You are not logged in.

#26 2023-09-18 15:29:56

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 48,540

Re: [SOLVED] GNOME-shell core dump after upgrading to linux-6.5.2

That's still just a ringbuffer tail starting at the reset (this time triggered by/during xwayland instead of brave)
The idea is to look at what builds up to this, including the userspace.

Offline

#27 2023-09-18 22:46:40

efstat
Member
Registered: 2023-09-11
Posts: 25

Re: [SOLVED] GNOME-shell core dump after upgrading to linux-6.5.2

OK after a lot of effort I managed to start the KDE session with the 6.5.3 kernel.

It seems that the problem was kscreen.xrandr trying to change the resolution to 1920x1200 from 3840x2400 which is the native for my laptop's monitor.
Once I disabled this I managed to start the session.

However, changing the resolution manually with xrandr is also failing, despite 1920x1200 being listed in the list of resolutions from xrandr.

What is also funny is that with the 6.4.12 kernel, kscreen was also unable to change the resolution to 1920x1200 but at least xrandr worked.
In 6.5.3 it seems that I am unable to switch to any other resolution apart from 3840x2400 no matter what I do...

Any ideas?

As this is clearly a different issue that what I thought originally should I post a new thread?

Last edited by efstat (2023-09-19 06:26:57)

Offline

#28 2023-09-19 07:41:11

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 48,540

Re: [SOLVED] GNOME-shell core dump after upgrading to linux-6.5.2

Did you get rid of the simpledrm device?
Please post an updated Xorg log, https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Xorg#General

Edit: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=288784

Last edited by seth (2023-09-19 07:42:29)

Offline

#29 2023-09-19 09:09:21

efstat
Member
Registered: 2023-09-11
Posts: 25

Re: [SOLVED] GNOME-shell core dump after upgrading to linux-6.5.2

I am sorry but I am not sure what you mean by this:
Did you get rid of the simpledrm device?

So it seems that quite a few others have my issue... Yeah it all started with 6.5.2 kernel for me as well...
I guess I need to just stick with 6.4.12 for now?

Offline

#30 2023-09-19 09:12:06

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 48,540

Re: [SOLVED] GNOME-shell core dump after upgrading to linux-6.5.2

See #22

seth wrote:

Please post an updated Xorg log, https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Xorg#General

Offline

#31 2023-09-19 21:05:14

efstat
Member
Registered: 2023-09-11
Posts: 25

Re: [SOLVED] GNOME-shell core dump after upgrading to linux-6.5.2

I installed 6.5.3 kernel. I added the kernel parameter as you suggested. I rebooted. With the screen module deactivated I can now start the KDE session but only with the monitor's native resolution.
I tried to change it. I got the black screen.

Here is the Xorg log:

https://paste.rs/mBRoq

Offline

#32 2023-09-19 21:17:53

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 48,540

Re: [SOLVED] GNOME-shell core dump after upgrading to linux-6.5.2

I can now start the KDE session but only with the monitor's native resolution.

Also https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 3#p2121813

Offline

#33 2023-09-21 21:54:05

efstat
Member
Registered: 2023-09-11
Posts: 25

Re: [SOLVED] GNOME-shell core dump after upgrading to linux-6.5.2

I was convinced that the following explains the issues I am facing:
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 8#p2109348


With the 6.5.3 kernel, I used this command to figure out which resolutions my monitor supports:

cat /sys/class/drm/card1-eDP-1/modes

However this lists all modes/resolutions and not just the native one.

So how come using xrandr to change the resolution results to a black screen???

Am I missing something?

Offline

#34 2023-09-21 21:59:37

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 48,540

Re: [SOLVED] GNOME-shell core dump after upgrading to linux-6.5.2

Convinced by what?
Did you see the threads I linked in #32 ?

Offline

#35 2023-09-22 07:46:10

efstat
Member
Registered: 2023-09-11
Posts: 25

Re: [SOLVED] GNOME-shell core dump after upgrading to linux-6.5.2

From the two links you gave me and following the links therein I ended up at this one here;

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 8#p2109348

Based on the discussions there and especially post #12 I concluded (obviously in error) that the problem had to do with the additional resolution not being listed for this specific monitor. However, I tested this with 6.5.3 and in my case these additional resolutions are there.


Going back to https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=288784
my understanding is that at the moment there is no fix for this in the mainline kernels and the proposed solution is to use the LTS kernel. Am I correct?

Also a bit daft question but how do I edit the subject of this thread to mark it as Solved?

Offline

#36 2023-09-22 10:50:26

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 48,540

Re: [SOLVED] GNOME-shell core dump after upgrading to linux-6.5.2

There's an "Edit" link under each of your posts and the one in the 1st post allows you to edit the subject as well.

I was merely theorizing that the bug might have re-appeared, but there seems to be a new one in 6.5 (albeit probably as a consequence from efforts to tackle the same problem)
For now the only thing you can do is to fall back on the LTS kernel, and maybe sucscribe to the upstream bug and test the latest patches floating around there.

Offline

#37 2023-09-22 18:44:19

efstat
Member
Registered: 2023-09-11
Posts: 25

Re: [SOLVED] GNOME-shell core dump after upgrading to linux-6.5.2

Got it.
I am going to monitor this bug thread to see if they have merged the fix and when it will be released. Until then I will use the linux-LTS kernel (which does allow me to change the resolution) and mark this thread as SOLVED.

Thank you.

Offline

#38 2023-09-23 07:27:16

efstat
Member
Registered: 2023-09-11
Posts: 25

Re: [SOLVED] GNOME-shell core dump after upgrading to linux-6.5.2

it seems I keep getting back to this.

This is probably something that I do know about Linux however, it seems that with the 6.5.4 kernel:

1. I cannot use any non-native resolution in Plasma/X11.
2. I cannot use any non-native resolution in GNOME/X11.
3. I can, however, change the resolution to anything using LXQt.

My understanding was that this was a driver/amdgpu issue post 6.5.0 kernel. How can it be working with LXQt though?
This is mostly for my understanding, I have already switched to the LTS and can use KDE Plasma with any resolution (although I have to set it with xandr, Kscreen does not work as mentioned in the other post).

Offline

#39 2023-09-23 07:52:13

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 48,540

Re: [SOLVED] GNOME-shell core dump after upgrading to linux-6.5.2

The drastic difference amongs those would be the (GL) compositors in KDE and GNOME, the KDE one being optional, so disable that (SHIFT+Alt+F12)

Offline

#40 2023-09-23 08:14:55

efstat
Member
Registered: 2023-09-11
Posts: 25

Re: [SOLVED] GNOME-shell core dump after upgrading to linux-6.5.2

Nope it did not help.

Compositor or no compositor, cannot change resolution in Plasma/GNOME but I can change it in LXQt...

and another twist. I started a Wayland session in KDE Plasma. I can switch to any resolution but whenever I start Chrome it reverts back to 1920x1200 on its own somehow smile.

Is it me ( a Linux newbie) ot is this way too broken?

Apologies for the typos I am typing now in Plasma/X11 where I can only have 3830/2400 and hence everything is too small.

Offline

#41 2023-09-23 15:09:15

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 48,540

Re: [SOLVED] GNOME-shell core dump after upgrading to linux-6.5.2

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Hidpi

Chrome (not chromium?) most likely runs on xwayland?
What if you stop the kscreen daemon in "kcmshell5 kded" for plasma?

Offline

#42 2023-09-24 12:33:16

efstat
Member
Registered: 2023-09-11
Posts: 25

Re: [SOLVED] GNOME-shell core dump after upgrading to linux-6.5.2

So stopping the KScreen daemon did indeed stop changing the resolution.
What also helped was to save my monitor settings. Once I had the monitor setting saved, even with the daemon running, the resolution stayed fixed.

As far as the bug is concerned though, the plot thickens...
I upgraded to 6.5.4. The situation now is as follows:

1. With Wayland, I can start the session in any resolution and change to any resolution using Kscreen.
2. With X11, I can start the session into any resolution now (with 6.5.3 I could not) but I cannot change the resolution once the session is started. unless it is the native one. Any attempt to change the resolution to anything else leads to a black screen.

What is more intriguing though is resuming from sleep. BOTH Wayland and X11 cannot resume from sleep/suspend (they do but the screen is black) unless the resolution is the native one.

So the question is, does anyone know what is the difference between setting the resolution when the session first starts (using startx and .xinitrc) and changing the resolution inside the KDE session?

With the LTS kernel, everything works.

Offline

#43 2023-09-24 14:37:37

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 48,540

Re: [SOLVED] GNOME-shell core dump after upgrading to linux-6.5.2

Same behavior w/ kscreen daemon deactivated?
lxqt still unaffected by any of this?

Please post your xinitrc, but the obvious difference would be that pre-session resolution changes happen w/o the session running…
But other than kscreen and the compositor, I don't see what could have an impact.
The screen is entirely black, not even the mouse cursor is there? (Otherwise plasma-shell might just have crashed)

Offline

#44 2023-09-24 15:29:20

efstat
Member
Registered: 2023-09-11
Posts: 25

Re: [SOLVED] GNOME-shell core dump after upgrading to linux-6.5.2

Here is the .xinitrc file:

http://0x0.st/HVKP.sh

Same behaviour with kscreen daemon deactivated.

The screen is entirely black. But when the session is KDE  Plasma/X11 and I have tried in a terminal to change the resolution via
xrandr --output eDP-1 --mode 1920x1200

and it crashes (goes completely black), if I type (blindly):

sudo reboot

I can get the laptop to reboot, which means that I can still interact with the terminal. So this probably means that the session is still running? I am not sure what this means about plasma-shell.

Offline

#45 2023-09-24 15:36:43

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 48,540

Re: [SOLVED] GNOME-shell core dump after upgrading to linux-6.5.2

The xinitrc looks ok, but hasn't any xrandr calls?
Did you ever post an "xrandr -q" output?

Offline

#46 2023-09-24 16:45:07

efstat
Member
Registered: 2023-09-11
Posts: 25

Re: [SOLVED] GNOME-shell core dump after upgrading to linux-6.5.2

I am not calling xrandr from within xinitr.

I am booting into the console. I do not have any display manager installed.
I am just using the .xinitrc posted and then start the KDE session using startx.

Here is the output of xrandr -q after logging in the KDE session with X11.

http://0x0.st/HVKw.log

Offline

#47 2023-09-24 18:42:30

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 48,540

Re: [SOLVED] GNOME-shell core dump after upgrading to linux-6.5.2

I am not calling xrandr from within xinitrc

2. With X11, I can start the session into any resolution now (with 6.5.3 I could not) but I cannot change the resolution once the session is started.

How do we then square these lines? (You're currently also running 1920x1200)

Can you

xrandr --outpout eDP-1 --scale 0.5

at any moment?

Offline

#48 2023-09-25 06:08:40

efstat
Member
Registered: 2023-09-11
Posts: 25

Re: [SOLVED] GNOME-shell core dump after upgrading to linux-6.5.2

I am assuming that between the time I call startx and the time the KDE desktop appears, some KDE process (probably KScreen) is setting the resolution to 1920x1200.

For example I have found this config file in ~/.local/share/kscreen

http://0x0.st/HVqn.json

If I change the resolution in the Wayland session to say 3840x2400, then the resolution listed in this file is what I have set it using the monitor Settings.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The way I managed to boot initially into the KDE/X11 session when I first upgraded to 6.5.2 kernel was to edit the ~/.config/kde5drc file to add:

[Module-kscreen]
autoload=false

This ( I am assuming ) stopped trying to set the resolution to the not-accepted 1920-x1200 mode and this allowed me to start the KDE session with the native resolution of 3840x2400.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Now, with kernel 6.5.4, I removed the previous section from ~/.config/kde5drc, so Kscreen is autoloaded when the session starts. And somehow this time it can start with the 1920x1200 resolution.
But I cannot change it myself with xrandr ( I get the black screen with nothing shown) and the system cannot resume fully from sleep (same back screen).

The funny thing is, the system can also not resume fully from Sleep in Wayland, despite me being able to change the resolution there to anything I want...

Last edited by efstat (2023-09-25 06:20:01)

Offline

#49 2023-09-28 10:43:24

efstat
Member
Registered: 2023-09-11
Posts: 25

Re: [SOLVED] GNOME-shell core dump after upgrading to linux-6.5.2

I have found the following patch and I am trying to apply it to see if it will work:

https://patchwork.freedesktop.org/patch/557503/

However, as this is the first time I am applying a patch, I was trying to find the file

amdgpu_dm.c

on my system to inspect it, but I could not. Any ideas why?

Offline

#50 2023-09-28 12:24:34

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 17,119

Re: [SOLVED] GNOME-shell core dump after upgrading to linux-6.5.2

Try linux-mainline 6.6-rc3 which already contains that commit [1] or add the patch to the sources array [2] of the linux PKGBUILD.  The linux PKGBUILD will automatically apply any file with the .patch extension so you do not need to make any changes to the prepare function.  If you want me to build you a package with the patch applied feel free to ask.

[1] https://github.com/torvalds/linux/commi … 267bd1abfe
[2] https://gitlab.archlinux.org/archlinux/ … GBUILD#L30

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB