You are not logged in.

#51 2014-04-18 01:06:58

akspecs
Member
Registered: 2012-02-11
Posts: 179

Re: Thinkpad X1 Carbon Gen 2

I hate to say it but that looks completely like a hardware issue.  If you're still under warranty I would try to get it fixed.  As a suggestion restore it to it's previous OS.

Offline

#52 2014-04-18 03:51:42

momo.reina
Member
Registered: 2012-02-23
Posts: 66

Re: Thinkpad X1 Carbon Gen 2

Yeah that's what I figured. I've actually tried restoring it using a rescue drive; it reinstalled the first time but the restored OS wouldn't Boot  , when I tried again the Recovery media would just error out. Diagnostics checks out though...

I bought it 2 weeks ago so it's still under warranty, Lenovo support in Japan said they would come by and pick it up but wouldn't give me a replacement machine in the meantime. Hopefully they won't give me a hard time because it was caused by a BIOS update; I heard over at the Lenovo forums that sometimes they won't honor BIOS issues even if it was caused by updates they themselves released.

Offline

#53 2014-04-29 10:27:29

acrodaniel
Member
Registered: 2014-04-10
Posts: 8

Re: Thinkpad X1 Carbon Gen 2

does anybody got the fn buttons working after suspending?

thank you

Offline

#54 2014-04-29 10:41:07

tattsan
Member
Registered: 2013-08-26
Posts: 48
Website

Re: Thinkpad X1 Carbon Gen 2

There's a patch for that.
http://www.spinics.net/lists/ibm-acpi-d … 03218.html

It will be included in the kernel soon.

Last edited by tattsan (2014-04-29 11:00:24)

Offline

#55 2014-04-29 15:42:35

sfurey
Member
Registered: 2014-01-09
Posts: 6

Re: Thinkpad X1 Carbon Gen 2

It's not in 3.14.2 yet. Guess I'll just patch it myself since 3.15 rc is giving me issues with virtualbox and a few other apps at the moment

Offline

#56 2014-05-20 11:59:41

hanslovsky
Member
Registered: 2013-11-16
Posts: 13

Re: Thinkpad X1 Carbon Gen 2

Is anyone struggling with wake up after suspend on closing the lid? I have not managed to get it to work and always have to do a hard (power button) reset.

Kernel is 3.14.4-1

Offline

#57 2014-05-20 12:34:29

tattsan
Member
Registered: 2013-08-26
Posts: 48
Website

Re: Thinkpad X1 Carbon Gen 2

Hi hanslovsky. It is BIOS problem, and  BIOS 1.13 fixed it.

( But BIOS 1.09 or later have another problem. See #35-#37 of this thread. )

Offline

#58 2014-05-20 19:00:43

hanslovsky
Member
Registered: 2013-11-16
Posts: 13

Re: Thinkpad X1 Carbon Gen 2

Thank you very much, tattsan. Luckily I am not planning to remap the [End] key. I will update my BIOS and confirm, if it worked.

Offline

#59 2014-06-03 01:16:33

mhoran
Member
Registered: 2014-04-13
Posts: 3

Re: Thinkpad X1 Carbon Gen 2

tattsan wrote:

Hi hanslovsky. It is BIOS problem, and  BIOS 1.13 fixed it.

( But BIOS 1.09 or later have another problem. See #35-#37 of this thread. )

I posted this issue to the Linux Thinkpad mailing list hoping it would get some attention from Lenovo. So far no such luck. It looks like the issue is not a result of the remapping, though. Removing the mapping and hitting the END and E key at the same time results in a repeat, under both Linux and Windows.

Offline

#60 2014-06-03 05:26:15

tattsan
Member
Registered: 2013-08-26
Posts: 48
Website

Re: Thinkpad X1 Carbon Gen 2

mhoran wrote:

I posted this issue to the Linux Thinkpad mailing list hoping it would get some attention from Lenovo. So far no such luck.

Mr Shuduo Sang, who made X1C's adaptive keyboard patch for Linux kernel, has a connection to Lenovo team.

mhoran wrote:

It looks like the issue is not a result of the remapping, though. Removing the mapping and hitting the END and E key at the same time results in a repeat, under both Linux and Windows.

I posted this  issue to Lenovo's Forum, but there was no answer.  Perhaps the title containing 'remapping' did not get their attention.

Offline

#61 2014-06-18 18:42:07

projedi
Member
Registered: 2014-06-18
Posts: 2

Re: Thinkpad X1 Carbon Gen 2

After linux 3.15.1-1 update I was unable to boot past the lenovo logo. I am using gummiboot as a bootloader and haven't yet tried using a different one.
The problem does not exist with linux 3.14.6-1, 3.15-1 (from testing repo) and linux-lts 3.10.44-1.
Unfortunately I don't know a way to tell exactly the moment on which system halts - all I can say is it's past the bootloader but specifying debug kernel parameter does not generate any output to the screen.

Has anybody else had a similar issue?

Offline

#62 2014-06-19 05:39:51

e.sovetkin
Member
From: Aachen
Registered: 2013-04-05
Posts: 28

Re: Thinkpad X1 Carbon Gen 2

projedi wrote:

After linux 3.15.1-1 update I was unable to boot past the lenovo logo. I am using gummiboot as a bootloader and haven't yet tried using a different one.
The problem does not exist with linux 3.14.6-1, 3.15-1 (from testing repo) and linux-lts 3.10.44-1.
Unfortunately I don't know a way to tell exactly the moment on which system halts - all I can say is it's past the bootloader but specifying debug kernel parameter does not generate any output to the screen.

Has anybody else had a similar issue?

I do have the very same problem on HP Pavilion g6 laptop. The same behaviour was observed with some old version of linux-lts, linux-ck-sandybridge-3.14.4-2 and linux-ck-sandybridge-3.14.5-1.

Offline

#63 2014-06-19 12:17:04

sfabius
Member
Registered: 2007-07-07
Posts: 149

Re: Thinkpad X1 Carbon Gen 2

FWIW, I also have a problem booting in 3.15.1-1, but got past the logo and into a prompt. Kernel modules would not load and disks would not mount. 3.14.6-1 ARCH is fine. I can't figure out much more than that from the logs, which I couldn't save since I couldn't mount anything.

Offline

#64 2014-06-22 13:26:56

projedi
Member
Registered: 2014-06-18
Posts: 2

Re: Thinkpad X1 Carbon Gen 2

Just a quick update. Switching to grub makes the issue go away. So it might be related to the bug mentioned in wiki/EFISTUB.

Offline

#65 2014-07-01 23:21:53

mhoran
Member
Registered: 2014-04-13
Posts: 3

Re: Thinkpad X1 Carbon Gen 2

mhoran wrote:
tattsan wrote:

Hi hanslovsky. It is BIOS problem, and  BIOS 1.13 fixed it.

( But BIOS 1.09 or later have another problem. See #35-#37 of this thread. )

I posted this issue to the Linux Thinkpad mailing list hoping it would get some attention from Lenovo. So far no such luck. It looks like the issue is not a result of the remapping, though. Removing the mapping and hitting the END and E key at the same time results in a repeat, under both Linux and Windows.

I'm happy to report that BIOS 1.16 resolves the End-E repeat issue! Much thanks to Peter on the Linux Thinkpad mailing list for bring the issue to the attention of the X1C BIOS team.

Offline

#66 2014-07-02 04:28:31

tattsan
Member
Registered: 2013-08-26
Posts: 48
Website

Re: Thinkpad X1 Carbon Gen 2

mhoran wrote:

I'm happy to report that BIOS 1.16 resolves the End-E repeat issue! Much thanks to Peter on the Linux Thinkpad mailing list for bring the issue to the attention of the X1C BIOS team.

Thank you for your report, mhoran.
I also updated the BIOS to 1.16, and both End-E and SUSPEND work fine.

Offline

#67 2014-08-01 05:10:23

dooblem
Member
From: Toulouse, France
Registered: 2012-03-09
Posts: 11
Website

Re: Thinkpad X1 Carbon Gen 2

Has anyone been able to make the Bluetooth work on X1 Carbon Gen 2 ?

I tried everything from https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/bluetooth, but I'm not even able to view any bluetooth controller.
hciconfig command returns nothing.

I'm not even sure that there is a bluetooth controller inside, but according to the lenovo product support page, it should be there.

$ sudo dmidecode -t system | grep Product
    Product Name: 20A7005MFR

Offline

#68 2014-08-01 05:20:09

dooblem
Member
From: Toulouse, France
Registered: 2012-03-09
Posts: 11
Website

Re: Thinkpad X1 Carbon Gen 2

ok.. my bad . it was disabled in the BIOS.
it's in Security > I/O ports

Offline

#69 2014-08-01 14:32:37

jasher
Member
Registered: 2013-02-20
Posts: 2

Re: Thinkpad X1 Carbon Gen 2

Has anyone tried using both the outputs on the Onelink Pro dock?  XRandR shows both ports on the dock as a single output.  I have two 1920x1200's connected and with the mode set to --auto I get both displays showing cloned output.  There's also a mode with double the horizontal (3840x1200) listed and that treats them as one big screen.  This wouldn't be so terrible, but I use the monitors rotated vertical and run a tiling WM, so it's pretty much useless to me.  I discovered https://github.com/phillipberndt/fakexrandr which seems like it may help, but haven't been able to get it to work.

Offline

#70 2014-09-22 21:18:29

williamkray
Member
Registered: 2010-11-06
Posts: 64

Re: Thinkpad X1 Carbon Gen 2

@jasher have you made any progress with the dock outputs? my x1 is in the mail to me right now, and i'm planning on getting a pro dock for dual monitor action. my situation would probably work find with the double-wide output mode, but curious if you've got it working proper by now.

Offline

#71 2014-09-23 15:21:13

jasher
Member
Registered: 2013-02-20
Posts: 2

Re: Thinkpad X1 Carbon Gen 2

williamkray wrote:

@jasher have you made any progress with the dock outputs? my x1 is in the mail to me right now, and i'm planning on getting a pro dock for dual monitor action. my situation would probably work find with the double-wide output mode, but curious if you've got it working proper by now.

I haven't had a chance to work on it, but I'll post here if I get it running.

Offline

#72 2014-09-27 07:41:31

williamkray
Member
Registered: 2010-11-06
Posts: 64

Re: Thinkpad X1 Carbon Gen 2

i've looked into fakexrandr and installed the package from the AUR. after a full reboot, it seems to be working (restarting X wasn't enough for it to kick in). as long as you set the DP2 output to utilize the extra-wide resolution, it will generate the second ghost-output and automatically set them as next to each other. works like a charm for me.

there are some things that don't translate correctly using this, however: i use corner tiling in xfwm from the aur as well, and it has a hard time figuring out where the left top and bottom corners of either of these monitors is. another issue is attempting to rotate the monitor sideways with xrandr seems to fail, so i'm not sure that the xrandr fakeout process is full featured enough to utilize for what you're looking for.

i've heard people have had success with using the mini-displayport on the laptop itself in conjunction with the docking station, this might be a good temporary workaround until fakexrandr is a little more full-featured (if it ever becomes so).

Last edited by williamkray (2014-10-08 21:00:01)

Offline

#73 2014-10-02 22:46:44

williamkray
Member
Registered: 2010-11-06
Posts: 64

Re: Thinkpad X1 Carbon Gen 2

::deleted::

Last edited by williamkray (2014-10-08 21:00:23)

Offline

#74 2014-10-23 17:00:33

williamkray
Member
Registered: 2010-11-06
Posts: 64

Re: Thinkpad X1 Carbon Gen 2

just wanted to report that the latest intel and/or kernel updates seem to correctly separate out the video outputs on the docking station, no fakexrandr required. also, has anyone installed the new microcode? i did, but i'm not really sure what the difference is, and i'm not thrilled about having to manually add the init image to my grub.cfg... anyone have thoughts on this?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB