You are not logged in.

#576 2017-10-18 04:24:38

The Compiler
Member
From: Switzerland
Registered: 2011-05-01
Posts: 214
Website

Re: qutebrowser - A keyboard-driven, vim-like browser based on PyQt5

@Ambrevar I did, but back then you needed

post_install() {
	xdg-icon-resource forceupdate --theme hicolor &> /dev/null
	update-desktop-database -q
}

which needed those dependencies. Nowadays there are pacman hooks for that ;-)


>>> from __future__ import braces
  File "<stdin>", line 1
SyntaxError: not a chance

Offline

#577 2017-10-18 09:38:05

Ambrevar
Member
Registered: 2011-08-14
Posts: 212
Website

Re: qutebrowser - A keyboard-driven, vim-like browser based on PyQt5

I understand, I was only asking you for confirmation since you know better as the original author smile

Offline

#578 2017-10-18 19:18:19

captaincurrie
Member
From: /dev/random
Registered: 2013-11-01
Posts: 82

Re: qutebrowser - A keyboard-driven, vim-like browser based on PyQt5

Hello,

Is it possible to bind mouse buttons to different functions through the config.py?

Specifically i would like to bind the middle mouse button to run a bash script on the url of the clicked link.

Last edited by captaincurrie (2017-10-18 19:18:34)

Offline

#579 2017-10-18 20:05:32

The Compiler
Member
From: Switzerland
Registered: 2011-05-01
Posts: 214
Website

Re: qutebrowser - A keyboard-driven, vim-like browser based on PyQt5

captaincurrie wrote:

Hello,

Is it possible to bind mouse buttons to different functions through the config.py?

Specifically i would like to bind the middle mouse button to run a bash script on the url of the clicked link.


No, there's no mouse bindings - but there's an issue for it.


>>> from __future__ import braces
  File "<stdin>", line 1
SyntaxError: not a chance

Offline

#580 2017-10-19 21:45:10

anarki@buttereblume
Member
Registered: 2015-12-29
Posts: 49

Re: qutebrowser - A keyboard-driven, vim-like browser based on PyQt5

Since upgrade to version 1.0, moving around on a web page feels not smooth anymore, as if the frame rate dropped. Even on purge text sites, e.g. blog.fefe.de. I am experiencing that on two machines with different CPU / GPU combinations, both running a current Arch Linux. Downgrading to 0.9 (backend webengine) makes Qutebrowser scroll responsive again. Does anyone else notice a difference?

Offline

#581 2017-10-20 08:19:34

The Compiler
Member
From: Switzerland
Registered: 2011-05-01
Posts: 214
Website

Re: qutebrowser - A keyboard-driven, vim-like browser based on PyQt5

anarki@buttereblume wrote:

Since upgrade to version 1.0, moving around on a web page feels not smooth anymore, as if the frame rate dropped. Even on purge text sites, e.g. blog.fefe.de. I am experiencing that on two machines with different CPU / GPU combinations, both running a current Arch Linux. Downgrading to 0.9 (backend webengine) makes Qutebrowser scroll responsive again. Does anyone else notice a difference?

You're not the first one to notice this, but I can't reproduce it and I'm not 100% certain what causes this. I pushed some (hopefully) improvements for this to the latest master - can you please try with an (updated) qutebrowser-git?

Last edited by The Compiler (2017-10-20 08:19:51)


>>> from __future__ import braces
  File "<stdin>", line 1
SyntaxError: not a chance

Offline

#582 2017-10-20 08:29:05

NoSuck
Member
Registered: 2015-03-04
Posts: 157
Website

Re: qutebrowser - A keyboard-driven, vim-like browser based on PyQt5

I haven't noticed a change in scrolling, but I did notice qutebrowser's window renders noticeably faster when switching to it (e.g. with wmctrl).

More importantly, config.py is a godsend.  Everyone involved did a great job with it.  The automatically displayed page explained everything so well, I didn't run into a single obstacle during migration.  I love being able to wield Python in my configuration file.

By the way, confirm_quit is a list, right?  Perhaps the documentation should mention that.

Last edited by NoSuck (2017-10-20 08:30:08)

Offline

#583 2017-10-22 09:58:43

js2a
Member
Registered: 2017-10-22
Posts: 4

Re: qutebrowser - A keyboard-driven, vim-like browser based on PyQt5

I'm getting the following error while I am trying to run the latest version from the community repo:
Di005av.png

What am I doing wrong?

Offline

#584 2017-10-22 15:50:24

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 19,739

Re: qutebrowser - A keyboard-driven, vim-like browser based on PyQt5

Welcome to the Arch Linux forums.

First, is your system fully up to date?   Have you performed a pacman -Syu
Second, is extra/python-pyqt5 installed?


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#585 2017-10-22 18:09:04

js2a
Member
Registered: 2017-10-22
Posts: 4

Re: qutebrowser - A keyboard-driven, vim-like browser based on PyQt5

ewaller wrote:

Welcome to the Arch Linux forums.

First, is your system fully up to date?   Have you performed a pacman -Syu
Second, is extra/python-pyqt5 installed?

Thanks for an answer!

Yes, my system is up to date and extra/python-pyqt5 is installed. Also the versions before 1.0 were working ok.

Offline

#586 2017-10-22 18:56:59

The Compiler
Member
From: Switzerland
Registered: 2011-05-01
Posts: 214
Website

Re: qutebrowser - A keyboard-driven, vim-like browser based on PyQt5

js2a wrote:

I'm getting the following error while I am trying to run the latest version from the community repo:

Can you please show the output of:

pacman -Qo /usr/lib/python3.6/site-packages/PyQt5/QtSql.so
pacman -Qo /usr/lib/libQt5Sql.so.5.9.2

>>> from __future__ import braces
  File "<stdin>", line 1
SyntaxError: not a chance

Offline

#587 2017-10-23 14:10:36

firecat53
Member
From: Lake Stevens, WA, USA
Registered: 2007-05-14
Posts: 1,542
Website

Re: qutebrowser - A keyboard-driven, vim-like browser based on PyQt5

Hey, I'm wondering if the microphone feature on duolingo.com is functional for anyone else? I never remember being prompted by qutebrowser if I wanted to allow recording audio...not 100% sure on that though. The widget itself does nothing when clicked. I am able to use the microphone on other sites just fine. Just checking if it's a site issue, a webengine issue, or something else.

Thanks!

Offline

#588 2017-10-23 14:36:21

The Compiler
Member
From: Switzerland
Registered: 2011-05-01
Posts: 214
Website

Re: qutebrowser - A keyboard-driven, vim-like browser based on PyQt5

firecat53 wrote:

Hey, I'm wondering if the microphone feature on duolingo.com is functional for anyone else? I never remember being prompted by qutebrowser if I wanted to allow recording audio...not 100% sure on that though. The widget itself does nothing when clicked. I am able to use the microphone on other sites just fine. Just checking if it's a site issue, a webengine issue, or something else.

Thanks!

Do you have content.media_capture set to ask/true? Looking at their troubleshooting page, apparently they require Flash for the microphone, so maybe setting content.plugins to true is all you need.


>>> from __future__ import braces
  File "<stdin>", line 1
SyntaxError: not a chance

Offline

#589 2017-10-23 16:52:09

firecat53
Member
From: Lake Stevens, WA, USA
Registered: 2007-05-14
Posts: 1,542
Website

Re: qutebrowser - A keyboard-driven, vim-like browser based on PyQt5

Well I feel dumb now...didn't see their troubleshooting page. Lack of flash is definitely the issue. Sorry for the noise!

Offline

#590 2017-10-23 16:59:06

anastiel
Member
From: Russian
Registered: 2016-03-03
Posts: 3
Website

Re: qutebrowser - A keyboard-driven, vim-like browser based on PyQt5

have solution for Segmentation fault (core dumped)
?

Offline

#591 2017-10-23 17:04:30

The Compiler
Member
From: Switzerland
Registered: 2011-05-01
Posts: 214
Website

Re: qutebrowser - A keyboard-driven, vim-like browser based on PyQt5

anastiel wrote:

have solution for Segmentation fault (core dumped)
?

Not without more information.


>>> from __future__ import braces
  File "<stdin>", line 1
SyntaxError: not a chance

Offline

#592 2017-10-23 18:45:09

js2a
Member
Registered: 2017-10-22
Posts: 4

Re: qutebrowser - A keyboard-driven, vim-like browser based on PyQt5

The Compiler wrote:
js2a wrote:

I'm getting the following error while I am trying to run the latest version from the community repo:

Can you please show the output of:

pacman -Qo /usr/lib/python3.6/site-packages/PyQt5/QtSql.so
pacman -Qo /usr/lib/libQt5Sql.so.5.9.2

Thanks for the answer. I've found the issue. I've forgotten I enabled the kde-unstable repo as I don't use KDE day to day and it shipped qt version incompatible with the python-pyqt5 package.

Offline

#593 2017-10-23 18:52:28

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 29,442
Website

Re: qutebrowser - A keyboard-driven, vim-like browser based on PyQt5

js2a wrote:

Thanks for the answer. I've found the issue. I've forgotten I enabled the kde-unstable repo as I don't use KDE day to day and it shipped qt version incompatible with the python-pyqt5 package.

Did you also have [testing] enabled?  If you do not need kde-unstable, don't use it; if you do use it, use it properly and enable [testing] too.


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#594 2017-10-23 19:10:57

js2a
Member
Registered: 2017-10-22
Posts: 4

Re: qutebrowser - A keyboard-driven, vim-like browser based on PyQt5

Trilby wrote:
js2a wrote:

Thanks for the answer. I've found the issue. I've forgotten I enabled the kde-unstable repo as I don't use KDE day to day and it shipped qt version incompatible with the python-pyqt5 package.

Did you also have [testing] enabled?  If you do not need kde-unstable, don't use it; if you do use it, use it properly and enable [testing] too.

I didn't at the time. I was using kde-unstable with the testing repo in the past and forgot to remove the lines for both the repos.

Offline

#595 2017-10-26 15:40:58

rix
Member
Registered: 2012-07-25
Posts: 238

Re: qutebrowser - A keyboard-driven, vim-like browser based on PyQt5

Hi,

do Java applets work?

I didn't found anything relevant on Internet, just one commented code.

Thanks.

Offline

#596 2017-10-26 20:49:45

The Compiler
Member
From: Switzerland
Registered: 2011-05-01
Posts: 214
Website

Re: qutebrowser - A keyboard-driven, vim-like browser based on PyQt5

rix wrote:

do Java applets work?

I didn't found anything relevant on Internet, just one commented code.

No - neither QtWebKit nor QtWebEngine supports them, and I doubt that's going to change wink


>>> from __future__ import braces
  File "<stdin>", line 1
SyntaxError: not a chance

Offline

#597 2017-10-27 12:28:58

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 29,442
Website

Re: qutebrowser - A keyboard-driven, vim-like browser based on PyQt5

Do java applets still exist?!  I ask that only slightly facetiously, I have no doubt their are a few floating about on ancient / abandonned web pages - but they really shouldn't exist anymore.


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#598 2017-10-27 13:24:47

lahwaacz
Wiki Admin
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2012-05-29
Posts: 748

Re: qutebrowser - A keyboard-driven, vim-like browser based on PyQt5

Well, the entire PES (Portal of Economic Services) we have to use at our university is built with Java, so the only browsers where it actually works are Firefox < 55. And it is neither ancient (it was enforced only 1-2 years ago) or abandoned (they still add more and more crap).

I should have posted in the grrr thread...

Offline

#599 2017-10-28 15:05:58

rix
Member
Registered: 2012-07-25
Posts: 238

Re: qutebrowser - A keyboard-driven, vim-like browser based on PyQt5

I agree Trilby, but as Unix Sysadmin I can say that companies make console portals (Ilo and the like) using Java, tho.

Offline

#600 2017-10-30 20:49:37

ghus
Banned
Registered: 2016-11-14
Posts: 420

Re: qutebrowser - A keyboard-driven, vim-like browser based on PyQt5

Hi, I'm sorry if the problem is already spoked and solved, I didn't find the solution: on all my installations, I can't use the arrows keys to navigate the history, or bookmarks, it does not highlighting anything (only by clicking on, pointing them with the cursor, so using the mouse ).
Did I missing something?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB