You are not logged in.

#1 2024-04-28 02:25:57

callmejoe
Member
Registered: 2019-03-06
Posts: 75

[solved] installed dummy package not working as expected

I installed the blueman package directly from source a few weeks back to workaround an issue with the repo package version 2.4.1-1

I decided to install a dummy package using pacman so i would get notified of the next blueman package update when using checkupdates.

well blueman 2.4.1-2 is now in the repos and checkupdates is not flagging it to upgrade.

Here is the PKGBUILD.  I have the pkgname =blueman-dummy and have provides=blueman=2.4.1-1 but this format does not coax pacman to update blueman.

The only way I can get it to work if I just use pkgname=blueman.

Shouldn't the provides field be enough to prompt an update when available?  Thanks for the help.

# Maintainer: joe <me@memail.com>
pkgname=blueman-dummy
pkgver=2.4.1
pkgrel=1
pkgdesc='trick pacman'
arch=('x86_64')
url="https://github.com/mrsteve0924"
license=('mine')
depends=()
optdepends=()
makedepends=()
replaces=()
#conflicts=("${pkgname%-dummy}")
provides=("${pkgname%-dummy}=$pkgver-$pkgrel")


build() {
   echo "Nothing to build"
}

package() {
   echo "Nothing to package"
}

Last edited by callmejoe (2024-04-28 03:56:57)

Offline

#2 2024-04-28 02:31:12

Scimmia
Fellow
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 11,621

Re: [solved] installed dummy package not working as expected

It doesn't matter what the package provides, the package is still blueman-dummy and pacman will never replace that with blueman.

Offline

#3 2024-04-28 02:52:29

yochananmarqos
Member
Registered: 2020-02-05
Posts: 198

Re: [solved] installed dummy package not working as expected

In the future, just modify the pkgver of your modified repo package so it's both newer than the current repo package and older than the next update. For instance, with blueman, you could have used 2.4.1-1.0.

Last edited by yochananmarqos (2024-04-28 02:53:19)

Offline

#4 2024-04-28 03:19:45

callmejoe
Member
Registered: 2019-03-06
Posts: 75

Re: [solved] installed dummy package not working as expected

Scimmia wrote:

It doesn't matter what the package provides, the package is still blueman-dummy and pacman will never replace that with blueman.

yes this makes sense.

The last time I created a "dummy" package like this was to satisfy a dependency for an AUR package.  In that case the provides field was enough to make it work.  I guess I was thinking it would work in an upgrade situation but obviously that's not the case.

thanks

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB