You are not logged in.

#26 2008-02-28 16:41:56

godane
Member
From: NH, USA
Registered: 2008-02-03
Posts: 241
Website

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

i update it again this week. its up to 20080227. Thunderbird and deluge didn't get the latest cause i started uploading at 4 am EST over here. Sorry.

Notes:
user: root
pass: ArchLinux

Changes:
20080227
* added:
-netsurf
-xampp
-gnome-mplayer
-gutenprint
-kompozer

* i change the base again so it will now have a multimedia, printing, and xlibs modules. I put most of the septate modules in modules folder.

bugfix:
* dbus-python is back in so wicd will work again.

I hope this helps.


I'm working on a live cds based on Archlinux. http://godane.wordpress.com/

Offline

#27 2008-02-28 18:36:26

godane
Member
From: NH, USA
Registered: 2008-02-03
Posts: 241
Website

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

here is a new script to turn packages in to modules for arch-live. Its called pkg2lzm. This will download them into the default cache folder (/var/cache/pacman/pkg) then us the local option (-U) in pacman to make the module.

The difference between arch2lzm and pkg2lzm is that it keeps the package name without the .pkg.tar.gz. Before it was just using $1 has the module name.

#!/bin/sh
#
# pkg2mod - convert local Archlinux packages to LiveCD modules.
#
# Author: Christopher Rogers (aka Godane) <slaxemulator@gmail.com>
#
# License: GPL v3
#

TMPDIR=/tmp/pkg2lzm$$
#CACHE=/tmp/cache$$
#PKGNAME=`basename $2 .pkg.tar.gz`
mkdir -p $TMPDIR/var/lib/pacman/local

if [ $1 = "" ]; then
   echo
   echo "Download and convert local Archlinux's PKG.TAR.GZ package and deps into .LZM compressed module"
   echo "usage: $0 package_name"
   echo
   exit 1
fi

pacman -Sy
pacman -Sw $1 --noconfirm
PKG=$(ls /var/cache/pacman/pkg/$1-[0-9]*.pkg.tar.gz)
pacman -U -d -r $TMPDIR $PKG


echo "Creating module ..."

DESTINATION="$(pwd)/$(basename $PKG .pkg.tar.gz).lzm"
mksquashfs $TMPDIR $DESTINATION -b 256KB > mksquashfs.log

if [ $? -ne 0 ]; then 
echo "Error building module"
exit
fi
echo $DESTINATION
chmod oga-x $DESTINATION

echo "Cleaning temporary files ..."
rm -Rf $TMPDIR
#rm -Rf $CACHE
echo "Completed!"

I hope you enjoy this.

PS There is a older version in the new arch-live but this is a better one to use. wink The older on is just in rootcopy folder.

Last edited by godane (2008-02-28 19:20:59)


I'm working on a live cds based on Archlinux. http://godane.wordpress.com/

Offline

#28 2008-02-29 17:19:01

ibendiben
Member
Registered: 2007-10-10
Posts: 519

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

I really like the online modules slax has:
http://www.slax.org/modules.php

"(...)or you can use it online. The module will not be downloaded to your computer, it will be activated from the web! And only the parts which are actually needed will be downloaded.(...)"

Would it be difficult to make those?
Thanks for the additional (modificated) scripts!

Offline

#29 2008-02-29 23:19:07

pellegbta
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2004-03-21
Posts: 4

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

Hi all
I get wrong md5sum for  arch-live-20080227.iso
suposed to be  20cdc2b3fa2375e2b4580a19e58766a2
but i always get 05508ed31ae0577c8135d92597c761ce
I have tried to download from 3 diffrent places.
2 from Europe and 1 time from USA.
Where can I find a correct Arch-live-20090227  from?
Any tips?

Offline

#30 2008-03-01 02:13:45

venky80
Member
Registered: 2007-05-13
Posts: 1,002

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

Iam not able to extract files from the ISO could you please provide a zipped archive, I need it for the USB install.
Thanks


Acer Aspire V5-573P Antergos KDE

Offline

#31 2008-03-01 02:33:25

godane
Member
From: NH, USA
Registered: 2008-02-03
Posts: 241
Website

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

@ venky80

I'm not going to upload a zip file cause it will be has big has the iso which takes about 4 hours to upload. You could use xarchiver cause I have been able to extract files from in the zenwalk with it. I don't know if iso in xarchiver is support or not. But that would be the best option for both of us.

@ pellegbta

I downloading the arch-live-20080227.iso file right now to test the md5sum and see if it still works. I delete the original so i have to download it again also to see if its works despite the wrong md5.

EDIT: THE 20070227 ISO IS BAD. I WILL BE UPLOAD A NEW ONE LATER TONIGHT.

@ ibendiben

I'm going to be to see if i can add slik: proxy into arch-live. I will have to compile httpfs for it but its not a big thing.

I hope this helps everyone.

Last edited by godane (2008-03-01 03:09:23)


I'm working on a live cds based on Archlinux. http://godane.wordpress.com/

Offline

#32 2008-03-01 03:31:53

venky80
Member
Registered: 2007-05-13
Posts: 1,002

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

well that works if xarchiver can extract it, that is all I wanted .
Thanks, and yes i also download the ISO and it is BAD


Acer Aspire V5-573P Antergos KDE

Offline

#33 2008-03-01 15:57:15

godane
Member
From: NH, USA
Registered: 2008-02-03
Posts: 241
Website

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

The iso is update fully this time. It should be a good file now. (md5sum should match file)

Notes:
user: root
pass: ArchLinux

Changes:
20080229
* added:
-netsurf
-server folder (apache, mysql, php, drupal)
-gnome-mplayer
-gutenprint
-kompozer
-amaya
-xarchiver replaces squeeze
-wireshark
-gdm login replaces slim login

* i change the base again so it will now have a multimedia, printing, and xlibs modules. I put most of the septate modules in modules folder.

bugfix:
* dbus-python is back in so wicd will work again.

-updated everything 20080229 packages

I hope this helps everyone again.


I'm working on a live cds based on Archlinux. http://godane.wordpress.com/

Offline

#34 2008-03-01 20:24:36

venky80
Member
Registered: 2007-05-13
Posts: 1,002

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

Hi Godane
Thanks for the quick update now I have a few Questions
I have my current KDE arch desktop, how can I remove the xfce desktop and make my own kdemod modules.
I tried doing a pacman -Sy kdemod after adding the repository in pacman.conf
but it gave me a dependency error
IS there a way to make modules from my current system for Arch-live, I deally speaking I would like to remove all the lzm modules which are not in core and put my own.
I would appreciate some direction.
Thanks
Regards
Venky


Acer Aspire V5-573P Antergos KDE

Offline

#35 2008-03-01 21:38:02

ibendiben
Member
Registered: 2007-10-10
Posts: 519

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

godane wrote:

@ ibendiben

I'm going to be to see if i can add slik: proxy into arch-live. I will have to compile httpfs for it but its not a big thing.

cool

Offline

#36 2008-03-01 23:45:18

godane
Member
From: NH, USA
Registered: 2008-02-03
Posts: 241
Website

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

you can use pkg2lzm for making the kdemod modules. I may add a cache option to the script in the next release so people can do it more locally.

Can you give the dependency error you got?

Also it may be best to just remove 07-xfce if just want to drop xfce. The reason i say this is cause 04-common, 05-xorg, 08-multimedia, 09-printing, and 10-xlibs have a lot of common dependencies. 09-printing for example has  a2ps and it deps. 04-common has a lot of dependencies need for programs in the modules/software folder. I made it this way so people would not need to have a lot of deps modules or missing deps for some thing to work in it. 06-gdm is optional since it just has gdm package in it. You will just have to login through command line.

I hope this helps you venky80.


I'm working on a live cds based on Archlinux. http://godane.wordpress.com/

Offline

#37 2008-03-02 01:14:51

venky80
Member
Registered: 2007-05-13
Posts: 1,002

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

OK wierd the dependency error went.
I am not sure if what I am doing is right.
1)I logged into arch-live
2) Added Kdemod repository to pacman.conf
3)Removed qt  as kdemod has its own qt
4) installed kdemod with pacman -Sy kdemod

I assume all the packages will be found in the slaxchanges folder?  You think I would have to first somehow deal with all the core libraries I would want?
it would be wrong to make modules of each package wouldn't it be?

Now this installs lots of packages, how do I create modules now?


Acer Aspire V5-573P Antergos KDE

Offline

#38 2008-03-02 09:31:33

ibendiben
Member
Registered: 2007-10-10
Posts: 519

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

This site actually credits you godane:
http://kweb2mod.live-modules.org/
It seems they succeeded making a whole lot of modules available just mounting from the web. They even transcoded kdemod to be slackware compatible. Do you know what this script does? (the tar link doesn't work)
I can see a lot of future to this approach.

edit: used bbcode 'quote' instead of 'url' big_smile

Last edited by ibendiben (2008-03-02 09:33:30)

Offline

#39 2008-03-02 15:32:03

ibendiben
Member
Registered: 2007-10-10
Posts: 519

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

Just booted the life cd (20080229) for real (previously I used VMware) and ran into two problems:
1 - The sound is muted, after unmuting via alsamixer -> m this seems to be solved...
2 - My Wireless is down... the led turns of as soon as the cd is booted, and I wasn't able to turn it on again... I use intel pro wireless 3945ABG...

Having a look at rc.conf all devices except for eth0 en lo are commented... I tried uncommenting and run rc.conf manually wink but no results...
Has anyone managed to get wireless to work on any arch-live release?

---
Another thing is that when I select my native language at the start of the cd (just before the grub menu) later on while booting it complains it can't find my locales... (dutch) nl_NL
You might want to consider adding more locales, or removing those languages from the list.

---
All the rest seems to work just fine, not that I tested everything that thoroughly but it certainly feels good smile

--
edit: added some clarification, ask for anything like configs or whatever if needed.

Last edited by ibendiben (2008-03-02 15:34:41)

Offline

#40 2008-03-02 16:35:02

godane
Member
From: NH, USA
Registered: 2008-02-03
Posts: 241
Website

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

1 - The sound is muted, after unmuting via alsamixer -> m this seems to be solved...
2 - My Wireless is down... the led turns of as soon as the cd is booted, and I wasn't able to turn it on again... I use intel pro wireless 3945ABG...

1. i use the volume manager in xfce bottom panel.
2. my usb wifi only use leds in windows. This is normal for me to have leds on on wireless devices not using leds. use wicd to connect to the internet.

Another thing is that when I select my native language at the start of the cd (just before the grub menu) later on while booting it complains it can't find my locales... (dutch) nl_NL
You might want to consider adding more locales, or removing those languages from the list.

nl_NL is in the /etc/locale.gen list. i don't know how the locale works in arch. I'm just guessing on how to set it up.

I hope this helps.


I'm working on a live cds based on Archlinux. http://godane.wordpress.com/

Offline

#41 2008-03-02 17:46:40

godane
Member
From: NH, USA
Registered: 2008-02-03
Posts: 241
Website

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

here is a new script i made last night. its called update2lzm.

#!/bin/sh
#
# update2lzm - update a existing module or make a new module with updates
#
# Author: Christopher Rogers (aka Godane) <slaxemulator@gmail.com>
#
# License: GPL v3
#

MODULE=$(basename "$1" .lzm).lzm
IMAGES=/mnt/live/memory/images
TMPDIR=/mnt/live/memory/tmp
CHANGES=$TMPDIR/changes
UNION=$TMPDIR/union

if [ $1 = "" ]; then
   echo
   echo "Update a existing .LZM compressed module in union or"
   echo "or make a new module with updates"
   echo "usage: $0 module_name.lzm [-d]"
   echo
   exit 1
fi

if [ -d $TMPDIR ]; then
umount -n -l $UNION 2>/dev/null
rm -Rf $TMPDIR
fi

if [ ! "$(ls $IMAGES/$MODULE)" ]; then

mkdir -p $UNION/var/lib/pacman/local

cp -rf /var/lib/pacman/local/* $UNION/var/lib/pacman/local

pacman -Syu $2 -r $UNION

rm -Rf $UNION/var/lib/pacman/sync/*

mksquashfs $UNION $MODULE -b 256KB > mksquashfs.log

if [ $? -ne 0 ]; then 
echo "Error building module"
exit
fi

else

mkdir -p $CHANGES/var/lib/pacman/local
mkdir -p $UNION

mount -t aufs -o br:$CHANGES=rw:$IMAGES/$MODULE=rr aufs $UNION
if [ $? -ne 0 ]; then 
echo "Error building union."
echo "Module may not exist in union."
exit
fi

pacman -Syu -d -r $UNION --noconfirm

rm -Rf $UNION/var/lib/pacman/sync/*

mksquashfs $UNION $MODULE -b 256KB > mksquashfs.log

if [ $? -ne 0 ]; then 
echo "Error building module"
exit
fi

umount -f $UNION

fi


echo $MODULE
chmod oga-x $MODULE

echo "Cleaning temporary files ..."
rm -Rf $TMPDIR
echo "Completed!"

this will everyone be able to update the modules or make new modules to update the older programs or libs. The idea is if the module name exist it /mnt/live/memory/images then it will do a aufs union in /mnt/live/tmp/union. I using a union so it will not take up has much space in ram if i just copy it. Some people don't have a lot of ram. wink

If the module name is not in /mnt/live/memory/images then it makes a new module with just the updates. This is good for system admit so they can update by just adding a new module and can be used to back track if there is a problem with the updates.

I hope this helps.

EDIT1: update script so it unmount and delete $TMPDIR if found before it makes them.
EDIT2: add -d to union area so it will only update the packages in that module.

Last edited by godane (2008-03-02 21:29:27)


I'm working on a live cds based on Archlinux. http://godane.wordpress.com/

Offline

#42 2008-03-02 23:27:27

XChrisX
Member
Registered: 2007-10-21
Posts: 29

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

I like the name of it big_smile

Downloading now. Gonna give it a try.

Offline

#43 2008-03-02 23:48:04

ibendiben
Member
Registered: 2007-10-10
Posts: 519

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

godane wrote:

1 - The sound is muted, after unmuting via alsamixer -> m this seems to be solved...
2 - My Wireless is down... the led turns of as soon as the cd is booted, and I wasn't able to turn it on again... I use intel pro wireless 3945ABG...

1. i use the volume manager in xfce bottom panel.

What I mean is can't alsa be set up in such a way the alsalevels are unmuted by default?
This is the message displayed when loading alsa:

/usr/sbin/alsactl: load_state:1313: Cannot open /etc/asound.state for reading: No such file or directory

You create this file doing a:

alsactl store
godane wrote:

2. my usb wifi only use leds in windows. This is normal for me to have leds on on wireless devices not using leds. use wicd to connect to the internet.

You're right, the led configuration has gone with kernel .24 and I think it was due to my many toggles of the switch that wicd didn't display any networks, when I tried again, it did... It was somewhat hard to get internet working, but in the end it does, the manual way, via iwlist, iwconfig etc... smile so that's good news!

Another thing is that when I select my native language at the start of the cd (just before the grub menu) later on while booting it complains it can't find my locales... (dutch) nl_NL
You might want to consider adding more locales, or removing those languages from the list.

nl_NL is in the /etc/locale.gen list. i don't know how the locale works in arch. I'm just guessing on how to set it up.
I hope this helps.

hmm, I'm not sure what's the problem here... I'll see if I can manage to get it working... Thanks alot!

ps. Did you got synaptics touchpad to scroll? tongue

Offline

#44 2008-03-03 02:12:02

venky80
Member
Registered: 2007-05-13
Posts: 1,002

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

hi Godane
I am trying pkg2lzm and gettin this error
pkg2lzm

/usr/sbin/pkg2lzm: line 15: [: =: unary operator expected
:: Synchronizing package databases...
core is up to date
extra is up to date
community is up to date
kdemod is up to date
local database is up to date
error: no targets specified (use -h for help)
ls: cannot access /var/cache/pacman/pkg/-[0-9]*.pkg.tar.gz: No such file or directory
/usr/sbin/pkg2lzm: line 48: syntax error: unexpected end of file

Also I have downloaded all the kdemod packages in my /var/cache/pacman/pkg
now do I have to individually convert each package to lzm? I am in the live cd environment, how do I save the lzm to load it later?

What happens when we have to upgrade, how does all of the modules you built get upgraded? I assume the whole purpose of the project was not to keep creating modules when every new version comes out?

I know you created update2 lzm but I think I am confused, could you briefly tell me or point to a document as to how this works with respect to Arch?


Acer Aspire V5-573P Antergos KDE

Offline

#45 2008-03-03 05:16:47

godane
Member
From: NH, USA
Registered: 2008-02-03
Posts: 241
Website

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

The error was cause you didn't give it a package to look for. Here is the fix pkg2lzm error:

#!/bin/sh
#
# pkg2lzm - convert local Archlinux packages to LiveCD modules.
#
# Author: Christopher Rogers (aka Godane) <slaxemulator@gmail.com>
#
# License: GPL v3
#

TMPDIR=/tmp/pkg2lzm$$
mkdir -p $TMPDIR/var/lib/pacman/local

if [ "$1" = "" ]; then
   echo
   echo "Download and convert local Archlinux's PKG.TAR.GZ package and deps into .LZM compressed module"
   echo "usage: $0 package_name"
   echo
   exit 1
fi


pacman -Sy
pacman -Sw "$1" --noconfirm
PKG=$(ls /var/cache/pacman/pkg/$1-[0-9]*.pkg.tar.gz)
pacman -U -d -r $TMPDIR $PKG

echo "Creating module ..."

DESTINATION="$(pwd)/$(basename $PKG .pkg.tar.gz).lzm"
mksquashfs $TMPDIR $DESTINATION -b 256KB > mksquashfs.log

if [ $? -ne 0 ]; then 
echo "Error building module"
exit
fi
echo $DESTINATION
chmod oga-x $DESTINATION

echo "Cleaning temporary files ..."
rm -Rf $TMPDIR
echo "Completed!"

I did't have $1 in quotes and thats what cave you the error. Otherwise you get this:

bash-3.2# ./pkg2lzm

Download and convert local Archlinux's PKG.TAR.GZ package and deps into .LZM compressed module
usage: ./pkg2lzm package_name

bash-3.2#

You have name the package but make sure its the right name. Example: 'pkg2lzm qt3-enhanced' without single quotes will give you qt3-enhanced-3.3.8-20-i686.lzm for the module name.

I hope this helps you venky80.

EDIT: added nodeps (-d) option cause it will not make the module correctly otherwise.

Last edited by godane (2008-03-03 05:33:15)


I'm working on a live cds based on Archlinux. http://godane.wordpress.com/

Offline

#46 2008-03-03 05:21:32

venky80
Member
Registered: 2007-05-13
Posts: 1,002

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

Thank you yes now it is clear..thanks

One more Question how does this script handle meta packages like xorg or kdemod which basically pulls a lot of other packages?

Last edited by venky80 (2008-03-03 05:23:28)


Acer Aspire V5-573P Antergos KDE

Offline

#47 2008-03-03 05:43:53

godane
Member
From: NH, USA
Registered: 2008-02-03
Posts: 241
Website

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

it doesn't handle meta package at all. I know this is not a good thing but its the only for it to not repeat existing packages that are in other modules. My pkg2lzm script just downloads the package then installs the package from cache.
here is the line of code that makes it work:

PKG=$(ls /var/cache/pacman/pkg/$1-[0-9]*.pkg.tar.gz)

This line helps me not have to deal with package confects.( example: thunderbird and thunderbird-i18n )
Its the only why without copying the current /var/lib/pacman/local folder for every module. This could create problems if the user installed packages in  ram.

I hope this helps answer your question.


I'm working on a live cds based on Archlinux. http://godane.wordpress.com/

Offline

#48 2008-03-03 06:06:30

venky80
Member
Registered: 2007-05-13
Posts: 1,002

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

I am still getting the error

bash-3.2# pkg2lzm qt3-enhanced
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
 kdemod is up to date
 local database is up to date
resolving dependencies...

Targets: qt3-enhanced-3.3.8-20  

Total Download Size:    0.00 MB
Total Installed Size:   25.54 MB

Beginning download...
checking package integrity...
/usr/sbin/pkg2lzm: line 48: syntax error: unexpected end of file
bash-3.2#

Last edited by venky80 (2008-03-03 06:06:47)


Acer Aspire V5-573P Antergos KDE

Offline

#49 2008-03-03 12:52:54

godane
Member
From: NH, USA
Registered: 2008-02-03
Posts: 241
Website

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

you were should post to use the new script i post yesterday. here is my out put for the new script:

bash-3.2# ./pkg2lzm rsync
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
 testing is up to date
 kdemod is up to date
 local database is up to date
resolving dependencies...

Targets: rsync-3.0.0-1  

Total Download Size:    0.23 MB

Beginning download...
:: Retrieving packages from extra...
 rsync-3.0.0-1-i686       237.2K  231.6K/s 00:00:01 [#####################] 100%
checking package integrity...
loading package data... done.
(1/1) checking for file conflicts                   [#####################] 100%
(1/1) installing rsync                              [#####################] 100%
Creating module ...
[==================================================================] 11/11 100%/root/rsync-3.0.0-1-i686.lzm
Cleaning temporary files ...
Completed!
bash-3.2#

here is the new script again: (please use this one)

#!/bin/sh
#
# pkg2lzm - convert local Archlinux packages to LiveCD modules.
#
# Author: Christopher Rogers (aka Godane) <slaxemulator@gmail.com>
#
# License: GPL v3
#

TMPDIR=/tmp/pkg2lzm$$
mkdir -p $TMPDIR/var/lib/pacman/local

if [ "$1" = "" ]; then
   echo
   echo "Download and convert local Archlinux's PKG.TAR.GZ package and deps into .LZM compressed module"
   echo "usage: $0 package_name"
   echo
   exit 1
fi


pacman -Sy
pacman -Sw "$1" --noconfirm
PKG=$(ls /var/cache/pacman/pkg/$1-[0-9]*.pkg.tar.gz)
pacman -U -d -r $TMPDIR $PKG

echo "Creating module ..."

DESTINATION="$(pwd)/$(basename $PKG .pkg.tar.gz).lzm"
mksquashfs $TMPDIR $DESTINATION -b 256KB > mksquashfs.log

if [ $? -ne 0 ]; then 
echo "Error building module"
exit
fi
echo $DESTINATION
chmod oga-x $DESTINATION

echo "Cleaning temporary files ..."
rm -Rf $TMPDIR
echo "Completed!"

The new script fixes the bugs you had been reporting and it will be include in the next release.
copy the script into a new file name pkg2lzm. make execable by doing chmod +x /path/to/pkg2lzm.
Then copy the new pkg2lzm over old one in rootcopy/usr/sbin.

I hope this helps.


I'm working on a live cds based on Archlinux. http://godane.wordpress.com/

Offline

#50 2008-03-03 15:36:41

venky80
Member
Registered: 2007-05-13
Posts: 1,002

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

Thanks, I never thought you changed the script, sorry for the misunderstanding.
Thanks

how does it deal with pkg dependency lets for example take ./pkg2lzm pkgA
pkg A had Pck B as dependency what does the script do?

I have one more question ..how did u make lzm for xorg? xorg is a meta package in Arch, also how did u combine all the require packages of xfce together to create a single module?

Last edited by venky80 (2008-03-04 00:04:57)


Acer Aspire V5-573P Antergos KDE

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB