You are not logged in.

#51 2008-05-02 10:32:39

b9anders
Member
Registered: 2007-11-07
Posts: 691

Re: Shaman - libalpm frontend in Qt4

Initially, it would start because of SUID permissions. After fixing that, it refuses to start saying

Your settings file seems unwritable.
Please check permissions on it.

where do I find the settings file? I'm a tad uncomfortable with the permissions it wants here.

Offline

#52 2008-05-02 14:56:07

drf
Member
From: Milano, Italy
Registered: 2008-01-13
Posts: 113

Re: Shaman - libalpm frontend in Qt4

The settings file is located in your home, under .config/shaman/shaman.conf

Offline

#53 2008-05-02 15:12:24

b9anders
Member
Registered: 2007-11-07
Posts: 691

Re: Shaman - libalpm frontend in Qt4

thanks

Offline

#54 2008-05-25 11:18:43

drf
Member
From: Milano, Italy
Registered: 2008-01-13
Posts: 113

Re: Shaman - libalpm frontend in Qt4

Shaman Beta 3 was released. This release includes a lot of Core improvements, a bunch of new features, and some fixes here and there. Also, there are a lot of improvements for Plasma components, and now Shaman features a usable Plasmoid!! Upgrading from Beta 2 is strongly recommended. Here comes the complete changelog:

Core:

   - Better version handling
   - Correct Handling of packages with the same name belonging to different repos
   - Added support for updating the database everyday at a certain hour
   - Better Tray Icon Handling
   - Support for "Add upgradeable to Queue"
   - Solved a bug that caused freezing or loading failed
   - Added force (pacman -f) option

GUI:
   - Removed version hardcoding in the About Dialog to allow String Freeze
   - Added a stupid message to the About Dialog
   - Small GUI fixes (thanks to uwolfer)
   - Added a small delay to search when typing in the line edit

i18n:
   - Added Chinese translation

Plasmoid:
   - Basic functionalities added

Runner:
   - Port the Runner to the new API syntax

Enjoy it!!

Offline

#55 2008-05-26 03:04:06

imagelife
Member
From: China
Registered: 2008-01-10
Posts: 49

Re: Shaman - libalpm frontend in Qt4

yeah ,i used shaman beta 3, so good but still have some space to improve.
i dont know any people metioned it before.
in terminal, i use

sudo shaman

it works well. smile
but i use 

 shaman

if i want to update the db or  other operation which need password, input password,
then shaman will died or cant work.

other problem, it cannt show some information.like this

warning: wine:本地(0.9.61-2)比extra版本更新(0.9.61-1)

should like this

警告:wine:本地(0.9.61-2)比extra版本更新(0.9.61-1)

sad
my locale is zh_CN.UTF-8

Last edited by imagelife (2008-05-26 03:10:05)


just want to tell you!…………

Offline

#56 2008-05-26 07:10:42

drf
Member
From: Milano, Italy
Registered: 2008-01-13
Posts: 113

Re: Shaman - libalpm frontend in Qt4

Your password probably is in Chinese characters and UTF support is not that great... This is hard to solve/trigger, since I really can't test it, but I'll try my best smile

Offline

#57 2008-05-27 15:49:06

imagelife
Member
From: China
Registered: 2008-01-10
Posts: 49

Re: Shaman - libalpm frontend in Qt4

thanks:)
but my password is not Chinese characters ,it's english,
yeah, maybe is the utf support is not great,
the the wrong info is so boring! <_>


just want to tell you!…………

Offline

#58 2008-06-06 16:38:21

drf
Member
From: Milano, Italy
Registered: 2008-01-13
Posts: 113

Re: Shaman - libalpm frontend in Qt4

After just some days from Beta 3, we're proud to bring you Shaman RC 1. We tried to make this release as bug free as possible, and we're willing to release Gold in a short time.
Don't get fooled by the relatively short commit log: there's more than meets the eye compared to Beta3. All KDE4.1 users will be surely happy to see the huge progress the KRunner and the Plasmoid made. There were also some nice GUI improvements, and we finally fixed the odd sorting by size bug.
Also, we're string freezed from now on, so please, contribute and translate!

Here comes the whole changelog:

Core:
   - Better Thread handling when reloading packages view
   - Corrected include guards
   - Removed introspection in DBus system due to some custom code needed
   
GUI:
   - Faster startup and no freezes thanks to better Thread Handling
   - Avoid Horizontal stretching in Queue Dialog
   - Port Messages to Utf8 where possible.
   - Fixed sorting by size bug

KRunner:
   - Fixed and stabilized for new Plasma API. The Runner now works in KDE4.1

Plasmoid:
   - Added Autocompletion for Packages

Offline

#59 2008-06-08 15:20:55

drf
Member
From: Milano, Italy
Registered: 2008-01-13
Posts: 113

Re: Shaman - libalpm frontend in Qt4

Released RC2. We fixed a pair of critical bugs found in RC1 and optimized some code, unless some critical issues arise, next stop is gold.

Offline

#60 2008-06-11 16:04:33

bulat
Member
From: Kazan, Russia
Registered: 2008-05-26
Posts: 18

Re: Shaman - libalpm frontend in Qt4

Are local repositories supported by this program? I have core, extra and community on my hard drive, so I wand to install packages from it. But when I run shaman, my /etc/pacman.conf was overwritten and local repos were changed to remote. So if shaman doesn't support them, please add this function smile

Offline

#61 2008-08-16 19:19:06

Ranguvar
Member
Registered: 2008-08-12
Posts: 2,540

Re: Shaman - libalpm frontend in Qt4

Question? Is adding support for Powerpill feasible? smile

Offline

#62 2008-09-03 11:19:49

farvardin
Member
Registered: 2008-09-03
Posts: 120
Website

Re: Shaman - libalpm frontend in Qt4

very nice tool, but with AUR support it would be even nicer! (even if with some warnings about security and such)

Offline

#63 2008-09-03 22:38:06

Megamixman
Member
Registered: 2008-05-04
Posts: 73

Re: Shaman - libalpm frontend in Qt4

if Shaman had AUR support, it could complement yaourt as the GUI tool with yaourt being  command line.

Offline

#64 2008-11-10 08:56:16

artiom
Member
From: France
Registered: 2008-07-29
Posts: 108

Re: Shaman - libalpm frontend in Qt4

I have a problem with ABS in Shaman (1.0.9-1): When I start build from source I have always the same message
Building operation has started.


Could not set up the environment correctly for <package>

Building <package> failed!!

Where <package> is the selected package name. When I go to ABS directory and do makepkg it works.
Maybe here is not the best place for this question, but shaman site is offline since several weeks for now.

Offline

#65 2008-11-10 09:15:49

artiom
Member
From: France
Registered: 2008-07-29
Posts: 108

Re: Shaman - libalpm frontend in Qt4

I have found my problem. The directory /var/shaman/builds was not created.... I think shaman could create it himself or give a more comprehesive error message.

Offline

#66 2008-12-16 16:30:07

genisis300
Member
From: Uk
Registered: 2008-01-15
Posts: 284

Re: Shaman - libalpm frontend in Qt4

Just an idea but could powerpill be used to download the packages?


"is adult entertainment killing our children or is killing our children entertaining adults?" Marilyn Manson

Offline

#67 2008-12-21 11:08:21

stefanwilkens
Member
From: Enschede, the Netherlands
Registered: 2008-12-10
Posts: 624

Re: Shaman - libalpm frontend in Qt4

Shaman currently in repos, upon installation it creates .config with content in the users /home/

However, this .config is owned by root, not by the user. This causes shaman to fail on first launch, saying it does not have access to the config file in /home/user/.config/

Sollution was to changes ownership rights of .config.

Bug in the installer?


Arch i686 on Phenom X4 | GTX760

Offline

#68 2008-12-21 11:35:43

drf
Member
From: Milano, Italy
Registered: 2008-01-13
Posts: 113

Re: Shaman - libalpm frontend in Qt4

Just to write something, Shaman is not dead. At the moment I'm focusing on creating a dedicated library wrapper in Qt for Alpm, that I will use somewhere else, namely shaman 2, all chakra stuff and so on. Development is almost over, now I'm trying to integrate policykit in it, to make it even safer than before and sandbox a single process. Stay tuned smile

EDIT: Ah, I moved away from svn. You can find now Shaman at github, here: http://github.com/drf/shaman1/tree/master . There is a branch working with Aqpm.
Oh, and you can find Aqpm here: http://github.com/drf/aqpm/tree/master

Last edited by drf (2008-12-21 11:48:15)

Offline

#69 2009-01-12 14:37:06

ReaphSharc
Member
From: the Netherlands
Registered: 2007-11-05
Posts: 138
Website

Re: Shaman - libalpm frontend in Qt4

I've installed Shaman today, but when trying to run "Update database" it gives an "unexpected error".
I'm running it as a regular user and it did ask me for the root pwd (which I supplied). Anything I'm doing wrong?


Do you want a Bubble Icon? Feel free to submit your requests or personal creations to be included in future releases.
I'm 100% Linux!

Offline

#70 2009-01-12 15:33:03

Allan
Member
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,780
Website

Re: Shaman - libalpm frontend in Qt4

The solution I have seen to this is to check the permissions of your ~/.config/shaman (I think, could be a different path...).  It should be writeable by the user.

Offline

#71 2009-01-13 08:19:03

ReaphSharc
Member
From: the Netherlands
Registered: 2007-11-05
Posts: 138
Website

Re: Shaman - libalpm frontend in Qt4

Allan wrote:

The solution I have seen to this is to check the permissions of your ~/.config/shaman (I think, could be a different path...).  It should be writeable by the user.

It is:
$ ls -la .config/shaman/
total 5
drwxr-xr-x  2 gerritjo users  80 2009-01-12 15:29 .
drwxr-xr-x 17 gerritjo users 576 2009-01-12 08:51 ..
-rw-r--r--  1 gerritjo users 917 2009-01-12 15:37 shaman.conf

But despite this (I didn't change permissions, they seem to have been set properly) it still doesn't work. I've also tried to remove the file entirely, but that doesn't work either.


Do you want a Bubble Icon? Feel free to submit your requests or personal creations to be included in future releases.
I'm 100% Linux!

Offline

#72 2009-01-13 09:35:40

stefanwilkens
Member
From: Enschede, the Netherlands
Registered: 2008-12-10
Posts: 624

Re: Shaman - libalpm frontend in Qt4

Check the ownership rights of ~/.config itself. I've found that, after installation of shaman, ~./config is owned by root.

After having changed the ownership to my own username and group, things worked as they should. Not that this is a recent regression, installation was fine roughly a month ago.


Arch i686 on Phenom X4 | GTX760

Offline

#73 2009-01-13 12:37:54

ReaphSharc
Member
From: the Netherlands
Registered: 2007-11-05
Posts: 138
Website

Re: Shaman - libalpm frontend in Qt4

I've just checked it and ownership is fine... There is something silly going on, but I'm unsure what it is... sad
This is the output I get when I run it in the console:

Processing message 0 
Starting Auth Dialog 
Allocating Memory 
Memory allocated, copying string... 
String copied 
Inserting Reply 
Reply inserted 
Ok, streaming now the response 
PAM Transaction inited successfully! 
Auth failed! 
DB Update Finished

I thought I had typed the root password correctly, but perhaps not. The second attempt gave me:

Starting PAM Auth Routine, messages to process: 1 
Processing message 0 
Starting Auth Dialog 
Allocating Memory 
Memory allocated, copying string... 
String copied 
Inserting Reply 
Reply inserted 
Ok, streaming now the response 
PAM Transaction inited successfully! 
Authentication was successful! 
Root Privileges granted. 
Uid is: 1000 
/var/lib/pacman/core.db.tar.gz.part: Permission denied
/var/lib/pacman/extra.db.tar.gz.part: Permission denied
/var/lib/pacman/community.db.tar.gz.part: Permission denied
Root privileges retired. 
Database Update Performed 
DB Update Finished

The privileges of /var/lib/pacman looks like this:

$ ls -la /var/lib/pacman/
total 28
drwxr-xr-x   4 root root    96 2009-01-13 13:39 .
drwxr-xr-x  19 root root   520 2009-01-05 09:46 ..
drwxr-xr-x 764 root root 27896 2009-01-13 13:31 local
drwxr-xr-x   5 root root   128 2008-03-10 11:44 sync

.................... help? *gulp*

I really hope to get this up and running, because the app looks very promising.

Last edited by ReaphSharc (2009-01-13 12:42:41)


Do you want a Bubble Icon? Feel free to submit your requests or personal creations to be included in future releases.
I'm 100% Linux!

Offline

#74 2009-01-13 12:41:48

Allan
Member
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,780
Website

Re: Shaman - libalpm frontend in Qt4

I guessing it is this: http://bugs.archlinux.org/task/11467

I'm not sure if this was ever tracked down at the shaman devs end (the link to the upstream bug report is dead).

Offline

#75 2009-01-13 12:45:13

ReaphSharc
Member
From: the Netherlands
Registered: 2007-11-05
Posts: 138
Website

Re: Shaman - libalpm frontend in Qt4

Allan wrote:

I guessing it is this: http://bugs.archlinux.org/task/11467

I'm not sure if this was ever tracked down at the shaman devs end (the link to the upstream bug report is dead).

Perhaps it's something else, because Shaman doesn't hang on in my case (it simply can't update or install packages). It does work when I start it with gksudo, but I really want this to run as a normal user.


Do you want a Bubble Icon? Feel free to submit your requests or personal creations to be included in future releases.
I'm 100% Linux!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB