You are not logged in.

#226 2007-01-29 09:24:27

xanthus
Member
Registered: 2007-01-15
Posts: 7

Re: 0.8 alpha/beta and final Voodoo installation feedback

Donno why but i think Arch is slower than Fruaglware. sad While i,ve been waiting for final release of voodoo i installed that distro. Its good but Arch is better. What i like there most is that it has stable repository. Is there something like that in Arch? And when the final version of Arch is gonna be released? I cant wait! smile

Offline

#227 2007-01-29 19:47:06

foxbunny
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2006-10-31
Posts: 759
Website

Re: 0.8 alpha/beta and final Voodoo installation feedback

I am trying to install X, KDE and the rest of the stuff I need, but I keep bumping into files that have 550 error, like pmount or kdepim. Is this temporary or a bug in pacman (or wget)?

EDIT: It's not just the main archlinux.org mirror. It happens on other mirrors as well.

Last edited by foxbunny (2007-01-29 19:48:24)

Offline

#228 2007-01-29 22:06:59

Moo-Crumpus
Member
From: Hessen / Germany
Registered: 2003-12-01
Posts: 1,463

Re: 0.8 alpha/beta and final Voodoo installation feedback

everything is fine here.


Frumpus addict
[mu'.krum.pus], [frum.pus]

Offline

#229 2007-01-30 00:48:43

foxbunny
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2006-10-31
Posts: 759
Website

Re: 0.8 alpha/beta and final Voodoo installation feedback

Moo-Crumpus wrote:

everything is fine here.

Well, I guess it was just temporary. Everything was installed correctly regardless of the errors... but I don't know what happened because I fell asleep during the update. big_smile

Offline

#230 2007-01-30 08:37:01

Mandor
Member
Registered: 2006-06-06
Posts: 154

Re: 0.8 alpha/beta and final Voodoo installation feedback

Just to mention. Reinstalled few days ago from beta 1 and everything seems OK.

I had just one issue - first I chose CD install source and since my CD obviously hanged (I broke the tray of my dvd recently, so I now use an old plain CD reader - it had no other issues anyway), the installer does not have a timeout nor a way to stop trying to load the files from the CD. So I had to reboot and start over in order to choose other source (etc. FTP). I don't really know if that could be pointed as an issue with the installer, just mention it.

Another thing, at another pc I had voodoo installed under vmware (xp) and on reboot it took quite a lot time booting, freezing the whole system. This is obviously an issue with vmware, but it's worth mentioning that 0.7.2 as well as other distros worked OK. I don't know if testing under vmware is useful for the devs.

Generally the installer is very decent and usable. It does not do all I would wish, but it does pretty enough and does it well (for my personal experience, at least). Congratulations to the devs and specially tpowa (since his name is what we see here smile )

Last edited by Mandor (2007-01-30 15:02:24)


If everything else fails, read the manual.

Offline

#231 2007-01-30 12:04:09

foxbunny
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2006-10-31
Posts: 759
Website

Re: 0.8 alpha/beta and final Voodoo installation feedback

Mandor wrote:

Just to mention. Reinstalled few days ago from beta 3 and everything seems OK.

Where did you get the beta3?! I downloaded beta1 like 3 days ago and I could swear it was the only ISO image on the server.... sad

Offline

#232 2007-01-30 15:03:16

Mandor
Member
Registered: 2006-06-06
Posts: 154

Re: 0.8 alpha/beta and final Voodoo installation feedback

My mistake, just fixed it... smile Also had other misspells...


If everything else fails, read the manual.

Offline

#233 2007-01-31 13:48:51

cr7
Member
Registered: 2006-11-28
Posts: 103

Re: 0.8 alpha/beta and final Voodoo installation feedback

Still problems here, when it installs GRUB with XFS partitions, even with the beta1 image sad

Last edited by cr7 (2007-01-31 13:51:55)

Offline

#234 2007-01-31 16:57:46

mandos
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2006-01-23
Posts: 101
Website

Re: 0.8 alpha/beta and final Voodoo installation feedback

finally! I just did a 0.8beta1 ftp setup
everything seems fine big_smile
I'll add some packages later today
good job

btw: nice forum! I like it's simplicity

Offline

#235 2007-01-31 22:19:42

mandos
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2006-01-23
Posts: 101
Website

Re: 0.8 alpha/beta and final Voodoo installation feedback

so, unless more bugs make their appearance (and if I understand the way flyspray works), according to this:
http://bugs.archlinux.org/task/6031
0.8 is doing quite good I might say

though I don't know how we are doing with the "random crash" of the new kernel big_smile

Offline

#236 2007-01-31 22:26:33

karmapolice
Member
Registered: 2007-01-31
Posts: 113

Re: 0.8 alpha/beta and final Voodoo installation feedback

Well it is my first time with arch and the installation was smooth. I installed Arch last night and  now I'm running GNOME without problems.

Offline

#237 2007-02-02 13:58:08

mrunion
Member
From: Jonesborough, TN
Registered: 2007-01-26
Posts: 1,938
Website

Re: 0.8 alpha/beta and final Voodoo installation feedback

New Archer here (coming from Ubuntu if all goes well).  Install of 0.8 went fine.  Stuff seems OK except for sound.  I gotta go digging in that area now!  Thanks!


Matt

"It is very difficult to educate the educated."

Offline

#238 2007-02-05 19:46:04

scarecrow
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2004-11-18
Posts: 715

Re: 0.8 alpha/beta and final Voodoo installation feedback

Any chances to see again an isolinux based version of the installation CD?
Grub based bootable CD's are unusable in several modern hardware configs (including mine, unfortunately- Asus mainboard with Jmicron controller), and for booting I either have to use the last alpha mastered with isolinux ( 17 Dec. 06) or use an external USB CD-ROM drive.
Hardly an Arch bug, as it happens with every grub based CD, and rather a BIOS bug, but it's pretty annoying...

Last edited by scarecrow (2007-02-05 20:41:24)


Microshaft delenda est

Offline

#239 2007-02-07 09:18:50

justinsmithies
Member
Registered: 2004-09-01
Posts: 62

Re: 0.8 alpha/beta and final Voodoo installation feedback

I have finally got 0.8 to recognise my compaq proliant smart 2 raid setup , but when i booted off the cd and ran /arch/setup i found that my ide cdrom was not detected for some reason.

I loaded all the ussual module ide-core ide-cdrom  etc

I tried the ide legacy option and the scsi option

Please some help as my debian has finally corrupted so i really need Arch on my server.

Dmesg showed that the ide subsystem never found the cdrom drive yet versions 0.6 and 0.7.2 find it ok i just cant make the installer work with them for my cpqarray
It found my floppy drive ok though.
Strange as 0.7.2 & 0.6 find everything no probhlem..

HELP

Last edited by justinsmithies (2007-02-07 09:20:07)

Offline

#240 2007-02-07 13:21:49

cr7
Member
Registered: 2006-11-28
Posts: 103

Re: 0.8 alpha/beta and final Voodoo installation feedback

Still problems here, when it installs GRUB with XFS partitions, even with the beta1 image sad

Offline

#241 2007-02-08 06:58:02

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,269

Re: 0.8 alpha/beta and final Voodoo installation feedback

i think we will revert to isolinux in next ISO or provide both ISOs, its not a big deal.

Offline

#242 2007-02-08 13:02:55

rabid_dog
Member
Registered: 2006-06-07
Posts: 23

Re: 0.8 alpha/beta and final Voodoo installation feedback

Yesterday i install 0.8 beta1 on two computers, all was excellent, and grub is good smile
Tasty new options as advanced autodetecting and persistent network cards names smile
Big thanks, tpowa big_smile

Offline

#243 2007-02-08 19:49:45

justinsmithies
Member
Registered: 2004-09-01
Posts: 62

Re: 0.8 alpha/beta and final Voodoo installation feedback

On my proliant 1600 server cfdisk and Arch find the /dev/ida/c0d0 drives but in the installer after cfdisk it comes up with drives found none.

Can you please add an extra input dialogue that would give me the option to enter for example :

/dev/ida/c0d0p2

To tell the installer where the drive is

Please can this be added to the 0.8 release installer .......

Offline

#244 2007-02-09 05:18:01

rabid_dog
Member
Registered: 2006-06-07
Posts: 23

Re: 0.8 alpha/beta and final Voodoo installation feedback

justinsmithies,
IIRC, you can manually fdisk and pre-mount partition which will your /  in /mnt and then start /arch/setup

Offline

#245 2007-02-11 01:21:53

Inferno
Member
Registered: 2004-11-11
Posts: 15

Re: 0.8 alpha/beta and final Voodoo installation feedback

tpowa wrote:

i think we will revert to isolinux in next ISO or provide both ISOs, its not a big deal.

Would be nice, since same problem here with grub on a brand new Foxconn motherboard with a jmicron controller

Offline

#246 2007-02-12 14:31:13

bugix
Member
Registered: 2005-02-23
Posts: 4

Re: 0.8 alpha/beta and final Voodoo installation feedback

tpowa wrote:

i think we will revert to isolinux in next ISO or provide both ISOs, its not a big deal.

Yes please. I tried to remaster the 0.8beta iso to boot with isolinux but failed to provide a correct isolinux.cfg neutral

Offline

#247 2007-02-15 18:12:59

adax
Member
Registered: 2006-10-28
Posts: 31

Re: 0.8 alpha/beta and final Voodoo installation feedback

hi.
dont know if this is something i've somehow managed to screw up, but i've just attempted to re-install using the 0.8 base iso.
i had problems getting a network connection, so i installed base from the cd, thinking i would boot into that and sort my problems out later.
once i rebooted, i still had some network issues.
there were three default entries in /etc/resolve.conf so i removed them and added the correct nameserver for my laptop.
imagine my surprise when i rebooted to find that the ORIGINAL three entries were back in resolve.conf!

no mater how many times i edit it, it always reverts on reboot...
i'm wondering what i have done wrong, because i dont want to go through the whole install again only to find the same thing happening.

anyone got any ideas?

thanks,
ad.

Offline

#248 2007-02-16 09:50:03

garba
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2006-12-17
Posts: 7

Re: 0.8 alpha/beta and final Voodoo installation feedback

adax wrote:

hi.
dont know if this is something i've somehow managed to screw up, but i've just attempted to re-install using the 0.8 base iso.
i had problems getting a network connection, so i installed base from the cd, thinking i would boot into that and sort my problems out later.
once i rebooted, i still had some network issues.
there were three default entries in /etc/resolve.conf so i removed them and added the correct nameserver for my laptop.
imagine my surprise when i rebooted to find that the ORIGINAL three entries were back in resolve.conf!

no mater how many times i edit it, it always reverts on reboot...
i'm wondering what i have done wrong, because i dont want to go through the whole install again only to find the same thing happening.

anyone got any ideas?

thanks,
ad.

are you running a dhcp client? if you're running the default dhcp client that comes with arch try adding the -R switch to the DHCPCD_ARGS variable in /etc/conf.d/dhcpcd

Offline

#249 2007-02-18 17:37:31

EAD
Member
Registered: 2006-03-11
Posts: 255

Re: 0.8 alpha/beta and final Voodoo installation feedback

Using 0.8
Works like a charm big_smile

Offline

#250 2007-02-20 19:37:28

Seleven
Member
Registered: 2007-02-18
Posts: 11

Re: 0.8 alpha/beta and final Voodoo installation feedback

Oh point eight.
It went great.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB