You are not logged in.

#76 2020-02-09 03:39:10

Exeat
Member
Registered: 2019-05-28
Posts: 2

Re: Black screen on lid open

Pergravis wrote:

This seems to have fixed the problem on my E485

Offline

#77 2020-02-29 17:31:34

sinatosk
Member
Registered: 2010-11-28
Posts: 98

Re: Black screen on lid open

Using kernel 5.5.0, 5.5.3 5.5.5, 5.5.6 and 5.5.7 hibernation and suspension still works for me

and the error from 5.5.0 and showing in 5.5.3 ( I didn't use 5.5.2 or 5.5.1 )

[drm:dm_helpers_parse_edid_caps [amdgpu]] *ERROR* Couldn't read SADs: -2

is gone since 5.5.5 ( I didn't use 5.5.4 )

Last edited by sinatosk (2020-03-01 09:41:43)

Offline

#78 2020-03-22 18:07:36

Fabi0_Z
Member
Registered: 2019-02-05
Posts: 7

Re: Black screen on lid open

I've the same problem, I'm running a laptop with an AMD A9 APU and a dedicated AMD GPU, kernel 5.5.10-arch1-1

When I resume the laptop from suspension the screen remains black, but I'm still able to login and reboot my laptop from terminal, so I guess it's only a video issue. I've tried various boot parameters combination from the thread but non of them has worked, any suggestions?

Offline

#79 2020-03-22 19:35:41

davc0n
Member
Registered: 2020-02-01
Posts: 3

Re: Black screen on lid open

Hi Fabi0_Z,

Did you try the workaround written here ?

Offline

#80 2020-03-24 11:50:33

Fabi0_Z
Member
Registered: 2019-02-05
Posts: 7

Re: Black screen on lid open

davc0n wrote:

Hi Fabi0_Z,

Did you try the workaround written here ?

If you talk about the early KMS yes, but didn't change anything

I've added

amdgpu

to mkinitcpio.conf and then run

mkinitcpio -p linux

, rebooted but both resume after suspend and hibernation still doesn't work

Offline

#81 2020-03-25 17:48:30

davc0n
Member
Registered: 2020-02-01
Posts: 3

Re: Black screen on lid open

I am talking about switching to another tty before suspend (FYI: with CTRL+ALT+F2 for example). After resume, go back to the previous tty window (eg. CTRL+ALT+F1). It's just a workaround, but it's better than nothing. Dunno about hibernation, works fine here.

Offline

#82 2020-03-28 15:48:34

Fabi0_Z
Member
Registered: 2019-02-05
Posts: 7

Re: Black screen on lid open

davc0n wrote:

I am talking about switching to another tty before suspend (FYI: with CTRL+ALT+F2 for example). After resume, go back to the previous tty window (eg. CTRL+ALT+F1). It's just a workaround, but it's better than nothing. Dunno about hibernation, works fine here.

Tried today, doesn't change anything, same behavior as using the normal sleep button from a gnome session

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB