You are not logged in.

#51 2014-03-30 19:10:04

lains
Member
Registered: 2013-07-04
Posts: 14

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

conley wrote:

I just upgraded. The only hiccup I had was a requirement of totem 3.10 for totem-plugin; I just uninstalled totem-plugin and things worked great from there. Huge props to JGC; you built everything in no time!

That's AFAIK because totem-plugin was deprecated. 3.10 was it's last version.

Offline

#52 2014-03-30 20:55:26

hells_dark
Member
From: France
Registered: 2007-11-13
Posts: 10
Website

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

Upgrading right now..

Any first feedback ?

Offline

#53 2014-03-30 21:24:40

blackout23
Member
Registered: 2011-11-16
Posts: 780

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

hells_dark wrote:

Upgrading right now..

Any first feedback ?

Found a bug where you can't right click in gnome-terminal, when you have htop running and use F10 for quitting the htop process doesn't work either. Also one bug with the Adwaita theme close button on the calcuator flickering when moving the mouse over it.

That's all. Everything else works fine.

Last edited by blackout23 (2014-03-30 21:25:08)

Offline

#54 2014-03-30 21:43:42

Weegee
Member
Registered: 2010-08-06
Posts: 62

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

hells_dark wrote:

Upgrading right now..

Any first feedback ?

Everything is working fine so far, even themes which haven't been updated to 3.12 are working without any major issues.

But then again, there weren't too many grave changes from 3.10 to 3.12, so that's that.


~

Offline

#55 2014-03-30 22:50:38

Thorsten Reinbold
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2011-12-06
Posts: 314

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

hells_dark wrote:

Upgrading right now..

Any first feedback ?

Brasero doesn't start.

brasero: error while loading shared libraries: libtracker-sparql-0.16.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Offline

#56 2014-03-30 23:37:44

Grima
Member
Registered: 2011-09-02
Posts: 58

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

I just installed 3.12 from unstable without any problems on a system with OpenBox only (no earlier version of GNOME installed). I've been playing around with my usual programs for half an hour, without finding anything particulary strange. Well, except that it sometimes feels sluggish and the flickering mentioned below.

blackout23 wrote:

Also one bug with the Adwaita theme close button on the calcuator flickering when moving the mouse over it.

It happens in all applications for me, not just gnome-calculator.

Offline

#57 2014-03-30 23:41:59

mapintar
Member
Registered: 2010-04-17
Posts: 46

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

Thorsten Reinbold wrote:
hells_dark wrote:

Upgrading right now..

Any first feedback ?

Brasero doesn't start.

brasero: error while loading shared libraries: libtracker-sparql-0.16.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Probabily you use brasero version 3.10.0-1. Brasero 3.12 is not in unstable repository in this moment.

Try rebuild brasero using PKGBUILD 3.10.0-1.

Last edited by mapintar (2014-03-30 23:43:43)

Offline

#58 2014-03-30 23:44:58

mapintar
Member
Registered: 2010-04-17
Posts: 46

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

Everthing work fine here at this moment with gnome-unstable repro.

nemo need rebuild for work.

Last edited by mapintar (2014-03-30 23:46:33)

Offline

#59 2014-03-31 01:51:31

lains
Member
Registered: 2013-07-04
Posts: 14

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

hells_dark wrote:

Upgrading right now..

Any first feedback ?

Epiphany/Web 3.12 segfaults after trying to load it's new HTML page, oddly.

Offline

#60 2014-03-31 05:11:44

ScionicSpectre
Member
Registered: 2011-06-25
Posts: 98

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

lains wrote:

Epiphany/Web 3.12 segfaults after trying to load it's new HTML page, oddly.

Odd, indeed- I noticed this on the official live image from the GNOME website, as well, but on my newly updated Arch installation, everything runs beautifully with no crashes. I suspect it may have something to do with the fact that I only recently uninstalled GNOME 3.10, so the config files for Epiphany must still be there somehow correcting this issue. Perhaps the Speed Dial page is expecting be populated with pre-existing information?

Offline

#61 2014-03-31 05:40:07

lucian80
Member
Registered: 2014-03-31
Posts: 6

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

Not working here for some reason?

[root@arch ~]#  pacman -Syu
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
 gnome-unstable is up to date
:: Starting full system upgrade...
 there is nothing to do

[root@arch ~]# gnome-shell --version
GNOME Shell 3.10.4

Offline

#62 2014-03-31 05:47:10

KingYes
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2011-05-08
Posts: 120
Website

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

Try:

# pacman -Syyu

Web Developer.

Offline

#63 2014-03-31 05:53:39

lucian80
Member
Registered: 2014-03-31
Posts: 6

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

KingYes wrote:

Try:

# pacman -Syyu

Ok fixed, I disabled "extra" in /etc/pacman.conf and it worked.

Last edited by lucian80 (2014-03-31 05:59:45)

Offline

#64 2014-03-31 05:57:02

KingYes
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2011-05-08
Posts: 120
Website

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

Maybe you need to change your mirror source, and then run:

# pacman -Syyu

Web Developer.

Offline

#65 2014-03-31 06:00:06

psychoticmeow
Member
Registered: 2013-05-01
Posts: 20

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

You need to put the gnome-unstable repo before the core repo in your pacman config, that was it takes precedence.

Offline

#66 2014-03-31 06:02:30

lucian80
Member
Registered: 2014-03-31
Posts: 6

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

Thanks, I will do that from now on.

psychoticmeow wrote:

You need to put the gnome-unstable repo before the core repo in your pacman config, that was it takes precedence.

Update:

All working fine, except gnome-control-center when you click on "Details" and that I think is because it is trying to grab the graphic accelerator info (VirtualBox)

OpenGL Warning: XGetVisualInfo returned 0 visuals for 0x8c01fd8
OpenGL Warning: Retry with 0x8002 returned 0 visuals
Segmentation fault (core dumped)

Last edited by lucian80 (2014-03-31 06:10:18)

Offline

#67 2014-03-31 06:08:53

Allan
Developer
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,407
Website

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

Also, gnome-unstable will be built against the [testing] repo.   I don't think there is a lot of interest in there are the moment, but it can cause issues.

Offline

#68 2014-03-31 07:00:49

lains
Member
Registered: 2013-07-04
Posts: 14

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

ScionicSpectre wrote:
lains wrote:

Epiphany/Web 3.12 segfaults after trying to load it's new HTML page, oddly.

Odd, indeed- I noticed this on the official live image from the GNOME website, as well, but on my newly updated Arch installation, everything runs beautifully with no crashes. I suspect it may have something to do with the fact that I only recently uninstalled GNOME 3.10, so the config files for Epiphany must still be there somehow correcting this issue. Perhaps the Speed Dial page is expecting be populated with pre-existing information?


Maybe I should reinstall Arch then set the repo at install and do stuff fresh from the install...

Offline

#69 2014-03-31 08:03:39

fredbezies
Member
Registered: 2011-07-28
Posts: 279

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

lucian80 wrote:

Thanks, I will do that from now on.

psychoticmeow wrote:

You need to put the gnome-unstable repo before the core repo in your pacman config, that was it takes precedence.

Update:

All working fine, except gnome-control-center when you click on "Details" and that I think is because it is trying to grab the graphic accelerator info (VirtualBox)

OpenGL Warning: XGetVisualInfo returned 0 visuals for 0x8c01fd8
OpenGL Warning: Retry with 0x8002 returned 0 visuals
Segmentation fault (core dumped)

I talked about this problem. Brasero ? Last version is 3.11.3 in gnome source repository.

I got a little bug with account settings. Seems it "forget" my google account password every 18 hours or so. Rebuilding against testing will help, I hope.

Offline

#70 2014-03-31 09:25:35

dekela
Member
Registered: 2011-05-18
Posts: 16

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

carepack wrote:
fredbezies wrote:

Only bug I noticed : details in gnome-control center crashed in my virtualbox test installation.

Besides this, seems to work great. My laptop will be upgraded in about an hour. So, I'll see if gnome-control-center details crash is only a virtualbox issue (related to lack of DRI ?!)


ok. upgraded to gnome 3.12

only enabled:

[gnome-unstable]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

in /etc/pacman.conf

Updated and everything went fine...

gnome-control-center is not crashing wink


Just did the same thing but I only see gnome 3.10... what am I doing wrong?

Offline

#71 2014-03-31 09:33:08

fredbezies
Member
Registered: 2011-07-28
Posts: 279

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

And is testing enabled ?

Offline

#72 2014-03-31 09:38:46

blackout23
Member
Registered: 2011-11-16
Posts: 780

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

Position of repos matters gnome-unstable and testing have to be on the top or at least above their corresponding stable repo. Don't disable other official repos.

Last edited by blackout23 (2014-03-31 11:12:50)

Offline

#73 2014-03-31 10:56:33

dekela
Member
Registered: 2011-05-18
Posts: 16

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

blackout23 wrote:

Position of repos matter gnome-unstable and testing have to be on the top. Don't disable other official repos.

I knew I forgot something... ;-)

So I have gnome-shell and gdm installed, changed the display manager but getting a blank screen after reboot. (no Login screen)...

Sorry for the noob questions... I was away from Arch for more then a year...

Dekel

Offline

#74 2014-03-31 11:10:17

step-2
Member
Registered: 2012-05-08
Posts: 70

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

everything is working great

thanks a lot @JGC

Offline

#75 2014-03-31 11:18:42

kjell
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2012-03-26
Posts: 97

Re: Gnome 3.12 Beta

Installed on two laptops, both without issues so far.   :=)

From what I've read, one can now supposedly create folders in the programs overview.  I do not see this feature.....

Last edited by kjell (2014-03-31 11:18:56)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB