You are not logged in.

#401 2008-02-28 08:11:53

ise
Developer
From: Karlsruhe / Germany
Registered: 2005-10-06
Posts: 404
Website

Re: Arch on Eee PC

toofishes wrote:

Thought I would share a screenshot since there aren't many (any?) in this thread:
http://toofishes.net/media/extra/Arch_o … b_2008.png
Openbox + feh (background) + conky + sonata.

faelar wrote:

my dEEEsktop wink
SSH hum... It runs currently apache, mpd + icecast, I can add ssh to the list yes.. will think about it thank you. mpd and icecast let me have all my music everywhere, great with the EEE smile

The next eee screenshot: http://ise.is.ohost.de/images/eee_screenshot.png
And a nice photo of my eee: http://ise.is.ohost.de/images/my_eee.jpg
Running xfce4 on it. mpd will follow. Next thing will be setting up suspend2disk.....if I find some free time.

Offline

#402 2008-02-28 14:09:50

vomix
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2007-05-02
Posts: 84

Re: Arch on Eee PC

Okay, here's mine (already posted on the feb' 08 screenshot thread!):

c00f7e1df320c3b189278652693a6t.jpg

ebd96532d985e8ec52b68182e41b4t.jpg

Openbox, conky, tint, visibility & stalontray!

I Wish to tank all of you guys: it's an endless upgrade fest on this thread!
With 3 kernel on my eeepc (stock+ dkite's modules / DanielW's / toofishes's ones) and the acpi package, it's a real pleasure to use this machine.

Also, thanks to brotheris for his "unmount /home at shutdown" trick, it's maybe not clean but it works flawlessly!

Bonus: a little script rezinsing wallpapers to fit your eee! wink (found on eeeuser.com)

#! /usr/bin/env python

##
## img2eeepc
## (c) Yannick Le Saint (kyncani), 27 Dec 2007
## <y.lesaint at gmail.com> http://y.lesaint.free.fr/
## 
## Released under GPL version 2 (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/gpl.html)
## This program is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify
## it under the terms of Version 2 of the the GNU General Public License 
## as published by the Free Software Foundation. Any later versions of
## the GPL will be evaluated as they are released, and this software may
## or may not be re-released under those terms also.
## 
## This program is distributed in the hope that it will be useful,
## but WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of
## MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.  See the
## GNU General Public License for more details.
## 
## You should have received a copy of the GNU General Public License
## along with this program; if not, write to the Free Software
## Foundation, Inc., 59 Temple Place, Suite 330, Boston, MA  02111-1307  USA
##

################################################################

import sys
import os
import optparse
import Image

################################################################
## Global vars

## Program name
prog = os.path.basename(sys.argv[0])

## Program arguments
args = ()

## Program options
options = {}

## Final image size
wanted_size = (800, 480)

################################################################
## Parse command line

optparser = optparse.OptionParser(version="%prog-1.0.2")

optparser.add_option(
    "-r",
    "--acceptable-ratio",
    action="store",
    dest="acceptable_ratio",
    default=None,
    help="Maximum Width/height acceptable ratio in percent, lower values" \
        +" meaning fewer images are deemed acceptable.",
    type="int"
    )

optparser.add_option(
    "-d",
    "--delete",
    action="store_true",
    dest="delete",
    default=False,
    help="Delete images when an error has occured or width/height ratio" \
        +" is too big."
    )

optparser.add_option(
    "-p",
    "--pretend",
    action="store_true",
    dest="pretend",
    default=False,
    help="Show what would be done but don't actually do anything."
    )

optparser.add_option(
    "-v",
    "--verbose",
    action="store_true",
    dest="verbose",
    default=False,
    help="Verbose mode."
    )

(options,args) = optparser.parse_args()

if len(args) < 1 :
    optparser.print_help(sys.stderr)
    sys.exit(1)

if options.acceptable_ratio is not None :
    if options.acceptable_ratio < 0 :
        print >>sys.stderr, "%s: --acceptable-ratio should be a positive number." % (prog,)
        sys.exit(1)

################################################################
## Main program

for f in args :
    if options.verbose :
        print "%s: handling %s" % (prog, f)

    try :
        img = Image.open(f)

        if options.acceptable_ratio is not None :
            image_ratio = float(img.size[0]) / float(img.size[1])
            wanted_ratio = float(wanted_size[0]) / float(wanted_size[1])
            min_ratio = wanted_ratio * ( 1 - options.acceptable_ratio / 100.0 )
            if min_ratio < 0 :
                min_ratio = 0
            max_ratio = wanted_ratio * ( 1 + options.acceptable_ratio / 100.0 )
            if image_ratio < min_ratio or image_ratio > max_ratio :
                msg = "width/height = %.02f should be within %.02f and %.02f (base %0.2f)" \
                    % ( image_ratio, min_ratio, max_ratio, wanted_ratio )
                if options.delete :
                    if options.verbose :
                        print "%s:    Removing (%s)." % (prog, msg)
                    else :
                        print "%s: Removing %s (%s)." % (prog, f, msg)
                    if not options.pretend :
                        os.unlink(f)
                else :
                    if options.verbose :
                        print "%s:    Ignoring (%s)." % (prog, msg)
                    else :
                        print "%s: Ignoring %s (%s)." % (prog, f, msg)
                continue

        ## Crop the image horizontally or vertically
        h_v = float(wanted_size[0]) / float(wanted_size[1])
        if float(img.size[0]) / float(img.size[1]) > h_v :
            t = int( ( img.size[0] - h_v * img.size[1] ) / 2 )
            box = ( t, 0, img.size[0] - t, img.size[1] )
        else :
            t = int( ( img.size[1] - img.size[0] / h_v ) / 2 )
            box = ( 0, t, img.size[0], img.size[1] - t )
        img = img.crop(box)

        img = img.resize(wanted_size)
        if options.pretend :
            if options.verbose :
                print "%s:    Saving image." % (prog,)
        else :
            img.save(f)
    except Exception, e :
        if options.delete :
            if options.verbose :
                print "%s:    Removing (%s)." % (prog, e)
            else :
                print "%s: Removing %s (%s)." % (prog, f, e)
            if not options.pretend :
                os.unlink(f)
        else :
            if options.verbose :
                print "%s:    Ignoring (%s)." % (prog, e)
            else :
                print "%s: Ignoring %s (%s)." % (prog, f, e)

sys.exit(0)

################################################################

Offline

#403 2008-02-28 14:18:00

ighea
Member
From: Finland
Registered: 2007-10-20
Posts: 118

Re: Arch on Eee PC

I can't get luvcview software to work with toofihes's kernel and linux-uvc-eee-svn packgage.

I have loaded uvcvideo module and everything should be fine according to dmesg but luvcview still prints out only following:

dmesg output:
Linux video capture interface: v2.00
uvcvideo: Found UVC 1.00 device <unnamed> (eb1a:2761)
usbcore: registered new interface driver uvcvideo
USB Video Class driver (SVN r189)


#luvcview
luvcview version 0.2.1
Video driver: x11
A window manager is available
video /dev/video0
Unable to set format: 22.
Init v4L2 failed !! exit fatal

Web cam is on.

What to do?


(╯°□°)╯~ ┻━┻

Offline

#404 2008-02-28 14:23:42

zodmaner
Member
Registered: 2007-07-11
Posts: 653

Re: Arch on Eee PC

zodmaner wrote:

I try to load the pciehp module by adding it into MODULES array in rc.conf, but got error during boot said that module is not found (I was using kernel-eee from toofishes repo).

Also, my iptables didn't work with kernel-eee. Recomplie iptables package didn't help either. sad

OK, I know why I have this problem: It's because of this error:

modprobe: FATAL: Could not load /lib/modules/2.6.24.2eee/modules.dep: No such file or directory

It causes the kernel to not 'see' various modules. But I still don't know how to fix this (did you manages to fix this error, Vomix?).

Also, could you guys please share your mkinitcpio.conf file? I suspect my problem is because of wrongly configed mkinitcpio file.

Last edited by zodmaner (2008-02-28 14:24:40)

Offline

#405 2008-02-28 14:26:13

vomix
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2007-05-02
Posts: 84

Re: Arch on Eee PC

ighea wrote:

I can't get luvcview software to work with toofihes's kernel and linux-uvc-eee-svn packgage.

What's the output of cat /proc/acpi/asus/camera ?  It must be 1.
If it's 0, do as root: echo 1 > /proc/acpi/asus/camera.

Also, try to launch luvcview with this command: luvcview -f yuv -d /dev/video0.

I hope this help!

zodmaner wrote:

It causes the kernel to not 'see' various modules. But I still don't know how to fix this (did you manages to fix this error, Vomix?).

Actually not... I've just tried some depmod, without success. In fact, everything still works (at least for the basic usage I do of my eee), so I admit I'm not worried.
Also, I can confirm: I've the same error with toofishes's kernel:

modprobe: FATAL: Could not load /lib/modules/2.6.24.3eee/modules.dep: No such file or directory

Of course, this file exist.
And yeah, it's maybe related to the mkinitcpio file: mine's generic.  But I'm still a linux newcomer, so I don't know if I'm able to solve this problem! wink

Last edited by vomix (2008-02-28 14:41:25)

Offline

#406 2008-02-28 16:56:33

ise
Developer
From: Karlsruhe / Germany
Registered: 2005-10-06
Posts: 404
Website

Re: Arch on Eee PC

ighea wrote:

I can't get luvcview software to work with toofihes's kernel and linux-uvc-eee-svn packgage.

I have loaded uvcvideo module and everything should be fine according to dmesg but luvcview still prints out only following:

dmesg output:
Linux video capture interface: v2.00
uvcvideo: Found UVC 1.00 device <unnamed> (eb1a:2761)
usbcore: registered new interface driver uvcvideo
USB Video Class driver (SVN r189)


#luvcview
luvcview version 0.2.1
Video driver: x11
A window manager is available
video /dev/video0
Unable to set format: 22.
Init v4L2 failed !! exit fatal

Web cam is on.

What to do?

You must run:

luvcview -f yuv

This is also mentioned in the wiki wink

Offline

#407 2008-02-28 17:09:36

kant1
Member
Registered: 2006-11-28
Posts: 57

Re: Arch on Eee PC

I have a question about toofishes kernel.  I'm using it right now.  The boot time is a lot faster!

I'm noticing marked slowness, however.  I tried setting the threshold as was recommended above.  It did help some.  Is anyone else experiencing this?

Secondly, after installing the kernel, should you run mkinitcpio at some point?  It's not in the .install file, so I wasn't sure if after booting into it you need to run it?  Or maybe it's not necessary??

Offline

#408 2008-02-28 17:21:50

ighea
Member
From: Finland
Registered: 2007-10-20
Posts: 118

Re: Arch on Eee PC

kant1 wrote:

I have a question about toofishes kernel.  I'm using it right now.  The boot time is a lot faster!

I'm noticing marked slowness, however.  I tried setting the threshold as was recommended above.  It did help some.  Is anyone else experiencing this?

Secondly, after installing the kernel, should you run mkinitcpio at some point?  It's not in the .install file, so I wasn't sure if after booting into it you need to run it?  Or maybe it's not necessary??

You should try also adding

echo 2000000 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/ondemand/sampling_rate

for example in rc.local at least for me it helps a bit with the slowness.

There is no need to run mkinitcpio becouse toofishes kernel is not using initrd images or might not even have the patches for it in. Kernel with important modules build in boots much faster than with initrd image. :E or something like that! ;>


(╯°□°)╯~ ┻━┻

Offline

#409 2008-02-28 17:22:42

zodmaner
Member
Registered: 2007-07-11
Posts: 653

Re: Arch on Eee PC

kant1 wrote:

I have a question about toofishes kernel.  I'm using it right now.  The boot time is a lot faster!

I'm noticing marked slowness, however.  I tried setting the threshold as was recommended above.  It did help some.  Is anyone else experiencing this?

Secondly, after installing the kernel, should you run mkinitcpio at some point?  It's not in the .install file, so I wasn't sure if after booting into it you need to run it?  Or maybe it's not necessary??

You didn't run mkinitcpio? Could you tell me how you install it, step by step, please?

Also, did you get the error message me and Vomix got?

For the 'slowness' that you experience. You could edit /etc/conf.d/cpufreq file and change your CPU governor from 'ondemand' to 'performance' to eliminate the 'slowness'. This will disable CPU frequency scaling, however.

Last edited by zodmaner (2008-02-28 17:23:01)

Offline

#410 2008-02-28 17:26:14

ighea
Member
From: Finland
Registered: 2007-10-20
Posts: 118

Re: Arch on Eee PC

Hmm... I personaly just put lines like

title eee
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/vmlinuzeee root=/dev/sda1 quiet

in my grub config and booted the baby up! :E


(╯°□°)╯~ ┻━┻

Offline

#411 2008-02-28 17:30:27

zodmaner
Member
Registered: 2007-07-11
Posts: 653

Re: Arch on Eee PC

ighea wrote:

Hmm... I personaly just put lines like

title eee
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/vmlinuzeee root=/dev/sda1 quiet

in my grub config and booted the baby up! :E

I'll be damed! I never know you could boot a kernel like that.

/me put on Arch newbie hat tongue

Thanks for the tip, ighea. I'll try this out. Maybe this will solve my problem. smile

Offline

#412 2008-02-28 17:32:28

kant1
Member
Registered: 2006-11-28
Posts: 57

Re: Arch on Eee PC

zodmaner, I did the same thing as ighea.  Booted up fine.  I also commented out my MODULES line in /etc/rc.conf and put MODULES=() instead.

zodmaner, you mention /etc/conf.d/cpufreq.  i don't have this file.  In fact, nothing comes up when i type pacman -Qs cpu.  Do I somehow have cpu scaling, but don't??

All I want is toofishes' fast boot up time with the stock kernel's performance.  Any one have any thoughts?

Offline

#413 2008-02-28 17:34:10

toofishes
Developer
From: Chicago, IL
Registered: 2006-06-06
Posts: 602
Website

Re: Arch on Eee PC

ighea wrote:

Hmm... I personaly just put lines like

title eee
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/vmlinuzeee root=/dev/sda1 quiet

in my grub config and booted the baby up! :E

Exactly right, one of the prevailing reasons to compile your own kernel is to remove the need for an initrd.

I have my boot time to ~8 seconds to console login, ~10 to slim if I want that.

Regarding the luvcview issues, you have to specify -f yuv as the default format is jpg which the internal camera does not support.

I'm having zero slowness issues once i lowered the threshold, although the suggestion given above may help.

I'm also not sure about this modules.dep file...I have not seen this problem. I believe DanielW's kernel and mine share the same modules directory though, so if you have both installed you would definitely have problems.

Sorry for not hand-holding and such, but that just isn't my style.

Offline

#414 2008-02-28 17:37:17

ighea
Member
From: Finland
Registered: 2007-10-20
Posts: 118

Re: Arch on Eee PC

toofishes wrote:

I have my boot time to ~8 seconds to console login, ~10 to slim if I want that.

I'd be really interested in knowing what kind of extra tweaking you have done to have such fast boot up time! In my system udev triggerings still take few annoying seconds to finish. hmm

Last edited by ighea (2008-02-28 17:37:51)


(╯°□°)╯~ ┻━┻

Offline

#415 2008-02-28 17:40:03

toofishes
Developer
From: Chicago, IL
Registered: 2006-06-06
Posts: 602
Website

Re: Arch on Eee PC

ighea wrote:
toofishes wrote:

I have my boot time to ~8 seconds to console login, ~10 to slim if I want that.

I'd be really interested in knowing what kind of extra tweaking you have done to have such fast boot up time! In my system udev triggerings still take few annoying seconds to finish. hmm

http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php?title=Speedup_udev- Option 2. Unless you are blacklisting modules, you don't need load-modules.sh at all.

As a side note with this no initrd thing, is anyone using anything except ext2 for their boot device? If so, I can compile another FS driver or two into the kernel, but that is the only one currently in there. If someone is using ext3, let me know.

Offline

#416 2008-02-28 17:43:02

toofishes
Developer
From: Chicago, IL
Registered: 2006-06-06
Posts: 602
Website

Re: Arch on Eee PC

kant1 wrote:

zodmaner, I did the same thing as ighea.  Booted up fine.  I also commented out my MODULES line in /etc/rc.conf and put MODULES=() instead.

zodmaner, you mention /etc/conf.d/cpufreq.  i don't have this file.  In fact, nothing comes up when i type pacman -Qs cpu.  Do I somehow have cpu scaling, but don't??

All I want is toofishes' fast boot up time with the stock kernel's performance.  Any one have any thoughts?

You will want to add pciehp to that modules array if you want wlan to correctly turn off and on. And see my above post for how I sped up udev.

If you want that conf file, you will have to install cpufrequtils, but it isn't strictly necessary. I see zero point in using anything except the ondemand governor. 95% of the time your CPU will run at the lowest frequency- you may just need to tweak the timer resolution and up_threshold.

Offline

#417 2008-02-28 17:43:21

ighea
Member
From: Finland
Registered: 2007-10-20
Posts: 118

Re: Arch on Eee PC

toofishes wrote:

As a side note with this no initrd thing, is anyone using anything except ext2 for their boot device? If so, I can compile another FS driver or two into the kernel, but that is the only one currently in there. If someone is using ext3, let me know.

I haven't really checked yet but does your kernel have vfat,bluetooth and ppp drivers included? I'd love to be able to have internet access through gprs or else I'll just have to compile my own kernel. :<


(╯°□°)╯~ ┻━┻

Offline

#418 2008-02-28 18:43:04

zodmaner
Member
Registered: 2007-07-11
Posts: 653

Re: Arch on Eee PC

Thanks guys! I edit the menu.lst and now toofishes kernel boot up just fine (and is even faster then before! smile ).

This also fixes the error message I get during boot, so it seems like this is all my fault (sorry). tongue

Regarding iptables error I get, I have found that toofishes kernel lacks module necessary for match 'state' command.

This is the iptables command that gives me trouble, iptables start up just fine after I remove it.

# iptables -A INPUT -m state --state RELATED,ESTABLISHED -j ACCEPT

BTW, here is screenshot of my Eee, running Openbox. Thanks to vomix for inspiration. wink
20080229021730800x480scyo0.th.png
20080229022603800x480scav3.th.png

Last edited by zodmaner (2008-02-28 19:48:53)

Offline

#419 2008-02-28 19:34:25

toofishes
Developer
From: Chicago, IL
Registered: 2006-06-06
Posts: 602
Website

Re: Arch on Eee PC

The kernel config is here, along with everything else needed to completely build my [eee] repository:

http://code.toofishes.net/gitweb.cgi?p= … ig;hb=HEAD

You should be able to see if your drivers/modules are listed there. If they are not, let me know what config option to enable. I like not having 40MB worth of modules in my package however. From what I can tell, vfat, bluetooth, and ppp are all compiled as modules, so that should be fine. In addition, I have all of the netfilter stuff compiled as modules, so I'm really not sure why it is complaining on that iptables rule. Of course, you haven't actually posted the error message, have you?

EDIT:
Found the problem. It'll get fixed in -2.

#
# Core Netfilter Configuration
#
# CONFIG_NETFILTER_NETLINK is not set
# CONFIG_NF_CONNTRACK_ENABLED is not set
# CONFIG_NF_CONNTRACK is not set

Last edited by toofishes (2008-02-28 19:35:27)

Offline

#420 2008-02-28 19:43:33

zodmaner
Member
Registered: 2007-07-11
Posts: 653

Re: Arch on Eee PC

toofishes wrote:

Found the problem. It'll get fixed in -2.

Great news! smile Looking forward to new version.

toofishes wrote:

Of course, you haven't actually posted the error message, have you?

I'm sorry, I'll make myself clearer next time. sad

Offline

#421 2008-02-28 22:02:29

DanielW
Member
Registered: 2008-01-27
Posts: 23

Re: Arch on Eee PC

toofishes wrote:

As a side note with this no initrd thing, is anyone using anything except ext2 for their boot device? If so, I can compile another FS driver or two into the kernel, but that is the only one currently in there. If someone is using ext3, let me know.

Yeah, i am booting from ext3. Would be happy seeing it in your kernel.

Would make my kernel pkg obsolete (at least for me). (and i will stop updating it)

The guys who need highmem support should then use arch kernel + dkites modules.


And toofishes: The kerneleee in community repo it missleads some arch users to use this. But it buggy and there are much better kernels (like yours). You are arch dev would it be possible to replace that with yours or to remove this kernel from the repo??

Offline

#422 2008-02-29 00:34:26

elbecko
Member
Registered: 2008-01-24
Posts: 34
Website

Re: Arch on Eee PC

DanielW wrote:

Would make my kernel pkg obsolete (at least for me). (and i will stop updating it)
The guys who need highmem support should then use arch kernel + dkites modules.

Oops, that's bad news. sad
Are those who need highmem support very minority here?


701 Black 4G / 900 Black 4+16G / kernel-eee 2.6.26-1 / KDE(mod)

Offline

#423 2008-02-29 00:44:11

DanielW
Member
Registered: 2008-01-27
Posts: 23

Re: Arch on Eee PC

elbecko wrote:

Oops, that's bad news. sad
Are those who need highmem support very minority here?

Ok, i could rethink about that. But eventuelly it is possible that toofishes does a 2nd package. kernel26eee-high or somethng like that.  The only difference would be one line in the config. If toofishes thinks that is to much work i could do that baseing from his package. That would stop doing the same work double. 

If here a people how need a eee module pkg i will build that against toofishes's kernel and maybe he can upload it to his repo.

What are your thoughts on that toofishes?

DanielW

Offline

#424 2008-02-29 00:52:22

toofishes
Developer
From: Chicago, IL
Registered: 2006-06-06
Posts: 602
Website

Re: Arch on Eee PC

DanielW wrote:
toofishes wrote:

As a side note with this no initrd thing, is anyone using anything except ext2 for their boot device? If so, I can compile another FS driver or two into the kernel, but that is the only one currently in there. If someone is using ext3, let me know.

Yeah, i am booting from ext3. Would be happy seeing it in your kernel.

Would make my kernel pkg obsolete (at least for me). (and i will stop updating it)

The guys who need highmem support should then use arch kernel + dkites modules.

And toofishes: The kerneleee in community repo it missleads some arch users to use this. But it buggy and there are much better kernels (like yours). You are arch dev would it be possible to replace that with yours or to remove this kernel from the repo??

OK, kernel-eee 2.6.24.3-2 is now in my repository. It contains the missing netfilter modules, as well as ext3 compiled in as per the above request. Please let me know if there are any problems! There is one important thing to note- you MUST also update the madwifi module when you update the kernel, or you will get a nice little kernel crash like I did when testing. From now on, the madwifi module package will contain a specific version of kernel-eee in its depends in order to prevent version mismatches, but I didn't have this in the previous version of the package. Don't say you weren't warned.

Regarding the community kernel- have any of you emailed him and/or posted comments? Yes, I am a developer, but no I do not like to be the big bad wolf and kill his package without him having a chance to make the decision first. I do agree it is misleading though, although good community editing of the wiki page and some comments on the package page itself can really influence people. smile

EDIT:
Remember the changes are always here if you want to follow along.
http://code.toofishes.net/gitweb.cgi?p= … ;a=summary

And you'll see an acpi package in there that I haven't published yet in my repository, but it works great here- instead of handler scripts, we use the acpid events system directly. In order to use it, simply build the package, install it, and delete the 'anything' handler that is installed by default with acpid.

Last edited by toofishes (2008-02-29 00:55:02)

Offline

#425 2008-02-29 01:50:41

brncmp
Member
Registered: 2008-02-29
Posts: 21

Re: Arch on Eee PC

Thanks for all your hard work everyone!

Could someone update the wiki or post some instructions?  Things have changed so much so fast it is really hard to follow the posts, especially for some one new to Linux/Arch.

I would like to see the pros/cons of toofishes kernel and dkites modules. 

What modules should be placed in the rc.conf?

What damons should be loaded?

and any other files that need to be edited.

Also, what way is the easiest to keep updated?

I realize that different people might have different needs, but I would like to know what is needed to get everything working. I can learn how to get other things working as needed.

Just the bare minimum to take advantage  of all the hardware?

Thanks ,

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB