You are not logged in.

#176 2007-09-03 21:48:24

shining
Pacman Developer
Registered: 2006-05-10
Posts: 2,043

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

wain wrote:

Multiple instances patch has been implemented in a simplest way from my point of view:
The pacman_queuing() function is called directly from yaourt each time it is necessary.

For example:

if [ $REFRESH -eq 1 ]; then
        pacman_queuing;    launch_with_su "$PACMANBIN -Sy"
        ...

Easy no ? smile

Yes, it's actually one of the two alternatives I was thinking about wink
The second alternative was adding two more functions, besides the pacman_queuing one :

_pacman() {
pacman_queuing; "$PACMANBIN $@"
}
_pacman_su() {
pacman_queuing;    launch_with_su "$PACMANBIN $@"
}

but that doesn't seem very useful finally big_smile

Otherwise, in the while loop of the pacman_queuing function, wouldn't it be better to add a sleep call ?


pacman roulette : pacman -S $(pacman -Slq | LANG=C sort -R | head -n $((RANDOM % 10)))

Offline

#177 2007-09-06 11:59:07

Xilon
Member
Registered: 2007-01-01
Posts: 243

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

The current way is very inefficient and spikes CPU usage to 100%, adding a sleep would suffice.

pacman_queuing(){
    if [ -f /tmp/pacman.lck ]; then 
            msg "Pacman is currently in use, please wait."
        while [ -f /tmp/pacman.lck ]; do
            sleep 5;                                                            
        done 
    fi   
}

I removed the "continue" from there as well since it seems completely redundant. Maybe having an option to change the sleep interval would be good.

Offline

#178 2007-09-10 05:47:08

sH
Member
From: Braunschweig, Germany
Registered: 2007-05-02
Posts: 145

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

Why am I getting this message when issuing "yaourt -Syu --aur":

xorg: not found on AUR
yaourt: up to date
Following packages have not been installed:
xorg

That's kinda strange, I never installed xorg via AUR ?

Offline

#179 2007-09-10 09:10:51

kishd
Member
Registered: 2006-06-14
Posts: 401

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

xorg metapackage has been removed from the repos so yaourt is looking for it in AUR and cannot find it.


---for there is nothing either good or bad, but only thinking makes it so....
Hamlet, W Shakespeare

Offline

#180 2007-09-15 08:22:11

awagner
Member
From: Mainz, Germany
Registered: 2007-08-24
Posts: 191

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

the problems I reported earlier (searching for lots of current/extra/community packages on AUR and package zlib not found) seem to have vanished. I was forced offline for nearly two weeks and now it's all working fine again. Don't know if it is because of some update (I remember to have seen a yaourt update pulled in yesterday when I finally was able to pacman -Syu.)

Anyway, thanks for the great tool that yaourt is.
Andreas

Offline

#181 2007-09-15 11:23:45

oli
Member
From: 127.0.0.1
Registered: 2006-02-07
Posts: 164
Website

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

Just my 2¢ this is really a great tool. Thanks for the good work smile


Use UNIX or die.

Offline

#182 2007-09-15 12:18:27

erm67
Member
From: Europe
Registered: 2007-08-01
Posts: 123

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

Is it possible to make yaourt cache the downloaded files, I mean if two packages requires the same source or I re-download and re-compile the same package yaourt fetches again all the sources from the internet, since most PKGBUILD uses md5sum downloaded files could be cached in a directory and reused if the md5sum is correct.
Great tool anyway.

Last edited by erm67 (2007-09-15 12:18:53)

Offline

#183 2007-09-15 15:24:55

wain
Member
From: France
Registered: 2005-05-01
Posts: 289
Website

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

thank you awagner, oli and erm67 smile

@awagner: "zlib not found" problem is not a yaourt problem. I think your pacman database was altered.
@erm67:  just edit "/etc/makepkg.conf" file and activate "SRCDEST=/var/cache/somewhere"

new bugfix release is coming soon

Offline

#184 2007-09-17 23:54:54

erm67
Member
From: Europe
Registered: 2007-08-01
Posts: 123

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

This is curious I have a svn PKGBUILD in AUR (libflashsupport-svn) I have set the revision in the PKGBUILD as 2332, and on the svn server the latest release is 2348. Compiling it with makepkg creates the version I specified, instead compiling with yaourt I get an older release.:rolleyes: And it even says that 2269 is newer than 2332 ..... What is wrong?

==> Searching new CVS/SVN/GIT revision for libflashsupport-svn
==> retrieving latest revision number from svn... 2269
==> newer revision detected: 2269
==> modifying PKGBUILD to pkgver=2269..

Last edited by erm67 (2007-09-18 00:01:43)

Offline

#185 2007-09-18 18:03:48

wain
Member
From: France
Registered: 2005-05-01
Posts: 289
Website

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

erm67 wrote:

What is wrong?

Hi erm67, there is a problem with versionpkg.

Try to download the PKGBUILD and run:

$ versionpkg --check-only
==> retrieving latest revision number from svn... 2269
==> newer revision detected: 2269

But I don't know why versionpkg failed to get the last revision roll

Offline

#186 2007-09-18 19:39:06

erm67
Member
From: Europe
Registered: 2007-08-01
Posts: 123

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

wain wrote:

But I don't know why versionpkg failed to get the last revision roll

Sorry I made some tests and found out that versionpkg is right, the latest version of libflashsupport is 2269, the revision 2348 that can be seen on top of the page refers probably to the whole svn repository.
Again nice tools big_smile

Offline

#187 2007-09-18 23:35:25

DonVla
Member
From: Bonn, Germany
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 997

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

hello,

think i found a bug (?) in yaourt.
when running

 yaourt -Qo /etc/xdg/xfce4/helpers.rc

i don't get any results.
but running pacman yields:

pacman -Qo /etc/xdg/xfce4/helpers.rc
/etc/xdg/xfce4/helpers.rc is owned by exo 0.3.2-5

the package owning the file is installed, and pacman shows it.

vlad

Last edited by DonVla (2007-09-18 23:36:52)

Offline

#188 2007-09-19 17:18:45

wain
Member
From: France
Registered: 2005-05-01
Posts: 289
Website

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

you're right DonVla. Already fixed (and improved) in future release.

Offline

#189 2007-09-25 19:05:13

aRcHaTe
Member
Registered: 2006-10-24
Posts: 646

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

im having some strange problm...well it seems that yaourt wount update all packages installed..just a few one...what could i do?

==> Searching for new version on AUR
abraca: up to date
autoaur: up to date
bitefusion: up to date
dpencoder: up to date
mplayer-nvidia: up to date
neroconv: up to date
nix-style-NG: not found on AUR
opera-devel: up to date
pysmssend: up to date
qpkg: up to date
swiftdove-pentium-4: up to date
tunapie: up to date
Following packages have not been installed:
nix-style-NG


what about the rest?


Its a sick world we live in....

Offline

#190 2007-09-27 20:13:06

wain
Member
From: France
Registered: 2005-05-01
Posts: 289
Website

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

sickhate wrote:

im having some strange problm...well it seems that yaourt wount update all packages installed..just a few one...what could i do?

==> Searching for new version on AUR
abraca: up to date
autoaur: up to date
bitefusion: up to date
dpencoder: up to date
mplayer-nvidia: up to date
neroconv: up to date
nix-style-NG: not found on AUR
opera-devel: up to date
pysmssend: up to date
qpkg: up to date
swiftdove-pentium-4: up to date
tunapie: up to date
Following packages have not been installed:
nix-style-NG


what about the rest?

Hi,
"Searching for new version on AUR" works only for packages that can't be found in repositories.

Offline

#191 2007-10-09 16:44:22

DonVla
Member
From: Bonn, Germany
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 997

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

hello wain,

(answer to comment from here:  http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?d … &K=yaourt)
i didn't thought that IgnorePkg= in pacman.conf works w/ yaourt as well. i've tried it now, and yes it also works for me.
thanks.

vlad

Last edited by DonVla (2007-10-09 16:47:08)

Offline

#192 2007-10-15 16:06:17

DonVla
Member
From: Bonn, Germany
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 997

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

hello wain,

found another bug:

$ yaourt -Qt
docbook-xsl seems to be safely removable

==>  Do you want to remove these packages (with -Rcs options) ? [y/N]
==>   ----------------------------------------------
==>y

/usr/bin/pacman: unrecognized option `--lightbg'

in my ~/.yaourtrc i have:

   ColorMod LightBackGround

vlad

Offline

#193 2007-10-29 02:39:32

byte
Member
From: Düsseldorf (DE)
Registered: 2006-05-01
Posts: 2,046

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

I've noticed a slight quirk in PKGBUILD parsing, but didn't investigate any further.

$ yaourt -Si htdig
: command not found
: command not found:
'/PKGBUILD: line 14: syntax error near unexpected token `{
'/PKGBUILD: line 14: `build() {
Repository      : AUR Unsupported
Name            : htdig
-3rsion         : 3.2.0b6
url             : http://www.htdig.org/
Provides        : None
Depends On      : (gcc zlib)
Conflicts With  : None
Replaces        : None
Description     : The ht://Dig system is a complete world wide web indexing and searching system for a domain or intranet.
Last update     : 2007-08-03 05:21

It's probably the pkgdesc: http://aur.archlinux.org/packages/htdig/htdig/PKGBUILD


1000

Offline

#194 2007-10-29 04:10:29

kishd
Member
Registered: 2006-06-14
Posts: 401

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

I just noticed something strange. Running pacman -Qe results in an empty list. However running yaourt -Qe gives me a long list of explicity installed packages. Any idea why the two commands result in different output.


---for there is nothing either good or bad, but only thinking makes it so....
Hamlet, W Shakespeare

Offline

#195 2007-10-29 09:20:48

byte
Member
From: Düsseldorf (DE)
Registered: 2006-05-01
Posts: 2,046

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

The pacman behaviour changed in 3.x. -Qe now only lists packages that once were installed as dependencies and that are currently not required by anything else.


1000

Offline

#196 2007-10-29 09:30:35

kishd
Member
Registered: 2006-06-14
Posts: 401

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

Thank You. Will yaourt change to do the same?


---for there is nothing either good or bad, but only thinking makes it so....
Hamlet, W Shakespeare

Offline

#197 2007-10-29 10:59:42

shining
Pacman Developer
Registered: 2006-05-10
Posts: 2,043

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

I don't remember exactly, but I think yaourt had -Qe / -Qd / -Qt options.
Qd list dependencies
Qe list explictly installed packages
Qt list orphans : dependencies no longer required by any others packages (pacman -Qe option).

I partly copied these options for pacman 3.1 .

Last edited by shining (2007-10-29 11:00:13)


pacman roulette : pacman -S $(pacman -Slq | LANG=C sort -R | head -n $((RANDOM % 10)))

Offline

#198 2007-10-29 11:10:08

kishd
Member
Registered: 2006-06-14
Posts: 401

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

Thanks shining. I did a man:/yaourt and got the info. I have to remember to RTFM more often.


---for there is nothing either good or bad, but only thinking makes it so....
Hamlet, W Shakespeare

Offline

#199 2007-10-29 18:33:00

wain
Member
From: France
Registered: 2005-05-01
Posts: 289
Website

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

byte wrote:

I've noticed a slight quirk in PKGBUILD parsing, but didn't investigate any further.
It's probably the pkgdesc: http://aur.archlinux.org/packages/htdig/htdig/PKGBUILD

Hello byte smile

This PKGBUILD is stored in dos format roll

[$ file PKGBUILD 
PKGBUILD: ASCII text, with CRLF line terminators
$ source ./PKGBUILD
: command not found
: command not found
'ash: ./PKGBUILD: line 14: syntax error near unexpected token `{
'ash: ./PKGBUILD: line 14: `build() {

I've added a little hack in next release wink

Offline

#200 2007-12-13 23:15:13

emphire
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2007-03-21
Posts: 203

Re: yaourt: pacman frontend

Is there a way to compile/install a package from abs (not aur) from yaourt?  I thought -Sb might do it, but it looks like I'm wrong.

ex.

$ yaourt -Sb computertemp
==> Downloading computertemp PKGBUILD from AUR...
Error: computertemp not found in AUR.

$ find /var/abs/ -name computertemp
/var/abs/community/gnome/computertemp

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB