You are not logged in.

#401 2009-10-09 23:02:21

quarkup
Member
From: Portugal
Registered: 2008-09-07
Posts: 497

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

there's one thing missing..


if I'm installing something with yaourt, it should respond to the unix SIGNALS correctly, this is:
- if I press Ctrl+C it should stop and sigterm the pacman/libalpm and then stop the yaourt thing.

it happens not. I must press up to 3 times to stop yaourt from installing that app.

Last edited by quarkup (2009-10-09 23:02:47)


If people do not believe that mathematics is simple, it is only because they do not realize how complicated life is.
Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.

Offline

#402 2009-11-26 11:50:42

mar77i
Member
Registered: 2009-02-16
Posts: 19

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

I find it a little bit strange that yaourt asks twice if one wishes to edit PKGBUILD and .install files.
Shouldn't one query be enough?


<rickh> f(Arch) = ((Gentoo - Compiletime) + (Slackware + Depency resolution and Downloading))

Offline

#403 2009-12-11 11:31:52

ngsupb
Member
Registered: 2009-07-29
Posts: 57
Website

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

Guy, what do you think about about such optoin to add to yaourt or pacman.

So for example we list available updates, but add the time when the package is appeared.
==> Software upgrade (new version) :
extra/aria2 1.6.3-1 -> 1.7.1-2  (10 days ago)

Is it possible?

It would help for those who wants to stick to tested releases by community and avoid upgrading to newest packages those have a risk of non-discovered  bugs and just update to these packages later after a few weeks of the release date.

Sometimes I update right away after packages are released, but when I don't have time to fix something I would prefer to stay away from newest upgrades. But the problem it is hard to know which is new package and which one is old

Offline

#404 2009-12-11 11:58:42

owain
Member
Registered: 2009-08-24
Posts: 233

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

mar77i wrote:

I find it a little bit strange that yaourt asks twice if one wishes to edit PKGBUILD and .install files.
Shouldn't one query be enough?

I agree - or the post-edit query should be a different one, with [Y/n] rather than [y/N].

Offline

#405 2009-12-17 23:44:55

doorknob60
Member
From: Oregon
Registered: 2008-09-29
Posts: 402

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

When I try to install packages from AUR, when I press 'y' or 'n' when it asks about editing the PKGBUILD, yaourt just kills itself with no output. If I press y, it opens nano like normal but when I close it yaourt is still dead. Any ideas?

Offline

#406 2009-12-19 23:33:46

pogeymanz
Member
Registered: 2008-03-11
Posts: 1,020

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

When I try to issue a

yaourt -Syub

It tries to compile the correct software, but not the right version. It tries to compile the version I already have installed instead of the newest version.

Yet

yaourt -Syu

works just fine.

Is this a bug, or am I missing something?

Offline

#407 2009-12-26 22:57:04

posativ
Member
Registered: 2009-08-06
Posts: 6

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

Maybe it was mentioned somehere, but since one or two month, my yaourt output looks like this.
It is a bug or my fault?

23:52:37::$ y -S rtorrent-svn --noconfirm           
==> Resuming previous build                         
==> Downloading $PKG PKGBUILD from AUR...
[...]
:: rtorrent-color: steht im Konflikt mit rtorrent
==> WARNING: Your package is saved in $YAOURTTMPDIR/$pkgname-$pkgver-$pkgrel-$PARCH${PKGEXT}

Last edited by posativ (2009-12-26 22:57:43)

Offline

#408 2010-02-17 23:32:53

pogeymanz
Member
Registered: 2008-03-11
Posts: 1,020

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

So, I'm using yaourt-git and I have my sudo timeout set to ask for a password every time.

So, if I run yaourt, it asks for my password three times. Is there any way to consolidate that into one?

Offline

#409 2010-02-18 00:30:05

some-guy94
Member
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 360

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

pogeymanz wrote:

So, I'm using yaourt-git and I have my sudo timeout set to ask for a password every time.

So, if I run yaourt, it asks for my password three times. Is there any way to consolidate that into one?

Yaourt can be modified to support this, all it really requires is this

stty -echo
read -p "sudo password: " spass
stty echo

sudo -S [command] <<<${spass}

Last edited by some-guy94 (2010-02-18 00:30:26)

Offline

#410 2010-06-03 11:55:03

gav616
Member
Registered: 2008-01-16
Posts: 182

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

some-guy94 wrote:
pogeymanz wrote:

So, I'm using yaourt-git and I have my sudo timeout set to ask for a password every time.

So, if I run yaourt, it asks for my password three times. Is there any way to consolidate that into one?

Yaourt can be modified to support this, all it really requires is this

stty -echo
read -p "sudo password: " spass
stty echo

sudo -S [command] <<<${spass}

sorry, but I don't understand, how do you stop it asking 3 times?

Offline

#411 2010-06-03 12:25:18

tuxce
Member
Registered: 2008-02-19
Posts: 56
Website

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

He propose that yaourt stores password and then use it for each sudo call, but the password will be available for every PKGBUILD and visible in process list.

If you want to disable sudo verification, just modify "is_sudo_allowed()" in /usr/bin/yaourt:

is_sudo_allowed()
{
  return 0
}

Offline

#412 2010-06-03 13:29:31

gav616
Member
Registered: 2008-01-16
Posts: 182

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

tuxce wrote:

He propose that yaourt stores password and then use it for each sudo call, but the password will be available for every PKGBUILD and visible in process list.

If you want to disable sudo verification, just modify "is_sudo_allowed()" in /usr/bin/yaourt:

is_sudo_allowed()
{
  return 0
}

Thank you very much, that worked a treat cool

Offline

#413 2010-06-04 12:11:35

Erus_Iluvatar
Member
Registered: 2010-04-01
Posts: 102

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

pogeymanz wrote:

When I try to issue a

yaourt -Syub

It tries to compile the correct software, but not the right version. It tries to compile the version I already have installed instead of the newest version.

Yet

yaourt -Syu

works just fine.

Is this a bug, or am I missing something?

The rsync server is not updated as often as your mirror, so you will have to wait a bit before the current version reaches it.


I'm french, don't mind my mistakes in english.

Offline

#414 2010-06-05 01:31:20

venky80
Member
Registered: 2007-05-13
Posts: 996

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

is yaourt is being maintained? I heard the development has stopped


DELL XPS 1640 with ATI Mobility Radeon  HD 3670. Arch Linux KDE Minimal Install

Offline

#415 2010-06-05 02:29:07

Wintervenom
Member
From: /home/wintervenom
Registered: 2008-08-20
Posts: 1,011
Website

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

Slowly maintained, but has not completely stopped.


My [GitHub] and my [artwork].
Data is guaranteed to stay crunchy in milk.
Keep your _✍ hand strong.

Offline

#416 2010-06-05 05:35:37

Stythys
Member
From: SF Bay Area
Registered: 2008-05-18
Posts: 878
Website

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

why use it, anyways


[home page] -- [code / configs]

"Once you go Arch, you must remain there for life or else Allan will track you down and break you."
-- Bregol

Offline

#417 2010-06-05 15:55:03

toxygen
Member
Registered: 2008-08-22
Posts: 705

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

how did this become a "dont use yaourt" thread?  you dont like it/use it/care, please skip the thread...

it is maintained, slow or fast.. it is used by many of us.. 

back on topic, can someone explain to me the difference between the yaourt package and yaourt-git?  on my desktop I upgraded yaourt, and get warned about new config file (yaourtrc).  on laptop, using -git, i get no such message.  both yaourtrc's look the same to me..


"I know what you're thinking, 'cause right now I'm thinking the same thing. Actually, I've been thinking it ever since I got here:
Why oh why didn't I take the BLUE pill?"

Offline

#418 2010-06-06 13:26:24

mutlu_inek
Member
From: all over the place
Registered: 2006-11-18
Posts: 676
Website

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

toxygen wrote:

how did this become a "dont use yaourt" thread?  you dont like it/use it/care, please skip the thread...

it is maintained, slow or fast.. it is used by many of us..

I agree. Yaourt is a great program and has worked perfectly for me since I started using Arch Linux back in 2005. There are regular upgrades to adjust to changes to pacman. Please stop the FUD about it not being maintained.

Offline

#419 2010-06-06 20:38:08

tuxce
Member
Registered: 2008-02-19
Posts: 56
Website

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

toxygen wrote:

back on topic, can someone explain to me the difference between the yaourt package and yaourt-git?

now, it's the same cause the last commit corresponds to the last release, otherwise, -git is the development version.

toxygen wrote:

on my desktop I upgraded yaourt, and get warned about new config file (yaourtrc).  on laptop, using -git, i get no such message.  both yaourtrc's look the same to me..

yaourtrc has bash syntax in -git since a while now, I simply forget to update the PKGBUILD to show the warning in the -git package.

Offline

#420 2010-06-06 20:53:18

ssri
Member
Registered: 2010-02-16
Posts: 213

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

toxygen wrote:

how did this become a "dont use yaourt" thread?  you dont like it/use it/care, please skip the thread...

it is maintained, slow or fast.. it is used by many of us..

No kidding.  There was a bug in the last release, I created a bug report, the maintainer quickly wrote the patch and the fix was out a day later or so.  Hey, if it ain't broke, why fix it?

Offline

#421 2010-06-23 10:48:17

samuele.mattiuzzo
Member
From: Treviso, IT
Registered: 2009-10-12
Posts: 307
Website

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

after last pacman upgrade, i keep getting this message

/usr/bin/pacman: unrecognized option '--print-uris'

after running yaourt --noconfirm -Syu

how can i fix this?

Offline

#422 2010-06-23 13:04:09

mutlu_inek
Member
From: all over the place
Registered: 2006-11-18
Posts: 676
Website

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

samuele.mattiuzzo wrote:

after last pacman upgrade, i keep getting this message

/usr/bin/pacman: unrecognized option '--print-uris'

after running yaourt --noconfirm -Syu

how can i fix this?

I assume there will be a yaourt upgrade to handle the new pacman. I you can't wait, it is written in bash. You could just get rid of the option in question and see what happens.

Offline

#423 2010-06-23 13:05:22

tuxce
Member
Registered: 2008-02-19
Posts: 56
Website

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

You have a very old version, update yaourt.

Offline

#424 2010-06-23 13:18:31

samuele.mattiuzzo
Member
From: Treviso, IT
Registered: 2009-10-12
Posts: 307
Website

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

smau [~] $ yaourt -V
yaourt 0.9.4.3 is a pacman frontend with AUR support and more
homepage: http://archlinux.fr/yaourt

isn't this the last version?

Offline

#425 2010-06-23 13:49:43

tuxce
Member
Registered: 2008-02-19
Posts: 56
Website

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

It is, but 0.9.4.3 doesn't use --print-uris, it runs "pacman -Spu"
Did you installed it from AUR ?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB