You are not logged in.

#26 2016-02-11 15:28:13

carkasjak
Member
Registered: 2015-10-17
Posts: 5

Re: Source games stopped working - nvidia update(361.28-1) suspected

spider-net wrote:

Fixed for me. https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/48123 is now closed.

The conflict with mesa might be solved, but the issue with certain games not working is not. This was after the latest update and reboot as well: https://i.imgur.com/TMxYtmd.png

Offline

#27 2016-02-11 16:17:07

AnAkkk
Member
Registered: 2014-03-03
Posts: 148

Re: Source games stopped working - nvidia update(361.28-1) suspected

Offline

#28 2016-02-11 16:32:50

zebulon
Member
Registered: 2008-10-20
Posts: 304

Re: Source games stopped working - nvidia update(361.28-1) suspected

Yes, using

__GLVND_DISALLOW_PATCHING=1 steam

fixes Bioshock Infinite.

Offline

#29 2016-02-11 16:44:57

carkasjak
Member
Registered: 2015-10-17
Posts: 5

Re: Source games stopped working - nvidia update(361.28-1) suspected

zebulon wrote:

Yes, using

__GLVND_DISALLOW_PATCHING=1 steam

fixes Bioshock Infinite.

Yup, this is a fine workaround until the issue is fixed.

Offline

#30 2016-02-11 17:50:06

skunkos
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2011-06-20
Posts: 39
Website

Re: Source games stopped working - nvidia update(361.28-1) suspected

zebulon wrote:

Yes, using

__GLVND_DISALLOW_PATCHING=1 steam

fixes Bioshock Infinite.

Fixes CS: GO too. But I have impression that now the game takes longer to actually start.

Offline

#31 2016-02-12 12:05:20

skiwi
Member
Registered: 2012-11-28
Posts: 30

Re: Source games stopped working - nvidia update(361.28-1) suspected

skunkos wrote:
zebulon wrote:

Yes, using

__GLVND_DISALLOW_PATCHING=1 steam

fixes Bioshock Infinite.

Fixes CS: GO too. But I have impression that now the game takes longer to actually start.

Fixes DOTA2 as well, but the GNOME panel remains visible in fullscreen. This only happens in-game, not in Steam itself.

Offline

#32 2016-02-12 12:41:00

chrissi5120
Member
Registered: 2016-02-12
Posts: 1

Re: Source games stopped working - nvidia update(361.28-1) suspected

skiwi wrote:
skunkos wrote:
zebulon wrote:

Yes, using

__GLVND_DISALLOW_PATCHING=1 steam

fixes Bioshock Infinite.

Fixes CS: GO too. But I have impression that now the game takes longer to actually start.

Fixes DOTA2 as well, but the GNOME panel remains visible in fullscreen. This only happens in-game, not in Steam itself.

Fixes DOTA2 for me too, fullscreen works normal, no gnome panel visible !

Offline

#33 2016-02-12 14:40:07

dunc
Member
From: Glasgow, UK
Registered: 2007-06-18
Posts: 559

Re: Source games stopped working - nvidia update(361.28-1) suspected

skunkos wrote:
zebulon wrote:

Yes, using

__GLVND_DISALLOW_PATCHING=1 steam

fixes Bioshock Infinite.

Fixes CS: GO too. But I have impression that now the game takes longer to actually start.

Same with Borderlands 2.

So it seems like both Source and Unreal Engine are affected. The only other game I've tried since updating is the Talos Principle, which I bought last night. It started without any issues.


0 Ok, 0:1

Offline

#34 2016-02-13 17:51:26

evil.genius
Member
Registered: 2016-02-13
Posts: 5

Re: Source games stopped working - nvidia update(361.28-1) suspected

I realise there's a workaround for this, but has anyone filed a bug report?

Offline

#35 2016-02-13 18:06:14

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 9,167
Website

Re: Source games stopped working - nvidia update(361.28-1) suspected

Please read the thread.. on this page alone there's a link to the Arch Linux bug report, and several links to a report on Valve's github issue tracker for DOTA2 where it's explicitly said that nvidia are aware of the issue and it will be fixed in a future update.


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI X299 TOMAHAWK ARCTIC // Processor: Intel Core i7-7820X 3.6GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 5x 1TB HDD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#36 2016-02-13 19:58:58

evil.genius
Member
Registered: 2016-02-13
Posts: 5

Re: Source games stopped working - nvidia update(361.28-1) suspected

I have read the thread. The Arch bug report relates to Bumblebee and has been closed. The DOTA2 thread relates to DOTA2. I am unaffected by either of these. If Nvidia have a public bug tracker, please point me to it. Since this seems to be only an Arch issue at this point, I thought perhaps there was a report which I could follow.

Offline

#37 2016-02-13 19:59:30

YAOMTC
Member
Registered: 2010-02-23
Posts: 178

Re: Source games stopped working - nvidia update(361.28-1) suspected

Another set of updates are available. The comment: "Install tls libs to proper location". I don't think this was meant to solve the existing problems with games, and it does not.

lib32-nvidia-utils 361.28-4
lib32-nvidia-libgl 361.28-4
nvidia-utils 361.28-5
nvidia-libgl 361.28-5

Last edited by YAOMTC (2016-02-13 20:00:08)

Offline

#38 2016-02-13 20:33:53

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 9,167
Website

Re: Source games stopped working - nvidia update(361.28-1) suspected

evil.genius wrote:

I have read the thread. The Arch bug report relates to Bumblebee and has been closed.

My bad, I thought it was the same report linked in post #10. roll

The DOTA2 thread relates to DOTA2.

No, the DOTA2 thread relates to the bug that affects multiple games. I don't know if nvidia have a public bug tracker (there is one that claims to be, but there's nothing from post-2011), but you should keep your eye on the nvidia devtalk thread.


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI X299 TOMAHAWK ARCTIC // Processor: Intel Core i7-7820X 3.6GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 5x 1TB HDD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#39 2016-02-15 21:47:36

alien2003
Member
From: Vinnytsya, Ukraine
Registered: 2014-03-23
Posts: 11

Re: Source games stopped working - nvidia update(361.28-1) suspected

The same problem with L4D2. Still not fixed


XMPP: alien@hot-chilli.net
Wickr Messenger: nomtacute

Offline

#40 2016-02-15 21:48:16

Vash63
Member
Registered: 2012-09-22
Posts: 26

Re: Source games stopped working - nvidia update(361.28-1) suspected

Has anyone figured out if the game performance is worse with __GLVND_DISALLOW_PATCHING=1 ? I've put my updates on pause waiting for a new Nvidia driver as it is.

Offline

#41 2016-02-16 18:12:08

dunc
Member
From: Glasgow, UK
Registered: 2007-06-18
Posts: 559

Re: Source games stopped working - nvidia update(361.28-1) suspected

Vash63 wrote:

Has anyone figured out if the game performance is worse with __GLVND_DISALLOW_PATCHING=1 ? I've put my updates on pause waiting for a new Nvidia driver as it is.

No hard numbers, but it certainly doesn't seem noticably worse apart from the (maybe, slightly) slower initial startup. The hassle of setting the environment variable for every game that needs it is probably as good a reason as any to hold off updating, but I don't think performance is.


0 Ok, 0:1

Offline

#42 2016-02-19 01:22:43

saivert
Member
Registered: 2014-06-13
Posts: 19

Re: Source games stopped working - nvidia update(361.28-1) suspected

I don't know about you guys but I don't have to use any workarounds for CS: GO using these drivers:
https://github.com/fafryd1125/arch-nvidia-utils
https://github.com/fafryd1125/arch-lib32-nvidia-utils

Offline

#43 2016-02-19 14:43:43

nstgc
Member
Registered: 2014-03-17
Posts: 376

Re: Source games stopped working - nvidia update(361.28-1) suspected

dunc wrote:

Same with Borderlands 2.

So it seems like both Source and Unreal Engine are affected. The only other game I've tried since updating is the Talos Principle, which I bought last night. It started without any issues.

I think BL2 is unrelated. I tried disabling the optimization, but that didn't help.

[edit2] It does help with Saints Row IV though.

Last edited by nstgc (2016-02-19 14:44:04)

Offline

#44 2016-02-24 19:38:54

kittenclaws
Member
Registered: 2016-02-24
Posts: 7

Re: Source games stopped working - nvidia update(361.28-1) suspected

blackout23 wrote:

The problem is not fixed in the newest package release.

What is strange is that you can work around this for some reason by going to the startup script of the game in the games install directory and for example edit hl2.sh for Counter Strike: Source and change __GL_THREADED_OPTIMIZATION=1 to 0. And now it will start.

Workaround works for me!  Thank you.  Was driving myself a little crazy trying to find a solution to this. smile 

HL3 Confirmed.

Offline

#45 2016-02-24 23:39:56

Silex89
Member
From: Osorno, Los Lagos - Chile
Registered: 2011-10-16
Posts: 179

Re: Source games stopped working - nvidia update(361.28-1) suspected

I am in a system (laptop) that has a 4th generation i7 (Intel+NVidia), with a NVidia GTX870M. I was able to play all my games very smoothly prior to the update. I used to run steam using primusrun, but now all I have is this goofy window telling me that I have a missing library.

Captura%20de%20pantalla%20de%202016-02-24%2020-23-28.png

If I try to run steam without bumblebee is fine (but the performance is awful in the integrated card as you would expect). Then I tried the workaround from former posts and I had the same output as the rest of the forumers about the missing OpenGL extensions. The environment variable does not work for me unfortunately (it fixes the GL extensions problem but in turn gives me a core dumped for the ld.so library. Using optirun as a bridge for primus does not solve the issue either).

Have you guys any other workaround that I can try?

Thank you in advance.


"The way your heart sounds makes all the difference" John Myung

I love Dream Theater! ImL
Best Guitar Solo Ever

Offline

#46 2016-02-26 01:54:51

silentz0r
Member
Registered: 2010-10-31
Posts: 20

Re: Source games stopped working - nvidia update(361.28-1) suspected

Silex89 wrote:

I am in a system (laptop) that has a 4th generation i7 (Intel+NVidia), with a NVidia GTX870M. I was able to play all my games very smoothly prior to the update. I used to run steam using primusrun, but now all I have is this goofy window telling me that I have a missing library.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/315 … -23-28.png

If I try to run steam without bumblebee is fine (but the performance is awful in the integrated card as you would expect). Then I tried the workaround from former posts and I had the same output as the rest of the forumers about the missing OpenGL extensions. The environment variable does not work for me unfortunately (it fixes the GL extensions problem but in turn gives me a core dumped for the ld.so library. Using optirun as a bridge for primus does not solve the issue either).

Have you guys any other workaround that I can try?

Thank you in advance.

If you read the whole thread you can find solutions to the recent problem, and googling should help with the fatal error.
Anyway going a bit off-topic, I'm on similar setup, and have a little steam.sh script to load my steam:

#!/bin/bash
export STEAM_FRAME_FORCE_CLOSE=1
export __GLVND_DISALLOW_PATCHING=1
LD_PRELOAD='/usr/$LIB/libstdc++.so.6 /usr/$LIB/libgcc_s.so.1 /usr/$LIB/libxcb.so.1' steam

First line closes steam to system tray (instead of exiting), just like on windows.
Second line is the current workaround to Source games not working.
Third line is a workaround to use Arch's libraries instead of the libs that steam ships with, fixing the error you mentioned.

This is just a convenience script that I tend to update whenever something new is happening.

I also just launch steam via the above script, and then add the following launch command to any game I want to use the Nvidia GPU with max FPS:

vblank_mode=0 primusrun %command%

Finally I didn't come up with any of the solutions, so searching should've provided you with information/workarounds.

Last edited by silentz0r (2016-02-26 01:58:49)

Offline

#47 2016-02-29 16:16:02

Silex89
Member
From: Osorno, Los Lagos - Chile
Registered: 2011-10-16
Posts: 179

Re: Source games stopped working - nvidia update(361.28-1) suspected

I managed to launch Source(2)-powered games with the following environment variables:

LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib/nvidia/libGL.so __GLVND_DISALLOW_PATCHING=1 optirun %command%

The problem is that sometimes the NVidia's libgl produces a minidump, the game gets stuck for some 10 seconds and crashes. This happens randomly. I will send you the terminal output ASAP.


"The way your heart sounds makes all the difference" John Myung

I love Dream Theater! ImL
Best Guitar Solo Ever

Offline

#48 2016-04-11 22:25:18

Gibzon
Member
From: Argentina
Registered: 2016-04-11
Posts: 1

Re: Source games stopped working - nvidia update(361.28-1) suspected

silentz0r wrote:
#!/bin/bash
export STEAM_FRAME_FORCE_CLOSE=1
export __GLVND_DISALLOW_PATCHING=1
LD_PRELOAD='/usr/$LIB/libstdc++.so.6 /usr/$LIB/libgcc_s.so.1 /usr/$LIB/libxcb.so.1' steam

First line closes steam to system tray (instead of exiting), just like on windows.
Second line is the current workaround to Source games not working.
Third line is a workaround to use Arch's libraries instead of the libs that steam ships with, fixing the error you mentioned.

confirm this works well, i added the export lines on /usr/bin/steam script so it loads with steam.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB