You are not logged in.

#76 2016-03-10 21:07:21

OdinEidolon
Member
From: Belluno - Italy
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 498

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

It's weird. I still get some black flickers very rarely, with these options:

options i915 enable_fbc=1 lvds_downclock=1 enable_rc6=7 drm.vblankoffdelay=1

Adding PSR greatly increases the frequency of the spikes.
Anyone else?

Last edited by OdinEidolon (2016-03-10 21:07:46)


Hardware: 2016 Dell XPS15 - matte FullHD - i5-6300HQ - 32GB DDR4 - Nvidia GTX960M - Samsung 840EVO 250GB SSD - 56Wh
Software: Plasma 5 - rEFInd - linux-ck - preload - prelink - verynice - psd - bumblebee

Offline

#77 2016-03-11 22:07:38

0X1A
Member
Registered: 2013-03-27
Posts: 43

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

OdinEidolon wrote:
0X1A wrote:

Has anyone else been getting abysmal battery times? I've got my brightness around 40% and acpi -b is telling me I have 2:40 at 80% battery remaining. Have the i7, 8GB, FHD variant.

56 or 84Wh?
I also get bad battery runtimes with the 56Wh, but not that bad. It seems that upower sometimes reports anomalous battery drains... at least in my case. Sometimes I manage to get 9W in idle, then sometimes it idles at 14W. Weird.

I still have to do lots of tweaking and testing tho.

It ended up being because I didn't have bbswitch installed alongside bumblebee -_-

Offline

#78 2016-03-12 09:00:31

Feadurn
Member
Registered: 2013-05-15
Posts: 15

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

0X1A wrote:
OdinEidolon wrote:
0X1A wrote:

Has anyone else been getting abysmal battery times? I've got my brightness around 40% and acpi -b is telling me I have 2:40 at 80% battery remaining. Have the i7, 8GB, FHD variant.

56 or 84Wh?
I also get bad battery runtimes with the 56Wh, but not that bad. It seems that upower sometimes reports anomalous battery drains... at least in my case. Sometimes I manage to get 9W in idle, then sometimes it idles at 14W. Weird.

I still have to do lots of tweaking and testing tho.

It ended up being because I didn't have bbswitch installed alongside bumblebee -_-

Thank you very much!!!! You fixed my issue with the battery smile

Offline

#79 2016-03-12 11:26:03

OdinEidolon
Member
From: Belluno - Italy
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 498

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

0X1A wrote:
OdinEidolon wrote:
0X1A wrote:

Has anyone else been getting abysmal battery times? I've got my brightness around 40% and acpi -b is telling me I have 2:40 at 80% battery remaining. Have the i7, 8GB, FHD variant.

56 or 84Wh?
I also get bad battery runtimes with the 56Wh, but not that bad. It seems that upower sometimes reports anomalous battery drains... at least in my case. Sometimes I manage to get 9W in idle, then sometimes it idles at 14W. Weird.

I still have to do lots of tweaking and testing tho.

It ended up being because I didn't have bbswitch installed alongside bumblebee -_-

smile that must be why tongue

Do myou also have the problem of the 960m not shutting down after being awakened?
Something like this happens to me:
https://github.com/Bumblebee-Project/Bu … issues/699


Hardware: 2016 Dell XPS15 - matte FullHD - i5-6300HQ - 32GB DDR4 - Nvidia GTX960M - Samsung 840EVO 250GB SSD - 56Wh
Software: Plasma 5 - rEFInd - linux-ck - preload - prelink - verynice - psd - bumblebee

Offline

#80 2016-03-13 15:16:07

WishCow
Member
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 57

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

OdinEidolon wrote:
0X1A wrote:
OdinEidolon wrote:

56 or 84Wh?
I also get bad battery runtimes with the 56Wh, but not that bad. It seems that upower sometimes reports anomalous battery drains... at least in my case. Sometimes I manage to get 9W in idle, then sometimes it idles at 14W. Weird.

I still have to do lots of tweaking and testing tho.

It ended up being because I didn't have bbswitch installed alongside bumblebee -_-

smile that must be why tongue

Do myou also have the problem of the 960m not shutting down after being awakened?
Something like this happens to me:
https://github.com/Bumblebee-Project/Bu … issues/699

Can confirm this.

Offline

#81 2016-03-13 16:00:01

Utini
Member
Registered: 2015-09-28
Posts: 382
Website

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

Utini wrote:
incer wrote:
Utini wrote:

1. Is there any way to active adaptive screen brightness (use the sensor to Change Screen brightness / backlight) ?

What, there's a sensor? I didn't know!

Utini wrote:

2. Am I the only one where the Keyboards backlight won't turn on automatically at boot up? I always have to manually enable it with the fn keys but after a sleep/reboot ist off again.

Mine turns on by itself... But you have to press a button to wake it, otherwise it's "asleep". This happens during use too. Kinda stupid honestly, since the moment you need the backlight the most is when you start typing, but I guess they need to save battery.

edit: the backlight also comes on if you use the trackpad


1. Yes on Windows this is enabled on the "power saving mode" by default. So usually I have brightness at 80% but at battery mode the "adaptive brightness" will be activated which dim's the Display as needed.

2. For me it is not getting turned on by pressing any key. I have to manually enable it with the "FN" keys?

Still no one? hmm

Btw I am runnig those kernel options for optimizing battery life:

quiet intel_iommu=off pcie_aspm=force i915.enable_psr=1 i915.enable_fbc=1 i915.lvds_downclock=1 elevator=noop

Setup: Thinkpad X1 Extreme, 15.6" FHD - i7-8850H 2.6-4.3Ghz - 32GB RAM - NVIDIA GTX 1050Ti - 2x 1TB Samsung 970 Pro NVME SSD
Accessories: Filco Majestouch Tenkeyless MX-Brown Mini Otaku, Benq XL2420T (144Hz), Lo(w)gitech G400, Puretrak Talent, Sennheiser HD800S + Meier Daccord FF + Meier Classic FF

Offline

#82 2016-03-13 16:53:21

OdinEidolon
Member
From: Belluno - Italy
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 498

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

Utini wrote:
Utini wrote:
incer wrote:

What, there's a sensor? I didn't know!

Mine turns on by itself... But you have to press a button to wake it, otherwise it's "asleep". This happens during use too. Kinda stupid honestly, since the moment you need the backlight the most is when you start typing, but I guess they need to save battery.

edit: the backlight also comes on if you use the trackpad


1. Yes on Windows this is enabled on the "power saving mode" by default. So usually I have brightness at 80% but at battery mode the "adaptive brightness" will be activated which dim's the Display as needed.

2. For me it is not getting turned on by pressing any key. I have to manually enable it with the "FN" keys?

Still no one? hmm

Btw I am runnig those kernel options for optimizing battery life:

quiet intel_iommu=off pcie_aspm=force i915.enable_psr=1 i915.enable_fbc=1 i915.lvds_downclock=1 elevator=noop

Where is this sensor? In the UEFI setup you can set the keyboard brightness level at startup - did you check that?


Hardware: 2016 Dell XPS15 - matte FullHD - i5-6300HQ - 32GB DDR4 - Nvidia GTX960M - Samsung 840EVO 250GB SSD - 56Wh
Software: Plasma 5 - rEFInd - linux-ck - preload - prelink - verynice - psd - bumblebee

Offline

#83 2016-03-13 17:07:30

Utini
Member
Registered: 2015-09-28
Posts: 382
Website

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

OdinEidolon wrote:
Utini wrote:
Utini wrote:

1. Yes on Windows this is enabled on the "power saving mode" by default. So usually I have brightness at 80% but at battery mode the "adaptive brightness" will be activated which dim's the Display as needed.

2. For me it is not getting turned on by pressing any key. I have to manually enable it with the "FN" keys?

Still no one? hmm

Btw I am runnig those kernel options for optimizing battery life:

quiet intel_iommu=off pcie_aspm=force i915.enable_psr=1 i915.enable_fbc=1 i915.lvds_downclock=1 elevator=noop

Where is this sensor? In the UEFI setup you can set the keyboard brightness level at startup - did you check that?

Puh I have no idea where that sensor is physically located. I just know that on windows "adaptive brightness" is available and working.

I must be blind. Where can I find that option for keyboard brightness exactly?

Thank you a lot !

@edit: while browsing e.g. the boot order setup the keyboard brightness is on. But as soon as I boot Arch it will turn off.

Last edited by Utini (2016-03-13 17:29:32)


Setup: Thinkpad X1 Extreme, 15.6" FHD - i7-8850H 2.6-4.3Ghz - 32GB RAM - NVIDIA GTX 1050Ti - 2x 1TB Samsung 970 Pro NVME SSD
Accessories: Filco Majestouch Tenkeyless MX-Brown Mini Otaku, Benq XL2420T (144Hz), Lo(w)gitech G400, Puretrak Talent, Sennheiser HD800S + Meier Daccord FF + Meier Classic FF

Offline

#84 2016-03-13 18:42:08

OdinEidolon
Member
From: Belluno - Italy
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 498

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

Utini wrote:
OdinEidolon wrote:
Utini wrote:

Still no one? hmm

Btw I am runnig those kernel options for optimizing battery life:

quiet intel_iommu=off pcie_aspm=force i915.enable_psr=1 i915.enable_fbc=1 i915.lvds_downclock=1 elevator=noop

Where is this sensor? In the UEFI setup you can set the keyboard brightness level at startup - did you check that?

Puh I have no idea where that sensor is physically located. I just know that on windows "adaptive brightness" is available and working.

I must be blind. Where can I find that option for keyboard brightness exactly?

Thank you a lot !

@edit: while browsing e.g. the boot order setup the keyboard brightness is on. But as soon as I boot Arch it will turn off.

system configuration -> keyboard illumination in the UEFI setup.
Do you have the QHD? I have the FHD and I seem to remember that it did not have any adaptive brightness option in windows.

By the way what does intel_iommu=off do?

Last edited by OdinEidolon (2016-03-13 18:45:39)


Hardware: 2016 Dell XPS15 - matte FullHD - i5-6300HQ - 32GB DDR4 - Nvidia GTX960M - Samsung 840EVO 250GB SSD - 56Wh
Software: Plasma 5 - rEFInd - linux-ck - preload - prelink - verynice - psd - bumblebee

Offline

#85 2016-03-13 19:14:43

Utini
Member
Registered: 2015-09-28
Posts: 382
Website

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

OdinEidolon wrote:
Utini wrote:
OdinEidolon wrote:

Where is this sensor? In the UEFI setup you can set the keyboard brightness level at startup - did you check that?

Puh I have no idea where that sensor is physically located. I just know that on windows "adaptive brightness" is available and working.

I must be blind. Where can I find that option for keyboard brightness exactly?

Thank you a lot !

@edit: while browsing e.g. the boot order setup the keyboard brightness is on. But as soon as I boot Arch it will turn off.

system configuration -> keyboard illumination in the UEFI setup.
Do you have the QHD? I have the FHD and I seem to remember that it did not have any adaptive brightness option in windows.

By the way what does intel_iommu=off do?

Uefi options = bios settings? (Where you change boot order, legacy/uefi mode etc)?
Cause I cant find anything there yikes

Yes I am running QHD. I got the maximum setup of the 9530.

Intel_iommu is used for gpu passthrough to a virtual machine (to run windows as virtual maching in linux with the nvidia gpu). But it gives me a very annoying bug when it is enabled (no sound output via hdmi). So I force it to be off.

quiet intel_iommu=off pcie_aspm=force i915.enable_psr=1 i915.enable_fbc=1 i915.lvds_downclock=1 elevator=noop

Setup: Thinkpad X1 Extreme, 15.6" FHD - i7-8850H 2.6-4.3Ghz - 32GB RAM - NVIDIA GTX 1050Ti - 2x 1TB Samsung 970 Pro NVME SSD
Accessories: Filco Majestouch Tenkeyless MX-Brown Mini Otaku, Benq XL2420T (144Hz), Lo(w)gitech G400, Puretrak Talent, Sennheiser HD800S + Meier Daccord FF + Meier Classic FF

Offline

#86 2016-03-14 07:57:37

OdinEidolon
Member
From: Belluno - Italy
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 498

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

Utini wrote:
OdinEidolon wrote:
Utini wrote:

Puh I have no idea where that sensor is physically located. I just know that on windows "adaptive brightness" is available and working.

I must be blind. Where can I find that option for keyboard brightness exactly?

Thank you a lot !

@edit: while browsing e.g. the boot order setup the keyboard brightness is on. But as soon as I boot Arch it will turn off.

system configuration -> keyboard illumination in the UEFI setup.
Do you have the QHD? I have the FHD and I seem to remember that it did not have any adaptive brightness option in windows.

By the way what does intel_iommu=off do?

Uefi options = bios settings? (Where you change boot order, legacy/uefi mode etc)?
Cause I cant find anything there yikes

Yes I am running QHD. I got the maximum setup of the 9530.

Intel_iommu is used for gpu passthrough to a virtual machine (to run windows as virtual maching in linux with the nvidia gpu). But it gives me a very annoying bug when it is enabled (no sound output via hdmi). So I force it to be off.

quiet intel_iommu=off pcie_aspm=force i915.enable_psr=1 i915.enable_fbc=1 i915.lvds_downclock=1 elevator=noop

Ah so you have the OLD XPS15! This topic covers the late 2015 model only, the 9550. I'm sorry, I cannot help you sad


Hardware: 2016 Dell XPS15 - matte FullHD - i5-6300HQ - 32GB DDR4 - Nvidia GTX960M - Samsung 840EVO 250GB SSD - 56Wh
Software: Plasma 5 - rEFInd - linux-ck - preload - prelink - verynice - psd - bumblebee

Offline

#87 2016-03-15 09:33:11

WishCow
Member
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 57

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

Isn't the light sensor next to the camera? Since the microphones are on the front.

Offline

#88 2016-03-15 12:33:07

OdinEidolon
Member
From: Belluno - Italy
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 498

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

WishCow wrote:

Isn't the light sensor next to the camera? Since the microphones are on the front.

That is the "camera on" LED.


Hardware: 2016 Dell XPS15 - matte FullHD - i5-6300HQ - 32GB DDR4 - Nvidia GTX960M - Samsung 840EVO 250GB SSD - 56Wh
Software: Plasma 5 - rEFInd - linux-ck - preload - prelink - verynice - psd - bumblebee

Offline

#89 2016-03-16 23:32:41

WishCow
Member
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 57

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

Oh wow, have not used the camera yet hmm

Offline

#90 2016-03-17 08:00:23

OdinEidolon
Member
From: Belluno - Italy
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 498

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

WishCow wrote:

Oh wow, have not used the camera yet hmm

Lucky you, it's actually quite terrible because of its position.


Hardware: 2016 Dell XPS15 - matte FullHD - i5-6300HQ - 32GB DDR4 - Nvidia GTX960M - Samsung 840EVO 250GB SSD - 56Wh
Software: Plasma 5 - rEFInd - linux-ck - preload - prelink - verynice - psd - bumblebee

Offline

#91 2016-03-20 21:27:23

WishCow
Member
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 57

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

Do you have problems with getting the laptop to suspend? It's like a 50-50 chance that it suspends, or it hangs with a black screen, and I have to power it off with the power button.

Last edited by WishCow (2016-03-20 21:28:38)

Offline

#92 2016-03-20 21:39:22

Hamza5
Member
Registered: 2015-10-31
Posts: 22

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

Thank you for this arcticle? maybe I can use it to set up Arch on my Dell XPS 13

Offline

#93 2016-03-21 08:15:45

OdinEidolon
Member
From: Belluno - Italy
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 498

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

WishCow wrote:

Do you have problems with getting the laptop to suspend? It's like a 50-50 chance that it suspends, or it hangs with a black screen, and I have to power it off with the power button.

Never had a problem actually (see config in sig). Always works.


Hardware: 2016 Dell XPS15 - matte FullHD - i5-6300HQ - 32GB DDR4 - Nvidia GTX960M - Samsung 840EVO 250GB SSD - 56Wh
Software: Plasma 5 - rEFInd - linux-ck - preload - prelink - verynice - psd - bumblebee

Offline

#94 2016-03-21 14:12:11

WishCow
Member
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 57

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

OdinEidolon wrote:
WishCow wrote:

Do you have problems with getting the laptop to suspend? It's like a 50-50 chance that it suspends, or it hangs with a black screen, and I have to power it off with the power button.

Never had a problem actually (see config in sig). Always works.

I have the same build (except the SSD) hmm

What's your VGA driver setup? I'm using intel+bumblebee+nvidia.

Last edited by WishCow (2016-03-21 14:24:51)

Offline

#95 2016-03-21 16:11:15

OdinEidolon
Member
From: Belluno - Italy
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 498

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

WishCow wrote:
OdinEidolon wrote:
WishCow wrote:

Do you have problems with getting the laptop to suspend? It's like a 50-50 chance that it suspends, or it hangs with a black screen, and I have to power it off with the power button.

Never had a problem actually (see config in sig). Always works.

I have the same build (except the SSD) hmm

What's your VGA driver setup? I'm using intel+bumblebee+nvidia.

Exactly the same! Nvidia closed source drivers with bumblebee. No testing.


Hardware: 2016 Dell XPS15 - matte FullHD - i5-6300HQ - 32GB DDR4 - Nvidia GTX960M - Samsung 840EVO 250GB SSD - 56Wh
Software: Plasma 5 - rEFInd - linux-ck - preload - prelink - verynice - psd - bumblebee

Offline

#96 2016-03-24 13:15:44

moesi
Member
Registered: 2014-02-27
Posts: 48

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

I have a problem with my wireless setup. It randomly worked fine for the first 2 days of installation. Yesterday it started to disconnect randomly. I cant figure out why... Today it cant connect to my wifi anymore. It hangs up on authentication.

So today, I installed the b43-firmware but it hasn't changed anything.

lspci -k
02:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM43602 802.11ac Wireless LAN SoC (rev 01)
	Subsystem: Dell Device 0020
	Kernel driver in use: brcmfmac
	Kernel modules: brcmfmac

Has anybody a idea what i can do? Can i somehow reset the wifi-settings?

Offline

#97 2016-03-29 08:20:17

OdinEidolon
Member
From: Belluno - Italy
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 498

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

Has anyone been able to use the HDMI as an external monitor? I connect it to my TV but it does not seem to do anything. KDE correctly recognizes the output and the TV says HDMI is connected, but there is no input to the TV.


Hardware: 2016 Dell XPS15 - matte FullHD - i5-6300HQ - 32GB DDR4 - Nvidia GTX960M - Samsung 840EVO 250GB SSD - 56Wh
Software: Plasma 5 - rEFInd - linux-ck - preload - prelink - verynice - psd - bumblebee

Offline

#98 2016-03-29 08:25:12

Gat
Member
Registered: 2012-06-06
Posts: 16

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

moesi wrote:

I have a problem with my wireless setup. It randomly worked fine for the first 2 days of installation. Yesterday it started to disconnect randomly. I cant figure out why... Today it cant connect to my wifi anymore. It hangs up on authentication.

So today, I installed the b43-firmware but it hasn't changed anything.

lspci -k
02:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM43602 802.11ac Wireless LAN SoC (rev 01)
	Subsystem: Dell Device 0020
	Kernel driver in use: brcmfmac
	Kernel modules: brcmfmac

Has anybody a idea what i can do? Can i somehow reset the wifi-settings?

I gave up in the end and replaced the network adapter with Intel 7265, no problems now. You might want to try the same.

OdinEidolon wrote:

Has anyone been able to use the HDMI as an external monitor? I connect it to my TV but it does not seem to do anything. KDE correctly recognizes the output and the TV says HDMI is connected, but there is no input to the TV.

Yes, no problems on AwesomeWM with just xrandr.

Offline

#99 2016-03-29 09:29:47

OdinEidolon
Member
From: Belluno - Italy
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 498

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

Gat wrote:

I gave up in the end and replaced the network adapter with Intel 7265, no problems now. You might want to try the same.

OdinEidolon wrote:

Has anyone been able to use the HDMI as an external monitor? I connect it to my TV but it does not seem to do anything. KDE correctly recognizes the output and the TV says HDMI is connected, but there is no input to the TV.

Yes, no problems on AwesomeWM with just xrandr.

I'll have to try with another monitor.

By the way, my WiFi works without a single problem, very fast and good range.

I'm getting consistently 6h of real world battery life with the 56Wh battery. (about 9.5W average consumption)


Hardware: 2016 Dell XPS15 - matte FullHD - i5-6300HQ - 32GB DDR4 - Nvidia GTX960M - Samsung 840EVO 250GB SSD - 56Wh
Software: Plasma 5 - rEFInd - linux-ck - preload - prelink - verynice - psd - bumblebee

Offline

#100 2016-04-06 12:28:45

WishCow
Member
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 57

Re: Arch on New XPS 15(Late 2015)

I have no problems with the wifi, or the hdmi port.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB