
May 04 19:55:30 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406130.4291] device (wlp1s0): driver supports Access Point (AP) mode
May 04 19:55:30 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406130.4313] manager: (wlp1s0): new 802.11 WiFi device (/org/freedesktop/NetworkManager/Devices/0)
May 04 19:55:30 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406130.4393] device (wlp1s0): state change: unmanaged -> unavailable (reason 'managed') [10 20 2]
May 04 19:55:30 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406130.4684] device (lo): link connected
May 04 19:55:30 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406130.4707] manager: (lo): new Generic device (/org/freedesktop/NetworkManager/Devices/1)
May 04 19:55:31 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406131.1284] supplicant: wpa_supplicant running
May 04 19:55:31 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406131.1285] device (wlp1s0): supplicant interface state: init -> starting
May 04 19:55:32 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406132.1041] sup-iface[0xadbcc0,wlp1s0]: supports 4 scan SSIDs
May 04 19:55:32 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406132.1068] device (wlp1s0): supplicant interface state: starting -> ready
May 04 19:55:32 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406132.1069] manager: startup complete
May 04 19:55:32 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406132.1073] device (wlp1s0): state change: unavailable -> disconnected (reason 'supplicant-available') [20 30 42]
May 04 19:55:35 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406135.7203] device (wlp1s0): supplicant interface state: ready -> inactive
May 04 19:55:35 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406135.8421] policy: auto-activating connection 'UDel'
May 04 19:55:35 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406135.8447] device (wlp1s0): Activation: starting connection 'UDel' (b5d3352b-1835-4e38-b332-e0c9943f12e3)
May 04 19:55:35 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406135.8451] device (wlp1s0): state change: disconnected -> prepare (reason 'none') [30 40 0]
May 04 19:55:35 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406135.8454] manager: NetworkManager state is now CONNECTING
May 04 19:55:35 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406135.8471] device (wlp1s0): state change: prepare -> config (reason 'none') [40 50 0]
May 04 19:55:35 cricket NetworkManager[2086]: <info>  [1462406135.8477] device (wlp1s0): Activation: (wifi) connection 'UDel' requires no security.  No secrets needed.

Hopefully this is helpful.

Trying @Oguz286's recommendation,

 # modprobe -rfv ath9k 

seems to achieve roughly the same  as

 $ systemctl restart NetworkManager.service 

Last edited by rwaweber (2016-05-05 00:54:24)

Offline

#1067 2016-05-05 18:09:24

porphyry5
Member
Registered: 2014-06-04
Posts: 88

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

WiseGuy1020 wrote:

I'm pretty sure that is a systemd bug.


You can reduce the delay in /etc/systemd/system.conf:

DefaultTimeoutStopSec=15s

Thanks for the info, that will serve much better than my current method of holding down the power key!

Offline

#1068 2016-05-18 21:51:34

logicmonkey
Member
Registered: 2015-08-19
Posts: 1

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

my ZTC 128Gb upgrade has been faultless since the day i put it in - 15 months on the clock now.

recent issues - with the stock kernel, kswapd taking 100% cpu as per: https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=65201

i'm trialling the linux-c720 kernel from the AUR to see if it fixes it - seems to have so far.

Offline

#1069 2016-06-04 18:34:42

beefycheesy
Member
Registered: 2013-07-16
Posts: 1

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

I wanted to jump in and report that the linux-c720 kernel in the AUR seems to have fixed my issues with hangs during reboot/shutdown. Also, I no longer get hit with 1 core at 100% when the system tries to swap. So far it is working excellently with no buggyness at all.


No trees were killed to send this message, but a large number of electrons were terribly inconvenienced. -Neil deGrasse Tyson

Offline

#1070 2016-06-16 18:40:22

hellfire[bg]
Member
Registered: 2012-06-08
Posts: 31

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

Hi all,

After my latest reboot I noticed that my touchpad doesn't work properly - the problem is that the tap to click function doesn't work at all - neither the left mouse button no the right mouse button emulation (via two figner tapping) work. Has anyone encuntered this issue?

I am running GNOME and I am using the touchpad config file from the wiki: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ac … own_Issues

Offline

#1071 2016-06-17 14:27:08

gothmog123
Member
Registered: 2012-10-31
Posts: 100

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

I think it's because gnome is using libinput.

I'm not using gnome but I'm having libinput issues with the c720 touchpad as well.

You need to enable libinput:

Option "Tapping" "on"
Option "Clickmethod" "buttonareas"

I could get that part working but still can't figure out button remapping.

xinput get-button-map gives: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

The problem is I'm getting right clicking for both corner clicking and two finger tapping.

Can anyone help? Thanks

Last edited by gothmog123 (2016-06-17 15:07:43)

Offline

#1072 2016-06-19 17:18:03

russ0r
Member
Registered: 2008-03-29
Posts: 26

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

hellfire[bg] wrote:

Hi all,

After my latest reboot I noticed that my touchpad doesn't work properly - the problem is that the tap to click function doesn't work at all - neither the left mouse button no the right mouse button emulation (via two figner tapping) work. Has anyone encuntered this issue?

I am running GNOME and I am using the touchpad config file from the wiki: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ac … own_Issues

I had the same problem on a Toshiba CB30 Leon (which is almost identical hardware).

I checked pacman's logs and noticed there was an update to xf86-input-synaptics a couple of days ago, which I suspect has messed things up (although I'm not sure why it would have, considering GNOME should be using libinput)
I removed it, rebooted and the problem seems to be fixed. Tap-to-click, two & three finger tapping now work flawlessly.

HTH.

Last edited by russ0r (2016-06-19 17:20:32)

Offline

#1073 2016-09-05 19:58:45

WiseGuy1020
Member
Registered: 2014-06-20
Posts: 4

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

beefycheesy wrote:

Also, I no longer get hit with 1 core at 100% when the system tries to swap.

You can also fix that by setting something like

 mem=1920M 

as a kernel parameter.

Last edited by WiseGuy1020 (2016-09-05 20:25:41)

Offline

#1074 2016-09-12 16:01:48

nariox
Member
Registered: 2014-03-19
Posts: 128

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

Anyone else having suspend issues with the latest kernels? Sometimes mine is not suspending (screen is off, doesn't come back on), but fan continues and led is blue.

Offline

#1075 2016-09-12 17:13:50

LeoFa
Member
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2014-10-14
Posts: 35

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

@nariox

this guy on Reddit posted a fix (helped me had the same issue)

https://reddit.com/r/archlinux/comments … _computer/

basically add this and reboot; bonus speeds up suspend big_smile

/etc/tmpfiles.d/no-pm-async.conf:
---------------------------------
w /sys/power/pm_async - - - - 0

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB