You are not logged in.

#301 2006-06-27 19:41:43

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: June 2006 screenshots

funkyou wrote:

thumb-clean.jpg   thumb-dirty.jpg

patched fvwm + stalonetray + kde apps using one of stonecrests configs, but somewhat modificated and with an altered windec... damn, after years of using kde i just love this setup smile

if anyone knows how to get my special charakters (ä,ö,ü) to work in fvwm, please tell me roll

Which patches are you using in that screenshot? I can't tell from looking :shock:

Also, did you patch the fvwm the normal fvwm package, fvwm-cvs or some snapshot. I'm thinking of setting up fvwm on my new Arch64 install and it would be very nice to get my setup to look as nice as yours.

Offline

#302 2006-06-27 20:15:23

funkyou
Member
From: Berlin, DE
Registered: 2006-03-19
Posts: 848
Website

Re: June 2006 screenshots

iBertus wrote:
funkyou wrote:

thumb-clean.jpg   thumb-dirty.jpg

patched fvwm + stalonetray + kde apps using one of stonecrests configs, but somewhat modificated and with an altered windec... damn, after years of using kde i just love this setup smile

if anyone knows how to get my special charakters (ä,ö,ü) to work in fvwm, please tell me roll

Which patches are you using in that screenshot? I can't tell from looking :shock:

The only patched feature i am using until now are the slightly rounded corners on the upper decoration, the multiborder which allows to set a different pixmap for each border and the hover effect for decoration buttons. I have applied the full patchset linked above and most of these options are already used in the config by stonecrest. Configuring fvwm is something absolutely new to me, so i think it will take some time until i can use all the features i want (translucent menus, flat separators etc) but i am trying hard smile


want a modular and tweaked KDE for arch? try kdemod

Offline

#303 2006-06-27 22:53:09

ingvildr
Member
From: Brighton, England
Registered: 2005-04-19
Posts: 203

Re: June 2006 screenshots

xfce svn with nautilus
xfce4svnnautilus4jv.th.png

Offline

#304 2006-06-28 08:13:10

mahyar
Member
From: Victoria, BC, CA
Registered: 2005-06-21
Posts: 20
Website

Re: June 2006 screenshots

plain old kde
200606280108291280x1024scrot6i.th.jpg

11512697300250le.th.jpg

Offline

#305 2006-06-28 08:31:52

baze
Member
Registered: 2005-10-30
Posts: 393

Re: June 2006 screenshots

ingvildr wrote:

xfce svn with nautilus
xfce4svnnautilus4jv.th.png

how did you get all the icons in the desktop menu themed so they use the tango icons instead of the rodent icons?

i have installed xfce4-svn from shadowhand's repo and the tango-icon-theme from community. what i get is this: http://bugzilla.xfce.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1948

Offline

#306 2006-06-28 08:56:51

ingvildr
Member
From: Brighton, England
Registered: 2005-04-19
Posts: 203

Re: June 2006 screenshots

because mine is a custom menu, also i use tango materia from gnome-look which has a few added xfce4 icons.

Offline

#307 2006-06-28 10:03:41

pauldonnelly
Member
Registered: 2006-06-19
Posts: 776

Re: June 2006 screenshots

I love seeing all these desktops. I'd post mine, but Ratpoison is my Wm. Maybe I should just save time and upload my background image.

Offline

#308 2006-06-28 12:45:28

codemac
Member
From: Cliche Tech Place
Registered: 2005-05-13
Posts: 785
Website

Re: June 2006 screenshots

pauldonnelly wrote:

I love seeing all these desktops. I'd post mine, but Ratpoison is my Wm. Maybe I should just save time and upload my background image.

Don't worry, phrakture and I will like a ratpoison screenie.

Offline

#309 2006-06-28 12:51:50

postlogic
Member
Registered: 2005-02-24
Posts: 410
Website

Re: June 2006 screenshots

Offline

#310 2006-06-28 13:21:32

pauldonnelly
Member
Registered: 2006-06-19
Posts: 776

Re: June 2006 screenshots

codemac wrote:
pauldonnelly wrote:

I love seeing all these desktops. I'd post mine, but Ratpoison is my Wm. Maybe I should just save time and upload my background image.

Don't worry, phrakture and I will like a ratpoison screenie.

Here goes then:
[URL=http://img525.imageshack.us/my.php?image=screenshotfull7oz.png]screenshotfull7oz.th.png[/URL]
That's a couple of aterms, firefox, Commander Keen, and my battery status.

Offline

#311 2006-06-28 13:21:34

detto
Member
Registered: 2006-01-23
Posts: 510

Re: June 2006 screenshots

@postlogic: looks pretty nice! where did u get this wallpaper from?

Offline

#312 2006-06-28 13:54:15

funkyou
Member
From: Berlin, DE
Registered: 2006-03-19
Posts: 848
Website

Re: June 2006 screenshots

postlogic wrote:

love your colors big_smile i think i will dig them smile


want a modular and tweaked KDE for arch? try kdemod

Offline

#313 2006-06-28 17:13:57

Stalwart
Member
From: Latvia, Riga
Registered: 2005-10-18
Posts: 445
Website

Re: June 2006 screenshots

pauldonnelly wrote:
codemac wrote:
pauldonnelly wrote:

I love seeing all these desktops. I'd post mine, but Ratpoison is my Wm. Maybe I should just save time and upload my background image.

Don't worry, phrakture and I will like a ratpoison screenie.

Here goes then:
screenshotfull7oz.th.png
That's a couple of aterms, firefox, Commander Keen, and my battery status.

Make it eye-candy, ratpoison is extremely eye-candyable (i'm not joking) wink


IRC: Stalwart @ FreeNode
Skype ID: thestalwart
WeeChat-devel nightly packages for i686

Offline

#314 2006-06-28 17:15:54

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: June 2006 screenshots

pauldonnelly wrote:

Commander Keen, and my battery status.

Commander Keen! Hahahahaha.

Nice screenshot.  Curious about your battery monitor: I'm assuming you trigger that with a keypress, correct (It appears to be an RP message)?  Doesn't that get annoying? I was trying to find some way to add a persistant "do not touch this" window for stuff like that... but have failed.  Also, does your ACPI fail you alot recently? My battery status has recently begun failing.  Not sure of the root cause though.

Offline

#315 2006-06-28 17:21:10

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,771

Re: June 2006 screenshots

postlogic wrote:

what theme & filemanager is that ? (looks like naut.!)


Mr Green

Offline

#316 2006-06-28 17:32:37

Gullible Jones
Member
Registered: 2004-12-29
Posts: 4,863

Re: June 2006 screenshots

The file manager is Thunar, the GTK theme is Rezlooks-pastelgreen (packaged with the rezlooks engine in the AUR).

Offline

#317 2006-06-28 17:49:34

postlogic
Member
Registered: 2005-02-24
Posts: 410
Website

Re: June 2006 screenshots

detto wrote:

@postlogic: looks pretty nice! where did u get this wallpaper from?

Thanks! I like the new rezlooks 0.6-engine.


The wall is by a -very- popular artist among us Archers. You can find his very unique collection of walls and other stuff here.

Mr Green wrote:
postlogic wrote:

what theme & filemanager is that ? (looks like naut.!)

It's my own openbox theme, with thunar-svn with a green Tango-theme, using rezlooks-0.6 and a GTK+ theme called pastelgreen made for that engine by rezza himself. Openbox-cvs from the AUR with a lot of nice patches applied.

So yes, Gullible Jones, you're right.

I think I'm gonna test pypanel on this tonight.

It's a fresh install of Arch where I decided to go all stylish.

Offline

#318 2006-06-28 18:04:08

sh__
Member
Registered: 2005-07-19
Posts: 271

Re: June 2006 screenshots

funkyou wrote:

thumb-clean.jpg   thumb-dirty.jpg

if anyone knows how to get my special charakters (ä,ö,ü) to work in fvwm, please tell me roll

Specify the encoding in the font definitions, like

Style * Font "xft:Bitstream Vera Sans:encoding=iso10646-1"

for utf-8. Adjust accordingly for menu fonts etc.

Offline

#319 2006-06-28 20:20:48

funkyou
Member
From: Berlin, DE
Registered: 2006-03-19
Posts: 848
Website

Re: June 2006 screenshots

sh__ wrote:

Specify the encoding in the font definitions, like

Style * Font "xft:Bitstream Vera Sans:encoding=iso10646-1"

for utf-8. Adjust accordingly for menu fonts etc.

thank you! thats it smile

heres another shot, i have made some progress with my first lightweight desk...
desk2rv.th.jpg
...and now i stop spamming images smile


want a modular and tweaked KDE for arch? try kdemod

Offline

#320 2006-06-28 20:46:56

Namelis1
Member
From: Warm and fuzzy
Registered: 2006-06-14
Posts: 11

Re: June 2006 screenshots

Heres mine smile
mydesk4uv.th.png

By the way, applications in gnome seem to take a lot of space on my desktop, even though im running 1280x1024. Anything i could do to shrink the application windows? or something crazy like that? smile

Offline

#321 2006-06-28 22:34:04

Phrodo_00
Member
From: Santiago de Chile
Registered: 2006-04-09
Posts: 340
Website

Re: June 2006 screenshots

Namelis1 wrote:

Heres mine smile
mydesk4uv.th.png

By the way, applications in gnome seem to take a lot of space on my desktop, even though im running 1280x1024. Anything i could do to shrink the application windows? or something crazy like that? smile

Change the font size.

Offline

#322 2006-06-29 03:03:25

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: June 2006 screenshots

funkyou wrote:
sh__ wrote:

Specify the encoding in the font definitions, like

Style * Font "xft:Bitstream Vera Sans:encoding=iso10646-1"

for utf-8. Adjust accordingly for menu fonts etc.

thank you! thats it smile

heres another shot, i have made some progress with my first lightweight desk...
desk2rv.th.jpg
...and now i stop spamming images smile

nice crab!

Offline

#323 2006-06-29 05:58:44

RevertTS
Member
Registered: 2006-02-25
Posts: 85

Re: June 2006 screenshots

screenshot9xn.th.png

I was messing around with transparency.  I really like how it looks, but I probably won't keep it.

Offline

#324 2006-06-29 13:23:34

Gullible Jones
Member
Registered: 2004-12-29
Posts: 4,863

Re: June 2006 screenshots

Okay, I must ask where you got that wallpaper... :twisted:

Offline

#325 2006-06-29 13:43:42

pauldonnelly
Member
Registered: 2006-06-19
Posts: 776

Re: June 2006 screenshots

phrakture wrote:
pauldonnelly wrote:

Commander Keen, and my battery status.

Commander Keen! Hahahahaha.

Nice screenshot.  Curious about your battery monitor: I'm assuming you trigger that with a keypress, correct (It appears to be an RP message)?  Doesn't that get annoying? I was trying to find some way to add a persistant "do not touch this" window for stuff like that... but have failed.  Also, does your ACPI fail you alot recently? My battery status has recently begun failing.  Not sure of the root cause though.

Yeah, I've just got a little script that displays what's in /proc/acpi. I've got it bound to a mouse button. It's not especially annoying because I don't need to check it that often.

I too think it would be neat to have a special area for persistent things (like maybe Windowmaker dockapps), but I guess it would require changing Ratpoison.

No trouble with ACPI here.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB