You are not logged in.

#51 2004-05-10 22:31:02

i3839
Member
Registered: 2004-02-04
Posts: 1,185

Re: fluxbox-devel 0.9.9 question

No, it won't link to KDE ot Gnome libs. It will probably support KDE and Gnome specific WM hints, so that KDE and Gnome applications behave better/more as expected in Fluxbox.

Offline

#52 2004-05-11 00:31:56

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 454
Website

Re: fluxbox-devel 0.9.9 question

Hrrm, commenting out the slitlist line didn't work for me.

Offline

#53 2004-05-11 00:39:05

mcubednyc
Member
From: New York, NY USA
Registered: 2004-03-17
Posts: 120

Re: fluxbox-devel 0.9.9 question

shen wrote:

I did find something that fixes the flux freezing at logout. In the init file in .fluxbox there is a line called "session.slitlistFile:" I just commented that line out and freezing stopped.

Interesting ... the slitlist is one of those features new to fluxbox-devel, but AFAIR it was part of 0.9.8 and it never caused any problems there.  I hadn't gotten around to creating one (I don't think it auto-creates), but I was planning on it once I got the apps I wanted to run in the slit sorted out.

Oh well, ATM I'm checking out IceWM, which is pretty cool actually.  At least it's working, unlike just about everything else I've tried to use today.  Very bad Linux day!  :cry:


"No live organism can continue for long to exist sanely under conditions of absolute reality; even larks and katydids are supposed, by some, to dream." - S. Jackson

Offline

#54 2004-05-11 00:55:25

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 454
Website

Re: fluxbox-devel 0.9.9 question

In my Slackware install, it did create a slitlist file (empty though, as I didn't do much) in my $HOME/.fluxbox directory.  However, creating the file in my Arch $HOME/fluxbox directory didn't do any good.

Good to see another Archer from NYC.

I like IceWm--it's one of my favorite window managers actually, just that I prefer Fluxbox.

Offline

#55 2004-05-11 02:40:18

mcubednyc
Member
From: New York, NY USA
Registered: 2004-03-17
Posts: 120

Re: fluxbox-devel 0.9.9 question

scottro wrote:

Good to see another Archer from NYC.

So what bribes will you take to hop down to W23rd St. and set everything I want up on my PC?  Oh wait, learning ... I'm supposed to be learning.   smile

I don't believe I ever posted a "thank you" for your helpful fluxbox tips page ... it's a nice supplement to the official docs.  So thank you!

scottro wrote:

I like IceWm--it's one of my favorite window managers actually, just that I prefer Fluxbox.

Yeah, the jury's still out ... but I'm gonna try to work with IceWM for a while.  It is more configurable than I realized when I first took a look at it (seemed kind of rigid to me, and the developer says something about configurability not being the main goal).  It might suit me better than fluxbox, or maybe not.  But maybe by the time I figure it out, the fluxbox bugs will be quashed.


"No live organism can continue for long to exist sanely under conditions of absolute reality; even larks and katydids are supposed, by some, to dream." - S. Jackson

Offline

#56 2004-05-11 12:15:30

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 454
Website

Re: fluxbox-devel 0.9.9 question

Where on West 23rd?  I work on West 38th so it's not that far.

Glad you liked the fluxbox page.  For ~my~ needs, flux is better than IceWM but they're both nice.

Offline

#57 2004-05-11 12:50:26

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,771

Re: fluxbox-devel 0.9.9 question

Dare I ask if anyone uses either fbdesk or idesk...I cannot live without my icons... :cry:

Mr Green


Mr Green

Offline

#58 2004-05-11 13:49:48

i3839
Member
Registered: 2004-02-04
Posts: 1,185

Re: fluxbox-devel 0.9.9 question

Of course not!

Offline

#59 2004-05-11 14:50:39

mcubednyc
Member
From: New York, NY USA
Registered: 2004-03-17
Posts: 120

Re: fluxbox-devel 0.9.9 question

scottro wrote:

Where on West 23rd?  I work on West 38th so it's not that far.

I'm between 9th & 10th, closer to 10th.  Across the street from London Terrace, around the corner from Empire Diner.

Mr Green wrote:

Dare I ask if anyone uses either fbdesk or idesk...

Icons?  Quoth Sarah31:  Bah.   wink

Actually, I might try one or the other (well, idesk, if I stick with IceWM) at some point, if I decide I need a little eye candy.  Sometimes a well-placed, nice-looking icon or two can make things look a little more interesting.  But in general I don't use them, not even on WinXP.

The idesk website was down for a long time.  Yesterday was the first time I ever got to it (following a link from IceWM website), and I've been trying to check it out on & off since January.


"No live organism can continue for long to exist sanely under conditions of absolute reality; even larks and katydids are supposed, by some, to dream." - S. Jackson

Offline

#60 2004-05-11 15:19:59

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,771

Re: fluxbox-devel 0.9.9 question

Did not have much luck with idesk...so was thinking about fbdesk

but you are right once you get used to not having them.. its  8)

but I cannot remember all my hot keys (old age)  lol

So I'm just messin' with me menu settings

Mr Green


Mr Green

Offline

#61 2004-05-11 15:52:27

Shemeta
Member
Registered: 2004-02-11
Posts: 117

Re: fluxbox-devel 0.9.9 question

Mr Green wrote:

Did not have much luck with idesk.

maybe we can help!  big_smile

Offline

#62 2004-05-11 16:16:53

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,771

Re: fluxbox-devel 0.9.9 question

I will have to start a new thread ....

I will get told off (again!) for thread napping (which I am getting good at)

Mr Green  :oops:


Mr Green

Offline

#63 2004-05-11 16:40:38

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,366
Website

Re: fluxbox-devel 0.9.9 question

 _____________________________ 
/ The ends justify the means. 
|                             |
 -- after Matthew Prior      /
 ----------------------------- 
   
    
        .--.
       |o_o |
       |:_/ |
      //    
     (|     | )
    /'_   _/`
    ___)=(___/

The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#64 2004-05-11 20:46:44

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 454
Website

Re: fluxbox-devel 0.9.9 question

I'm between 9th & 10th, closer to 10th. Across the street from London Terrace, around the corner from Empire Diner.

Ah, not so far--I'm on 6th, but live more or less on the corner of 52 and 10th.

Offline

#65 2004-05-13 00:56:25

mcubednyc
Member
From: New York, NY USA
Registered: 2004-03-17
Posts: 120

Re: fluxbox-devel 0.9.9 question

scottro wrote:

Ah, not so far--I'm on 6th, but live more or less on the corner of 52 and 10th.

That's an easy walk, at least until they build that damn stadium.  If you want to grab a beer or coffee, PM me ... we can have a small Arch LUG meeting.   smile   ATM, I work from home, so I'm pretty flexible.

To keep this vaguely on-topic, I've switched back to fluxbox-devel.  Nothing particularly wrong with IceWM, I just missed fluxbox.  It's interesting to see how different WMs handle things -- gives you ideas about how to work around whatever you see as limitations in one or another, when possible.  So here's hoping the freezing-on-quit bug gets fixed soon.


"No live organism can continue for long to exist sanely under conditions of absolute reality; even larks and katydids are supposed, by some, to dream." - S. Jackson

Offline

#66 2004-05-13 01:56:02

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 454
Website

Re: fluxbox-devel 0.9.9 question

I'll do the PM as soon as I figure out my schedule--right now, our main T1 went down, so things are a bit of mess.

As I think has been posted, if you recompile the PKGBUILD adding
--disable-slit it eliminates the problem.

Offline

#67 2004-05-13 02:41:11

mcubednyc
Member
From: New York, NY USA
Registered: 2004-03-17
Posts: 120

Re: fluxbox-devel 0.9.9 question

hmmm...T1 down sounds like a headache.

The problem is that I make use of the slit and don't want to disable it.  I'll try shen's fix of commenting out the slitlist (which I think you already said didn't work for you, but hey you never know until you try).  If that doesn't work, I'll avoid exiting from the fluxbox menu until this is resolved.


"No live organism can continue for long to exist sanely under conditions of absolute reality; even larks and katydids are supposed, by some, to dream." - S. Jackson

Offline

#68 2004-07-21 21:24:10

beniro
Member
From: St. Petersburg, FL, USA
Registered: 2002-12-31
Posts: 312

Re: fluxbox-devel 0.9.9 question

I can't be bothered to read through this whole rambling thread right now, but I had this issue and resolved it by making a dummy "groups" file (and "slitlist" file as well, but I don't think that fixed anything) in my ~/.flubox file and referencing them in the appropriate places in the ~/.fluxbox/init file.

Voila!

I hope this helps.

Offline

#69 2004-07-22 02:48:37

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 454
Website

Re: fluxbox-devel 0.9.9 question

Just tried that as well, but still no joy.

So far, the only sure way I've found to do it is to recompile, disabling the slitlist as mentioned somewhere in this, as you so right termed it, rambling thread.  smile

Offline

#70 2004-07-22 03:10:18

beniro
Member
From: St. Petersburg, FL, USA
Registered: 2002-12-31
Posts: 312

Re: fluxbox-devel 0.9.9 question

Hell...Then I wonder what exactly it is that I did to get it working...  Ahhh, life's great mysteries.  smile

Offline

#71 2004-07-22 03:21:46

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 454
Website

Re: fluxbox-devel 0.9.9 question

Now that you mention it, I do remember creating a dummy slitlist before.  In FreeBSD, Deb and Slack, (and now, DragonFlyBSD) in my .fluxbox/init the two fields are blank with no adverse effects.  <shrug>

Offline

#72 2004-07-22 03:43:41

thegnu
Member
From: Brooklyn, NY
Registered: 2004-05-04
Posts: 280
Website

Re: fluxbox-devel 0.9.9 question

OK.  I couldn't get the exit entry in the menu working.  I stole beniro's init file, and it works.  So I'm off to figure out what the hell is different in his than mine.

session.screen1.tab.height:    16
session.screen0.tab.placement:    Top
session.screen0.tab.rotatevertical:    True
session.screen0.tab.alignment:    Left
session.screen0.tab.width:    64
session.screen0.slit.onhead:    0
session.screen0.slit.placement:    BottomRight
session.screen0.slit.alpha:    255
session.screen0.slit.maxOver:    true
session.screen0.slit.autoHide:    true
session.screen0.slit.direction:    Vertical
session.screen0.slit.layer:    Dock
session.screen0.slit.onTop:    False
session.screen0.overlay.lineWidth:    1
session.screen0.overlay.lineStyle:    LineSolid
session.screen0.overlay.joinStyle:    JoinMiter
session.screen0.overlay.capStyle:    CapNotLast
session.screen0.iconbar.mode:    None
session.screen0.iconbar.alignment:    Relative
session.screen0.iconbar.clientWidth:    70
session.screen0.iconbar.usePixmap:    true
session.screen0.toolbar.tools:    workspacename, prevworkspace, nextworkspace, iconbar, systemtray, prevwindow, nextwindow, clock
session.screen0.toolbar.height:    24
session.screen0.toolbar.layer:    Desktop
session.screen0.toolbar.onTop:    False
session.screen0.toolbar.placement:    BottomCenter
session.screen0.toolbar.onhead:    0
session.screen0.toolbar.maxOver:    false
session.screen0.toolbar.widthPercent:    66
session.screen0.toolbar.visible:    false
session.screen0.toolbar.autoHide:    false
session.screen0.workspaceNames:    one,two,three,four,
session.screen0.focusLastWindow:    true
session.screen0.focusNewWindows:    true
session.screen0.autoRaise:    false
session.screen0.clickRaises:    true
session.screen0.fullMaximization:    false
session.screen0.opaqueMove:    false
session.screen0.workspaces:    4
session.screen0.menuAlpha:    255
session.screen0.menuDelay:    0
session.screen0.workspacewarping:    true
session.screen0.rowPlacementDirection:    LeftToRight
session.screen0.desktopwheeling:    true
session.screen0.menuMode:    Delay
session.screen0.decorateTransient:    false
session.screen0.colPlacementDirection:    TopToBottom
session.screen0.menuDelayClose:    0
session.screen0.windowPlacement:    RowSmartPlacement
session.screen0.strftimeFormat:    %k:%M
session.screen0.antialias:    true
session.screen0.focusModel:    ClickToFocus
session.screen0.showwindowposition:    true
session.screen0.imageDither:    false
session.screen0.sloppywindowgrouping:    true
session.screen0.rootCommand:    fbsetbg -f ~/.fluxbox/backgrounds/mitps.jpg    
session.screen0.resizeMode:    
session.screen0.edgeSnapThreshold:    10
session.titlebar.left:    Stick 
session.titlebar.right:    Minimize Maximize Close 
session.updateDelayTime:    0
session.groupFile:    ~/.fluxbox/groups    
session.keyFile:    ~/.fluxbox/keys
session.slitlistFile:    ~/.fluxbox/slitsort
session.cacheMax:    2048l
session.opaqueMove:    False
session.useMod1:    true
session.autoRaiseDelay:    250
session.iconbar:    true
session.tabsAttachArea:    Window
session.tabs:    true
session.colorsPerChannel:    4
session.ignoreBorder:    false
session.styleFile:    /usr/share/fluxbox/styles/qnx-photon
session.numLayers:    13
session.imageDither:    True
session.cacheLife:    10l
session.menuFile:    ~/.fluxbox/menu
session.doubleClickInterval:    250

fffft!

Offline

#73 2004-07-22 04:40:35

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 454
Website

Re: fluxbox-devel 0.9.9 question

Yes, I find the same thing--his init file works.

Well, it's about 12:45 AM here, I"ll play with this when I have time

Offline

#74 2004-07-22 04:48:55

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 454
Website

Re: fluxbox-devel 0.9.9 question

Ok, found the solution. 

In the init file, if one changes

session.screen0.slit.autoHide:  False

to
session.screen0.slit.autoHide:  True

It works. 

If one does that, you don't need to create a groups or slitlist dummy file either. That was the only change necessary.

I'm going to sleep now, I'll add this info to the bug report I filed, however.

Offline

#75 2004-07-22 05:28:13

wickedlester
Member
Registered: 2004-07-22
Posts: 133

Re: fluxbox-devel 0.9.9 question

Thanks scottro, that fixed mine.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB