You are not logged in.

#51 2006-03-19 19:47:35

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,641

Re: [arch64] arch64-0.7.2-(ftp/base/current).iso out

Beta8 / md5sum is ready for testing.

- Warnaud, check your network configuration: module tg3 is included. You should be able to "modprobe tg3".
- setfont fixed
- missing chroot binary added - installation should be possible now
- network is still not working? -> try modprobe network kernel module and then "dhcpd" or "ifconfig eth0 IP netmask SUBNET up" and watch the output(from the installer it maybe printed to tty5)

For now I have no idea why you cannot choose reiserfs for filesystem. All needed files should be there. Here is the part from the installer checking for available filesystems:

# Determine which filesystems are available
    insmod /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel/fs/xfs/xfs.ko >/dev/null 2>&1
    insmod /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel/fs/jfs/jfs.ko >/dev/null 2>&1
    FSOPTS="ext2 Ext2 ext3 Ext3"
    [ "`which mkreiserfs`" ] && FSOPTS="$FSOPTS reiserfs Reiser3"
    [ "`which mkfs.xfs`" ]   && FSOPTS="$FSOPTS xfs XFS"
    [ "`which mkfs.jfs`" ]   && FSOPTS="$FSOPTS jfs JFS"

And this is what we do while building the iso:

#!/bin/bash

mkdir utils
cd utils
mkdir -p kbd
cp -R /usr/share/kbd/consolefonts kbd/
tar cjf ../iso/addons/utils-consolefonts.tar.bz2 kbd/*
rm -R *

mkdir -p bin lib64
#cp -R /sbin/cryptsetup.static bin/cryptsetup
cp -R /usr/sbin/cryptsetup bin/cryptsetup
cp -R /sbin/dmsetup bin/
cp -R /sbin/devmap_mknod.sh bin/
cp -R /lib/libdevmapper.so* lib64/
cp -R /usr/lib64/libgcrypt.so* lib64/
cp -R /usr/lib64/libgpg-error.so* lib64/
cp -R /lib64/libnsl* lib64/
cp -R /usr/lib64/libpopt.so* lib64/
tar cjf ../iso/addons/utils-devmapper.tar.bz2 *
rm -R *

mkdir -p bin #lib64/evms
cp -R /sbin/fsck bin/
cp -R /sbin/blkid bin/
cp -R /sbin/e2* bin/
cp -R /sbin/logsave bin/
cp -R /sbin/findfs bin/
cp -R /sbin/tune2fs bin/
cp -R /sbin/resize2fs bin/
cp -R /sbin/badblocks bin/
cp -R /sbin/dumpe2fs bin/
#cp -R /sbin/ bin/
# FIXME: lib/evms/libe2fsim.1.2.1.so is missing, I can't find it anywhere - e2fsprogs no more included
#[root@workstation64 modules]# ldd /sbin/e2fsck
#shell-init: error retrieving current directory: getcwd: cannot access parent directories: Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden
#/usr/bin/ldd: line 167: /lib/ld-linux.so.2: Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden
#ldd: /lib/ld-linux.so.2 exited with unknown exit code (127)
#[root@workstation64 modules]# ldd /sbin/e2image
#shell-init: error retrieving current directory: getcwd: cannot access parent directories: Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden
#        libext2fs.so.2 => /lib/libext2fs.so.2 (0x00002aaaaabc0000)
#        libcom_err.so.2 => /lib/libcom_err.so.2 (0x00002aaaaacdc000)
#        libc.so.6 => /lib/tls/libc.so.6 (0x00002aaaaaddf000)
#        /lib64/ld-linux-x86-64.so.2 (0x00002aaaaaaab000)
#[root@workstation64 modules]# ldd /sbin/e2label
#shell-init: error retrieving current directory: getcwd: cannot access parent directories: Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden
#        libext2fs.so.2 => /lib/libext2fs.so.2 (0x00002aaaaabc0000)
#        libcom_err.so.2 => /lib/libcom_err.so.2 (0x00002aaaaacdc000)
#        libblkid.so.1 => /lib/libblkid.so.1 (0x00002aaaaaddf000)
#        libuuid.so.1 => /lib/libuuid.so.1 (0x00002aaaaaee7000)
#        libe2p.so.2 => /lib/libe2p.so.2 (0x00002aaaaafea000)
#        libc.so.6 => /lib/tls/libc.so.6 (0x00002aaaab0f1000)
#        /lib64/ld-linux-x86-64.so.2 (0x00002aaaaaaab000)
tar cjf ../iso/addons/utils-ext2.tar.bz2 *
rm -R *

mkdir -p bin
cp -R /sbin/fdisk bin/
tar cjf ../iso/addons/utils-fdisk.tar.bz2 *
rm -R *

mkdir -p bin
cp -R /sbin/jfs_* bin/
cp -R /sbin/fsck.jfs bin/
cp -R /sbin/mkfs.jfs bin/
tar cjf ../iso/addons/utils-jfs.tar.bz2 *
rm -R *

mkdir -p bin
cp -R /bin/loadkeys bin/
tar cjf ../iso/addons/utils-kbd.tar.bz2 *
rm -R *

mkdir -p kbd
cp -R /usr/share/kbd/keymaps kbd/
tar cjf ../iso/addons/utils-keymaps.tar.bz2 *
rm -R *

mkdir -p bin
cp -R /sbin/lvm bin/
tar cjf ../iso/addons/utils-lvm.tar.bz2 *
rm -R *

mkdir -p bin etc
cp -R /sbin/mdadm bin/
cp -R /etc/mdadm.conf etc/
tar cjf ../iso/addons/utils-mdadm.tar.bz2 *
rm -R *

mkdir -p bin lib64
cp -R /usr/sbin/mkntfs bin/
cp -R /usr/sbin/ntfs* bin/
cp -R /usr/bin/ntfs* bin/
cp -d /usr/lib/libntfs.so* lib64
tar cjf ../iso/addons/utils-ntfs.tar.bz2 *
rm -R *

#mkdir -p bin etc
# FIXME Missing packages for pcmcia. pcmcia conclicts with udev
#tar cjf ../iso/addons/utils-pcmcia.tar.bz2 *
#rm -R *

mkdir -p bin
cp -R /sbin/mkreiserfs bin/
cp -R /sbin/reiserfsck bin/
cp -R /sbin/reiserfstune bin/
cp -R /sbin/resize_reiserfs bin/
tar cjf ../iso/addons/utils-reiserfs.tar.bz2 *
rm -R *

mkdir -p bin lib64
cp -R /usr/sbin/iw* bin/
cp -d /usr/lib64/libiw.so* lib64/
tar cjf ../iso/addons/utils-wireless.tar.bz2 *
rm -R *

mkdir -p bin lib64
cp -R /sbin/xfs_* bin/
cp -R /bin/xfs_check bin/
cp -R /bin/xfs_copy bin/
cp -R /bin/xfs_growfs bin/
cp -R /bin/xfs_info bin/
cp -R /sbin/fsck.xfs bin/
cp -R /sbin/mkfs.xfs bin/
cp -d /lib64/libhandle.so* lib64/
tar cjf ../iso/addons/utils-xfs.tar.bz2 *
rm -R *


cd ..
rm -R utils

Please check, if the filesystems are available and if the file are at the right place! Thx.

As you can see "loadkey" should also be there.

Everybody can mount the iso file and compare it to the i686 cd. Report any error. Also have a look at the included initrd.

AndyRTR

Offline

#52 2006-03-20 14:14:14

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,893
Website

Re: [arch64] arch64-0.7.2-(ftp/base/current).iso out

Ok BETA8 .... I have a bootable Arch64 system ... hotplug is still in package list ( not a problem !)

System boots so initrd works now ...

Well Done ;-)

Just got to update lol

Let me know if you need anything else tested ?


Mr Green

Offline

#53 2006-03-20 15:22:22

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,641

Re: [arch64] arch64-0.7.2-(ftp/base/current).iso out

Great news. I think we're not far away recommending to use the iso for default installation. smile

Have you seen reiserfs for choosing as filesystem? What about network while installing? I only want to fix most annoying bugs. I don't have the intention to make it perfect. What is still broken? I'll give it a few days and then we should have our first release candidate tongue

I will start making another iso maybe called 04/2006 or base-01/06 or 0.7.2pre1 using more recent packages in a parallel way.

AndyRTR

Offline

#54 2006-03-20 15:35:48

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,893
Website

Re: [arch64] arch64-0.7.2-(ftp/base/current).iso out

Only got ext2/3 options during install ....

I'll test out net install....

Back soon lol

EDIT +++ ok dhcp is not working for me in net install net card module found ok ... yet CD installed Arch64 dhcp works ;-S

Under Vmplayer network works so its my network card clash ... entered Custom server name & path  but installer canot find package-list name thing again

HTH


Mr Green

Offline

#55 2006-03-21 04:22:14

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,641

Re: [arch64] arch64-0.7.2-(ftp/base/current).iso out

For the filesystems I think I've found the bug and it should be fixed now. Now I'm going to fix the pkg-list. Hotplug will be removed and lilo I will be added. Anything else?

So I hope next release can be a RC1.

AndyRTR

Offline

#56 2006-03-21 10:01:13

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,893
Website

Re: [arch64] arch64-0.7.2-(ftp/base/current).iso out

Errr nano is missing not a real problem for vi nuts but grub gets installed without checking menu.lst

server list maybe add xentac.net etc & path to package list ....


Mr Green

Offline

#57 2006-03-21 10:25:15

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,641

Re: [arch64] arch64-0.7.2-(ftp/base/current).iso out

Nano is fixed here.

Can you check our grub package? Is the menu.lst file missing there too?

Can you try this for me before running the "/arch/setup"?

cd /usr/bin
rm sbin
ln -s /tmp/addons/bin sbin
cd -

I guess this should fix the filesystem bug.

Can you try dhcpd/manuelly configured network installation again after that. Thx.

Andy

Offline

#58 2006-03-21 11:08:18

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,893
Website

Re: [arch64] arch64-0.7.2-(ftp/base/current).iso out

in /usr/bin I have no sbin file or directory

menu.lst is there ... looks ok .. but I'm using vmplayer so it  may be why its not working

I would rather use lilo lol

Ok I can get network running ok ....

I can even chroot into arch64 install use pacman & even loaded lilo but it will not run getting cannot execute binary file ;-(

HTH


Mr Green

Offline

#59 2006-03-21 11:27:33

Cam
Member
From: Brisbane, Aus
Registered: 2004-12-21
Posts: 658
Website

Re: [arch64] arch64-0.7.2-(ftp/base/current).iso out

It installed okay from the beta 8 CD, no bootloader was installed but it wasn't hard to set the Arch32 one to boot this. So far looking good, I've managed to get a pretty decent chuck of my own PKGBUILDs to build properly which is nice, a few needed patches though but none of these were repo packages, mostly AUR ones.

Offline

#60 2006-03-21 11:31:22

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,641

Re: [arch64] arch64-0.7.2-(ftp/base/current).iso out

sry. wrong path. try this:

cd /usr
rm sbin
ln -s /tmp/addons/bin sbin
cd -

Offline

#61 2006-03-21 11:40:54

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,893
Website

Re: [arch64] arch64-0.7.2-(ftp/base/current).iso out

ok filesystems come up but I could not create reiserfs ,,,,, someone else may have to confirm this ...

As with cs-cam I have a working arch64 install on my hard drive just used my old 32 lilo to boot it ... np

must boot into 64 bit lol


Mr Green

Offline

#62 2006-03-21 12:14:25

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,641

Re: [arch64] arch64-0.7.2-(ftp/base/current).iso out

Mr Green wrote:

ok filesystems come up...

Good. That should work when installing directly from cd. So I only have to rework the package list. Then I will publish our first release candidate.

I've to check why on our servers there's no more the needed subdirectory /current/setup/(packages.txt/pacman.pkg.tg.gz). The one on Xentacs server is outdated and on arch64.org it has gone away. Hm  :?  I hope I can fix that later tonight.

Thanks for testing.

AndyRTR

Offline

#63 2006-03-21 13:48:55

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,893
Website

Re: [arch64] arch64-0.7.2-(ftp/base/current).iso out

A quick reinstall from cd to hard drive I have reiserfs set up ..... using your commands

would be nice to have net install working but lets face it if you have to d/l iso anyway not a real problem

maybe have a small netinstall iso (just a thought!)

Can I get on with setting Arch64 up ? ;-)


Mr Green

Offline

#64 2006-03-21 14:33:38

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,641

Re: [arch64] arch64-0.7.2-(ftp/base/current).iso out

Mr Green wrote:

Can I get on with setting Arch64 up ? ;-)

Yes. Should be enough testing for now. Thx.

Offline

#65 2006-03-22 01:09:07

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,641

Re: [arch64] arch64-0.7.2-(ftp/base/current).iso out

ISO RC1 is up. If you don't find important bugs this iso will become our first final install cd. I hope I haven't broken too much things again.

last changes are:
- nano link is fixed
- all filesystems should be there for choise and should work now
- package list has been fixed (lilo in, hotplug out, man should be now listed too)
- and please test network again.

I've fixed the arch64.org server so it should be possible again to install from the ftp-servers. This should give a more up to date installation but without warranty that depedencies are resolved erverytime.
Maybe Xentac's server will take some hours longer for syncing. Both should appear in the mirror list but I'm not sure if I had choosen the right syntax for their pathes.

I'm confident the finish line is almost reached  tongue

arch-0.7.1-RC1-x86_64-base.iso

AndyRTR

Offline

#66 2006-03-22 10:18:04

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,893
Website

Re: [arch64] arch64-0.7.2-(ftp/base/current).iso out

I love RC releases lol

Hope to check it out the weekend

Great work as always  tongue


Mr Green

Offline

#67 2006-03-22 12:06:59

kozaki
Member
From: London >. < Paris
Registered: 2005-06-13
Posts: 671
Website

Re: [arch64] arch64-0.7.2-(ftp/base/current).iso out

.torrent now available @ linuxtracker.org  wink


Seeded last month: Arch 50 gig, derivatives 1 gig
Desktop @3.3GHz 8 gig RAM, linux-ck
laptop #1 Atom 2 gig RAM, Arch linux stock i686 (6H w/ 6yrs old battery smile) #2: ARM Tegra K1, 4 gig RAM, ChrOS
Atom Z520 2 gig RAM, OMV (Debian 7) kernel 3.16 bpo on SDHC | PGP Key: 0xFF0157D9

Offline

#68 2006-03-22 12:31:21

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,641

Re: [arch64] arch64-0.7.2-(ftp/base/current).iso out

Thanks a lot. Can you report your experiences with this iso?

Offline

#69 2006-03-22 21:19:18

kozaki
Member
From: London >. < Paris
Registered: 2005-06-13
Posts: 671
Website

Re: [arch64] arch64-0.7.2-(ftp/base/current).iso out

not yet Andy, I'm sorry about that :oops:


Seeded last month: Arch 50 gig, derivatives 1 gig
Desktop @3.3GHz 8 gig RAM, linux-ck
laptop #1 Atom 2 gig RAM, Arch linux stock i686 (6H w/ 6yrs old battery smile) #2: ARM Tegra K1, 4 gig RAM, ChrOS
Atom Z520 2 gig RAM, OMV (Debian 7) kernel 3.16 bpo on SDHC | PGP Key: 0xFF0157D9

Offline

#70 2006-03-23 06:40:20

Cam
Member
From: Brisbane, Aus
Registered: 2004-12-21
Posts: 658
Website

Re: [arch64] arch64-0.7.2-(ftp/base/current).iso out

I'll start seeding that torrent on the weekend, just need to pick up my new hard drives so I can put on old 200GB in a spare computer. I might run a mini Arch64 repo for some packages I build on it too. Some that are just newer than whats it's the repos at arch64.org and just some other apps I use...

Offline

#71 2006-03-23 06:57:48

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,641

Re: [arch64] arch64-0.7.2-(ftp/base/current).iso out

Cam wrote:

I'll start seeding that torrent on the weekend, just need to pick up my new hard drives so I can put on old 200GB in a spare computer. I might run a mini Arch64 repo for some packages I build on it too. Some that are just newer than whats it's the repos at arch64.org and just some other apps I use...

I'm seeding it right now. But for now that only a few people download it the ftp servers should have enough power.

Can you send me a list of your packages? Our current and extra repos try to stricly follow arch32 but our community is a full binary repo and not so restrictive. Maybe you want to publish them there. If you want you can help us building current and extra packages. Send me a PM or catch me in IRC after work. At work I only have the forum (->PM) or ICQ/MSN for talking.

CU.
AndyRTR

Offline

#72 2006-03-24 20:07:03

Dieter
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-10-13
Posts: 140

Re: [arch64] arch64-0.7.2-(ftp/base/current).iso out

I tried the actual RC1 iso of March 21st:
http://arch64.org/packages/iso/arch-0.7 … 4-base.iso

What does not work?
- nano crashes when selected as editor for the config files. I found no way to change it to vi afterwards.
- initrd is still not created. So I can't boot my basic Arch64 system on harddisk.

I got a lot of messages "Warning: Cannot find chroot binary - unable to run scriptlets". I don't know whether this breaks something or whether it's only annoying.

Nice to have:
- How to enter correct locale ("locale -a" as written in the config file doesn't help)
- "Beginning upgrade process ..." after that message it seems that nothing happens any more. But you only have to wait...  so message should be changed to "Beginning upgrade process, please wait... to tell the user that the time when nothing happens may be longer.
- if "km" is entered and the keymap changed, the user selection may be passed to KEYMAP line in /etc/rc.conf as initial value.

Dieter

Offline

#73 2006-03-24 22:00:58

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,641

Re: [arch64] arch64-0.7.2-(ftp/base/current).iso out

Dieter wrote:

I tried the actual RC1 iso of March 21st:
http://arch64.org/packages/iso/arch-0.7 … 4-base.iso

What does not work?
- nano crashes when selected as editor for the config files. I found no way to change it to vi afterwards.
- initrd is still not created. So I can't boot my basic Arch64 system on harddisk.

I got a lot of messages "Warning: Cannot find chroot binary - unable to run scriptlets". I don't know whether this breaks something or whether it's only annoying.

Sorry. I've taken an older snapshot so the chroot issue came back. It's fixed now again. And I've replaced the linked nano->e3 binary with the true nano binary even if this is different to the arch32. I hope this won't break anything else.

Dieter wrote:

Nice to have:
- How to enter correct locale ("locale -a" as written in the config file doesn't help)
- "Beginning upgrade process ..." after that message it seems that nothing happens any more. But you only have to wait...  so message should be changed to "Beginning upgrade process, please wait... to tell the user that the time when nothing happens may be longer.
- if "km" is entered and the keymap changed, the user selection may be passed to KEYMAP line in /etc/rc.conf as initial value.

Dieter

This should go to the arch32 devs.

AndyRTR

...just uploading the RC2.

Offline

#74 2006-03-24 23:43:33

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: [arch64] arch64-0.7.2-(ftp/base/current).iso out

How long does it take to upload in iso? I'll give it a try as soon as RC2 is on the server lol

Offline

#75 2006-03-25 08:20:09

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,641

Re: [arch64] arch64-0.7.2-(ftp/base/current).iso out

Had a DSL outage here while uploading. When the line keeps living it should be done in a few hours.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB