You are not logged in.

#26 2019-06-06 15:43:58

F0x06
Member
Registered: 2019-06-05
Posts: 14

Re: ThinkPad X260 screen freezes for a few seconds

seth wrote:

Yeah, but what about a video playback, ie. how do you exactly determine the graphics "freeze" (in an openbox session)
Notably since FF in particular might be HW accelerated.


By graphics freeze i mean the whole screen is frozen (still image), mouse cursor frozen etc, then after few seconds refreshes again.

Yes my Firefox is HW accelerated, i enabled layers.acceleration.force-enabled to avoid tearing, worked perfectly for years without issues, My current install is fresh, reinstalled 1 week ago.

I'm trying right now to see what's happen to videos (Youtube) when freeze happens, and of course no freeze at all for now...

This is really like the gpu stop refreshing screen for few seconds then resume.

Offline

#27 2019-06-06 15:51:48

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 51,017

Re: ThinkPad X260 screen freezes for a few seconds

Freezing cursor sounds more like the kernel module (what fits the ddx indifference and means there should™ be output in dmesg)

systool -vm i915

Randomly try "i915.enable_dc=0 i915.enable_fbc=0 i915.enable_psr=0" as kernel parameters

Offline

#28 2019-06-06 16:00:41

F0x06
Member
Registered: 2019-06-05
Posts: 14

Re: ThinkPad X260 screen freezes for a few seconds

seth wrote:

Freezing cursor sounds more like the kernel module (what fits the ddx indifference and means there should™ be output in dmesg)

systool -vm i915

Randomly try "i915.enable_dc=0 i915.enable_fbc=0 i915.enable_psr=0" as kernel parameters

I watched carefully all the logs multiple times, no log entries when the freeze occurs. When it happens it just stop refreshing the screen but all the apps continuing working normally then refreshes again, its like the whole screen render is paused.

systool -vm i915

Module = "i915"

  Attributes:
    coresize            = "2162688"
    initsize            = "0"
    initstate           = "live"
    refcnt              = "52"
    srcversion          = "EE930BF9850DED90D4C43A9"
    taint               = ""
    uevent              = <store method only>

  Parameters:

  Sections:

I'll try now your suggested kernel parameters and come back with the results.

Thanks.

EDIT: systool does not display actual parameters for a unknown reason, here is my i915 parameters (with your suggested kernel parameters) obtained in /sys/modules

alpha_support:Y
disable_display:N
disable_power_well:1
dmc_firmware_path:(null)
edp_vswing:0
enable_dc:0
enable_dpcd_backlight:N
enable_dp_mst:Y
enable_fbc:0
enable_guc:0
enable_gvt:N
enable_hangcheck:Y
enable_ips:1
enable_psr:0
error_capture:Y
fastboot:-1
force_reset_modeset_test:N
guc_firmware_path:(null)
guc_log_level:0
huc_firmware_path:(null)
invert_brightness:0
load_detect_test:N
lvds_channel_mode:0
mmio_debug:0
modeset:1
nuclear_pageflip:N
panel_use_ssc:-1
prefault_disable:N
reset:2
vbt_firmware:(null)
vbt_sdvo_panel_type:-1
verbose_state_checks:Y

Last edited by F0x06 (2019-06-06 16:42:31)

Offline

#29 2019-06-11 11:36:29

F0x06
Member
Registered: 2019-06-05
Posts: 14

Re: ThinkPad X260 screen freezes for a few seconds

seth wrote:

Freezing cursor sounds more like the kernel module (what fits the ddx indifference and means there should™ be output in dmesg)

systool -vm i915

Randomly try "i915.enable_dc=0 i915.enable_fbc=0 i915.enable_psr=0" as kernel parameters


No freezes for now with your suggested parameters, I'll come back at the end of my working week to confirm.

Thanks !

Offline

#30 2019-06-11 12:41:50

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 51,017

Re: ThinkPad X260 screen freezes for a few seconds

If this holds you should seek to narrow down the relevant parameter in order to maintain many features as possible.

Offline

#31 2019-06-11 12:46:21

F0x06
Member
Registered: 2019-06-05
Posts: 14

Re: ThinkPad X260 screen freezes for a few seconds

seth wrote:

If this holds you should seek to narrow down the relevant parameter in order to maintain many features as possible.

Yes of course, I'll do that at end of week if no freeze occurs to isolate the parameter(s) that solved the issue.

Thanks.

Last edited by F0x06 (2019-06-11 12:50:27)

Offline

#32 2019-06-12 19:59:44

dawid.wolski
Member
Registered: 2015-11-27
Posts: 9

Re: ThinkPad X260 screen freezes for a few seconds

Hi, I'm trying to set the parameters you said, but it looks like it has no result.

/etc/modprobe.d/i915.conf

options i915 enable_dc=0 enable_fbc=0 enable_psr=0

systool -vm i915

    initstate           = "live"
    refcnt              = "3"
    srcversion          = "EE930BF9850DED90D4C43A9"
    taint               = ""
    uevent              = <store method only>

  Parameters:
    alpha_support       = "Y"
    disable_display     = "N"
    disable_power_well  = "1"
    dmc_firmware_path   = "(null)"
    edp_vswing          = "0"
    enable_dc           = "-1"
    enable_dp_mst       = "Y"
    enable_dpcd_backlight= "N"
    enable_fbc          = "1"
    enable_guc          = "0"
    enable_gvt          = "N"
    enable_hangcheck    = "Y"
    enable_ips          = "1"
    enable_psr          = "-1"
    error_capture       = "Y"
    fastboot            = "-1"
    force_reset_modeset_test= "N"
    guc_firmware_path   = "(null)"
    guc_log_level       = "0"
    huc_firmware_path   = "(null)"
    invert_brightness   = "0"
    load_detect_test    = "N"
    lvds_channel_mode   = "0"
    mmio_debug          = "0"
    modeset             = "-1"
    nuclear_pageflip    = "N"
    panel_use_ssc       = "-1"
    prefault_disable    = "N"
    reset               = "2"
    vbt_firmware        = "(null)"
    vbt_sdvo_panel_type = "-1"
    verbose_state_checks= "Y"

  Sections:
    .altinstr_aux       = "0xffffffffc0496373"
    .altinstr_replacement= "0xffffffffc0490f3c"
    .altinstructions    = "0xffffffffc04c7409"
    .bss                = "0xffffffffc0555d00"
    .data..cacheline_aligned= "0xffffffffc05552c0"
    .data..read_mostly  = "0xffffffffc05515c0"
    .data.once          = "0xffffffffc055154c"
    .data               = "0xffffffffc0549000"
    .exit.text          = "0xffffffffc04963f1"
    .fixup              = "0xffffffffc049689f"
    .gnu.linkonce.this_module= "0xffffffffc05559c0"
    .init.text          = "0xffffffffc0594000"
    .note.Linux         = "0xffffffffc0497024"
    .note.gnu.build-id  = "0xffffffffc0497000"
    .orc_unwind         = "0xffffffffc050d15c"
    .orc_unwind_ip      = "0xffffffffc04e7550"
    .parainstructions   = "0xffffffffc0545b70"
    .ref.data           = "0xffffffffc0551dc0"
    .rodata             = "0xffffffffc0497080"
    .rodata.str1.1      = "0xffffffffc04ba294"
    .rodata.str1.8      = "0xffffffffc04c7a90"
    .smp_locks          = "0xffffffffc04e6d94"
    .strtab             = "0xffffffffc05bd138"
    .symtab             = "0xffffffffc0596000"
    .text..refcount     = "0xffffffffc0496419"
    .text               = "0xffffffffc0383000"
    .text.unlikely      = "0xffffffffc0491117"
    __bpf_raw_tp_map    = "0xffffffffc0551640"
    __bug_table         = "0xffffffffc054e2a0"
    __ex_table          = "0xffffffffc0546130"
    __jump_table        = "0xffffffffc0548000"
    __ksymtab_gpl       = "0xffffffffc0497040"
    __ksymtab_strings   = "0xffffffffc0546b8c"
    __mcount_loc        = "0xffffffffc04b3cbc"
    __param             = "0xffffffffc0545c30"
    __tracepoints_ptrs  = "0xffffffffc0546c20"
    __tracepoints_strings= "0xffffffffc0546ce0"
    __tracepoints       = "0xffffffffc0552de0"
    __verbose           = "0xffffffffc05539d0"
    _ftrace_events      = "0xffffffffc0551c40"

Offline

#33 2019-06-12 20:14:18

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 51,017

Re: ThinkPad X260 screen freezes for a few seconds

i915 is probably in the initramfs and loaded from there. Try to pass the parameters directly at the commandline. If things work for you, you'll have to get the options into the initramfs.

Offline

#34 2019-07-04 08:48:05

F0x06
Member
Registered: 2019-06-05
Posts: 14

Re: ThinkPad X260 screen freezes for a few seconds

dawid.wolski wrote:

Hi, I'm trying to set the parameters you said, but it looks like it has no result.

/etc/modprobe.d/i915.conf

options i915 enable_dc=0 enable_fbc=0 enable_psr=0

systool -vm i915

    initstate           = "live"
    refcnt              = "3"
    srcversion          = "EE930BF9850DED90D4C43A9"
    taint               = ""
    uevent              = <store method only>

  Parameters:
    alpha_support       = "Y"
    disable_display     = "N"
    disable_power_well  = "1"
    dmc_firmware_path   = "(null)"
    edp_vswing          = "0"
    enable_dc           = "-1"
    enable_dp_mst       = "Y"
    enable_dpcd_backlight= "N"
    enable_fbc          = "1"
    enable_guc          = "0"
    enable_gvt          = "N"
    enable_hangcheck    = "Y"
    enable_ips          = "1"
    enable_psr          = "-1"
    error_capture       = "Y"
    fastboot            = "-1"
    force_reset_modeset_test= "N"
    guc_firmware_path   = "(null)"
    guc_log_level       = "0"
    huc_firmware_path   = "(null)"
    invert_brightness   = "0"
    load_detect_test    = "N"
    lvds_channel_mode   = "0"
    mmio_debug          = "0"
    modeset             = "-1"
    nuclear_pageflip    = "N"
    panel_use_ssc       = "-1"
    prefault_disable    = "N"
    reset               = "2"
    vbt_firmware        = "(null)"
    vbt_sdvo_panel_type = "-1"
    verbose_state_checks= "Y"

  Sections:
    .altinstr_aux       = "0xffffffffc0496373"
    .altinstr_replacement= "0xffffffffc0490f3c"
    .altinstructions    = "0xffffffffc04c7409"
    .bss                = "0xffffffffc0555d00"
    .data..cacheline_aligned= "0xffffffffc05552c0"
    .data..read_mostly  = "0xffffffffc05515c0"
    .data.once          = "0xffffffffc055154c"
    .data               = "0xffffffffc0549000"
    .exit.text          = "0xffffffffc04963f1"
    .fixup              = "0xffffffffc049689f"
    .gnu.linkonce.this_module= "0xffffffffc05559c0"
    .init.text          = "0xffffffffc0594000"
    .note.Linux         = "0xffffffffc0497024"
    .note.gnu.build-id  = "0xffffffffc0497000"
    .orc_unwind         = "0xffffffffc050d15c"
    .orc_unwind_ip      = "0xffffffffc04e7550"
    .parainstructions   = "0xffffffffc0545b70"
    .ref.data           = "0xffffffffc0551dc0"
    .rodata             = "0xffffffffc0497080"
    .rodata.str1.1      = "0xffffffffc04ba294"
    .rodata.str1.8      = "0xffffffffc04c7a90"
    .smp_locks          = "0xffffffffc04e6d94"
    .strtab             = "0xffffffffc05bd138"
    .symtab             = "0xffffffffc0596000"
    .text..refcount     = "0xffffffffc0496419"
    .text               = "0xffffffffc0383000"
    .text.unlikely      = "0xffffffffc0491117"
    __bpf_raw_tp_map    = "0xffffffffc0551640"
    __bug_table         = "0xffffffffc054e2a0"
    __ex_table          = "0xffffffffc0546130"
    __jump_table        = "0xffffffffc0548000"
    __ksymtab_gpl       = "0xffffffffc0497040"
    __ksymtab_strings   = "0xffffffffc0546b8c"
    __mcount_loc        = "0xffffffffc04b3cbc"
    __param             = "0xffffffffc0545c30"
    __tracepoints_ptrs  = "0xffffffffc0546c20"
    __tracepoints_strings= "0xffffffffc0546ce0"
    __tracepoints       = "0xffffffffc0552de0"
    __verbose           = "0xffffffffc05539d0"
    _ftrace_events      = "0xffffffffc0551c40"

For me systool do not display any parameters, but they are correctly applied, checked with

sudo grep -H '' /sys/module/i915*/parameters/* | cut -d'/' -f6 | sort -n

Also ensure you have the modconf HOOK enabled in /etc/mkinitcpio.conf and also do a sudo mkinitcpio -p linux

PS: I'm testing right now each individual parameter to isolate the problematic one

Offline

#35 2020-02-23 12:49:17

squimmy
Member
Registered: 2020-02-23
Posts: 1

Re: ThinkPad X260 screen freezes for a few seconds

To my surprise, for me, the magic parameter is:

i915.enable_psr=0

Currently my kernel parameters read:

i915.enable_dc=-1 i915.enable_fbc=1 i915.enable_psr=0

And I no longer get any freezing at all. That's great, as I'd tried about 15 different distrubtions as well as a few different kernel versions, none of which helped. In the end disabling psr seems to have worked.

(I know it's an old thread, but thought I'd reply for anybody that stumbles upon this thread like I did)

Last edited by squimmy (2020-02-23 12:50:03)

Offline

#36 2021-01-24 18:59:27

MrBW
Member
Registered: 2018-12-10
Posts: 2

Re: ThinkPad X260 screen freezes for a few seconds

I got the same issue, it freezes randomly.
BUT I'm running W10 and I also see the issue in WinPE booting from USB. When it happen the CPU seem to run at maximum.

Offline

#37 2021-01-24 19:54:56

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 11,845
Website

Re: ThinkPad X260 screen freezes for a few seconds


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI MAG X570S TORPEDO MAX // Processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5950X @4.9GHz // GFX: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 6x 1TB SSD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB