You are not logged in.

#26 2016-01-16 21:36:52

ids1024
Member
From: California
Registered: 2013-08-16
Posts: 239
Website

Re: sway - an i3-compatible WM for Wayland

mke21 wrote:

Looks great and very familiar for this i3wm user. I installed from the aur and it worked.
Some problems I got: I don't see borders, I've got a 1 px border in my own I3 setting but don't see it in sway. Not a real dealbraker bit nevertheless. Seccond, My Also, pulldown menu's in X programs don't seem towallpaper did not appear. work. This renders the current version useless for daily use indeed sadly. Still, I really love it and I'm looking forward to use it more when it is more mature. Keep up the good work!

Borders aren't implemented yet: https://github.com/SirCmpwn/sway/issues/2


"Only wimps use tape backup: _real_ men just upload their important stuff on ftp, and let the rest of the world mirror it."—Linus Torvalds
s/ftp/git/

https://iandouglasscott.com | https://github.org/ids1024 | https://keybase.io/ids1024

Offline

#27 2016-01-17 15:05:45

SirCmpwn
Member
Registered: 2013-09-18
Posts: 89

Re: sway - an i3-compatible WM for Wayland

Borders are unimplemented. What kind of pulldown menus? Like right click? Or the menu bar at the top of windows? Are you sure they're running on xwayland? GTK apps run on the Wayland backend and use subsurfaces for menus, which are unimplemented (see https://github.com/Cloudef/wlc/issues/22).

Offline

#28 2016-01-29 00:26:34

ninjaaron
Member
Registered: 2010-12-10
Posts: 296

Re: sway - an i3-compatible WM for Wayland

This is great. Is there any way to have support for keyboard layout switching? I use at least two non-latin keyboard layouts on a daily basis in addition to two variations of the US keyboard, and switching between them dynamically is important to my workflow.

I know that's weird, but that's my use case (though I guess people who come from a language with a non-latin alphabet need to go back and forth quickly also when they are on the computer)

Offline

#29 2016-01-29 00:27:51

SirCmpwn
Member
Registered: 2013-09-18
Posts: 89

Re: sway - an i3-compatible WM for Wayland

ninjaaron wrote:

This is great. Is there any way to have support for keyboard layout switching? I use at least two non-latin keyboard layouts on a daily basis in addition to two variations of the US keyboard, and switching between them dynamically is important to my workflow.

I know that's weird, but that's my use case (though I guess people who come from a language with a non-latin alphabet need to go back and forth quickly also when they are on the computer)

You can't switch on the fly, but you can specify a layout when you start sway.

Offline

#30 2016-01-29 02:37:32

ninjaaron
Member
Registered: 2010-12-10
Posts: 296

Re: sway - an i3-compatible WM for Wayland

SirCmpwn wrote:

You can't switch on the fly, but you can specify a layout when you start sway.

Yeah, I saw that. Unfortunately, this is not a solution for my use-case, but I do look forward to watching the progress of this project closely. I'm currently an i3 user, and I'm very interested in getting on to Wayland one of these days. Thanks for all your hard work!

Offline

#31 2016-01-29 11:41:49

Awebb
Member
Registered: 2010-05-06
Posts: 5,250

Re: sway - an i3-compatible WM for Wayland

What? You're saying there is no setxkbmap equivalent for Wayland? Another "the client's job" thing? Oh my...

Offline

#32 2016-01-30 22:27:21

ninjaaron
Member
Registered: 2010-12-10
Posts: 296

Re: sway - an i3-compatible WM for Wayland

I'm sure there will eventually be something like setxkbmap for Wayland. It still uses libxkbcommon on the backend for handling keyboard input. My guess is simply that nobody has implemented a similar tool for Wayland yet. I believe there is layout switching in Gnome under Wayland (I have used it, but it's been a while...)

but yeah; I don't really see why this should be a window managers job. Someone just needs to write setxkbmap for wayland (or patch the existing setxkbmap). I'm not that person, since I don't know C, but I'm sure it will happen eventually.

Offline

#33 2016-03-20 21:41:10

SirCmpwn
Member
Registered: 2013-09-18
Posts: 89

Re: sway - an i3-compatible WM for Wayland

Been a while since the last update, so here I am for another.

  • New default wallpaper and a logo to go with it

  • New man pages: swaylock(1), sway-bar(5), sway-input(5) plus improvements to existing man pages

  • swaylock works (but is still incomplete)

  • Input devices are now configurable (man sway-input)

  • More i3 features have been implemented for the IPC interface

  • swaybar fleshed out, most of i3's bar features+configuration are implemented

  • Key handling tweaked to be more i3-like in niche cases

  • i3-gaps "smart_gaps" feature implemented

  • Performance improvements

  • Dozens of bugs fixed

  • etc

I'll be doing another "state of sway" post next month (I plan on doing them three times a year), but here's a taste of what we've been up to.

Offline

#34 2016-03-21 18:40:26

andya
Member
Registered: 2014-10-20
Posts: 10

Re: sway - an i3-compatible WM for Wayland

Beautiful! Thank’you for the hard work so far

Offline

#35 2016-03-25 00:08:08

SirCmpwn
Member
Registered: 2013-09-18
Posts: 89

Re: sway - an i3-compatible WM for Wayland

Roadmap to Sway 1.0: http://swaywm.org/roadmap

Offline

#36 2016-04-16 15:23:09

SirCmpwn
Member
Registered: 2013-09-18
Posts: 89

Re: sway - an i3-compatible WM for Wayland

Sway 0.5 is now available in community.

Offline

#37 2016-04-29 14:25:38

SirCmpwn
Member
Registered: 2013-09-18
Posts: 89

Re: sway - an i3-compatible WM for Wayland

Sway 0.6 released and now available in community. Release notes: https://github.com/SirCmpwn/sway/releases/tag/0.6

Offline

#38 2016-05-02 16:41:45

jugs
Member
Registered: 2007-12-05
Posts: 39

Re: sway - an i3-compatible WM for Wayland

Is there a sway specific way to control brightness? I assume we shouldn't use using xbacklight?

Offline

#39 2016-05-02 17:05:57

SirCmpwn
Member
Registered: 2013-09-18
Posts: 89

Re: sway - an i3-compatible WM for Wayland

Use /sys/class/backlight/.

Offline

#40 2016-05-02 17:17:12

aouelete
Member
Registered: 2015-05-27
Posts: 30

Re: sway - an i3-compatible WM for Wayland

I've been using light from the AUR for a while now, and it works perfectly (very similar to xbacklight).

Offline

#41 2016-05-18 23:23:04

teateawhy
Member
From: GER
Registered: 2012-03-05
Posts: 1,132
Website

Re: sway - an i3-compatible WM for Wayland

Hi, thanks for this. Is it possible to auto-hide the statusbar in sway with "mode hide" ?

Offline

#42 2016-05-22 19:12:48

SirCmpwn
Member
Registered: 2013-09-18
Posts: 89

Re: sway - an i3-compatible WM for Wayland

Offline

#43 2016-08-02 11:51:02

stozi
Member
Registered: 2010-03-02
Posts: 149

Re: sway - an i3-compatible WM for Wayland

How to disable Qt window decorations?

Offline

#44 2016-08-02 18:59:12

SirCmpwn
Member
Registered: 2013-09-18
Posts: 89

Re: sway - an i3-compatible WM for Wayland

Sway 0.9 released, plus the state of sway 1 year in:

https://drewdevault.com/2016/08/02/Sway … retro.html

Offline

#45 2016-10-25 23:00:48

SirCmpwn
Member
Registered: 2013-09-18
Posts: 89

Re: sway - an i3-compatible WM for Wayland

Offline

#46 2017-02-06 23:21:39

aplund
Member
Registered: 2012-06-19
Posts: 20

Re: sway - an i3-compatible WM for Wayland

This is slightly off topic, but for people who use this WM, what terminal emulator do you use?  Is it a wayland native one, or run through xwayland?  The freedesktop wlterm seems to be a dead project.

Offline

#47 2017-02-07 23:51:08

Stebalien
Member
Registered: 2010-04-27
Posts: 1,237
Website

Re: sway - an i3-compatible WM for Wayland

aplund wrote:

This is slightly off topic, but for people who use this WM, what terminal emulator do you use?  Is it a wayland native one, or run through xwayland?  The freedesktop wlterm seems to be a dead project.

Termite works well but you'll have to either patch GTK or termite  to get rid of the client side titlebar.


Steven [ web : git ]
GPG:  327B 20CE 21EA 68CF A7748675 7C92 3221 5899 410C
Do not email: honeypot@stebalien.com

Offline

#48 2018-08-24 04:15:10

once
Member
From: Taiwan
Registered: 2006-09-12
Posts: 231

Re: sway - an i3-compatible WM for Wayland

sorry for old thread,

wayland/sway mouse cursor lag after start apps like urxvt.
although they say fixed in wlc.
https://github.com/swaywm/sway/issues/967

Offline

#49 2018-08-25 07:24:45

once
Member
From: Taiwan
Registered: 2006-09-12
Posts: 231

Re: sway - an i3-compatible WM for Wayland

once wrote:

sorry for old thread,

wayland/sway mouse cursor lag after start apps like urxvt.
although they say fixed in wlc.
https://github.com/swaywm/sway/issues/967

ok, no one reply so switch to sway-wlroots-git.
but can not launch form TTY or SDDM, nothing like into air.
not yet, sway launch from weston, now i have 2 WM running under wayland.

ps. mouse issue solved.

Offline

#50 2019-01-12 07:42:15

once
Member
From: Taiwan
Registered: 2006-09-12
Posts: 231

Re: sway - an i3-compatible WM for Wayland

using sway-git, everything fine.
but QT apps no window decorations, GTK does e.g. chromium.
had export QT_QPA_PLATFROM=wayland and qt5-wayland installed.

Last edited by once (2019-01-12 07:43:02)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB