You are not logged in.

#26 2016-03-25 20:46:07

Soukyuu
Member
Registered: 2014-04-08
Posts: 845

Re: "A stop job is running..." on shutdown/reboot if i3 not quit first

I seem to have solved it by downgrading systemd to 228-4, so at least in my configuration, it's the 229 version that's causing this. Also, chromium wasn't running when I shut down, but I still had the message.


[ Arch x86_64 | linux | ThinkPad X220 | Intel Core i5 2540M@3.3Ghz | Intel HD3000 | 16GB RAM | Main, docked to 2 Monitors ]
[ Arch x86_64 | linux-ck-k10 | Custom-built | AMD Phenom II X4@3,5Ghz | nVidia 260 GTX | 12GB RAM | Retired ]
[ Arch x86_64 | linux | Custom-built | Intel Celeron G3920@2,99Ghz | iGPU | 8GB RAM | Home server ]

Offline

#27 2016-03-27 11:36:06

firekage
Member
From: Eastern Europe, Poland
Registered: 2013-06-30
Posts: 569

Re: "A stop job is running..." on shutdown/reboot if i3 not quit first

I don't even have chromium, and this message occurs every single boot and shutdown on my desktop machine - i don't have it on laptop/netbook machines. On desktop there is only one differencies - i have conky.

Offline

#28 2016-03-31 00:49:29

amw2320
Member
Registered: 2005-08-14
Posts: 30

Re: "A stop job is running..." on shutdown/reboot if i3 not quit first

I don't know if its the same problem, but I just fixed this after months of a slowdown by uninstalling plymouth.

Edit.. nevermind, its back again after a couple of reboots.

Last edited by amw2320 (2016-03-31 01:01:39)

Offline

#29 2016-04-09 21:45:00

Dekar
Member
Registered: 2014-10-05
Posts: 3

Re: "A stop job is running..." on shutdown/reboot if i3 not quit first

This problem is also discussed here: https://github.com/systemd/systemd/issues/2691

As described in https://github.com/systemd/systemd/issu … -203255422, this seems to be an issue with systemd-coredump. A temporary solution is to just disable systemd-coredump (https://github.com/systemd/systemd/issu … -203534354):

ln -s /dev/null /etc/sysctl.d/50-coredump.conf

At least for me this solved the 90s delay. smile And it is cleaner than the watchdog solution.

There is also a pull request on github which describes the problem a little bit more in detail: https://github.com/systemd/systemd/pull/2993

Offline

#30 2016-04-28 07:19:00

Swiftie
Member
From: Ukraine
Registered: 2013-04-27
Posts: 22

Re: "A stop job is running..." on shutdown/reboot if i3 not quit first

Same here. Issue seems with kde5.
kill -TERM 2586 in this case worked from debug console. But it's not solve issue at all.

Control group /:
-.slice
|-init.scope
| `-1 /sbin/init
|-system.slice
| |-systemd-journald.service
| | `-217 /usr/lib/systemd/systemd-journald
| |-auditd.service
| | `-465 /usr/bin/auditd -n
| |-systemd-logind.service
| | `-492 /usr/lib/systemd/systemd-logind
| |-systemd-udevd.service
| | `-256 /usr/lib/systemd/systemd-udevd
| `-debug-shell.service
|   |-2129 /bin/sh
|   `-2649 systemd-cgls
`-user.slice
  `-user-1000.slice
    `-session-2.scope
      |-2583 /usr/bin/kdeinit5
      |-2585 /usr/bin/kdeinit5
      `-2586 klauncher [kdeinit5] --fd=8

Offline

#31 2016-05-24 19:30:37

nicoadamo
Member
From: Argentina
Registered: 2011-03-23
Posts: 12

Re: "A stop job is running..." on shutdown/reboot if i3 not quit first

Could it be related to ACPI Error: No handler or method for GPE xx, disabling event (20160108/evgpe-790) - AMD A8-4500M APU?
For sure it only affects systems with AMD processors, but I've just found out that after blacklisting the module sp5100_tco the shutdown/reboot was immediate (no 1'30'' countdown).

I've just suffered the delay again.

Regards,

Nicolás Adamo

Last edited by nicoadamo (2016-05-25 15:11:28)

Offline

#32 2016-05-25 21:39:20

marvn
Member
From: Prague
Registered: 2010-01-05
Posts: 84

Re: "A stop job is running..." on shutdown/reboot if i3 not quit first

seems to be fixed in systemd 230

https://github.com/systemd/systemd/issues/2691

Last edited by marvn (2016-05-25 21:42:14)


core i5 4590, x86_64, nvidia 970

Offline

#33 2016-05-26 04:34:19

Pyntux
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2008-12-21
Posts: 310

Re: "A stop job is running..." on shutdown/reboot if i3 not quit first

There is onother topic in this forum with same problem...

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=203112

bottom line:

ln -s /dev/null /etc/sysctl.d/50-coredump.conf

I do not speak English, but I understand...

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB