You are not logged in.

#226 2024-01-30 11:40:21

hifi25nl
Member
Registered: 2011-05-07
Posts: 259

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

You are right. With that kmail is working better.

Offline

#227 2024-01-31 08:35:25

df8oe
Member
From: Northern Germany
Registered: 2023-12-21
Posts: 33

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

Is qt6-6.7.0beta2-1 completely rolled out or are there already some packages in the queue?

Offline

#228 2024-01-31 08:47:14

hifi25nl
Member
Registered: 2011-05-07
Posts: 259

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

In Plasma 5 I have some custom context menu items.
Before the folder was /home/user/.local/share/kservices5/ServiceMenus/ or /usr/share/kservices5/ServiceMenus/

I cannot find  kservice6 or some other folder in plasma 6

Offline

#229 2024-01-31 13:16:07

lod
Member
Registered: 2017-09-22
Posts: 7

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

hifi25nl wrote:

In Plasma 5 I have some custom context menu items.
Before the folder was /home/user/.local/share/kservices5/ServiceMenus/ or /usr/share/kservices5/ServiceMenus/

I cannot find  kservice6 or some other folder in plasma 6

I use /home/user/.local/share/kio/servicemenus/


df8oe wrote:

Is qt6-6.7.0beta2-1 completely rolled out or are there already some packages in the queue?

Works for me™ It looks like the QML cache problem is fixed

Last edited by lod (2024-01-31 13:16:29)

Offline

#230 2024-01-31 13:49:05

hifi25nl
Member
Registered: 2011-05-07
Posts: 259

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

Good, I created the directory /home/user/.local/share/kio/servicemenus/, added my context menus and now is fine!

Offline

#231 2024-01-31 15:26:37

df8oe
Member
From: Northern Germany
Registered: 2023-12-21
Posts: 33

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

QML-cache problem was for me already fixed with beta1, now preview of opened windows (in taskbar) is working. But I still cannot add applications to favorites start menu.

Offline

#232 2024-01-31 22:42:49

Xabre
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2009-03-19
Posts: 747

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

"Get New" button is System Settings is still not working. Not a huge problem, but still annoys me.

Offline

#233 2024-02-01 07:42:37

hifi25nl
Member
Registered: 2011-05-07
Posts: 259

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

New problem with rc2:
Clicking on the Desktop with the right mouse button, the option Add Widgets is not displayed.
How can now add a widget on Desktop?

Adding a widget on a tab is still possible, since the option is displayed correctly.

Offline

#234 2024-02-01 08:13:16

edwloef
Member
Registered: 2023-12-22
Posts: 2

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

hifi25nl wrote:

New problem with rc2:
Clicking on the Desktop with the right mouse button, the option Add Widgets is not displayed.
How can now add a widget on Desktop?

Adding a widget on a tab is still possible, since the option is displayed correctly.

This is intentional as far as I can tell. You can add widgets to the desktop by entering Edit Mode and using the Add Widgets button there.

Offline

#235 2024-02-01 08:28:06

modnoob
Member
Registered: 2017-10-17
Posts: 28

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

MacTavishAO wrote:

I recompiled every package in kde-unstable repo against QT 6.6 instead of QT 6.7 Beta. This way QML_DISABLE_DISK_CACHE is unneeded to have somewhat functioning system. Building against QT6.6 fixes System Settings entirely, dolphin and konsole plugins respect your customisations, window previews work as expected and applications can be added to favourites and application launcher can be resized. There are probably more things it fixes as a result but these bugs were only ones grinding my gears. If you want to use Plasma 6 beta with QT6.6 add code block below to pacman.conf before kde-unstable:

[kde-unstable-qt6-6]
Server = https://github.com/MacTavishAO/arch-kde-unstable-qt6.6/raw/main
SigLevel = PackageOptional

Use "pacman -Sl kde-unstable | awk '/installed/ {print $2}' | sudo pacman -Syu -" to reinstall all packages installed from kde-unstable. Since QT6.6 repo is before kde-unstable, it should download and install those packages from QT6.6 rebuild repo. Having done that, disable or comment out real kde-unstable from pacman.conf and use "pacman -Qq | grep ^qt6- | sudo pacman -Syu" so you downgrade qt6-* packages back to 6.6 found in extra repo.

https://i.imgur.com/ZPfwBzt.png

Do you plan to provide plasma 6 RC2 in that repository too?
I've updated with the plasma unstable repository and qt 6.7 breaks other qt apps. Yuzu for instance, is not working for me.

Offline

#236 2024-02-01 11:05:43

cmdrkotori2
Member
Registered: 2021-07-06
Posts: 14

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

df8oe wrote:

now preview of opened windows (in taskbar) is working

Window thumbnails only works in X11. Still blank on wayland.
EDIT: this happens when animation speed is instant, it must be a different bug

Last edited by cmdrkotori2 (2024-02-01 13:11:56)

Offline

#237 2024-02-01 19:46:54

modemthug
Member
Registered: 2023-12-23
Posts: 1

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

modnoob wrote:
MacTavishAO wrote:

I recompiled every package in kde-unstable repo against QT 6.6 instead of QT 6.7 Beta. This way QML_DISABLE_DISK_CACHE is unneeded to have somewhat functioning system. Building against QT6.6 fixes System Settings entirely, dolphin and konsole plugins respect your customisations, window previews work as expected and applications can be added to favourites and application launcher can be resized. There are probably more things it fixes as a result but these bugs were only ones grinding my gears. If you want to use Plasma 6 beta with QT6.6 add code block below to pacman.conf before kde-unstable:

[kde-unstable-qt6-6]
Server = https://github.com/MacTavishAO/arch-kde-unstable-qt6.6/raw/main
SigLevel = PackageOptional

Use "pacman -Sl kde-unstable | awk '/installed/ {print $2}' | sudo pacman -Syu -" to reinstall all packages installed from kde-unstable. Since QT6.6 repo is before kde-unstable, it should download and install those packages from QT6.6 rebuild repo. Having done that, disable or comment out real kde-unstable from pacman.conf and use "pacman -Qq | grep ^qt6- | sudo pacman -Syu" so you downgrade qt6-* packages back to 6.6 found in extra repo.

https://i.imgur.com/ZPfwBzt.png

Do you plan to provide plasma 6 RC2 in that repository too?
I've updated with the plasma unstable repository and qt 6.7 breaks other qt apps. Yuzu for instance, is not working for me.

Looks like the repo was just updated, think they’re updating now

Very cool of you, MacTavishAO, thank you!

Offline

#238 2024-02-01 21:53:40

MacTavishAO
Member
Registered: 2022-12-29
Posts: 10

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

modemthug wrote:

Very cool of you, MacTavishAO, thank you!

Sorry for not replying back sooner. Yes, I was working on updating them. I had to do some manual intervention in the build process and found out after the build was complete that some PKGBUILDs were pushed to tags instead of the kde-unstable branch, so I had to pull the correct ones from git before starting a rebuild again.

Last edited by MacTavishAO (2024-02-01 22:00:34)

Offline

#239 2024-02-10 21:37:15

Archcan_98
Member
Registered: 2023-09-08
Posts: 29

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

20240210 Last Release Candidate

Desktop is close to perfection at this point here:

Operating System: Arch Linux
KDE Plasma Version: 5.93.0
KDE Frameworks Version: 5.249.0
Qt Version: 6.7.0
Kernel Version: 6.7.4-arch1-1 (64-bit)
Graphics Platform: Wayland

Enabling secure boot kills Arch. There is no problem there too (X11 has been removed long ago):

Operating System: Fedora Linux 40
KDE Plasma Version: 5.93.0
KDE Frameworks Version: 5.249.0
Qt Version: 6.6.1
Kernel Version: 6.8.0-0.rc3.20240209git1f719a2f3fa6.31.fc40.x86_64 (64-bit)
Graphics Platform: Wayland

The final release is next door and kde remains a great piece of achievement,

Offline

#240 2024-02-12 14:22:19

Strangiato
Member
Registered: 2020-01-10
Posts: 335

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

I have some problems with Dolphin file manager. The places panel shrinks every time Dolphin is restarted, and after adding some buttons to the toolbar, a blank/unusable location bar appears below the tab bar.
Can anyone else confirm these issues?

Offline

#241 2024-02-16 09:31:47

omeringen
Member
Registered: 2012-05-28
Posts: 114

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

meta + 1/2/3/4 doesn't work for me.

//edit: note that creating a new user account solves the issue. Then i removed ~/.config/kglobalshortcutsrc and it also works on my account.

Last edited by omeringen (2024-02-16 10:23:19)

Offline

#242 2024-02-17 18:08:35

Archcan_98
Member
Registered: 2023-09-08
Posts: 29

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

We are running Qt 6.7beta3 now and all is good. Beta_4 will be next week, 22nd. Nothing wrong with Dolphin here (kio-admin not installed).

pacman -Q qt6-wayland
qt6-wayland 6.7.0beta3-1

pacman -Qi dolphin
Name            : dolphin
Version         : 24.01.95-2
Description     : KDE File Manager
Architecture    : x86_64
URL             : https://apps.kde.org/dolphin/
Licenses        : LGPL-2.0-or-later
Groups          : kde-applications  kde-system
Provides        : None
Depends On      : baloo  baloo-widgets  gcc-libs  glibc  kbookmarks
                  kcmutils  kcodecs  kcolorscheme  kcompletion  kconfig
                  kconfigwidgets  kcoreaddons  kcrash  kdbusaddons
                  kfilemetadata  ki18n  kiconthemes  kio  kio-extras
                  kjobwidgets  knewstuff  knotifications  kparts  kservice
                  ktextwidgets  kuserfeedback  kwidgetsaddons  kwindowsystem
                  kxmlgui  phonon-qt6  plasma-activities  qt6-base  solid
Optional Deps   : ffmpegthumbs: video thumbnails [installed]
                  kde-cli-tools: for editing file type options [installed]
                  kdegraphics-thumbnailers: PDF and PS thumbnails [installed]
                  kio-admin: for managing files as administrator
                  konsole: terminal panel [installed]
                  kio-admin: for managing files as administrator
                  purpose: share context menu [installed]
Required By     : dolphin-plugins
Optional For    : None
Conflicts With  : None
Replaces        : None
Installed Size  : 13.33 MiB
Packager        : Antonio Rojas <arojas@archlinux.org>
Build Date      : Fri 16 Feb 2024 03:38:33 PM EST
Install Date    : Sat 17 Feb 2024 12:20:13 PM EST
Install Reason  : Explicitly installed
Install Script  : No
Validated By    : Signature


Qt Schedule: https://wiki.qt.io/Qt_6.7_Release

Two weeks left: https://www.phoronix.com/news/KDE-6-Meg … se-2-Weeks

Offline

#243 2024-02-17 18:28:47

Strangiato
Member
Registered: 2020-01-10
Posts: 335

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

"Get new..." dialogs are still broken due to a Qt bug.

Offline

#244 2024-02-17 20:57:14

Xabre
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2009-03-19
Posts: 747

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

Strangiato wrote:

"Get new..." dialogs are still broken due to a Qt bug.

Running knewstuff-dialog6 works, and is a good enough substitute till they fix it.

Offline

#245 2024-02-19 00:46:58

cmdrkotori2
Member
Registered: 2021-07-06
Posts: 14

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

Does angelfish crash at startup for anyone else?

tux@oniichan ~> angelfish
qrc:/qt/qml/org/kde/kirigamiaddons/labs/components/SearchPopupField.qml:419:17: QML ScrollView: ScrollView only supports Flickable types as its contentItem
qrc:/qt/qml/org/kde/kirigamiaddons/labs/components/SearchPopupField.qml:419:17: QML ScrollView: ScrollView only supports Flickable types as its contentItem
futuresql: Migrations finished
futuresql: Running "DELETE FROM history WHERE rowid NOT IN (SELECT rowid FROM history ORDER BY lastVisited DESC LIMIT ?)"
futuresql: Running "DELETE FROM icons WHERE url NOT IN (SELECT icon FROM history UNION SELECT icon FROM bookmarks)"
futuresql: Running "SELECT rowid AS id, url, title, icon, ? - lastVisited AS lastVisitedDelta FROM history WHERE url LIKE '%' || ? || '%' OR title LIKE '%' || ? || '%'LIMIT  1000"
Current tab changed to 0
Current tab changed to 0
loaded from file: 1 "/home/tux/.config/angelfish/tabs.json"
Current tab changed to 0
/usr/include/c++/13.2.1/bits/stl_algo.h:3669: constexpr const _Tp& std::clamp(const _Tp&, const _Tp&, const _Tp&) [with _Tp = double]: Assertion '!(__hi < __lo)' failed.
fish: Job 1, 'angelfish' terminated by signal SIGABRT (Abort)

EDIT: reported upstream, seems to be a bug in kirigami.

Last edited by cmdrkotori2 (2024-02-19 02:58:12)

Offline

#246 Yesterday 15:32:40

Vamp898
Member
From: 東京
Registered: 2009-01-03
Posts: 873
Website

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

Is it just me thinking its strange that this repo contains KDE and Qt Developer releases mixed?

I do understand the reason and it makes sense, but i wanted to test the most recent RC2 of KDE and so enabled the repo that, according to the wiki, "[...]contains the latest beta or Release Candidate of KDE Plasma and Applications. " but ended up breaking KDE unrelated Qt packages due to the Qt 6.7 Beta.

Obviously it has to be expected that things break with an unstable repo, but somehow this feels wrong... maybe it is just me. At least i can not test KDE so i'll backup to an VM with an other distro for this use case. Which is fine to me but would have enjoyed doing it on Arch

By the way does anyone else experience crashes doing drag-drop from the launcher to the Desktop (not folder view). Works on current stable plasma but crashes on RC2

Offline

#247 Yesterday 15:37:03

Strangiato
Member
Registered: 2020-01-10
Posts: 335

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

Vamp898 wrote:

By the way does anyone else experience crashes doing drag-drop from the launcher to the Desktop (not folder view). Works on current stable plasma but crashes on RC2

Can reproduce the crash on my system.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB