You are not logged in.

#276 2008-05-13 16:36:25

wain
Member
From: France
Registered: 2005-05-01
Posts: 289
Website

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

mutlu_inek is right for the pacman's part, but yaourt use directly wget to grab information from AUR website.
You have to set your /etc/wgetrc or ~/.wgetrc like this:

use_proxy = on
http_proxy = http://user:passwd@proxyadress:port

Offline

#277 2008-05-14 04:50:30

Anders
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2006-05-19
Posts: 48
Website

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

I hope I didn't miss anything in --help, but one useful feature would be building from /var/abs if the package couldn't be found in the repositories. Especially for community. It should look there before querying the AUR.

This is because I run Arch Linux PPC, and it doesn't have the community repo, but I do have a synced ABS.


Running: Arch Linux i686, x86_64, ppc

Offline

#278 2008-05-14 17:47:37

wain
Member
From: France
Registered: 2005-05-01
Posts: 289
Website

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

Anders wrote:

I hope I didn't miss anything in --help, but one useful feature would be building from /var/abs if the package couldn't be found in the repositories. Especially for community. It should look there before querying the AUR.

This is because I run Arch Linux PPC, and it doesn't have the community repo, but I do have a synced ABS.

When yaourt doesn't find a package on binaries repositories, the search fallback on AUR (unsupported only). I can add an option for ppc users to search on full AUR (community + unsupported). So the packages from community can be build with the yaourt's way, by grabbing PKGBUILD from repos.archlinux.fr (without abs system).

Offline

#279 2008-05-15 19:53:46

DonVla
Member
From: Bonn, Germany
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 997

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

hi wain!

it seems that yaourt has a problem with local repositories.
example:

 $ yaourt vmware
1 extra/xf86-video-vmware 10.15.2-1
    X.org vmware video driver
2 extra/xf86-input-vmmouse 12.4.3-1
    X.org VMWare Mouse input driver
3 community/open-vm-tools 2008.04.14-1
    The Open Virtual Machine Tools (open-vm-tools) are the open source implementation of VMware Tools.
4 community/libview 0.6.1-1
    A collection of widgets that were developed at VMware
5 community/open-vm-tools-modules 2008.04.14-1
    The Open Virtual Machine Tools (open-vm-tools) are the open source implementation of VMware Tools.
6 aur/vmware-any-any-update 115-1
    Patches for vmware modules
7 aur/vmware-player 2.0.3_80004-1
    Software for running VMware virtual machines
8 aur/vmware-player-modules 2.0.3_80004-1
    Kernel modules for VMware Player
.
. and so on

but:

 $ pacman -Ss vmware
local_repo/vmware-workstation 6.0.3_80004-1
    Powerful desktop virtualization software
extra/xf86-input-vmmouse 12.4.3-1 (xorg-input-drivers)
    X.org VMWare Mouse input driver
extra/xf86-video-vmware 10.15.2-1 (xorg-video-drivers)
    X.org vmware video driver
community/libview 0.6.1-1
    A collection of widgets that were developed at VMware
community/open-vm-tools 2008.04.14-1
    The Open Virtual Machine Tools (open-vm-tools) are the open source implementation of VMware Tools.
community/open-vm-tools-modules 2008.04.14-1
    The Open Virtual Machine Tools (open-vm-tools) are the open source implementation of VMware Tools.

yaourt ignores the local_repo database.

vlad

Offline

#280 2008-05-17 14:17:43

tomato
Member
Registered: 2007-09-20
Posts: 72

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

wain wrote:

mutlu_inek is right for the pacman's part, but yaourt use directly wget to grab information from AUR website.
You have to set your /etc/wgetrc or ~/.wgetrc like this:

use_proxy = on
http_proxy = http://user:passwd@proxyadress:port

i've got set up http_proxy environment variable and pacman does use it, but when i use yaourt it doesn't:

[root@bursa23 tomato]# echo $http_proxy
http://xxx:not24get@proxy.domain.com:8080
[root@bursa23 tomato]# pacman -Sy
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
--2008-05-17 16:12:12--  http://repo.archlinux.fr/i686/archlinuxfr.db.tar.gz
Resolving proxy.domain.com... 10.0.0.1
Connecting to proxy.domain.com|10.0.0.1|:8080... connected.
Proxy request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 22724 (22K) [application/x-gzip]
Saving to: `/var/lib/pacman/archlinuxfr.db.tar.gz.part'

100%[======================================================================================>] 22,724      --.-K/s   in 0.09s

2008-05-17 16:12:12 (241 KB/s) - `/var/lib/pacman/archlinuxfr.db.tar.gz.part' saved [22724/22724]

 local database is up to date
[root@bursa23 tomato]# yaourt -Sy
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
--2008-05-17 16:12:22--  http://repo.archlinux.fr/i686/archlinuxfr.db.tar.gz
Resolving repo.archlinux.fr... 213.186.62.207
Connecting to repo.archlinux.fr|213.186.62.207|:80... failed: No route to host.
error: failed to synchronize archlinuxfr:
 local database is up to date
missing dependency for xorg : xf86-video-vesa

though when i put http_proxy in ~/.wgetrc it worked

i'ts confusing at least, i'd consider it a bug


sorry for my miserable english, it's my third language ; )

Offline

#281 2008-05-21 16:18:00

aRcHaTe
Member
Registered: 2006-10-24
Posts: 646

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

when the new version?


Its a sick world we live in....

Offline

#282 2008-05-22 09:41:14

robmaloy
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-05-14
Posts: 263

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

to fix the proxy bug, append -E to any occurence of "sudo"  (so sudo keeps environment variables)
OR edit your sudoers file to keep either any environment variables or just {http|ftp}_proxy

putting the proxy into your .wgetrc sucks when you dont always use the same proxy or sometimes no proxy at all



"patch" (just 5 lines big_smile):

wget http://rob.kingofnerds.net/yaourt_env_proxy.diff; sudo patch /usr/bin/yaourt < yaourt_env_proxy.diff

Last edited by robmaloy (2008-05-22 09:43:41)


☃ Snowman ☃

Offline

#283 2008-05-22 18:30:46

aRcHaTe
Member
Registered: 2006-10-24
Posts: 646

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

yaourt is not respecting the exportpkg location...i think it could be a bug...nothing gets stored on my export builds dir


Its a sick world we live in....

Offline

#284 2008-05-24 17:47:39

Mr. Ego
Member
Registered: 2007-12-04
Posts: 20

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

First, thanks for wonderful software. smile

I have some suggestion, would it be possible to check if there are new versions of yaourt itself and tools that it uses - pacman, aurvote, customizepkg and pacman-color (of course only if the additional programs like aurvote were previously installed) before doing anything? I think it might be a nice feature.

I wonder why yaourt is not trusted package.

Last edited by Mr. Ego (2008-05-24 17:48:08)

Offline

#285 2008-05-24 20:13:27

bender02
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2007-02-04
Posts: 1,328

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

aRcHaTe wrote:

yaourt is not respecting the exportpkg location...i think it could be a bug...nothing gets stored on my export builds dir

I've never seen any exportpkg switch (in yaourt nor makepkg). I have
ExportToLocalRepository <my_package_dir>
in .yaourtrc and it works fine.

Mr. Ego wrote:

I wonder why yaourt is not trusted package.

There are no trusted packages anymore smile

Last edited by bender02 (2008-05-24 20:14:13)

Offline

#286 2008-05-24 20:48:41

Mr. Ego
Member
Registered: 2007-12-04
Posts: 20

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

There are no trusted packages anymore

I missed that. Why did this happen?

Offline

#287 2008-06-01 22:49:30

SpookyET
Member
Registered: 2008-01-27
Posts: 410

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

yaourt -Syu --aur is worthless when you have a local repository. It can't find updates because nothing is foreign.

Propose:
yaourt -Syu --aur --treat-foreign spookyet-repo
yaourt.conf entry as well to save from having to type that all the time.

Offline

#288 2008-06-02 18:38:54

DonVla
Member
From: Bonn, Germany
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 997

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

SpookyET wrote:

yaourt -Syu --aur is worthless when you have a local repository. It can't find updates because nothing is foreign.

foreign what? '-Syu' should work as with pacman.

Propose:
yaourt -Syu --aur --treat-foreign spookyet-repo
yaourt.conf entry as well to save from having to type that all the time.

/usr/bin/pacman: unrecognized option `--treat-foreign'

?

Offline

#289 2008-06-02 18:48:28

SpookyET
Member
Registered: 2008-01-27
Posts: 410

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

DonVla wrote:
SpookyET wrote:

yaourt -Syu --aur is worthless when you have a local repository. It can't find updates because nothing is foreign.

foreign what? '-Syu' should work as with pacman.

Propose:
yaourt -Syu --aur --treat-foreign spookyet-repo
yaourt.conf entry as well to save from having to type that all the time.

/usr/bin/pacman: unrecognized option `--treat-foreign'

?

It does not exist. It's a feature request.

Offline

#290 2008-06-02 18:54:19

DonVla
Member
From: Bonn, Germany
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 997

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

what are you talking about?
yaourt is a pacman wrapper. 'pacman -Syu'  updates the local repository and so should 'yaourt -Syu' do.

Last edited by DonVla (2008-06-02 18:55:09)

Offline

#291 2008-06-02 19:17:26

SpookyET
Member
Registered: 2008-01-27
Posts: 410

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

DonVla wrote:

what are you talking about?
yaourt is a pacman wrapper. 'pacman -Syu'  updates the local repository and so should 'yaourt -Syu' do.

If you put all the packages you use from AUR in a local repository, you do not have foreign packages. Therefore, pacman -Syu --aur is worthless because it tries to update foreign packages only. It's the same with all other AUR scripts. The only way to check for updates is to comment out my repository. Henceforth, I request for a switch to treat a repository as foreign.

Offline

#292 2008-06-03 05:29:00

delor
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2008-02-02
Posts: 62
Website

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

yaourt -noconfirm [regexp]

Doesn't work. Confirming 58 packages from AUR was pain.

Offline

#293 2008-06-15 17:20:10

violagirl23
Member
Registered: 2008-01-24
Posts: 184

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

I am not sure if this is a bug with the AUR itself or with yaourt. When I try to install vmware-workstation, yaourt tells me the following:

==> Installing missing dependencies...
error: 'vmware-workstation-modules': not found in sync db
==> ERROR: Pacman failed to install missing dependencies.
Error: Makepkg was unable to build vmware-workstation package.

However, yaourt -Ss vmware-workstation-modules clearly brings up a result, so I am not entirely sure what is going on. IF I try to install vmware-workstation-modules by itself, it lets me edit the package build and such, but when it goes to install, it says:

I am going t==> Retrieving Sources...
==> ERROR: VMware-workstation-6.0.4-93057.x86_64.tar.gz was not found in the build directory and is not a URL.
Error: Makepkg was unable to build vmware-workstation-modules package.

Cold this be an problem in yaourt or in the package itself?

Edit: I tried building it manually and could see this is an issue with the package itself. So nvm!

Last edited by violagirl23 (2008-06-16 03:33:54)


"You can't just ask to borrow somebody else's lampshade. It's AWKWARD!"

Offline

#294 2008-06-20 02:28:04

emphire
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2007-03-21
Posts: 203

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

violagirl23 wrote:

Edit: I tried building it manually and could see this is an issue with the package itself. So nvm!

Just as a quick note, I think you need to obtain that file from vmware and place it in the directory with the PKGBUILD and make it by hand.  I don't think the VMWare license allows VMWare Workstation to be downloaded directly.

Offline

#295 2008-07-01 05:20:44

emphire
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2007-03-21
Posts: 203

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

Something seems off about the version numbers yaourt uses...

$ yaourt -Si xen
Repository    : AUR Unsupported
Name        : xen
Version        : 3.0.3-1
url        : http://www.xensource.com
Provides    : None
Depends On    : bridge-utils e2fsprogs iproute python twisted zlib
Conflicts With    : xen3
Replaces    : None
Description    : open-source para-virtualizing virtual machine monitor (VMM)
Last update    : 2006-12-10 16:14

yaourt is showing 3.0.3-1, but AUR and abs have newer versions:

$ grep pkgver= /var/abs/community/system/xen/PKGBUILD 
pkgver=3.2.1

Offline

#296 2008-07-01 05:47:46

emphire
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2007-03-21
Posts: 203

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

emphire wrote:

Something seems off about the version numbers yaourt uses...

Must have been a problem with the repository.  It's working fine after a pacman -Sy

Offline

#297 2008-07-06 18:43:28

emphire
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2007-03-21
Posts: 203

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

I get the following error when attempting to install compiz-core from abs with yaourt 0.9.1-1:

mkdir: cannot create directory `/tmp/yaourt-tmp-jon/abs-compiz-core/src': File exists

==> ERROR: An unknown error has occured. Exiting...
Error: Makepkg was unable to build compiz-core package.

I looks like it's having problems with the directory: '/tmp/yaourt-tmp-jon/abs-compiz-core/src'.  Here is a trimmed down summary of how I'm getting to the error:

$ yaourt -Sb compiz-core 
==> Building compiz-core from sources
==> Searching Community AUR page for compiz-core
 ....
==> compiz-core 0.7.6-1 

==> compiz-core dependencies:
 - startup-notification (already installed)
 - librsvg (already installed)
 - libgl (package that provides libgl already installed)
 - dbus (already installed)
 - mesa (already installed)
 - libxslt (already installed)
 - fuse (already installed)
==>  Edit the PKGBUILD ? [y/N] ("A" to abort)
N
...

mkdir: cannot create directory `/tmp/yaourt-tmp-jon/abs-compiz-core/src': File exists

==> ERROR: An unknown error has occured. Exiting...
Error: Makepkg was unable to build compiz-core package.

Offline

#298 2008-07-09 09:58:52

samoht_
Member
Registered: 2006-03-08
Posts: 2

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

Oh hai,

this might be a bug:
I defined a "ExportToLocalRepository" including uppercase characters in /etc/yaourtrc like this:
...
ExportToLocalRepository /home/thomas/System/Packages
...

Whenever I call yaourt, it tells me that the directory doesn't exist:

# yaourt -h
Error: ExportToLocalRepository is not a directory

/home/thomas/system/packages/ non reconized in config file
    ---  Yaourt version 0.9.00  ---

So it seems that the dirstring is converted to lowercase and therefore is invalid.

Thanks,
samoht

Offline

#299 2008-07-09 12:20:20

robmaloy
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-05-14
Posts: 263

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

samoht_ wrote:

Oh hai,

this might be a bug:
I defined a "ExportToLocalRepository" including uppercase characters in /etc/yaourtrc like this:
...
ExportToLocalRepository /home/thomas/System/Packages
...

Whenever I call yaourt, it tells me that the directory doesn't exist:

# yaourt -h
Error: ExportToLocalRepository is not a directory

/home/thomas/system/packages/ non reconized in config file
    ---  Yaourt version 0.9.00  ---

So it seems that the dirstring is converted to lowercase and therefore is invalid.

Thanks,
samoht

change line 1759 to:

readconfigfile `grep "^[\ ]*[a-Z]" $configfile | awk '{ print tolower($1) " " $2 }' | sed -e s/\ [yY][eE][sS]/\ yes/g -e s/\ [nN][oO]/\ no/g`

edit: (added sed stuff so people usin uppercase in 'yes' or 'no' statements dont screw it up)
edit2: crap i just saw there are other statements (asc,dec or mirror selections), maybe a "tolower" function should be implemented and the if-statments changed to: (for example)

lastcommentsorder)
                        ARG=`tolower $2`
            if [ "$ARG" = "asc" -o "$ARG" = "desc" ]; then
                   ORDERBY=$ARG; shift
            else     
                             error "Wrong value for LastCommentsOrder"
                fi
            ;;

Last edited by robmaloy (2008-07-09 12:33:26)


☃ Snowman ☃

Offline

#300 2008-07-30 13:55:41

hybrid
Member
Registered: 2007-02-05
Posts: 261

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

Hey I know it's nothing new but I still couldn't find an answer as to why yaourt _aborts_ when a regular user invokes pacman to build a package from aur. I know the sudo workaround but I don't want to install sudo and I especially don't want to give a regular user full access to pacman. Sure I could add a user yaourt and I could only allow that user to use pacman and what not but all that is just making one question arise in me: Why the heck does yaourt _abort_ (!!!!!!) when ...regular user...package from aur... instead of simply asking for the root's password and to continue and do the job!
Like I don't understand what yaourt needs pacman -Sp for in the first place but telling from the sudo-workaround I believe I understand that it shouldn't be a problem to have yaourt ask for the pw instead of aborting. I don't want to run yaourt as root, I don't want to use sudo either (kinda like shootin hummingbirds with heavy artillery) and I don't want to install packages from aur by hand (cuz as soon as there are dependencies it's getting a lot more work to deal with pacman --asdeps).
So please wain, could you please throw out a release that asks for the root password then instead of aborting? And could you please release that release soon? Because I've been waiting for this for over 4months now and I don't think I'm the only one wishing and waiting for that...
thank you :>

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB