You are not logged in.

#51 2008-03-01 18:59:09

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,641

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

just uploading x86_64 OOo 2.4rc2. the soffice.diff has been integrated in a slightly modified way. please report if it now starts well in all desktops.

see http://development.openoffice.org/relea … .0rc2.html for changes

Offline

#52 2008-03-01 20:05:37

SpookyET
Member
Registered: 2008-01-27
Posts: 410

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

My main concern is Ugly Fonts Problem. Is it the hinting patch? The official openoffice.org does not have this problem.

Offline

#53 2008-03-02 10:02:29

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,641

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

SpookyET wrote:

My main concern is Ugly Fonts Problem. Is it the hinting patch? The official openoffice.org does not have this problem.

Our fonthinting patch is needed to make the fonts look good with our system libs, especially our fontconfig. This differs much from the official OOo builds that ship tons of internal stuff statically compiled.

I don't think our fonts look bad. Haven't seen other users complaining.

Offline

#54 2008-03-02 11:52:41

shining
Pacman Developer
Registered: 2006-05-10
Posts: 2,043

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

Last package works great. It starts well with OOO_FORCE_DESKTOP unset, or set to gnome or kde, or even set to something else (same result as when unset).

And I don't think the fonts look bad either. I think they are great. Not like what I had on debian etch or ubuntu some times ago, with an older OOo version, where it was really ugly.


pacman roulette : pacman -S $(pacman -Slq | LANG=C sort -R | head -n $((RANDOM % 10)))

Offline

#55 2008-03-02 15:39:37

SpookyET
Member
Registered: 2008-01-27
Posts: 410

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

AndyRTR wrote:
SpookyET wrote:

My main concern is Ugly Fonts Problem. Is it the hinting patch? The official openoffice.org does not have this problem.

Our fonthinting patch is needed to make the fonts look good with our system libs, especially our fontconfig. This differs much from the official OOo builds that ship tons of internal stuff statically compiled.

I don't think our fonts look bad. Haven't seen other users complaining.

The official OO font rendering has support for the cairo-lcd patches. If you have cairo-lcd or cairo-ubuntu from AUR, it looks almost identical to every other gnome app. It is necessary for LCDs.

Would it be possible to detect the LCD patches and not apply the changes?

Last edited by SpookyET (2008-03-03 00:02:18)

Offline

#56 2008-03-05 15:22:29

danym
Member
From: Saint-Hippolyte, Qc
Registered: 2007-05-14
Posts: 74
Website

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

I just tried this release from testing.  I just can't print because printing dialog doesn't show the "ok" button to print.  Also, it's impossible to resize the dialog box!
For the rest, fonts looks good and it loads my work well.


sin² x + cos² x = 1

Offline

#57 2008-03-05 17:29:25

Geekosaurio
Member
From: Valencia - Venezuela
Registered: 2007-04-26
Posts: 17

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

Hi danym , I had this problem and it was because I had installed the i18n package for the older version, I make my own i18n package modifying the PKGBUILD from ABS and now run just fine.  If only anyone could tell me how can I change the default page size from A4 to Letter I would be very happy.

Sorry about my lousy english ;-)

Offline

#58 2008-03-06 13:47:08

danym
Member
From: Saint-Hippolyte, Qc
Registered: 2007-05-14
Posts: 74
Website

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

Thanks Geekosaurio!  It works!  I made my own french's i18n package from the original PKGBUILD!  Now i can print from version 2.4.0 rc2!


sin² x + cos² x = 1

Offline

#59 2008-03-16 12:52:58

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,641

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

2.4 RC6 (-0.4) is in testing(x86_64, i686 will follow later).

"A new estimated release target is now March 26th" - we will see...

Offline

#60 2008-03-29 17:18:42

steno
Member
From: Pordenone - Italy
Registered: 2008-01-04
Posts: 5
Website

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

SpookyET wrote:

The official OO font rendering has support for the cairo-lcd patches. If you have cairo-lcd or cairo-ubuntu from AUR, it looks almost identical to every other gnome app. It is necessary for LCDs.

Would it be possible to detect the LCD patches and not apply the changes?

Hi, I have compiled Oo with this this Fedora patch. If you have an LCD screen the result is very good ! tongue

I have upload patched OO version on my personal repo. If you want to try put my repo on your pacman.conf :

[stenoweb]
Server = http://www.stenoweb.it/repo/i686

remove official openofice:

pacman -Rd openoffice-base

and install patched version :

pacman -Sy openoffice-base-systemcairo

You can also view screenshots here.

Byez wink

Offline

#61 2008-03-30 04:34:59

SpookyET
Member
Registered: 2008-01-27
Posts: 410

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

steno wrote:
SpookyET wrote:

The official OO font rendering has support for the cairo-lcd patches. If you have cairo-lcd or cairo-ubuntu from AUR, it looks almost identical to every other gnome app. It is necessary for LCDs.

Would it be possible to detect the LCD patches and not apply the changes?

Hi, I have compiled Oo with this this Fedora patch. If you have an LCD screen the result is very good ! tongue

I have upload patched OO version on my personal repo. If you want to try put my repo on your pacman.conf :

[stenoweb]
Server = http://www.stenoweb.it/repo/i686

remove official openofice:

pacman -Rd openoffice-base

and install patched version :

pacman -Sy openoffice-base-systemcairo

You can also view screenshots here.

Byez wink

Thank you so much. It's readable. That patch should no be required considering that the official renders properly on Ubuntu.

OpenOffice seems to be the worst Arch Linux package. It's not archy because it installs everything. It does not let you choose what you want to install like other distributions. Even the official open office comes with many debs/rpms.
I also don't like how it is compiled. They also disabled gnome-vfs and added a gtk patch that creates problems with some themes.

What else can we do to it? Enable gnome integration. Is there a patch that makes it use GTK icons from the current theme? We can try to prettify it like I did with firefox.

I've tried to install staroffice 8 (free for edu) and the official openoffice, but I'm getting some java errors.

ciao

Last edited by SpookyET (2008-03-30 05:50:16)

Offline

#62 2008-03-30 06:06:26

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,641

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

please don't abuse this thread for custom builds!

Offline

#63 2008-03-30 15:02:58

SpookyET
Member
Registered: 2008-01-27
Posts: 410

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

AndyRTR wrote:

please don't abuse this thread for custom builds!

There should not be a need for one considering how long it takes to compile.

Offline

#64 2008-06-02 14:23:34

Don-DiZzLe
Member
From: Nederland
Registered: 2007-03-31
Posts: 233

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

Im having problem with installing new dictionaries manually (File > Wizards > Install new dictionaries). When I follow the onscreen instructions this (right) window appears :

screeniekl0.th.png

Offline

#65 2008-06-11 07:29:05

Don-DiZzLe
Member
From: Nederland
Registered: 2007-03-31
Posts: 233

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

Am I the only one with this problem?!

Offline

#66 2008-06-11 08:56:47

shining
Pacman Developer
Registered: 2006-05-10
Posts: 2,043

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

SpookyET wrote:

OpenOffice seems to be the worst Arch Linux package. It's not archy because it installs everything. It does not let you choose what you want to install like other distributions. Even the official open office comes with many debs/rpms.

The only thing that matters here is how the sources are shipped, not how other distributions ship it, or even not how official debs/rpms are shipped.
Please stop the FUD.

I also don't like how it is compiled. They also disabled gnome-vfs and added a gtk patch that creates problems with some themes.

Is gnome-vfs optional at runtime, just like firefox? If yes, did you submit a feature request?
For the gtk patch causing problems, did you submit a bug report?

What else can we do to it? Enable gnome integration. Is there a patch that makes it use GTK icons from the current theme? We can try to prettify it like I did with firefox.

We are all looking forward to an openoffice-spookyet wink


pacman roulette : pacman -S $(pacman -Slq | LANG=C sort -R | head -n $((RANDOM % 10)))

Offline

#67 2008-06-11 09:15:47

eyolf
Member
From: Copenhagen
Registered: 2005-11-29
Posts: 336
Website

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

Don-DiZzLe wrote:

Am I the only one with this problem?!

No, you're not. I seem to remember that it was mentioned in another thread -- something about this problem being specific to the Arch package. I also have similar problems (i.e. the same kind of error message) with other macro packages.

Offline

#68 2008-06-12 13:22:30

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,641

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

2.4.1 is in testing now for both architectures. langpacks will follow later.

it should solve most bugs introduced in 2.4.0. the soffice.diff has been removed and replaced by the shell.patch. this should solve all the weird gtk detection errors.

Offline

#69 2008-07-25 09:57:34

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,641

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

3.0 beta3 has hit testing (so far only x86_64).

Is has been built with openjdk6 (will also soon hit testing). As this is java6 you will have to use Sun Java or OpenJDK(AUR or (soon) from testing). gcc-gcj/java-gcj-compat is no more supported.

Please report packaging bugs (features/dependencies..) and file other bugs upstream.

Offline

#70 2008-07-25 10:13:37

dhave
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Outside the matrix.
Registered: 2005-05-15
Posts: 1,112

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

AndyRTR wrote:

3.0 beta3 has hit testing (so far only x86_64).

I don't see it here. At least not at 10:13 GMT 25 July 2008.


Donate to Arch!

Tired? There's a nap for that. --anonymous

Offline

#71 2008-07-25 10:14:22

ST.x
Member
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2008-01-25
Posts: 363
Website

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

Im using icedtea6 1.2-3(http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=16290) that is okay as well, yes?

Offline

#72 2008-07-25 10:20:32

dhave
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Outside the matrix.
Registered: 2005-05-15
Posts: 1,112

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

dhave wrote:
AndyRTR wrote:

3.0 beta3 has hit testing (so far only x86_64).

I don't see it here. At least not at 10:13 GMT 25 July 2008.

O.K., I see it now (7 minutes after preceding post).

Last edited by dhave (2008-07-25 17:37:31)


Donate to Arch!

Tired? There's a nap for that. --anonymous

Offline

#73 2008-07-25 17:36:13

dhave
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Outside the matrix.
Registered: 2005-05-15
Posts: 1,112

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

'Scuse me if this has already been asked (I'm going out the door) ...

Will OOo 3b3 install in parallel to my existing OOo 2.x? I'd like to experiment with the new beta, but I don't want to mess up what I've got.

Thanks.


Donate to Arch!

Tired? There's a nap for that. --anonymous

Offline

#74 2008-07-25 17:54:53

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,641

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

Yes. It's safe to install parallel with stable and also devel version. only the user config directory for beta+devel are shared in ~/.openoffice3.

openjdk 1.2 from AUR should be fine.

Offline

#75 2008-07-25 22:06:41

dhave
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Outside the matrix.
Registered: 2005-05-15
Posts: 1,112

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

AndyRTR wrote:

Yes. It's safe to install parallel with stable and also devel version. only the user config directory for beta+devel are shared in ~/.openoffice3.

openjdk 1.2 from AUR should be fine.

O.K., thanks. I'll try it ASAP.


Donate to Arch!

Tired? There's a nap for that. --anonymous

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB