You are not logged in.

#51 2023-05-15 15:36:42

LaserMoai
Member
Registered: 2023-02-26
Posts: 64

Re: [SOLVED] A large volume of RAM is getting consumed by OS itself

Okay, sorry, though in fairness I didn't even have any vague directions to look into. Thanks again!

Offline

#52 2023-05-20 15:24:45

LaserMoai
Member
Registered: 2023-02-26
Posts: 64

Re: [SOLVED] A large volume of RAM is getting consumed by OS itself

Is it important that I'm using weston/sway? I've launched kwin on wayland and the leak became much worse. Just with Firefox running it already leaks 2.3 GB, 1.5 GB more than it would under X11.

I've checked that there's no X11 windows running.

Last edited by LaserMoai (2023-05-20 15:26:05)

Offline

#53 2023-05-20 15:58:42

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,329

Re: [SOLVED] A large volume of RAM is getting consumed by OS itself

Not unless this is a freak bug that's triggered by X11 and KWin… sad
We've ruled out the WM w/ openbox and so this would be to rule otu X11 (which doesn't seem to be the cause either)

Offline

#54 2023-05-20 19:44:44

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,329

Re: [SOLVED] A large volume of RAM is getting consumed by OS itself

Stupid question: during the openbox test, was KDEs file indexer (baloo) running?
Can you try to disable it?
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Baloo# … he_indexer

If that thing leaks filehandles, it's probably gonna eat up RAM fast…

Offline

#55 2023-05-21 09:19:20

LaserMoai
Member
Registered: 2023-02-26
Posts: 64

Re: [SOLVED] A large volume of RAM is getting consumed by OS itself

No, it's definitely disabled. It tanks the performance with LUKS drives.

Offline

#56 2023-05-21 12:53:14

LaserMoai
Member
Registered: 2023-02-26
Posts: 64

Re: [SOLVED] A large volume of RAM is getting consumed by OS itself

Hmm, the RAM leak metric is stably 600-800 megs if I only let the discrete GPU be used. I could've sworn that I've tested that option, I guess that was back when I wasn't properly measuring the leak size.

My laptop model is Lenovo Legion 5 15ACH6A, if that matters.

Offline

#57 2023-05-21 15:40:37

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,329

Re: [SOLVED] A large volume of RAM is getting consumed by OS itself

The natural contender would be gart/gtt then, but we tested that.
Can you also disable the GPU and only run on the AMD chip?

Offline

#58 2023-05-22 20:46:13

LaserMoai
Member
Registered: 2023-02-26
Posts: 64

Re: [SOLVED] A large volume of RAM is getting consumed by OS itself

I can't using the BIOS. I could try to blacklist it in the OS.

I have rechecked gart/gtt just in case.

Last edited by LaserMoai (2023-05-22 20:46:58)

Offline

#59 2023-05-23 20:59:48

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,329

Re: [SOLVED] A large volume of RAM is getting consumed by OS itself

I don't expect that to have significant impact, you're not reverse-priming, are you?
(Ie. run the software on the AMD GPU but have an output attached to the nvidia one)

Offline

#60 2023-05-23 21:31:58

LaserMoai
Member
Registered: 2023-02-26
Posts: 64

Re: [SOLVED] A large volume of RAM is getting consumed by OS itself

Both of the GPUs here are AMD. I'll probably figure this out tomorrow.

Offline

#61 2023-05-24 20:49:29

LaserMoai
Member
Registered: 2023-02-26
Posts: 64

Re: [SOLVED] A large volume of RAM is getting consumed by OS itself

acpi_call hasn't managed to turn the GPU off at least. I can look for other options.

And no,  I never use any outputs apart from the built-in screen.

Offline

#62 2023-05-24 21:17:29

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,329

Re: [SOLVED] A large volume of RAM is getting consumed by OS itself

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/PCI_pa … _device_ID should hide the device from the OS
You previously disabled the IGP in teh BIOS/UEFI?

Offline

#63 2023-05-25 09:13:48

LaserMoai
Member
Registered: 2023-02-26
Posts: 64

Re: [SOLVED] A large volume of RAM is getting consumed by OS itself

I've managed to figure out how to isolate the GPU with vfio-pci, and the leak is still happening. Is this maybe some strange integrated GPU incompatibility?

Yeah, that was via UEFI.

Last edited by LaserMoai (2023-05-25 09:21:36)

Offline

#64 2023-05-26 08:47:41

LaserMoai
Member
Registered: 2023-02-26
Posts: 64

Re: [SOLVED] A large volume of RAM is getting consumed by OS itself

Should I try the proprietary driver or something?

Offline

#65 2023-05-26 08:49:51

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,329

Re: [SOLVED] A large volume of RAM is getting consumed by OS itself

AMDGPU Pro is excusively a GL library; you can try that but I'd curb my expectations.

Offline

#66 2023-05-26 19:20:30

LaserMoai
Member
Registered: 2023-02-26
Posts: 64

Re: [SOLVED] A large volume of RAM is getting consumed by OS itself

It worked. Leak metric is stably 200-400 MB if I launch everything with progl in Openbox.

Last edited by LaserMoai (2023-05-26 20:03:36)

Offline

#67 2023-05-27 09:03:25

LaserMoai
Member
Registered: 2023-02-26
Posts: 64

Re: [SOLVED] A large volume of RAM is getting consumed by OS itself

Filing a bug report to mesa is fair in this case, right?

EDIT: Never mind, I did it.
https://gitlab.freedesktop.org/mesa/mesa/-/issues/9107

Last edited by LaserMoai (2023-05-27 10:22:58)

Offline

#68 2023-05-27 11:16:50

Lone_Wolf
Forum Moderator
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 12,020

Re: [SOLVED] A large volume of RAM is getting consumed by OS itself

The progl used does not come from upstream , but is a wrapper created by Ashark around the upstream one.l

It's listed on https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/amf-amdgpu-pro and the source is at https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Ashar … ster/progl

Knowing this detail may help mesa devs in figuring this out, please add it to the bug report .

Last edited by Lone_Wolf (2023-05-27 11:17:24)


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.


(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

#69 2023-05-27 12:56:27

LaserMoai
Member
Registered: 2023-02-26
Posts: 64

Re: [SOLVED] A large volume of RAM is getting consumed by OS itself

OK, done.

Offline

#70 2023-06-25 07:51:31

LaserMoai
Member
Registered: 2023-02-26
Posts: 64

Re: [SOLVED] A large volume of RAM is getting consumed by OS itself

Yet more updates here. On better inspection I've discovered that both discrete card and proprietary driver don't seem to solve the problem. The leak metric can still be inflated from 500 MB to 1.2 GB fairly fast with proprietary driver.

EDIT: I guess I didn't think to load a bunch of tabs into memory the last time I tested the driver.

Last edited by LaserMoai (2023-06-25 07:56:10)

Offline

#71 2023-09-29 18:00:52

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,329

Re: [SOLVED] A large volume of RAM is getting consumed by OS itself

Can you please post your complete system journal for the boot:

sudo journalctl -b | curl -F 'file=@-' 0x0.st

There's an interesting journal in https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=289176 (ignore the noise in the thread) w/ an absurd AGP value for amdgpu and I wonder whether that's a common factor.

Offline

#72 2023-10-01 23:11:15

LaserMoai
Member
Registered: 2023-02-26
Posts: 64

Re: [SOLVED] A large volume of RAM is getting consumed by OS itself

Offline

#73 2023-10-02 06:43:03

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,329

Re: [SOLVED] A large volume of RAM is getting consumed by OS itself

окт 02 03:06:37 HomePC kernel: amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: AGP: 267894784M 0x0000008400000000 - 0x0000FFFFFFFFFFFF
окт 02 03:06:43 HomePC kernel: amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: AGP: 267419648M 0x000000F800000000 - 0x0000FFFFFFFFFFFF

But it meanwhile didn't show up in some other, related thread, so likely a red herring in newer kernels sad

Some upstream bugs for reference, https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 3#p2123783
https://lists.freedesktop.org/archives/ … 79784.html is certainly interesting

Offline

#74 2023-10-20 14:25:56

LaserMoai
Member
Registered: 2023-02-26
Posts: 64

Re: [SOLVED] A large volume of RAM is getting consumed by OS itself

OK, this seems weird. It seems that the zswap fix has some effect. If I apply it permanently, I still get 400 MB leaked on boot, and after loading KDE etc. that becomes 2.7-2.8 GB and that value pretty much doesn't change afterwards.

EDIT: Before I launch any browsers it's 900 MBish. The order of the browsers being launched doesn't seem to matter.

Last edited by LaserMoai (2023-10-20 16:46:22)

Offline

#75 2023-10-21 14:50:11

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,329

Re: [SOLVED] A large volume of RAM is getting consumed by OS itself

You're gonna "loose" some memorty to GTT/GART for pretty much sure - the relevant question at that point would be whether you can re-claim it at will using the head/tail hack from https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 9#p2096229

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB