You are not logged in.

#176 2008-09-03 23:29:36

JesusRifle
Member
Registered: 2008-08-27
Posts: 14

Re: Acer Aspire One

Just installed AdnyRTR's kernel and things are now working! This is great many thanks to andy and thomasd aswell as others.
One problem I am seeing is this line at boot up

"modprobe: FATAL: Could not load /lib/modules/2.6.26-one/modules.dep: No such file or directory"

I've checked the directory mentioned and the file is there, and its not empty.... but thats about as far as I know with this one.

Again thanks for the help, this dosnt seem to make much of a difference but I would like to find out why this is happening.

Offline

#177 2008-09-04 08:40:38

thomasd
Member
Registered: 2008-08-11
Posts: 114

Re: Acer Aspire One

Could anyone getting 900fps in glxgears please post his/her xorg.conf to the wiki? I get only 290, so I think my xorg.conf is not perfect.

The version posted in the wiki does not contain any of the tweaks that have helped all the people here. I think when we have a good xorg.conf and an example /etc/fstab, then the "Warning: This article is incomplete" could be removed.

Offline

#178 2008-09-04 09:33:54

gothicknight
Member
From: Portugal
Registered: 2006-04-08
Posts: 219

Re: Acer Aspire One

Humm... strange I've tested the eth0 yesterday and it wasn't working for me either. My first thoughts were to some filesystem corruption and networkmanager flipped out on it, but now I think I'll try and test it without the cpufreq modules.

AFAIK, NIC cards are controlled by IRQ's which are timed by the kernel, which might be affected by changing the CPU frequency.
If the r8169 module isn't capable of handling that (or the hardware, which I doubt because Linpus use it) we can have problems communicating with the card.

One problem I've detected (and posted earlier here) is networkmanager detecting connection on eth0 although there was none.
I'm using ARCH vanilla kernel, but I think I'll try with Andy's to see if anything changes later on...

Offline

#179 2008-09-04 09:46:00

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,640

Re: Acer Aspire One

I've seen some regressions about r8169 posted to the lkml for 2.6.26.2 and .3 - maybe that's the reason.

Offline

#180 2008-09-04 10:28:22

gothicknight
Member
From: Portugal
Registered: 2006-04-08
Posts: 219

Re: Acer Aspire One

JesusRifle wrote:

"modprobe: FATAL: Could not load /lib/modules/2.6.26-one/modules.dep: No such file or directory"

Try using:

 sudo depmod -a

Offline

#181 2008-09-04 10:32:04

ichbinesderelch
Member
Registered: 2008-01-17
Posts: 203

Re: Acer Aspire One

when i wanna install the aspire kernel pack from andyrtr i just run out of space in my temp directy, installing through yaourt, any idea howto tell yaourt to use any other folder than temp for building? same happens with wine-git n stuff wink

and if i want to echo "1500" > /proc/sys/vm/dirty_writeback_centisecs i always get permission denied, and yes, i'm runnin it with sudo.

Last edited by ichbinesderelch (2008-09-04 13:14:29)

Offline

#182 2008-09-04 13:27:14

gothicknight
Member
From: Portugal
Registered: 2006-04-08
Posts: 219

Re: Acer Aspire One

ichbinesderelch: If you're mounting /tmp using tmpfs it's easier to raise the space available. Otherwise you could try mount a pendrive to /tmp or even mount -o bind another folder to it.


ichbinesderelch wrote:

and if i want to echo "1500" > /proc/sys/vm/dirty_writeback_centisecs i always get permission denied, and yes, i'm runnin it with sudo.

Try:

sudo bash
echo "1500" > /proc/sys/vm/dirty_writeback_centisecs

Offline

#183 2008-09-04 14:54:46

ichbinesderelch
Member
Registered: 2008-01-17
Posts: 203

Re: Acer Aspire One

thanks for the infos.. sudo bash worked just fine, where to put this to run it on startup? thx wink

Offline

#184 2008-09-05 08:50:54

gothicknight
Member
From: Portugal
Registered: 2006-04-08
Posts: 219

Re: Acer Aspire One

I've finaly tested carlocci's kernel with some slight modifications on module/in-kernel selection. Ethernet is working flawlessly even with cpufreq enabled, I still haven't got a chance to try WPA wireless ATM.

Just one thing to remark, the coretemp patch did NOT work with errors on dmesg:
  coretemp coretemp.0: Unable to read IA32_TEMPERATURE_TARGET MSR
  coretemp coretemp.1: Unable to read IA32_TEMPERATURE_TARGET MSR

EDIT: I forgot to mention I get to GDM under ~15 seconds smile no more udev delay

Last edited by gothicknight (2008-09-05 08:54:00)

Offline

#185 2008-09-05 18:49:15

how_gauche
Member
Registered: 2008-09-05
Posts: 7

Re: Acer Aspire One

Has anyone built a kernel with CONFIG_MMC_UNSAFE_RESUME set, and if so, does it fix the "suspend causes corruption on SD card" issue?

Offline

#186 2008-09-05 20:02:38

gothicknight
Member
From: Portugal
Registered: 2006-04-08
Posts: 219

Re: Acer Aspire One

I did, but haven't tried out yet :$

Edit: Just tried it, and works perfectly smile

Last edited by gothicknight (2008-09-05 20:06:43)

Offline

#187 2008-09-05 20:38:56

how_gauche
Member
Registered: 2008-09-05
Posts: 7

Re: Acer Aspire One

gothicknight wrote:

I did, but haven't tried out yet :$

Edit: Just tried it, and works perfectly smile

If you could post a kernel package, I'd appreciate it!

Offline

#188 2008-09-05 21:05:28

Determination
Member
From: Southern California
Registered: 2008-07-24
Posts: 27

Re: Acer Aspire One

awesome! That's great news! I tried the above-mentioned echo "mem" > /sys/power/state, but still didn't work. Looking forward to a new build! big_smile

edit: here's my xorg.conf: http://pastie.org/266959

gothicknight, what did you do to reduce the uevents time?

Last edited by Determination (2008-09-05 22:15:51)

Offline

#189 2008-09-06 02:15:20

carlocci
Member
From: Padova - Italy
Registered: 2008-02-12
Posts: 368

Re: Acer Aspire One

gothicknight wrote:

I've finaly tested carlocci's kernel with some slight modifications on module/in-kernel selection. Ethernet is working flawlessly even with cpufreq enabled, I still haven't got a chance to try WPA wireless ATM.

Just one thing to remark, the coretemp patch did NOT work with errors on dmesg:
  coretemp coretemp.0: Unable to read IA32_TEMPERATURE_TARGET MSR
  coretemp coretemp.1: Unable to read IA32_TEMPERATURE_TARGET MSR

EDIT: I forgot to mention I get to GDM under ~15 seconds smile no more udev delay

It works.
That just means that it doesn't have that.
See the bugzilla: http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=11161 (the patch will make it in 2.6.28)
In fact if you write sensors, you get the temperature of the two cores

edit: can you please share your config?
I would like to see what can be improved. At the moment I believe there are too many builtins and more modules should be added for bluetooth/irda.
I don't really know though, as this is the first kernel I built in a long long time (last one was a 2.4.xx).

Also, did you try building the intelfb module in the kernel?
Do you experience some garbage when zapping the X server? I'm using vesafb right now (because of a mistake) and I have some annoying vertical green lines in the upper middle part of the screen when zapping X. Of course the lines don't appear if I don't use vga= at boot time.

Last edited by carlocci (2008-09-06 02:28:23)

Offline

#190 2008-09-06 02:18:59

carlocci
Member
From: Padova - Italy
Registered: 2008-02-12
Posts: 368

Re: Acer Aspire One

how_gauche wrote:

Has anyone built a kernel with CONFIG_MMC_UNSAFE_RESUME set, and if so, does it fix the "suspend causes corruption on SD card" issue?

I thought about that when scrolling through the options. But it said experimental and I thought you could get away with a suspend script which unmounted the card before the suspend, mounted when resuming.

Offline

#191 2008-09-06 07:25:16

how_gauche
Member
Registered: 2008-09-05
Posts: 7

Re: Acer Aspire One

carlocci wrote:
how_gauche wrote:

Has anyone built a kernel with CONFIG_MMC_UNSAFE_RESUME set, and if so, does it fix the "suspend causes corruption on SD card" issue?

I thought about that when scrolling through the options. But it said experimental and I thought you could get away with a suspend script which unmounted the card before the suspend, mounted when resuming.

Well, I built a kernel with this option (based on the one posted above), and it does indeed fix the SD card corruption. When I resume from suspend, however, the wireless network goes away, never to return. Is anyone else getting this problem?

Offline

#192 2008-09-06 20:20:36

how_gauche
Member
Registered: 2008-09-05
Posts: 7

Re: Acer Aspire One

how_gauche wrote:
carlocci wrote:
how_gauche wrote:

Has anyone built a kernel with CONFIG_MMC_UNSAFE_RESUME set, and if so, does it fix the "suspend causes corruption on SD card" issue?

I thought about that when scrolling through the options. But it said experimental and I thought you could get away with a suspend script which unmounted the card before the suspend, mounted when resuming.

Well, I built a kernel with this option (based on the one posted above), and it does indeed fix the SD card corruption. When I resume from suspend, however, the wireless network goes away, never to return. Is anyone else getting this problem?

I think I fixed this. If you create the following script and stick it in /etc/pm/sleep.d, the wireless comes back (make sure to chmod +x):

#!/bin/bash

case $1 in
    thaw)
        /sbin/ifconfig ath0 down
        /sbin/ifconfig wifi0 down
        /usr/bin/madwifi-unload
        /sbin/modprobe ath_pci
        /sbin/ifconfig wifi0 up
        /sbin/ifconfig ath0 up
        ;;
    resume)
        /sbin/ifconfig ath0 down
        /sbin/ifconfig wifi0 down
        /usr/bin/madwifi-unload
        /sbin/modprobe ath_pci
        /sbin/ifconfig wifi0 up
        /sbin/ifconfig ath0 up
        ;;
    *)  
        ;;
esac

Offline

#193 2008-09-06 21:07:57

carlocci
Member
From: Padova - Italy
Registered: 2008-02-12
Posts: 368

Re: Acer Aspire One

how_gauche wrote:

however, the wireless network goes away, never to return. Is anyone else getting this problem?

I think I fixed this. If you create the following script and stick it in /etc/pm/sleep.d, the wireless comes back (make sure to chmod +x):

You could do something similar with the SD cards: a script which unmounts and remounts them.
We could enable the option in the kernel and then write a script which unmounts/remounts only the right card.

Offline

#194 2008-09-07 01:46:07

Determination
Member
From: Southern California
Registered: 2008-07-24
Posts: 27

Re: Acer Aspire One

I am completely stumped. I can't get my One to sleep successfully. I've tried for hours...

I've used echo mem, s2ram (which does not have the One in the whitelist), tried pm-suspend with all the quirks. I am at the end. yikes

Using kernel carlocci posted earlier on this page. Everything is up to date (besides kernel of course)

my rc.conf :

#c
# /etc/rc.conf - Main Configuration for Arch Linux
#

# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
# LOCALIZATION
# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
#
# LOCALE: available languages can be listed with the 'locale -a' command
# HARDWARECLOCK: set to "UTC" or "localtime"
# USEDIRECTISA: use direct I/O requests instead of /dev/rtc for hwclock
# TIMEZONE: timezones are found in /usr/share/zoneinfo
# KEYMAP: keymaps are found in /usr/share/kbd/keymaps
# CONSOLEFONT: found in /usr/share/kbd/consolefonts (only needed for non-US)
# CONSOLEMAP: found in /usr/share/kbd/consoletrans
# USECOLOR: use ANSI color sequences in startup messages
#
LOCALE="en_US.utf8"
HARDWARECLOCK="localtime"
USEDIRECTISA="no"
TIMEZONE="Canada/Pacific"
KEYMAP="us"
CONSOLEFONT=
CONSOLEMAP=
USECOLOR="yes"

# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
# HARDWARE
# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
#
# MOD_AUTOLOAD: Allow autoloading of modules at boot and when needed
# MOD_BLACKLIST: Prevent udev from loading these modules
# MODULES: Modules to load at boot-up. Prefix with a ! to blacklist.
#
# NOTE: Use of 'MOD_BLACKLIST' is deprecated. Please use ! in the MODULES array.
#
MOD_AUTOLOAD="yes"
#MOD_BLACKLIST=() #deprecated
MODULES=(r8169 !ath5k !memstick ath_hal ath_pci wlan acpi acpi-cpufreq cpufreq_ondemand)

# Scan for LVM volume groups at startup, required if you use LVM
USELVM="no"

# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
# NETWORKING
# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
#
# HOSTNAME: Hostname of machine. Should also be put in /etc/hosts
#
HOSTNAME="myhost"

# Use 'ifconfig -a' or 'ls /sys/class/net/' to see all available interfaces.
#
# Interfaces to start at boot-up (in this order)
# Declare each interface then list in INTERFACES
#   - prefix an entry in INTERFACES with a ! to disable it
#   - no hyphens in your interface names - Bash doesn't like it
# 
# DHCP:     Set your interface to "dhcp" (eth0="dhcp")
# Wireless: See network profiles below
#
# eth0="eth0 192.168.0.2 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.0.255"
# eth0="dhcp"
# ath0="dhcp"
INTERFACES=(!lo !eth0)


# Routes to start at boot-up (in this order)
# Declare each route then list in ROUTES
#   - prefix an entry in ROUTES with a ! to disable it
#
gateway="default gw 192.168.0.1"
ROUTES=(!gateway)
 
# Enable these network profiles at boot-up.  These are only useful
# if you happen to need multiple network configurations (ie, laptop users)
#   - set to 'menu' to present a menu during boot-up (dialog package required)
#   - prefix an entry with a ! to disable it
#
# Network profiles are found in /etc/network.d
#
# This now requires the netcfg package
#
#NETWORKS=(main)

# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
# DAEMONS
# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
#
# Daemons to start at boot-up (in this order)
#   - prefix a daemon with a ! to disable it
#   - prefix a daemon with a @ to start it up in the background
#
DAEMONS=(cpufreq syslog-ng hal wicd @samba !network @netfs !crond)

Are there any problematic modules that I should disable? Am I missing something obvious?

Last edited by Determination (2008-09-07 01:46:42)

Offline

#195 2008-09-07 06:12:26

how_gauche
Member
Registered: 2008-09-05
Posts: 7

Re: Acer Aspire One

Hey guys --- another useful tip. I couldn't get sound to work upon resume, using a slightly modified version of the kernel config posted by carlocci --- at least not without killing gdm and running

# modprobe -r snd_hda_intel
# modprobe snd_hda_intel

The fix seems to be to put the following line somewhere in /etc/modprobe.d/:

options snd-hda-intel model=acer

The sound is now working for me upon resume from suspend.

Offline

#196 2008-09-07 17:02:19

gothicknight
Member
From: Portugal
Registered: 2006-04-08
Posts: 219

Re: Acer Aspire One

I'll try late today to upload my kernel build as my config.


Right now, I'm only having a problem with the wireless card doesn't restart well, I must remove and load the ath_pci module to get it back to work.

Offline

#197 2008-09-07 18:42:00

vegai
Developer/TU
Registered: 2004-05-19
Posts: 41
Website

Re: Acer Aspire One

Andy's kernel has one particularily nasty problem: CONFIG_MMC_DEBUG=y

If you combine that with /var/log/ mounted as tmpfs, as some instructions recommend, you're gonna run out of memory rather quickly.  If your /var/log is mounted on SSD or MMC, you're killing that, then smile

Offline

#198 2008-09-07 22:21:02

gothicknight
Member
From: Portugal
Registered: 2006-04-08
Posts: 219

Re: Acer Aspire One

carlocci wrote:

edit: can you please share your config?
I would like to see what can be improved. At the moment I believe there are too many builtins and more modules should be added for bluetooth/irda.
I don't really know though, as this is the first kernel I built in a long long time (last one was a 2.4.xx).

Also, did you try building the intelfb module in the kernel?
Do you experience some garbage when zapping the X server? I'm using vesafb right now (because of a mistake) and I have some annoying vertical green lines in the upper middle part of the screen when zapping X. Of course the lines don't appear if I don't use vga= at boot time.

Here it is: http://clientes.netvisao.pt/gtknight/Kconfig

Regarding the screen corruption, I don't have any issues and I use vga=789 in grub

title Arch Linux (2.6.26.3-one)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-one root=/dev/sda1 ro video=789

You can add 'quiet' to the grub line to have less output.

I hope this can help wink

Edit: Tomorrow I'll put the kernel binary online, as I don't have the package made only installed.

Last edited by gothicknight (2008-09-07 22:22:52)

Offline

#199 2008-09-08 08:16:22

gothicknight
Member
From: Portugal
Registered: 2006-04-08
Posts: 219

Re: Acer Aspire One

An here's the binary package. ftp://ftp.netvisao.pt/kernel26-one-2.6. … pkg.tar.gz

It is a replace to the kernel26 package as for the madwifi-hal from Andy. It's the same PKGBUILD as carlocci's with some modifications on the Kconfig.

Last edited by gothicknight (2008-09-08 08:17:25)

Offline

#200 2008-09-08 08:27:47

thomasd
Member
Registered: 2008-08-11
Posts: 114

Re: Acer Aspire One

Hi all,

please excuse my stupid questions: If I compile a custom kernel like above with madwifi-hal included, will I have to uninstall the copy of madwifi-hal that I have already installed? Or do I have to keep that to work with the stock kernel, if I should ever switch back?

BTW, I just came across a blog post stating that the Intel Compiler ICC has Atom-specific optimization switches:

http://macles.blogspot.com/2008/09/inte … -atom.html

This guy compared the results with GCC and saw an improvement. So may it be possible to compile the custom kernel with ICC instead of GCC to improve the performance?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB