You are not logged in.

#7001 2015-07-08 20:15:28

ChemBro
Member
Registered: 2008-10-22
Posts: 703

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

According to the release notes, Catalyst 15.7 has xorg-server 1.17 support.

Offline

#7002 2015-07-08 20:20:41

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,349
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

gotta sleep, will update tomorrow after getting back home, so in 18-20hrs from now on

Offline

#7003 2015-07-08 23:26:57

Xabre
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2009-03-19
Posts: 725

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Sometimes I wonder why do I even bother. Ever since Xorg 1.16, it won't work for me.

Used catalyst-total as a base, modified it for 15.7 driver.

Had to disable kolasa-3.19-get_cpu_var.patch and kolasa_4.1_remove-IRQF_DISABLED.patch because they fail, but after that it builds with no complaints.

However. My machine is still Intel Haswell HD4600 + AMD Radeon 8750M PXP combo, and it still comes down to this:

blah,blah, seems like a normal start
........
[    41.779] (--) fglrx(0): Linear framebuffer (phys) at 0x90000000
[    41.779] (--) fglrx(0): MMIO registers at 0xb0900000
[    41.779] (--) fglrx(0): I/O port at 0x00004000
[    41.779] (==) fglrx(0): ROM-BIOS at 0x000c0000
[    41.779] (EE) fglrx(0): failed to map MMIO register space!(EE) fglrx(0): MapMMIO failed
[    41.779] (EE) fglrx(0): PreInitAdapter failed
[    41.779] (EE) fglrx(0): PreInit failed
[    41.779] (II) fglrx(0): === [xdl_xs117_atiddxPreInit] === end
...
blah blah, server dies

I'll just rephrase Linus: AMD F U.

Over and out, am done with Catalyst.

Last edited by Xabre (2015-07-09 14:14:24)

Offline

#7004 2015-07-09 02:23:46

babel
Member
From: Mexico City
Registered: 2012-05-21
Posts: 47
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Holzhaus wrote:

The new Catalyst 15.7 drivers have been released!

Linux x86: http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/d … =Linux+x86
Ubuntu x86 32 Bit: http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/d … ntu+x86+32
Ubuntu x86 64 Bit: http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/d … ntu+x86+64

New Features:
AMD PowerXpress support for laptops equipped with Intel 6th generation (Skylake) CPUs
Linux Platform Atomics & SVM Fine Grain Buffer support for Carrizo APUs
Multi-Device support for OpenCL 2.0

Vi0L0, can you update your repo?

Who would have tought! I was lucky after all. I'll wait to the new version and hope this work.

Vi0L0, I really appreciate your work. Thank you for doing it.

Last edited by babel (2015-07-09 16:44:21)

Offline

#7005 2015-07-09 02:26:05

babel
Member
From: Mexico City
Registered: 2012-05-21
Posts: 47
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Xabre wrote:

Sometimes I wonder why do I even bother. Ever since Xorg 1.16, it won't work for me.

Used catalyst-total as a base, modified it for 15.7 driver.

Had to disable kolasa-3.19-get_cpu_var.patch and kolasa_4.1_remove-IRQF_DISABLED.patch because they fail, but after that it builds with no complaints.

However. My machine is still Intel Haswell HD4600 + AMD Radeon 8750M PXP combo, and it still comes down to this:

blah,blah, seems like a normal start
........
]1.779] (--) fglrx(0): Linear framebuffer (phys) at 0x90000000
[    41.779] (--) fglrx(0): MMIO registers at 0xb0900000
[    41.779] (--) fglrx(0): I/O port at 0x00004000
[    41.779] (==) fglrx(0): ROM-BIOS at 0x000c0000
[    41.779] (EE) fglrx(0): failed to map MMIO register space!(EE) fglrx(0): MapMMIO failed
[    41.779] (EE) fglrx(0): PreInitAdapter failed
[    41.779] (EE) fglrx(0): PreInit failed
[    41.779] (II) fglrx(0): === [xdl_xs117_atiddxPreInit] === end
...
blah blah, server dies

I'll just rephrase Linus: AMD F U.

Over and out, am done with Catalyst.

I understand how you feel. Nvidia support for Linux is awful, but AMD's is something that cannot be described with words. I recommend you to wait for this new version and give it a tray, after all is already here. If you cannot make it work then you can forget about catalyst. Just my opinion.

Last edited by babel (2015-07-09 02:26:52)

Offline

#7006 2015-07-09 15:20:08

minego
Member
Registered: 2015-07-09
Posts: 7

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Vi0L0 wrote:

gotta sleep, will update tomorrow after getting back home, so in 18-20hrs from now on

Will 15.7 be put into [catalyst] or [catalyst-stable]?

Offline

#7007 2015-07-09 16:38:07

kiodo1981
Member
Registered: 2013-08-22
Posts: 2

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Is solved the graphics bug in chrome/chromium?
Thank you.
Sorry for my bad english.

Offline

#7008 2015-07-09 17:14:33

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,349
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

minego wrote:
Vi0L0 wrote:

gotta sleep, will update tomorrow after getting back home, so in 18-20hrs from now on

Will 15.7 be put into [catalyst] or [catalyst-stable]?

If it will pass tests then to both I guess.

kiodo1981 wrote:

Is solved the graphics bug in chrome/chromium?
Thank you.
Sorry for my bad english.

Nope, bug is still here, I only know one solution - to add --disable-gpu execute option to the chromium, ie:

# cat /usr/share/applications/chromium.desktop | grep -i exec
Exec=chromium %U --disable-gpu

I just started, gimme some time for more tests, should complete within 2hrs

Offline

#7009 2015-07-09 17:31:37

minego
Member
Registered: 2015-07-09
Posts: 7

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Vi0L0 wrote:
minego wrote:
Vi0L0 wrote:

gotta sleep, will update tomorrow after getting back home, so in 18-20hrs from now on

Will 15.7 be put into [catalyst] or [catalyst-stable]?

If it will pass tests then to both I guess.

Thank you. I appreciate your work a lot.

Offline

#7010 2015-07-09 18:49:51

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,349
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

15.7

OpenGL is now in 4.5 version, it brings fixes for some titles like borderlands 2 which now works well, still looks like crap smile but at least its fluid. Even warsow seems snappier, but it's not mindblowing. Dota 2 is kinda laggy in some situations, plus it crashed on exit (sic!) and I wasn't able to kill its process (sadface, at least it wasnt eating resources, only ate some ram and sit)...

They fixed vaapi which latelly wasn't working with -va vaapi option.

It does support xserver 1.17, but tty - just like with ubuntu 15.4 version - is all black - another sadpanda.

And ofcourse glitching (on plasma DE) chromium - cherry on the top.



I don't think it deserves [catalyst-stable]...
I will put it into [catalyst] for now, catalyst-test@AUR4 already is updated

Last edited by Vi0L0 (2015-07-09 18:50:38)

Offline

#7011 2015-07-09 19:18:33

minego
Member
Registered: 2015-07-09
Posts: 7

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

How does Borderlands 2 look like crap? I've only ever seen it in Linux with the catalyst driver.

Offline

#7012 2015-07-09 19:19:40

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,349
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Even on highest details it looks much worse than warsow here.
(I also didnt play it on windows, seen it on yt though)

Last edited by Vi0L0 (2015-07-09 19:20:37)

Offline

#7013 2015-07-09 19:21:03

minego
Member
Registered: 2015-07-09
Posts: 7

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

I guess ignorance is bliss. It looks good to me, but I have nothing to compare it to.

Offline

#7014 2015-07-09 19:52:58

ChemBro
Member
Registered: 2008-10-22
Posts: 703

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Vi0L0 wrote:

Even on highest details it looks much worse than warsow here.
(I also didnt play it on windows, seen it on yt though)

Well, a little bit off-topic, but afaik, in Linux, you have to enable some effects by yourself (like lens flare or bloom and such) in a config file, because Aspyr deactivated that via the game for AMD cards. The game then looks like the Windows version, besides the PhysX effects, that we won't get (not even the Nvidia users).

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CMiqPapUjHQ

I actually made I video about that.

"To enable effects like dynamic lights, bloom, lense flare and so on, edit "~/.local/share/aspyr-media/borderl­ands\ 2/willowgame/config/willowengine.ini";. Under "[SystemSettings]", set your preferred effect to "True"."

Last edited by ChemBro (2015-07-09 20:00:39)

Offline

#7015 2015-07-09 20:01:18

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,349
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Oh, good to know smile will check, looks better but still ... well I won't comment smile Let's just say that some games don't have to look awesome to be awesome ;P

Offline

#7016 2015-07-09 20:03:47

HanFox
Member
Registered: 2015-06-09
Posts: 9

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

minego wrote:

How does Borderlands 2 look like crap? I've only ever seen it in Linux with the catalyst driver.

Likely he stated that BL2 looks crap on Linux because Aspyr (who ported it) have turned off dynamic lighting and bloom. You can turn it back on in the willowgame.ini and it looks fine. At least to me and I've played it on Windows... (this goes for BL:TPS, too).

By default that ini is located at: ~/.local/share/aspyr-media/borderlands 2 [or] borderlands the pre-sequel/willowgame/config/willowgame.ini and look in [SystemSettings]

Also, what's the Chromium bug? I've not noticed any issues with it...

Last edited by HanFox (2015-07-09 20:06:16)

Offline

#7017 2015-07-09 20:08:31

ChemBro
Member
Registered: 2008-10-22
Posts: 703

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

HanFox wrote:

Also, what's the Chromium bug? I've not noticed any issues with it...

Everything, that uses Chromium (maybe in combination with KDE Plasma, which I use) sometimes is completely blue. I see that in Opera and Spotify (which means, Spotify uses Chromium... tongue).

Offline

#7018 2015-07-09 20:08:46

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,349
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

HanFox wrote:

Also, what's the Chromium bug? I've not noticed any issues with it...

Lucker wink don't have screenshot but those glitches are ugly, messing with whole web content and making it totally unreadable, when happened it also have negative impact on performance of writing on text fields (like this forum one) which is really slow

ChemBro wrote:

sometimes is completely blue

something new, mine is different, more like a collage made with a pieces of textures of the web content

Last edited by Vi0L0 (2015-07-09 20:17:29)

Offline

#7019 2015-07-09 20:20:58

minego
Member
Registered: 2015-07-09
Posts: 7

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

HanFox wrote:

Likely he stated that BL2 looks crap on Linux because Aspyr (who ported it) have turned off dynamic lighting and bloom. You can turn it back on in the willowgame.ini and it looks fine. At least to me and I've played it on Windows... (this goes for BL:TPS, too).

By default that ini is located at: ~/.local/share/aspyr-media/borderlands 2 [or] borderlands the pre-sequel/willowgame/config/willowgame.ini and look in [SystemSettings]

Ah, thank you. I'll try tweaking those settings.

I often dislike bloom anyway, but dynamic lighting would likely be nice. I'm on an R9 270X and currently get 40-50 fps in B2 with every option exposed in the game at the maximum.

Offline

#7020 2015-07-09 20:22:22

minego
Member
Registered: 2015-07-09
Posts: 7

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

I frequently see chromium windows turning blue, but as soon as I move my mouse over the window it corrects itself. Slightly annoying, but not enough to really worry about i.

Offline

#7021 2015-07-09 22:14:08

HanFox
Member
Registered: 2015-06-09
Posts: 9

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Oh weird, the biggest "issue" I get with visual corruption is just occasionally the mouse cursor gets stuck with a mixture of different things (i.e. finger/normal arrow/typing icon), but just flinging it around usually fixes it. Not even sure that's tied to Chromium.

Besides my issue that my memory Mhz doesn't get dynamically managed I think I'm being pretty lucky with Catalyst this install around tongue

Maybe my 290X is just doing something right, heh.

Offline

#7022 2015-07-09 22:50:16

minego
Member
Registered: 2015-07-09
Posts: 7

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Turning on bloom and shadows does make it look a lot better. It costs me a bit in frame rate, but I'm pretty happy as long as I stay over 30fps and it is.

Offline

#7023 2015-07-10 08:00:47

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,349
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

HanFox wrote:

Oh weird, the biggest "issue" I get with visual corruption is just occasionally the mouse cursor gets stuck with a mixture of different things (i.e. finger/normal arrow/typing icon), but just flinging it around usually fixes it. Not even sure that's tied to Chromium.

Besides my issue that my memory Mhz doesn't get dynamically managed I think I'm being pretty lucky with Catalyst this install around tongue

Maybe my 290X is just doing something right, heh.

And you never experienced chromium gliches on plasma DE 5.x with desktop effects enabled? Here's some screen from ubuntu user: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/298 … e-glitches
Yesterday I found that setting "Keep window thumbnail" to "Always" in systemsettings5 is helping a lot, only one little glitch in long time. But have to test it for longer time to confirm, maybe some other kwin options are also important. Will check it back in home. No matter what I can always simulate such glitches on smplayer layer - when chromium enabled I run video through smplayer with vo vaapi and va vaapi and I see glitches on the video clip.

Offline

#7024 2015-07-10 10:20:31

HanFox
Member
Registered: 2015-06-09
Posts: 9

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Vi0L0 wrote:

And you never experienced chromium gliches on plasma DE 5.x with desktop effects enabled? Here's some screen from ubuntu user: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/298 … e-glitches
Yesterday I found that setting "Keep window thumbnail" to "Always" in systemsettings5 is helping a lot, only one little glitch in long time. But have to test it for longer time to confirm, maybe some other kwin options are also important. Will check it back in home. No matter what I can always simulate such glitches on smplayer layer - when chromium enabled I run video through smplayer with vo vaapi and va vaapi and I see glitches on the video clip.

Ah, well, that may explain it because I use Xfce (I didn't realize if you earlier said it was an issue with KDE/Plasma). So it may be DE specific?

I have, however, had issues getting vaapi to work in SMplayer (I had issues installing the mplayer-vaapi package after it was dropped and found no obvious direct alternative or fix to it). I now let SMplayer use mpv instead of mplayer and have Default set in the Video section and I'm under the impression it's working as intended. I likely tested it properly at the time.

Last edited by HanFox (2015-07-10 10:21:08)

Offline

#7025 2015-07-10 17:41:11

ChemBro
Member
Registered: 2008-10-22
Posts: 703

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Vi0L0 wrote:

Yesterday I found that setting "Keep window thumbnail" to "Always" in systemsettings5 is helping a lot

Where do I find that? My KDE is in German and I don't find that option.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB