You are not logged in.

#51 2006-06-24 00:39:50

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: The Testing Move has begun

jason wrote:

fglrx is borked.

(II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/fglrx_drv.so
dlopen: libstdc++.so.5: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
(EE) Failed to load /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/fglrx_drv.so
(II) UnloadModule: "fglrx"
(EE) Failed to load module "fglrx" (loader failed, 7)

This blows, I can't use X without using old ATI drivers sad boo.

Install libstdc++5

If it wasn't already installed and if it fixed it, submit a bug report.

Offline

#52 2006-06-24 00:52:22

neotuli
Lazy Developer
From: San Francisco, CA
Registered: 2004-07-06
Posts: 1,201
Website

Re: The Testing Move has begun

Ok I may as well explain this for those of you that are wondering. I see some of you noticed that ftp.archlinux.org doesn't get synced immediately.

$ dig ftp.archlinux.org
;; ANSWER SECTION:
ftp.archlinux.org.      35782   IN      A       209.85.41.133
ftp.archlinux.org.      35782   IN      A       72.36.160.170
ftp.archlinux.org.      35782   IN      A       209.85.41.132

ftp.archlinux.org is just a round robin of a couple other servers that have more bandwidth than our internal server. These servers use rsync like any other mirror, and thus when the internal server's pipe is saturated by massive rsyncs from all the mirrors, they too take more time than usual to sync up.


The suggestion box only accepts patches.

Offline

#53 2006-06-24 01:44:29

jason
Member
From: /dev/null
Registered: 2003-01-13
Posts: 100

Re: The Testing Move has begun

Snowman wrote:
jason wrote:

fglrx is borked.

(II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/fglrx_drv.so
dlopen: libstdc++.so.5: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
(EE) Failed to load /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/fglrx_drv.so
(II) UnloadModule: "fglrx"
(EE) Failed to load module "fglrx" (loader failed, 7)

This blows, I can't use X without using old ATI drivers sad boo.

Install libstdc++5

If it wasn't already installed and if it fixed it, submit a bug report.

It was already installed, but reinstalling it fixed it.  I'll submit a bug report.

Offline

#54 2006-06-24 01:47:09

pauldonnelly
Member
Registered: 2006-06-19
Posts: 776

Re: The Testing Move has begun

Have you guys with udev problems updated your udev.rules? The firmware loader seems to have changed. My ipw2200 didn't work until I got the new rules in udev.rules.pacnew migrated in.

Offline

#55 2006-06-24 04:52:20

syg00
Member
Registered: 2006-01-11
Posts: 31

Re: The Testing Move has begun

Well that was a well timed holiday.
I did an update before I left the office, I'll pick all this up in 3 weeks when things settle down.

Woohoo

Offline

#56 2006-06-24 06:57:38

xalphas
Member
Registered: 2006-03-09
Posts: 6
Website

Re: The Testing Move has begun

kernel26,ipw2200 wireless and udev events; all working fine after the upgrade. Good job guys.

thx
Alper

Offline

#57 2006-06-24 07:22:17

rpgcyco
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2005-09-27
Posts: 73
Website

Re: The Testing Move has begun

Since I performed the upgrade yesterday, my system has been a little slower, and a LOT slower in games.

The NVIDIA logo which appears when X starts, stays on the screen for about a second now. It used to just flash and then go away. Windows also take a little bit longer to appear when switching virtual desktops.

None of that really bothers me, however, games freeze for up to 10 seconds at a time. When this happens in Doom3...

Posix_QueEvent: overflow

is listed in the console log many times.

Any ideas how I can discover what is causing this?

- Rpg Cyco

Offline

#58 2006-06-24 08:04:13

luca
Member
From: Rome
Registered: 2005-10-30
Posts: 280

Re: The Testing Move has begun

Hi all,
I have a problem with an HP Proliant ML350, after the upgrade it seems that no ide devices are recognized (cdrom and one ide disk). My mkinitcpio.conf contains:

HOOKS="base udev ide scsi sata filesystems"

I tried also with kernel26-fallback, but with no luck.
Any ideas?
Thanks

Offline

#59 2006-06-24 11:23:44

funkyou
Member
From: Berlin, DE
Registered: 2006-03-19
Posts: 848
Website

Re: The Testing Move has begun

update was absolutely smooth here, had to recompile some apps i got from aur, but no problem

thx to the devs for their good work smile


want a modular and tweaked KDE for arch? try kdemod

Offline

#60 2006-06-24 13:15:17

MillTek
Member
Registered: 2005-01-30
Posts: 442

Re: The Testing Move has begun

funkyou wrote:

update was absolutely smooth here, had to recompile some apps i got from aur, but no problem

thx to the devs for their good work smile


Same here. Had to recompile e17, but everything else is great. Interestingly, the system now runs so fast that when starting X, the Nvidia splash screen is so fast that it's almost impossible to read.

Thanks guys!!  Great job.

Jim

Offline

#61 2006-06-24 13:17:46

WigglerAway
Member
Registered: 2006-04-30
Posts: 14

Re: The Testing Move has begun

gnome-session refuses to start because libgnutls.so.12 does not exist. I tried the crude hack fix of linking to the new version but then it also required an environment variable set. Does gnome need to be compiled against the new version?

I also remember from using the gnutls from testing that gaim could not use the updated version either.

Offline

#62 2006-06-24 13:39:04

slackhack
Member
Registered: 2004-06-30
Posts: 738

Re: The Testing Move has begun

it appears i was indeed updated, as i synced this morning to the repos and everything is up to date, except for a new kdeartwork.  cool

anyway, i hope it's okay to say again a big thank you to the devs, who always do such a great job. i bitch about the fonts a lot (they still suck in firefox, btw tongue), but compared to how smooth everything else is, it's just one minor bug -- and probably one not even having to do with arch specifically, but that #$@&! freetype2. :evil:

another thing is, my system has never seemed faster! so thanks big_smile

Offline

#63 2006-06-24 14:20:01

stonecrest
Member
From: Boulder
Registered: 2005-01-22
Posts: 1,190

Re: The Testing Move has begun

A flawless update here, thanks for your hard work smile


I am a gated community.

Offline

#64 2006-06-24 15:04:51

rpgcyco
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2005-09-27
Posts: 73
Website

Re: The Testing Move has begun

I was able to solve my problem temporarily by reverting back to kernel26-2.6.16.20-1 and nvidia-1.0.8762-1. All is fast once again. smile

- Rpg Cyco

Offline

#65 2006-06-24 15:22:12

scarecrow
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2004-11-18
Posts: 714

Re: The Testing Move has begun

Everything working great (KDE 3.5.3), incl. nvidia driver. Congrats, great work!


Microshaft delenda est

Offline

#66 2006-06-24 16:28:01

Gullible Jones
Member
Registered: 2004-12-29
Posts: 4,863

Re: The Testing Move has begun

Yep, apps compiled with GCC 4.1.x do seem to start significantly faster. Could be because 4.0.x increased the size of the binaries, and this new release doesn't, maybe?

Edit: Interesting, GTK redraw times are now back to a sane speed. Redraw times for Galeon are still terrible though.

Offline

#67 2006-06-24 17:24:54

nggalai
Member
From: Switzerland
Registered: 2004-08-01
Posts: 215
Website

Re: The Testing Move has begun

No problems whatsoever with the update. Only thing I had to change was my menu.lst for grub, that was that.

Well done! Cheers! smile

Offline

#68 2006-06-24 17:55:28

neotuli
Lazy Developer
From: San Francisco, CA
Registered: 2004-07-06
Posts: 1,201
Website

Re: The Testing Move has begun

If you don't like the nvidia splash screen, add the following code to your Device section in your xorg.conf to keep it from being displayed.

Option "NoLogo" "true"

The suggestion box only accepts patches.

Offline

#69 2006-06-24 18:26:43

zaterio
Member
Registered: 2006-05-21
Posts: 23

Re: The Testing Move has begun

I am triying to update my system (pacmn -Syu), the pacman output showme that about 500 M of files to downlad, but when the system askme: proceed with upgrade?, fails because are corrupted packages:


Proceed with upgrade? [Y/n] y

checking package integrity...
error: archive codecs-20060501-4.pkg.tar.gz is corrupted
error: archive klibc-extras-1.6-1.pkg.tar.gz is corrupted

[root@zaterio ~]#

how i can fix that

thanks in advance..

Offline

#70 2006-06-24 18:31:28

scrawler
Member
Registered: 2005-06-07
Posts: 312

Re: The Testing Move has begun

zaterio wrote:

how i can fix that

# pacman -Sc

then rerun

# pacman -Syu

Offline

#71 2006-06-24 18:47:40

zaterio
Member
Registered: 2006-05-21
Posts: 23

Re: The Testing Move has begun

thanks, but dont work for me....I try many times  the pacman -Sc and then pacman -Syu, but pacmas give  me the same output

Offline

#72 2006-06-24 18:59:53

_Gandalf_
Member
Registered: 2006-01-12
Posts: 735

Re: The Testing Move has begun

pacman -Scc not pacman -Sc
if you have the same problem then your repo maybe out of sync...

Offline

#73 2006-06-24 19:06:06

zaterio
Member
Registered: 2006-05-21
Posts: 23

Re: The Testing Move has begun

_Gandalf_ wrote:

pacman -Scc not pacman -Sc
if you have the same problem then your repo maybe out of sync...

Fixed, i remove the packages from /var/cache/pacman/pkg/ and then pacman -Scc and pacman -Syu. i am upgrading

thanks

Offline

#74 2006-06-24 22:05:38

scrawler
Member
Registered: 2005-06-07
Posts: 312

Re: The Testing Move has begun

sorry for the bad info.  pacman -Sc worked for me.  I was under the mistaken impression that pacman -Scc would remove *all* the cached packages. and I would have to download all 200 megs again.

Offline

#75 2006-06-24 22:35:02

multios
Member
Registered: 2006-05-29
Posts: 35

Re: The Testing Move has begun

It took 3 tries to get kdeartwork and then something really strange: I have been using kdm, but rebooted to do something in os/2, and when I rebooted into arch, xdm was running. I looked at my inittab file and it had xdm. Changed it back to kdm (I don't really know why..just habit I guess) and all is well. I didn't look at the date/time on the inittab before editing it sad
That was weird, but otherwise great job!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB