You are not logged in.

#276 2017-01-02 14:22:18

OdinEidolon
Member
From: Belluno - Italy
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 498

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

sPHERE wrote:

I know.

I tried repetedly some times and about 70% of the times out of say...20, it worked.

But no thermal controls tho. Do you find any other sensors except for the "coretemp" module in "sudo sensors-detect"?

Here is my last:

[petterk@petterk-nix ~]$ sudo smbios-keyboard-ctl -g -v
Helper function to print current status of keyboard illumination

Current status of KeyBoard Illumination setting on your system:
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Get Keyboard Illumination Configuration: res[smi.cbRES1]=0x-2,res[smi.cbRES2]=0x0,res[smi.cbRES3]=0x0
Info: Unable to fetch Keyboard Illumination Configuration information: Feature Not supported on this system

Get Keyboard illumination Current State: res[smi.cbRES1]=0x0,res[smi.cbRES2]=0xA070040,res[smi.cbRES3]=0x0

Configured mode state:
     Auto: Input-activity-based On (illumination level 50%); input-activity based Off

Your Keyboard will illumination on:
    Any Keystroke
    Touchpad activity
    Pointing stick

Keyboard illumination timeout has bee set at: 10  Seconds
Note - Timeout value of 0 means its always ON

Current setting of ALS value that turns the light on or off: 0
Current ALS Reading : 0
Current keyboard light level : 0

I just also compared dmi and acpi-tables from all kinds of bootparameters, and currently the DSDT is looking for these acpi_osi=name and acpi_os_name=name .

This is a list of the OS's and what difference they make in terms of code.

Simply follow this guide (I used acpidump && acpixtract for this with iasl):


And also, the most prevalent error I usually get is this:

ACPI Error: [\_SB_.PCI0.LPCB.H_EC.ECAV] Namespace lookup failure, AE_NOT_FOUND (20160422/psargs-359)

and the ones where FNCL and FN01 etc namespaces does not add up. This is because of errors written in the actual files.

Because this is my actual DSDT table:

https://paste.pound-python.org/show/SM5 … QnDd0nIla/

and after extraction compiles into 15 SSDT tables and 1 DSDT table. The corresponding output defined based on _OSI and OSNAME (as in acpi_os_name) is actually quite crucial for it to function, and obviously, there has been major imporvements according to my DMESG in regards to errors atleast. This is from the DSDT table.

But I DO know for a fact that the thermals are quite advanced as you will see yourselves in the tables with accpidump, extract and iasl.

Sorry, which guide? Maybe you forgot a link?
Sensors-detect can detect only coretemp and 1 acpix sensor, but ksysguard can find more:
http://i.imgur.com/3HHiMIV.png

EDIT: these are in /sys/class/thermal

Last edited by OdinEidolon (2017-01-02 14:25:28)


Hardware: 2016 Dell XPS15 - matte FullHD - i5-6300HQ - 32GB DDR4 - Nvidia GTX960M - Samsung 840EVO 250GB SSD - 56Wh
Software: Plasma 5 - rEFInd - linux-ck - preload - prelink - verynice - psd - bumblebee

Offline

#277 2017-01-15 11:34:01

OdinEidolon
Member
From: Belluno - Italy
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 498

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

Is anyone having systemd-backlight@leds:dell::kbd_backlight.service failing once every two or three reboots? When this happens, I seem to be unable to control keyboard brightness from KDE's keyboard brightness control, I am forced to use F10 (not a big deal). Also, I find sometimes the OS seems to reset (t boot) the keyboard brightness to 0 despite being set to the middle level as default in the BIOS, which is more annoying.


Hardware: 2016 Dell XPS15 - matte FullHD - i5-6300HQ - 32GB DDR4 - Nvidia GTX960M - Samsung 840EVO 250GB SSD - 56Wh
Software: Plasma 5 - rEFInd - linux-ck - preload - prelink - verynice - psd - bumblebee

Offline

#278 2017-01-16 08:36:44

OdinEidolon
Member
From: Belluno - Italy
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 498

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

Has anyone done any tests on how different scaling drivers and governors work on our XPS? Pstate/cpufreq ondemand/performance/schedutil?


Hardware: 2016 Dell XPS15 - matte FullHD - i5-6300HQ - 32GB DDR4 - Nvidia GTX960M - Samsung 840EVO 250GB SSD - 56Wh
Software: Plasma 5 - rEFInd - linux-ck - preload - prelink - verynice - psd - bumblebee

Offline

#279 2017-01-17 10:02:08

analbeard
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-11-07
Posts: 47

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

Does anyone have bluetooth working successfully? I've recently got a late 2016 9550 and although wifi works, I can't get bluetooth to start:

[NEW] Controller 9C:B6:D0:D3:9C:70 laptop.domain.com [default]
[bluetooth]# scan on
Failed to start discovery: org.bluez.Error.NotReady
Jan 16 22:02:39 laptop.domain.com bluetoothd[2658]: Bluetooth management interface 1.13 initialized
Jan 16 22:02:39 laptop.domain.com bluetoothd[2658]: Failed to obtain handles for "Service Changed" characteristic
Jan 16 22:02:39 laptop.domain.com bluetoothd[2658]: Sap driver initialization failed.
Jan 16 22:02:39 laptop.domain.com bluetoothd[2658]: sap-server: Operation not permitted (1)
Jan 16 22:03:14 laptop.domain.com bluetoothd[2658]: Endpoint registered: sender=:1.42 path=/MediaEndpoint/A2DPSource
Jan 16 22:03:14 laptop.domain.com bluetoothd[2658]: Endpoint registered: sender=:1.42 path=/MediaEndpoint/A2DPSink
Jan 16 22:03:15 laptop.domain.com bluetoothd[2658]: Failed to set mode: Failed (0x03)
Jan 17 08:33:07 laptop.domain.com bluetoothd[2658]: Endpoint unregistered: sender=:1.42 path=/MediaEndpoint/A2DPSource
Jan 17 08:33:07 laptop.domain.com bluetoothd[2658]: Endpoint unregistered: sender=:1.42 path=/MediaEndpoint/A2DPSink
Jan 17 08:33:07 laptop.domain.com bluetoothd[2658]: Failed to obtain handles for "Service Changed" characteristic
Jan 17 08:33:07 laptop.domain.com bluetoothd[2658]: Sap driver initialization failed.
Jan 17 08:33:07 laptop.domain.com bluetoothd[2658]: sap-server: Operation not permitted (1)
Jan 17 08:33:07 laptop.domain.com bluetoothd[2658]: Endpoint registered: sender=:1.42 path=/MediaEndpoint/A2DPSource
Jan 17 08:33:07 laptop.domain.com bluetoothd[2658]: Endpoint registered: sender=:1.42 path=/MediaEndpoint/A2DPSink
02:00.0 Network controller: Qualcomm Atheros QCA6174 802.11ac Wireless Network Adapter (rev 32)
	Subsystem: Bigfoot Networks, Inc. Device 1535
	Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 135
	Memory at dd200000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=2M]
	Capabilities: <access denied>
	Kernel driver in use: ath10k_pci
	Kernel modules: ath10k_pci
[    4.311423] ath10k_pci 0000:02:00.0: Direct firmware load for ath10k/pre-cal-pci-0000:02:00.0.bin failed with error -2
[    4.311437] ath10k_pci 0000:02:00.0: Direct firmware load for ath10k/cal-pci-0000:02:00.0.bin failed with error -2
[    4.311675] ath10k_pci 0000:02:00.0: Direct firmware load for ath10k/QCA6174/hw3.0/firmware-5.bin failed with error -2
[    4.311678] ath10k_pci 0000:02:00.0: could not fetch firmware file 'ath10k/QCA6174/hw3.0/firmware-5.bin': -2

Late 2016 Dell XPS15 | i7-6700HQ | 16GB DDR4 | Samsung PM961 NVMe 512Gb SSD
LightDM/i3 | rEFInd | linux-ck

Offline

#280 2017-01-17 10:13:29

OdinEidolon
Member
From: Belluno - Italy
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 498

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

analbeard wrote:

Does anyone have bluetooth working successfully? I've recently got a late 2016 9550 and although wifi works, I can't get bluetooth to start:

I did try for a bit following the XPS13 wiki page when I got the laptop, but without success. Since I do not use BT devices I gave up pretty soon.


Hardware: 2016 Dell XPS15 - matte FullHD - i5-6300HQ - 32GB DDR4 - Nvidia GTX960M - Samsung 840EVO 250GB SSD - 56Wh
Software: Plasma 5 - rEFInd - linux-ck - preload - prelink - verynice - psd - bumblebee

Offline

#281 2017-01-17 10:34:21

analbeard
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-11-07
Posts: 47

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

OdinEidolon wrote:
analbeard wrote:

Does anyone have bluetooth working successfully? I've recently got a late 2016 9550 and although wifi works, I can't get bluetooth to start:

I did try for a bit following the XPS13 wiki page when I got the laptop, but without success. Since I do not use BT devices I gave up pretty soon.

Damnit sad I use it for my headphones all day at work so if anyone has some suggestions I'll gladly try them out and report back!


Late 2016 Dell XPS15 | i7-6700HQ | 16GB DDR4 | Samsung PM961 NVMe 512Gb SSD
LightDM/i3 | rEFInd | linux-ck

Offline

#282 2017-01-17 10:35:56

OdinEidolon
Member
From: Belluno - Italy
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 498

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

analbeard wrote:
OdinEidolon wrote:
analbeard wrote:

Does anyone have bluetooth working successfully? I've recently got a late 2016 9550 and although wifi works, I can't get bluetooth to start:

I did try for a bit following the XPS13 wiki page when I got the laptop, but without success. Since I do not use BT devices I gave up pretty soon.

Damnit :( I use it for my headphones all day at work so if anyone has some suggestions I'll gladly try them out and report back!

You have the Dell WiFi card, right? Did you try the steps in the XPS13 wiki?


Hardware: 2016 Dell XPS15 - matte FullHD - i5-6300HQ - 32GB DDR4 - Nvidia GTX960M - Samsung 840EVO 250GB SSD - 56Wh
Software: Plasma 5 - rEFInd - linux-ck - preload - prelink - verynice - psd - bumblebee

Offline

#283 2017-01-17 10:48:42

analbeard
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-11-07
Posts: 47

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

OdinEidolon wrote:

You have the Dell WiFi card, right? Did you try the steps in the XPS13 wiki?

Sorry, can you point me towards the right page? I can see 4 pages relating to XPS13 variants and I can't see anything relevant to me (I may be missing something obvious!)


Late 2016 Dell XPS15 | i7-6700HQ | 16GB DDR4 | Samsung PM961 NVMe 512Gb SSD
LightDM/i3 | rEFInd | linux-ck

Offline

#284 2017-01-17 10:52:59

OdinEidolon
Member
From: Belluno - Italy
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 498

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

analbeard wrote:
OdinEidolon wrote:

You have the Dell WiFi card, right? Did you try the steps in the XPS13 wiki?

Sorry, can you point me towards the right page? I can see 4 pages relating to XPS13 variants and I can't see anything relevant to me (I may be missing something obvious!)

Sure:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/De … #Bluetooth

If you have the Dell card (which is Broadcom) then there are a few steps to take. For me, they did not work. The Dell cards in the XPS13 and 15 should be slightly different tho, so you may have to download a different file. I do not remember what I tried tbh.

Last edited by OdinEidolon (2017-01-17 10:53:24)


Hardware: 2016 Dell XPS15 - matte FullHD - i5-6300HQ - 32GB DDR4 - Nvidia GTX960M - Samsung 840EVO 250GB SSD - 56Wh
Software: Plasma 5 - rEFInd - linux-ck - preload - prelink - verynice - psd - bumblebee

Offline

#285 2017-01-17 11:02:41

analbeard
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-11-07
Posts: 47

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

OdinEidolon wrote:
analbeard wrote:
OdinEidolon wrote:

You have the Dell WiFi card, right? Did you try the steps in the XPS13 wiki?

Sorry, can you point me towards the right page? I can see 4 pages relating to XPS13 variants and I can't see anything relevant to me (I may be missing something obvious!)

Sure:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/De … #Bluetooth

If you have the Dell card (which is Broadcom) then there are a few steps to take. For me, they did not work. The Dell cards in the XPS13 and 15 should be slightly different tho, so you may have to download a different file. I do not remember what I tried tbh.

Right sorry, I'm with you - I've got a Qualcomm bluetooth card: actually I'm an idiot - I ran that on the wrong machine - too many terminals open.

Last edited by analbeard (2017-01-17 11:07:22)


Late 2016 Dell XPS15 | i7-6700HQ | 16GB DDR4 | Samsung PM961 NVMe 512Gb SSD
LightDM/i3 | rEFInd | linux-ck

Offline

#286 2017-01-17 11:06:40

OdinEidolon
Member
From: Belluno - Italy
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 498

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

analbeard wrote:
OdinEidolon wrote:
analbeard wrote:

Sorry, can you point me towards the right page? I can see 4 pages relating to XPS13 variants and I can't see anything relevant to me (I may be missing something obvious!)

Sure:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/De … #Bluetooth

If you have the Dell card (which is Broadcom) then there are a few steps to take. For me, they did not work. The Dell cards in the XPS13 and 15 should be slightly different tho, so you may have to download a different file. I do not remember what I tried tbh.

Right sorry, I'm with you - I've got a Qualcomm bluetooth card:

Bus 004 Device 003: ID 0cf3:3004 Qualcomm Atheros Communications AR3012 Bluetooth 4.0

Weird, that's not the default card right? Or are you on the newer Killer wifi model?


Hardware: 2016 Dell XPS15 - matte FullHD - i5-6300HQ - 32GB DDR4 - Nvidia GTX960M - Samsung 840EVO 250GB SSD - 56Wh
Software: Plasma 5 - rEFInd - linux-ck - preload - prelink - verynice - psd - bumblebee

Offline

#287 2017-01-17 11:08:40

analbeard
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-11-07
Posts: 47

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

OdinEidolon wrote:
analbeard wrote:
OdinEidolon wrote:

Sure:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/De … #Bluetooth

If you have the Dell card (which is Broadcom) then there are a few steps to take. For me, they did not work. The Dell cards in the XPS13 and 15 should be slightly different tho, so you may have to download a different file. I do not remember what I tried tbh.

Right sorry, I'm with you - I've got a Qualcomm bluetooth card:

Bus 004 Device 003: ID 0cf3:3004 Qualcomm Atheros Communications AR3012 Bluetooth 4.0

Weird, that's not the default card right? Or are you on the newer Killer wifi model?

See my edit - i'm an idiot and ran it on the wrong machine. Just gotta rebuild the kernel on the new laptop as I changed mkinicpio.conf and broke something - I'll get the right output after I've done that. I believe I have Killer in the new one though.


Late 2016 Dell XPS15 | i7-6700HQ | 16GB DDR4 | Samsung PM961 NVMe 512Gb SSD
LightDM/i3 | rEFInd | linux-ck

Offline

#288 2017-01-17 11:36:46

analbeard
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-11-07
Posts: 47

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

analbeard wrote:
OdinEidolon wrote:

Weird, that's not the default card right? Or are you on the newer Killer wifi model?

See my edit - i'm an idiot and ran it on the wrong machine. Just gotta rebuild the kernel on the new laptop as I changed mkinicpio.conf and broke something - I'll get the right output after I've done that. I believe I have Killer in the new one though.

Right, let's try that again from the right machine:

Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0cf3:e300 Qualcomm Atheros Communications

Late 2016 Dell XPS15 | i7-6700HQ | 16GB DDR4 | Samsung PM961 NVMe 512Gb SSD
LightDM/i3 | rEFInd | linux-ck

Offline

#289 2017-01-17 12:17:03

OdinEidolon
Member
From: Belluno - Italy
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 498

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

analbeard wrote:
analbeard wrote:
OdinEidolon wrote:

Weird, that's not the default card right? Or are you on the newer Killer wifi model?

See my edit - i'm an idiot and ran it on the wrong machine. Just gotta rebuild the kernel on the new laptop as I changed mkinicpio.conf and broke something - I'll get the right output after I've done that. I believe I have Killer in the new one though.

Right, let's try that again from the right machine:

Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0cf3:e300 Qualcomm Atheros Communications

I fear I can't help you with that... sad


Hardware: 2016 Dell XPS15 - matte FullHD - i5-6300HQ - 32GB DDR4 - Nvidia GTX960M - Samsung 840EVO 250GB SSD - 56Wh
Software: Plasma 5 - rEFInd - linux-ck - preload - prelink - verynice - psd - bumblebee

Offline

#290 2017-01-17 12:27:44

analbeard
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-11-07
Posts: 47

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

OdinEidolon wrote:
analbeard wrote:
analbeard wrote:

See my edit - i'm an idiot and ran it on the wrong machine. Just gotta rebuild the kernel on the new laptop as I changed mkinicpio.conf and broke something - I'll get the right output after I've done that. I believe I have Killer in the new one though.

Right, let's try that again from the right machine:

Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0cf3:e300 Qualcomm Atheros Communications

I fear I can't help you with that... sad

Not to worry, any input is appreciated! smile


Late 2016 Dell XPS15 | i7-6700HQ | 16GB DDR4 | Samsung PM961 NVMe 512Gb SSD
LightDM/i3 | rEFInd | linux-ck

Offline

#291 2017-01-19 08:48:29

analbeard
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-11-07
Posts: 47

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

Just in case anyone else needs this, I solved my own problem - I missed installing bluez-firmware so of course it wasn't going to work.


Late 2016 Dell XPS15 | i7-6700HQ | 16GB DDR4 | Samsung PM961 NVMe 512Gb SSD
LightDM/i3 | rEFInd | linux-ck

Offline

#292 2017-01-19 08:53:51

OdinEidolon
Member
From: Belluno - Italy
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 498

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

analbeard wrote:

Just in case anyone else needs this, I solved my own problem - I missed installing bluez-firmware so of course it wasn't going to work.

Weird that bluez did not bring that in as a dependency. Is this a bug?


Hardware: 2016 Dell XPS15 - matte FullHD - i5-6300HQ - 32GB DDR4 - Nvidia GTX960M - Samsung 840EVO 250GB SSD - 56Wh
Software: Plasma 5 - rEFInd - linux-ck - preload - prelink - verynice - psd - bumblebee

Offline

#293 2017-01-19 09:38:45

analbeard
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-11-07
Posts: 47

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

OdinEidolon wrote:
analbeard wrote:

Just in case anyone else needs this, I solved my own problem - I missed installing bluez-firmware so of course it wasn't going to work.

Weird that bluez did not bring that in as a dependency. Is this a bug?

Seemingly it's only necessary for certain controllers:

Description     : Firmwares for Broadcom BCM203x and STLC2300 Bluetooth chips

It wasn't in my package list when I dumped it on my old laptop as it uses a different controller.


Late 2016 Dell XPS15 | i7-6700HQ | 16GB DDR4 | Samsung PM961 NVMe 512Gb SSD
LightDM/i3 | rEFInd | linux-ck

Offline

#294 2017-01-30 13:14:22

OdinEidolon
Member
From: Belluno - Italy
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 498

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

I'm trying to understand why my laptop seems to use more power than needed at idle.
Can we do a survey, running the following:

sudo powerstat -d 0 -f -g -c

?

My setup is:

  • i915 powersaving options: enable_psr=2 enable_rc6=7 enable_fbc=1 semaphores=1 lvds_downclock=1 enable_guc_loading=1 enable_guc_submission=1

  • snd_hda_intel powersaving options: power_save=1 power_save_controller=1

  • iwlwifi powersaving options: power_save=1 d0i3_disable=0 uapsd_disable=0

  • iwldvm powersaving options: force_cam=0

  • wireless ON, associated to a nearby AP

  • bluetooth OFF

  • pcie_aspm=force

  • sysctl options: kernel.sysrq = 1 kernel.nmi_watchdog = 0 vm.swappiness = 0

  • SATA ALPM min_power and PCI-E ASPM powersave

  • CPU: no turbo and max_perf_pctl 80

  • all auto: /sys/bus/*/devices/*/power/control; /sys/bus/*/devices/*/ata*/power/control; /sys/block/*/device/power/control

  • USB autosuspend

  • powertop: all "good"

  • min brightness

  • wifi powersave ON

  • SDDM login screen active, but running from TTY

And my average power is 5.66W at idle, lowest brightness, wifi ON. It looks like a lot to me!

Powerstat results:
http://pastebin.com/Nia4Jtcq

Last edited by OdinEidolon (2017-01-30 13:26:47)


Hardware: 2016 Dell XPS15 - matte FullHD - i5-6300HQ - 32GB DDR4 - Nvidia GTX960M - Samsung 840EVO 250GB SSD - 56Wh
Software: Plasma 5 - rEFInd - linux-ck - preload - prelink - verynice - psd - bumblebee

Offline

#295 2017-02-19 11:47:14

OdinEidolon
Member
From: Belluno - Italy
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 498

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

I have 32GB or RAM installed and power consumption while suspended is HUGE. Last time I checked the battery (56Wh) went down by ~20% in 15 hours of suspend: that's almost an entire Watt when suspended.

Can anybody confirm this?

Last edited by OdinEidolon (2017-02-19 11:47:29)


Hardware: 2016 Dell XPS15 - matte FullHD - i5-6300HQ - 32GB DDR4 - Nvidia GTX960M - Samsung 840EVO 250GB SSD - 56Wh
Software: Plasma 5 - rEFInd - linux-ck - preload - prelink - verynice - psd - bumblebee

Offline

#296 2017-02-19 16:08:10

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 19,003

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

Seems a bit high.  Let's explore some worse case numbers.

I would have expected a one, may two hundred mW.  You do have a fair amount of RAM, so the time the processor will need to be awake to refresh that RAM will be a bit longer than laptops that are more memory challenged.  I would expect the refresh on a typical machine to take on the order of 250nS, and that the machine need to do that every 64mS (roughly 16 times per second).  Your RAM might take twice that long.  We still should be talking on the order of 300mW.

I honestly have no set-of-the-pants feeling for PCI-e bus power use.  I have a hunch that there is some overhead there in order to maintain state.  Especially if there is a GPU that has its own RAM, and if that RAM is being maintained.  Again, this is all speculation.

The other culprit is going to be your USB bus.  During sleep, devices on that bus are still provided 5V and they are told to behave themselves.  This is done so that the bus does not need to be re enumerated after wakeup.  It also provides for wake-on LAN, or other real world events that need be monitored.   Not all USB devices are well behaved -- especially phones,  MP3 players, or other battery powered devices that charge their internal batteries from the host.  Also, remember that not all USB devices are external.  Check what is on your system with usb -vv and see what they report in terms of low power state.

WLANs might consume more than one would expect during a sleep, especially if they are using some sort of WoL.  You might check your logs and see what the system does as it comes out of sleep; for example, does it have to reassociate with an AP, or was it already there?


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#297 2017-02-19 16:16:43

OdinEidolon
Member
From: Belluno - Italy
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 498

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

ewaller wrote:

Seems a bit high.  Let's explore some worse case numbers.

I would have expected a one, may two hundred mW.  You do have a fair amount of RAM, so the time the processor will need to be awake to refresh that RAM will be a bit longer than laptops that are more memory challenged.  I would expect the refresh on a typical machine to take on the order of 250nS, and that the machine need to do that every 64mS (roughly 16 times per second).  Your RAM might take twice that long.  We still should be talking on the order of 300mW.

I honestly have no set-of-the-pants feeling for PCI-e bus power use.  I have a hunch that there is some overhead there in order to maintain state.  Especially if there is a GPU that has its own RAM, and if that RAM is being maintained.  Again, this is all speculation.

The other culprit is going to be your USB bus.  During sleep, devices on that bus are still provided 5V and they are told to behave themselves.  This is done so that the bus does not need to be re enumerated after wakeup.  It also provides for wake-on LAN, or other real world events that need be monitored.   Not all USB devices are well behaved -- especially phones,  MP3 players, or other battery powered devices that charge their internal batteries from the host.  Also, remember that not all USB devices are external.  Check what is on your system with usb -vv and see what they report in terms of low power state.

WLANs might consume more than one would expect during a sleep, especially if they are using some sort of WoL.  You might check your logs and see what the system does as it comes out of sleep; for example, does it have to reassociate with an AP, or was it already there?

Thanks for the very detailed answer! I love to be able to see the calculations.
WoL/WoWlan is disabled. I'll do a test without USB devices (I usually have a small USB drive plugged in) and with PCI-e power management set to low power. The GPU is disabled, so I don't think that might be a culprit. When waking for sleep, the Wlan card must reassociate, and it takes a few seconds to do so, which is something I expect to be normal.

Unfortunately I do not know whether this happened also before the RAM upgrade (from 8 to 32GB). I did not notice it.


Hardware: 2016 Dell XPS15 - matte FullHD - i5-6300HQ - 32GB DDR4 - Nvidia GTX960M - Samsung 840EVO 250GB SSD - 56Wh
Software: Plasma 5 - rEFInd - linux-ck - preload - prelink - verynice - psd - bumblebee

Offline

#298 2017-02-20 07:43:05

OdinEidolon
Member
From: Belluno - Italy
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 498

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

OdinEidolon wrote:
ewaller wrote:

Seems a bit high.  Let's explore some worse case numbers.

I would have expected a one, may two hundred mW.  You do have a fair amount of RAM, so the time the processor will need to be awake to refresh that RAM will be a bit longer than laptops that are more memory challenged.  I would expect the refresh on a typical machine to take on the order of 250nS, and that the machine need to do that every 64mS (roughly 16 times per second).  Your RAM might take twice that long.  We still should be talking on the order of 300mW.

I honestly have no set-of-the-pants feeling for PCI-e bus power use.  I have a hunch that there is some overhead there in order to maintain state.  Especially if there is a GPU that has its own RAM, and if that RAM is being maintained.  Again, this is all speculation.

The other culprit is going to be your USB bus.  During sleep, devices on that bus are still provided 5V and they are told to behave themselves.  This is done so that the bus does not need to be re enumerated after wakeup.  It also provides for wake-on LAN, or other real world events that need be monitored.   Not all USB devices are well behaved -- especially phones,  MP3 players, or other battery powered devices that charge their internal batteries from the host.  Also, remember that not all USB devices are external.  Check what is on your system with usb -vv and see what they report in terms of low power state.

WLANs might consume more than one would expect during a sleep, especially if they are using some sort of WoL.  You might check your logs and see what the system does as it comes out of sleep; for example, does it have to reassociate with an AP, or was it already there?

Thanks for the very detailed answer! I love to be able to see the calculations.
WoL/WoWlan is disabled. I'll do a test without USB devices (I usually have a small USB drive plugged in) and with PCI-e power management set to low power. The GPU is disabled, so I don't think that might be a culprit. When waking for sleep, the Wlan card must reassociate, and it takes a few seconds to do so, which is something I expect to be normal.

Unfortunately I do not know whether this happened also before the RAM upgrade (from 8 to 32GB). I did not notice it.

Ok, did a test tonight. With all powersaving activated and no USB devices connected, the laptop used 10.53Wh of battery, as reported by upower, in exactly 9 hours and 40 minutes. That's more than a Watt! Something must be wrong...


Hardware: 2016 Dell XPS15 - matte FullHD - i5-6300HQ - 32GB DDR4 - Nvidia GTX960M - Samsung 840EVO 250GB SSD - 56Wh
Software: Plasma 5 - rEFInd - linux-ck - preload - prelink - verynice - psd - bumblebee

Offline

#299 2017-04-01 20:02:10

moesi
Member
Registered: 2014-02-27
Posts: 48

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

Hi!

I have some problems with the tempreture when just surfing with Firefox or Chromium. I did a clean install some weeks ago, and i maybe missed some configuration (compared to installation before)... well the battery-drain is also very high. I have bumblee-setup as in the wiki explained. I also tried acpi call for disabling the gpu. I also use the bootparamters from the wiki site. https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Dell_XPS_15_(9550) But nothing helped.

It is really annoying. Maybe someone can help me out a bit?

FHD-i7


greeting
Moesi

Offline

#300 2017-04-01 20:32:13

OdinEidolon
Member
From: Belluno - Italy
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 498

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

moesi wrote:

Hi!

I have some problems with the tempreture when just surfing with Firefox or Chromium. I did a clean install some weeks ago, and i maybe missed some configuration (compared to installation before)... well the battery-drain is also very high. I have bumblee-setup as in the wiki explained. I also tried acpi call for disabling the gpu. I also use the bootparamters from the wiki site. https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Dell_XPS_15_(9550) But nothing helped.

It is really annoying. Maybe someone can help me out a bit?

FHD-i7


greeting
Moesi

What is the cause of the high power usage, according to Powertop?
Are you sure the GPU is off? Check /proc/acpi/bbswitch


Hardware: 2016 Dell XPS15 - matte FullHD - i5-6300HQ - 32GB DDR4 - Nvidia GTX960M - Samsung 840EVO 250GB SSD - 56Wh
Software: Plasma 5 - rEFInd - linux-ck - preload - prelink - verynice - psd - bumblebee

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB