You are not logged in.

#26 2014-03-29 08:03:44

kjell
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2012-03-26
Posts: 97

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

...you have no idea..:D try building gnome yourself..its a nightmare on elm street.

Offline

#27 2014-03-29 08:54:43

fredbezies
Member
Registered: 2011-07-28
Posts: 303

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

I looked at gnome 3.12 using void linux which ported it. Looks great. And I think, looking at what JGC said we will get it in [gnome-unstable] around early april, not before... We'll wait big_smile

Offline

#28 2014-03-29 10:44:36

Allan
is always right
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,463
Website

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

Note that compile time is not really the issue here.  A major update like this takes a lot more than just bumping package numbers and rebuilding. The may be new dependencies that need packaging, sometime new releases just don't build or other software does not rebuild against them and needs patching, and we have to ensure things actually work.

Offline

#29 2014-03-29 11:17:43

gowikel
Member
From: Córdoba, España
Registered: 2013-08-16
Posts: 13

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

Allan wrote:

Note that compile time is not really the issue here.  A major update like this takes a lot more than just bumping package numbers and rebuilding. The may be new dependencies that need packaging, sometime new releases just don't build or other software does not rebuild against them and needs patching, and we have to ensure things actually work.

And how can I help?

Offline

#30 2014-03-29 11:28:49

fredbezies
Member
Registered: 2011-07-28
Posts: 303

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

Allan wrote:

Note that compile time is not really the issue here.  A major update like this takes a lot more than just bumping package numbers and rebuilding. The may be new dependencies that need packaging, sometime new releases just don't build or other software does not rebuild against them and needs patching, and we have to ensure things actually work.

I remember gnome 3.6  (or 3.4 ?) upgrade and gnutls which broke evolution calendar. Waiting for all rebuilds is the only thing to do now.

Last edited by fredbezies (2014-03-29 11:29:42)

Offline

#31 2014-03-29 16:51:02

LoveJunky
Member
Registered: 2014-03-19
Posts: 4

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

I was trying to build it for a while using jhbuild and it was falling over on itself all over the place. When I finally gave up it was mostly breaking on a bunch of "make -all--recursive" errors that were in a bunch of the different modules it was trying to build.  IIRC there were 248 different components to the build that were all syncing from git and a bunch of other libs that it needed to build. Not to mention all of the little hacks (like forcing python2) just to get it to try to build.

It's not an easy process so I'm very grateful to @JGC for sticking with it and being very patient.

On a related note @JGC, is there anything that anyone can do to help you out?

Offline

#32 2014-03-29 18:31:32

Yosef Or
Member
Registered: 2013-03-31
Posts: 11

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

I have GNOME 3.12 installed in my system (from git, with many PKGBUILD I write and maintainer).
How can I help for getting GNOME for Arch's repo more faster?

Offline

#33 2014-03-29 19:20:08

sramkrishna
Member
Registered: 2014-03-29
Posts: 3

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

I just created an account so I can thank @jgc for all the hard work in getting GNOME 3.12 out.  Thanks from the GNOME foundation!

Offline

#34 2014-03-29 22:58:08

Weegee
Member
Registered: 2010-08-06
Posts: 62

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

It seems like the build server is alive again? At least I can see some package updates from today on http://mirrors.kernel.org/archlinux/gno … 4/?C=M;O=A ... this is great news smile


~

Offline

#35 2014-03-30 00:31:22

blackout23
Member
Registered: 2011-11-16
Posts: 780

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

If anyone wants to build gdm 3.12.0 I have just fixed the patches and PKGBUILD locally.

PKGBUILD - https://gist.github.com/blackout24/f38d64fba563fe872554
fix_external_program_directories.patch - https://gist.github.com/blackout24/17fab5af2be54b04e075
Old arch_pam.patch still applies.

Use at own risk. I don't know if the sha256sum for the new patch still is the same as the file on my PC when you grab it from the gist. The PKGBUILD only needed to change from gui/libgdm to libgdm since that folder seems to be in a new place in the 3.12 source tarball. This also needs dconf 0.20.0 from [gnome-unstable] to build, because a new command is used:
https://mail.gnome.org/archives/commits … 03224.html The original line for the external_program_directories.patch patch only changed slightly.

PC still boots into GDM and logs in with everything else being on 3.10.

Last edited by blackout23 (2014-03-30 00:43:39)

Offline

#36 2014-03-30 03:44:55

Thorsten Reinbold
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2011-12-06
Posts: 314

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

Stupid question at this point. How to use the repo? I have the repo in my pacman.conf, but I don't get any updates? What am I doing wrong?

Offline

#37 2014-03-30 04:28:51

jarryson
Member
Registered: 2007-02-18
Posts: 298

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

with [gnome-unstable] I only need to compile gnome-shell and gdm myself to experience gnome 3.12, isn't it?

Offline

#38 2014-03-30 04:37:04

felipe.santos
Member
Registered: 2014-03-30
Posts: 1

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

hey, folks, I download gdm 3.12 and gnome-shell-3.12 in http://ftp.acc.umu.se/pub/GNOME/sources/ , joint with gnome-unstable on pacman and walllla, everything worked right, try folks, work for me

Offline

#39 2014-03-30 09:20:50

blackout23
Member
Registered: 2011-11-16
Posts: 780

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

Thorsten Reinbold wrote:

Stupid question at this point. How to use the repo? I have the repo in my pacman.conf, but I don't get any updates? What am I doing wrong?

Position of the repos in pacman.conf matters. The priority is from top to bottom. So if [extra] is above [gnome-unstable] and both have a mutter package it will prefer [extra].

I just installed everything from [gnome-unstable] to build gnome-shell 3.12.0 by simply updating the version number and checksum:
http://ftp.gnome.org/pub/GNOME/sources/ … .sha256sum

It needs the new javascript and gobject stuff to build succesfully.

This gives you a working 3.12 installation.
http://imgur.com/YfSbj3p

Last edited by blackout23 (2014-03-30 11:15:14)

Offline

#40 2014-03-30 12:17:47

anohigisavay
Member
Registered: 2014-03-30
Posts: 2

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

gdm 3.12 now in the repo! YAY!!! big_smile

Offline

#41 2014-03-30 12:30:34

Weegee
Member
Registered: 2010-08-06
Posts: 62

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

anohigisavay wrote:

gdm 3.12 now in the repo! YAY!!! big_smile

And with this update I'm running on GNOME 3.12 now smile Nice work!


~

Offline

#42 2014-03-30 12:31:14

KingYes
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2011-05-08
Posts: 120
Website

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

Nice work.. But I still want to wait to official repo smile


Web Developer.

Offline

#43 2014-03-30 13:41:31

carepack
Member
Registered: 2014-02-14
Posts: 12

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

Weegee wrote:
anohigisavay wrote:

gdm 3.12 now in the repo! YAY!!! big_smile

And with this update I'm running on GNOME 3.12 now smile Nice work!


only enabled [gnome-unstable] and updated?

Offline

#44 2014-03-30 13:42:18

fredbezies
Member
Registered: 2011-07-28
Posts: 303

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

Only bug I noticed : details in gnome-control center crashed in my virtualbox test installation.

Besides this, seems to work great. My laptop will be upgraded in about an hour. So, I'll see if gnome-control-center details crash is only a virtualbox issue (related to lack of DRI ?!)

Offline

#45 2014-03-30 13:44:25

carepack
Member
Registered: 2014-02-14
Posts: 12

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

fredbezies wrote:

Only bug I noticed : details in gnome-control center crashed in my virtualbox test installation.

Besides this, seems to work great. My laptop will be upgraded in about an hour. So, I'll see if gnome-control-center details crash is only a virtualbox issue (related to lack of DRI ?!)


ok. upgraded to gnome 3.12

only enabled:

[gnome-unstable]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

in /etc/pacman.conf

Updated and everything went fine...

gnome-control-center is not crashing wink

Last edited by carepack (2014-03-30 14:12:26)

Offline

#46 2014-03-30 14:13:30

fredbezies
Member
Registered: 2011-07-28
Posts: 303

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

carepack wrote:
fredbezies wrote:

Only bug I noticed : details in gnome-control center crashed in my virtualbox test installation.

Besides this, seems to work great. My laptop will be upgraded in about an hour. So, I'll see if gnome-control-center details crash is only a virtualbox issue (related to lack of DRI ?!)


ok. upgraded to gnome 3.12

only enabled:

[gnome-unstable]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

in /etc/pacman.conf

Updated and everything went fine...

gnome-control-center is not crashing wink

It is a VirtualBox bug. My laptop is running gnome 3.12 with gnome-shell-extension-weather-git AUR package. Remaining ? My desktop computer wink

Only missing applications I can see : Brasero. Looks like I will have to tweak a little old PKGBUILD big_smile

Last edited by fredbezies (2014-03-30 14:50:55)

Offline

#47 2014-03-30 15:03:23

carepack
Member
Registered: 2014-02-14
Posts: 12

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

t is a VirtualBox bug. My laptop is running gnome 3.12 with gnome-shell-extension-weather-git AUR package. Remaining ? My desktop computer wink

Only missing applications I can see : Brasero. Looks like I will have to tweak a little old PKGBUILD big_smile

any idea to enter wayland gnome session?

Offline

#48 2014-03-30 15:07:43

blackout23
Member
Registered: 2011-11-16
Posts: 780

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

carepack wrote:

t is a VirtualBox bug. My laptop is running gnome 3.12 with gnome-shell-extension-weather-git AUR package. Remaining ? My desktop computer wink

Only missing applications I can see : Brasero. Looks like I will have to tweak a little old PKGBUILD big_smile

any idea to enter wayland gnome session?

It needs a working xwayland server otherwise it will not even start, even with the open source Intel driver.

http://falstaff.agner.ch/2013/10/08/arc … n-wayland/

The method to build the intel DDX and xorg-server with xwayland patches from AUR isn't what seems to be the approach that will make it into the mainline X server.

http://lists.x.org/archives/xorg-devel/ … 41467.html

Last edited by blackout23 (2014-03-30 15:18:42)

Offline

#49 2014-03-30 15:07:46

rainbowdashc
Member
Registered: 2013-09-30
Posts: 70

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

Upgraded without any issues.

carepack wrote:

any idea to enter wayland gnome session?

I think that's a developer preview. You'll also need to compile a patched driver from the AUR to do so.

Offline

#50 2014-03-30 16:28:20

conley
Member
Registered: 2013-01-09
Posts: 18

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

I just upgraded. The only hiccup I had was a requirement of totem 3.10 for totem-plugin; I just uninstalled totem-plugin and things worked great from there. Huge props to JGC; you built everything in no time!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB