You are not logged in.

#26 2021-01-05 23:41:04

NaNaN
Member
Registered: 2021-01-04
Posts: 37

Re: Offline Installation and efibootmgr

Hi Loqs. Thank you for seeing me through this.

I did not have the ESP mounted at all. I just mounted it to /boot and did an ls and see: /boot/EFI/GRUB/grubx64.efi.

Offline

#27 2021-01-05 23:47:51

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 12,569

Re: Offline Installation and efibootmgr

See my request and suggestions from post #23

Offline

#28 2021-01-05 23:51:46

NaNaN
Member
Registered: 2021-01-04
Posts: 37

Re: Offline Installation and efibootmgr

Loqs, there is no /boot/grub directory. I don't see it. Isn't this why it's not booting? No configuration file?

Offline

#29 2021-01-05 23:55:35

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 12,569

Re: Offline Installation and efibootmgr

Did you do https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/GR … d_grub.cfg
In post #18 You said you booted to the Arch menu,  was that the menu of the installation media?  If so remove the installation media before attempting boot.

Offline

#30 2021-01-05 23:59:17

NaNaN
Member
Registered: 2021-01-04
Posts: 37

Re: Offline Installation and efibootmgr

Yes, I was referring to the graphical Arch boot menu.

In that post (#18), once I saw the system wouldn't boot on its own, the only way back in was to use the installation media. If I remove the installation CD, the system will just hang at Loading Arch Linux ...

Offline

#31 2021-01-06 00:03:48

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 12,569

Re: Offline Installation and efibootmgr

Boot the installation media,  you do not need to chroot into the installation.  Check the output of

efibootmgr -v

Is there an entry for grub?

Offline

#32 2021-01-06 00:07:48

NaNaN
Member
Registered: 2021-01-04
Posts: 37

Re: Offline Installation and efibootmgr

Okay, here we go:

BootCurrent: 0001
Timeout: 0 seconds
BootOrder: 0000,0001,0004
Boot0000* GRUB	HD(1,GPT,5cfc67a4-eca0-0a48-8a74-1163be056249,0x800,0x100000)/File(\EFI\GRUB\grubx64.efi)
Boot0001* TEAC DVD-ROM DV-28SW                    	PcieRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1f,0x2)/Ata(0,0,0)
Boot0004* DELL    RD1000                          	PcieRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1f,0x2)/Ata(1,0,0)

Last edited by NaNaN (2021-01-08 20:21:25)

Offline

#33 2021-01-06 00:11:35

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 12,569

Re: Offline Installation and efibootmgr

Some firmware ignore the boot entries stored in EFIVARS try https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/GR … _boot_path

Offline

#34 2021-01-06 00:19:32

NaNaN
Member
Registered: 2021-01-04
Posts: 37

Re: Offline Installation and efibootmgr

Loqs, I don't know what I did, but I must have really screwed something up royally. I was going to use grub-install for the link you posted, but it's not there now. I searched the entire partition (sda3) but it's not there. I also don't see my packages in /var/cache/pacman/pkg.

What the heck did I do?? sda3 is where all the binaries reside and it's mounted.

Offline

#35 2021-01-06 00:23:38

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 12,569

Re: Offline Installation and efibootmgr

Assuming you have not mounted anything in the chroot,  exit the chroot then check the output of mount to see if everything is mounted where you expect it to be.

Offline

#36 2021-01-06 00:33:24

NaNaN
Member
Registered: 2021-01-04
Posts: 37

Re: Offline Installation and efibootmgr

loqs wrote:

Is the ESP mounted to /boot? ( /mnt/boot outside the chroot )

I don't see my ESP mounted anymore. I initially had it mounted to /boot, not /mnt/boot.

I think I'd have to mount the root partition first so I can access /mnt. Am I right?

I'm sorry for the confusion but I don't understand what the function of chroot is. I need to read the man page, I know.

Should I just reinstall this thing?

Offline

#37 2021-01-06 00:38:15

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 12,569

Re: Offline Installation and efibootmgr

Right first mount the systems root to /mnt then the ESP to /mnt/boot.  The chroot is used to work on the installed system using its binaries and configs.
Edit:
Its up to you if you want to start over.  If you think it would be easier or clear up some confusion.

Last edited by loqs (2021-01-06 00:39:17)

Offline

#38 2021-01-06 00:47:14

NaNaN
Member
Registered: 2021-01-04
Posts: 37

Re: Offline Installation and efibootmgr

Okay, thanks. I now have sda3 mounted to /mnt and now the ESP mounted to /mnt/boot.

Once again, I can see /mnt/boot/EFI/GRUB/grubx64.efi. I still can't access the grub-install binary, it's MIA. I don't know what happened to it. I don't know where to go from here.

Offline

#39 2021-01-06 00:52:27

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 12,569

Re: Offline Installation and efibootmgr

pacman -Qikk grub

See if pacman recorded grub as installed and if it detects missing / changed files.

Offline

#40 2021-01-06 00:53:13

NaNaN
Member
Registered: 2021-01-04
Posts: 37

Re: Offline Installation and efibootmgr

Okay, I'll reinstall it.

Let me ask you though before I do. I have 2 completely different documents I'm using to do this internet-less installation. The Arch Wiki omits some of what this other document covers, things such as the removal of special scripts in the live environment. These steps seem very reasonable to me to use. Files that reside in /etc/systemd/system/getty@tty1.service.d/autologin.conf. There are others as well, but you probably get the idea.

Remember, I need to install from the CD and install the packages manually. Should I be using that information or not?

Offline

#41 2021-01-06 00:55:04

NaNaN
Member
Registered: 2021-01-04
Posts: 37

Re: Offline Installation and efibootmgr

Okay, that command shows 'package grub was not found' and it's also reporting that the .db files are missing.

Offline

#42 2021-01-06 01:07:58

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 12,569

Re: Offline Installation and efibootmgr

If /var/lib/pacman/sync is empty which is where the .db files should be located and /var/lib/pacman/local which is where records of installed packages are stored something has gone very wrong.
I would start over but I have no clue what happened so can not suggest what not to do again.

Last edited by loqs (2021-01-06 01:08:13)

Offline

#43 2021-01-06 01:13:48

NaNaN
Member
Registered: 2021-01-04
Posts: 37

Re: Offline Installation and efibootmgr

Okay, Loqs, thanks so much for the help. I'll just keep trying and see where I can get with it. I think I have enough to go off of.

One last question if you don't mind. I was completely confused at the point of using grub-install.

After I remove all the live scripts from the system, I'm instructed by theese docs to make the /boot/efi directory, then mount the ESP to /boot/efi. Finally, it wants me to use grub-install then grub-mkconfig. Do I do these inside chroot, or outside of chroot?

Offline

#44 2021-01-06 01:19:27

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 12,569

Re: Offline Installation and efibootmgr

As you have the ESP mounted to /boot you do not need it mounted anywhere else.  You had it setup correctly as /boot/EFI/GRUB/grubx64.efi was created.

Offline

#45 2021-01-06 01:21:19

NaNaN
Member
Registered: 2021-01-04
Posts: 37

Re: Offline Installation and efibootmgr

Okay, Loqs, thank you very much! Sorry this was such a long thread. smile

Offline

#46 2021-01-06 02:55:06

NaNaN
Member
Registered: 2021-01-04
Posts: 37

Re: Offline Installation and efibootmgr

Loqs, I have a little more info that might help.

I reinstalled the OS and get the same exact thing. I enabled debugging in the boot and what I am seeing is a kernel panic: "not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknnown block(0,0)"

What do you think?

Offline

#47 2021-01-06 03:03:21

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 29,148
Website

Re: Offline Installation and efibootmgr

NaNaN wrote:

What do you think?

You are 46 posts in and have learned very little about how this stuff works. Perhaps take a break, read some documentation and stop expecting to have your hand held?


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#48 2021-01-06 04:12:21

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 12,569

Re: Offline Installation and efibootmgr

A search engine query for "not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown block(0,0)" should help along with reviewing post #23.

Offline

#49 2021-01-08 02:51:52

NaNaN
Member
Registered: 2021-01-04
Posts: 37

Re: Offline Installation and efibootmgr

Hi Loqs, I have a little more time to play with this.

If you wouldn't mind having a look, here is the output of parted:

Model: DELL PERC 6/i (scsi)
Disk /dev/sda: 299GB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: gpt
Disk Flags: 

Number  Start   End     Size    File system     Name  Flags
 1      1049kB  1075MB  1074MB  fat32                 boot, esp
 2      1075MB  69.8GB  68.7GB  linux-swap(v1)        swap
 3      69.8GB  299GB   230GB   ext4

Model: DELL PERC 6/i (scsi)
Disk /dev/sdb: 1497GB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: msdos
Disk Flags: 

Number  Start   End     Size    Type     File system  Flags
 1      32.3kB  1497GB  1497GB  primary               boot
                                                                          
Model: TEAC DVD-ROM DV-28SW (scsi)
Disk /dev/sr0: 724MB
Sector size (logical/physical): 2048B/2048B
Partition Table: unknown
Disk Flags: 

Warning: Unable to open /dev/sr0 read-write (Read-only file system).  /dev/sr0
has been opened read-only.
Error: /dev/sr0: unrecognised disk label

Here is the kernel info:

Linux archiso 5.10.3-arch1-1 #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun, 27 Dec 2020 10:50:46 +0000 x86_64 GNU/Linux

And finally, here is the grub.cfg file:

#
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
#
# It is automatically generated by grub-mkconfig using templates
# from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
#

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
insmod part_gpt
insmod part_msdos
if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
  load_env
fi
if [ "${next_entry}" ] ; then
   set default="${next_entry}"
   set next_entry=
   save_env next_entry
   set boot_once=true
else
   set default="0"
fi

if [ x"${feature_menuentry_id}" = xy ]; then
  menuentry_id_option="--id"
else
  menuentry_id_option=""
fi

export menuentry_id_option

if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
  set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
  save_env saved_entry
  set prev_saved_entry=
  save_env prev_saved_entry
  set boot_once=true
fi

function savedefault {
  if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
    saved_entry="${chosen}"
    save_env saved_entry
  fi
}

function load_video {
  if [ x$feature_all_video_module = xy ]; then
    insmod all_video
  else
    insmod efi_gop
    insmod efi_uga
    insmod ieee1275_fb
    insmod vbe
    insmod vga
    insmod video_bochs
    insmod video_cirrus
  fi
}

if [ x$feature_default_font_path = xy ] ; then
   font=unicode
else
insmod part_gpt
insmod ext2
set root='hd0,gpt3'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,gpt3 --hint-efi=hd0,gpt3 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,gpt3  96a9f7af-3f6f-4136-9a15-66fe300a3d61
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 96a9f7af-3f6f-4136-9a15-66fe300a3d61
fi
    font="/usr/share/grub/unicode.pf2"
fi

if loadfont $font ; then
  set gfxmode=auto
  load_video
  insmod gfxterm
  set locale_dir=$prefix/locale
  set lang=en_US
  insmod gettext
fi
terminal_input console
terminal_output gfxterm
if [ x$feature_timeout_style = xy ] ; then
  set timeout_style=menu
  set timeout=5
# Fallback normal timeout code in case the timeout_style feature is
# unavailable.
else
  set timeout=5
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
menuentry 'Arch Linux' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-simple-96a9f7af-3f6f-4136-9a15-66fe300a3d61' {
	load_video
	set gfxpayload=keep
	insmod gzio
	insmod part_gpt
	insmod ext2
	set root='hd0,gpt3'
	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,gpt3 --hint-efi=hd0,gpt3 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,gpt3  96a9f7af-3f6f-4136-9a15-66fe300a3d61
	else
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 96a9f7af-3f6f-4136-9a15-66fe300a3d61
	fi
	echo	'Loading Linux linux ...'
	linux	/boot/vmlinuz-linux root=/dev/sda3 rw  loglevel=3 quiet
}
submenu 'Advanced options for Arch Linux' $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-advanced-96a9f7af-3f6f-4136-9a15-66fe300a3d61' {
	menuentry 'Arch Linux, with Linux linux' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-linux-advanced-96a9f7af-3f6f-4136-9a15-66fe300a3d61' {
		load_video
		set gfxpayload=keep
		insmod gzio
		insmod part_gpt
		insmod ext2
		set root='hd0,gpt3'
		if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,gpt3 --hint-efi=hd0,gpt3 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,gpt3  96a9f7af-3f6f-4136-9a15-66fe300a3d61
		else
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 96a9f7af-3f6f-4136-9a15-66fe300a3d61
		fi
		echo	'Loading Linux linux ...'
		linux	/boot/vmlinuz-linux root=/dev/sda3 rw  loglevel=3 quiet
	}
}

### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###
### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
if [ -f  ${config_directory}/custom.cfg ]; then
  source ${config_directory}/custom.cfg
elif [ -z "${config_directory}" -a -f  $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
  source $prefix/custom.cfg;
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/60_memtest86+ ###
### END /etc/grub.d/60_memtest86+ ###

I believe this is everything you asked for.

Last edited by NaNaN (2021-01-08 20:21:00)

Offline

#50 2021-01-08 13:01:26

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 12,569

Re: Offline Installation and efibootmgr

What is the output of the following in code tags not quote tags

mkinitcpio -P
# blkid

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB