You are not logged in.

#76 2023-12-20 09:20:50

ridge
Member
From: North of the arctic circle
Registered: 2021-10-29
Posts: 21
Website

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

Thank you, arojas.

Last edited by ridge (2023-12-20 09:48:21)

Offline

#77 2023-12-20 11:41:33

omeringen
Member
Registered: 2012-05-28
Posts: 114

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

arojas wrote:

heads up, kde-unstable will be in a broken state for most of the day. I'd suggest not to update in the next 24 hours

Yeah, can't login with sddm anymore after updating today. Updates were mostly qt6-blabla.

//updated just now, sddm works fine for now.

Last edited by omeringen (2023-12-21 05:50:39)

Offline

#78 2023-12-21 03:37:43

wavefront
Member
Registered: 2023-10-03
Posts: 4

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

Things are a bit better as of a few minutes ago, but some apps are broken. Notably, none of the systemsettings module load because of QML issues.

qrc:/kcm/kcm_lookandfeel/main.qml:18 Type KCM.GridViewKCM unavailable
qrc:/qt/qml/org/kde/kcmutils/GridViewKCM.qml:27 Type KCM.AbstractKCM unavailable
qrc:/qt/qml/org/kde/kcmutils/AbstractKCM.qml:41 Type Kirigami.Page unavailable
file:///usr/lib/qt6/qml/org/kde/kirigami/Page.qml:237 Type Kirigami.PageRow unavailable
file:///usr/lib/qt6/qml/org/kde/kirigami/PageRow.qml:180 Type OverlayDrawer unavailable
file:///usr/lib/qt6/qml/org/kde/kirigami/OverlayDrawer.qml:22 Type KT.OverlayDrawer unavailable
file:///usr/lib/qt6/qml/org/kde/kirigami/templates/OverlayDrawer.qml:120 Cannot assign object of type "KTP.IconPropertiesGroup" to property of type "IconPropertiesGroup_QMLTYPE_68*" as the former is neither the same as the latter nor a sub-class of it.

Offline

#79 2023-12-21 08:03:54

df8oe
Member
From: Northern Germany
Registered: 2023-12-21
Posts: 33

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

I can confirm. Settings module not loaded (reason last post).

Kmail not starting

kmail: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/libKPim6AkonadiContactWidgets.so.6: undefined symbol: _ZN12KUrlMimeData16urlsFromMimeDataEPK9QMimeDataNS_13DecodeOptionsEP4QMapI7QStringS5_E

Dolphin not starting

dolphin: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/libdolphinprivate.so.6: undefined symbol: _ZN12KUrlMimeData16urlsFromMimeDataEPK9QMimeDataNS_13DecodeOptionsEP4QMapI7QStringS5_E

Last edited by df8oe (2023-12-21 08:22:21)

Offline

#80 2023-12-21 08:36:13

arojas
Developer
From: Spain
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 2,098

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

wavefront wrote:

Things are a bit better as of a few minutes ago, but some apps are broken. Notably, none of the systemsettings module load because of QML issues.

Qt issue https://bugreports.qt.io/browse/QTBUG-120189

Offline

#81 2023-12-21 08:36:42

arojas
Developer
From: Spain
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 2,098

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

df8oe wrote:

I can confirm. Settings module not loaded (reason last post).

Kmail not starting

kmail: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/libKPim6AkonadiContactWidgets.so.6: undefined symbol: _ZN12KUrlMimeData16urlsFromMimeDataEPK9QMimeDataNS_13DecodeOptionsEP4QMapI7QStringS5_E

Dolphin not starting

dolphin: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/libdolphinprivate.so.6: undefined symbol: _ZN12KUrlMimeData16urlsFromMimeDataEPK9QMimeDataNS_13DecodeOptionsEP4QMapI7QStringS5_E

Beta 2 deployment is still not finished.

Offline

#82 2023-12-21 08:39:09

df8oe
Member
From: Northern Germany
Registered: 2023-12-21
Posts: 33

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

Will updates for the not working applications roll in the next hours or at the next beta release?

Our posts crossed. Thanks for the information!

Last edited by df8oe (2023-12-21 08:39:53)

Offline

#83 2023-12-21 08:41:30

ridge
Member
From: North of the arctic circle
Registered: 2021-10-29
Posts: 21
Website

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

Beta 2 will be usable when deployment is finished. You won't need to wait for Beta 3 smile

Edit: Our edits crossed!

Last edited by ridge (2023-12-21 08:41:58)

Offline

#84 2023-12-21 10:06:44

df8oe
Member
From: Northern Germany
Registered: 2023-12-21
Posts: 33

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

It is exiting to see more and more of Beta 2 is running with every new package. This is the first transistion of plasma I follow with Arch and I say big "THANK YOU" to all kde developers and Arch kde-unstable packagers. You are doing a great job!

Offline

#85 2023-12-21 11:24:51

tibequadorian
Member
Registered: 2023-12-21
Posts: 4

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

Besides the other issues, the logout menu is not shown for me. Is there a website where we can look at the state of deployment in the repository?

Offline

#86 2023-12-21 13:16:28

dnim
Member
Registered: 2023-05-31
Posts: 8

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

tibequadorian wrote:

Besides the other issues, the logout menu is not shown for me. Is there a website where we can look at the state of deployment in the repository?

https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=474639

Could this be your issue?

As a work around you can turn off the confirm logout toggle in System Settings, that should at least let you logout directly from the Application Launcher menu.

Offline

#87 2023-12-21 14:18:56

tibequadorian
Member
Registered: 2023-12-21
Posts: 4

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

dnim wrote:

As a work around you can turn off the confirm logout toggle in System Settings, that should at least let you logout directly from the Application Launcher menu.

I wish I could do this but I also have issues with the system settings tongue

wavefront wrote:

Things are a bit better as of a few minutes ago, but some apps are broken. Notably, none of the systemsettings module load because of QML issues.

qrc:/kcm/kcm_lookandfeel/main.qml:18 Type KCM.GridViewKCM unavailable
qrc:/qt/qml/org/kde/kcmutils/GridViewKCM.qml:27 Type KCM.AbstractKCM unavailable
qrc:/qt/qml/org/kde/kcmutils/AbstractKCM.qml:41 Type Kirigami.Page unavailable
file:///usr/lib/qt6/qml/org/kde/kirigami/Page.qml:237 Type Kirigami.PageRow unavailable
file:///usr/lib/qt6/qml/org/kde/kirigami/PageRow.qml:180 Type OverlayDrawer unavailable
file:///usr/lib/qt6/qml/org/kde/kirigami/OverlayDrawer.qml:22 Type KT.OverlayDrawer unavailable
file:///usr/lib/qt6/qml/org/kde/kirigami/templates/OverlayDrawer.qml:120 Cannot assign object of type "KTP.IconPropertiesGroup" to property of type "IconPropertiesGroup_QMLTYPE_68*" as the former is neither the same as the latter nor a sub-class of it.

Offline

#88 2023-12-21 16:40:49

wavefront
Member
Registered: 2023-10-03
Posts: 4

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

arojas wrote:
wavefront wrote:

Things are a bit better as of a few minutes ago, but some apps are broken. Notably, none of the systemsettings module load because of QML issues.

Qt issue https://bugreports.qt.io/browse/QTBUG-120189

Thanks for that link. Based on the comments, I thought maybe that deleting the qml caches would help, but `find .cache/ -name qmlcache -exec rm -rf '{}' \;` did not resolve the issue.

Offline

#89 2023-12-21 16:53:31

arojas
Developer
From: Spain
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 2,098

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

You should still be able to open the systemsettings modules with kcmshell6

Offline

#90 2023-12-21 17:33:57

df8oe
Member
From: Northern Germany
Registered: 2023-12-21
Posts: 33

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

That works. You can start

kcmshell6 kcm_smserver

and unselect confirmation dialog of shutdown/restart/... screen.

Offline

#91 2023-12-21 18:15:24

tibequadorian
Member
Registered: 2023-12-21
Posts: 4

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

I am very thankful for the work done, but using Qt 6.6 would probably also fix those issues. On https://community.kde.org/Schedules/Plasma_6 it is stated that Plasma 6.0 will depend on Qt 6.6 and by https://wiki.qt.io/Qt_6.7_Release the final Qt 6.7 release is planned for 03/19/24, a few weeks after the planned Plasma 6 release. Packaging a Qt beta in kde-unstable will lead to wrong bug reports on the KDE site and hinder beta testing for KDE.

Offline

#92 2023-12-22 01:13:30

cmdrkotori2
Member
Registered: 2021-07-06
Posts: 16

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

Eh, in a way it's better to rip the band-aid off now. Either KDE works around this bug before March or Qt fixes it. Qt 6.7 is going to come out eventually.

Offline

#93 2023-12-22 05:05:23

ridge
Member
From: North of the arctic circle
Registered: 2021-10-29
Posts: 21
Website

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

That's true, and I see they're fixing building with 6.7 for Falkon, so it's not like they don't care.

https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=478857

Offline

#94 2023-12-22 07:29:58

df8oe
Member
From: Northern Germany
Registered: 2023-12-21
Posts: 33

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

I agree. Not only Plasma needs beta testing, also QT does. The only difficulty is to address bug reports to the right place.

Offline

#95 2023-12-22 07:52:09

ridge
Member
From: North of the arctic circle
Registered: 2021-10-29
Posts: 21
Website

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

Speaking of Qt bugs, whenever I open Dolphin now, all four panels are open by default, and even if I close them they reappear on the next Dolphin launch.
Usually I don't have the info, folder, or terminal panel open. Just the places panel on the left.

Given the uncertainty of how to handle these bug reports I wanted to check here first.
Is this affecting anyone else?

Dolphin file manager with places, info, folders, and terminal panels all open at the same time.

Edit: Also applies to other KDE apps, like Konsole.. Just an overwhelming amount of panels open everywhere. Blimey smile
Every time I open Konsole, both the "SSH Manager" and "Quick Commands" plugins are enabled. Konsole also does not respect its default size as set in the profile. (80x25, instead defaults to 80x64)

Last edited by ridge (2023-12-22 08:52:12)

Offline

#96 2023-12-22 08:43:16

df8oe
Member
From: Northern Germany
Registered: 2023-12-21
Posts: 33

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

Yes, its here, too. And I like it. I have not investigated where you can personalize it.

Offline

#97 2023-12-22 08:46:15

ridge
Member
From: North of the arctic circle
Registered: 2021-10-29
Posts: 21
Website

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

The bug is being tracked here: https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=478866

df8oe wrote:

Yes, its here, too. And I like it. I have not investigated where you can personalize it.

In Dolphin, it's in "View -> Show Panels". If you don't use the menubar like me (CTRL+M), and have a "hamburger" menu instead, you simply click the hamburger and use the "Show Panels" menu.
In Konsole, it's "Plugins -> Show SSH Manager / Show Quick Commands".

So now you know, when the bug does get fixed you can get the panels back there smile

Last edited by ridge (2023-12-22 08:47:54)

Offline

#98 2023-12-22 12:48:33

dnim
Member
Registered: 2023-05-31
Posts: 8

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

I was able to get around the QML modules acting up by making the following change until the bug with Qt 6.7.0b1 is fixed:

❯ cat ~/.config/environment.d/envvars.conf
QML_DISABLE_DISK_CACHE=1

Last edited by dnim (2023-12-22 12:48:49)

Offline

#99 2023-12-22 14:09:05

tibequadorian
Member
Registered: 2023-12-21
Posts: 4

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

cmdrkotori2 wrote:

Eh, in a way it's better to rip the band-aid off now. Either KDE works around this bug before March or Qt fixes it. Qt 6.7 is going to come out eventually.

Why would they work around a Qt bug that will be fixed by the release?

ridge wrote:

That's true, and I see they're fixing building with 6.7 for Falkon, so it's not like they don't care.

https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=478857

This is not the same as the falkon bug is on the KDE side and not on the Qt side.

Offline

#100 2023-12-22 15:16:25

DebauchedSloth
Member
Registered: 2014-12-08
Posts: 29

Re: [Kde-unstable] KF6 QT6 Transition

I understand the reasoning behind trying to test Qt 6.7 while also testing Plasma 6, but in practice, it's made it impossible to test Plasma 6 and I've reverted to Plasma 5 after being on 6 since the Alpha.  The system settings modules being borked is definitely a problem, but I'm also seeing hangs in the window switcher and mouse events being offset by a certain amount in some applications.  My assumption is that those are Qt, but who can tell. 

It would seem to make a lot more sense to either stick on Qt 6.6 until Qt 6.7 stabilizes (at the very least until they fix whatever broke systemsettings) or maybe provide another set of Plasma packages that depends on Qt 6.7. Two betas at once is a lot of instability.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB