You are not logged in.

#2201 2010-08-12 14:49:07

dcc24
Member
Registered: 2009-10-31
Posts: 723

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Vi0L0 wrote:

There's no need of updating from 1.8.2-rc2 to 1.8.2 because there is no difference between them.
Quoting xserver 1.8.2 announce:
"no new commits over RC2"

I know, see the comments on the package smile


It is better to keep your mouth shut and be thought a fool than to open it and remove all doubt. (Mark Twain)

My AUR packages

Offline

#2202 2010-08-12 15:07:24

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,306
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

dcc24 wrote:

I know, see the comments on the package smile

Ok. But:

dcc24 wrote:

@Vi0L0: If I recall correctly, you have this package in [catalyst]. If so, can you update it as well?

i really don't wanna waste my time on doing absolutely unneeded version update.

Offline

#2203 2010-08-12 15:54:10

dcc24
Member
Registered: 2009-10-31
Posts: 723

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Vi0L0 wrote:

i really don't wanna waste my time on doing absolutely unneeded version update.

Fair enough smile


It is better to keep your mouth shut and be thought a fool than to open it and remove all doubt. (Mark Twain)

My AUR packages

Offline

#2204 2010-08-13 17:20:07

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,306
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

[catalyst] repo update:
catalyst-10.7-3 package was update mainly because version 10.7-2 was somehow bypassing Arch Way - i thought it's necessary to make catalyst work always and with every kernel update, and i know no other way to do this without changing arch's config files. But i was too "egoistic" (ye, this word should fit), and please forgive me. Now catalyst package meets KISS rule "user know better" again, and 'auto re-compilation of fglrx module when kernel update' option is OFF by default (when you are installing it, not updating), and every user can decide which way of building fglrx module s/he prefer - manual or scripted/automatic.
It's very easy to turn automatic re-compilation on, with command:

# catalyst_build_module auto

or turn it off with:

# catalyst_build_module autooff

(note that if you are updating from 10.7-2 to 10.7-3 auto re-compilation should be enabled [because 10.7-2 made entries, and 10.7-3 isn't removing it while installing], but still please type 'catalyst_build_module auto' to be sure it's enabled or type 'catalyst_build_module autooff' to disable it.)
+ catalyst 10.7-3 brings new functionality:

# catalyst_build_module all

which will try to build fglrx module for every working system's kernel.

Also there is a new package called catalyst-module-only, which brings working fglrx module for stock ARCH kernel. It is directed to people who are getting problems with compilation.
Note versioning of this package - 10.7-34, it's telling with which catalyst it is working and which ARCH stock kernel it supports (currently 2.6.34-ARCH).

Soon i'll update wiki.

Last edited by Vi0L0 (2010-08-13 21:36:40)

Offline

#2205 2010-08-14 05:18:21

subzero316
Member
From: Melbourne
Registered: 2010-05-03
Posts: 28
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Atlast shifted to catalyst 10.7 from 10.5 (10.6 had tooo many black atifacts) With 10.7 it is rare.
One major change that I noticed was the GPU usage it had shot up from 40% to 70% for 1080p with CPU still <10%.
Also updated to KDE 4.5. Dolphin crashes for no reason, X usage gets high (Nearly 100%) often and Plasma-desktop keeps using a minmum of 14%cpu going way up like X.

EDIT: Why would anyone need 12 plasma activities!!! roll

Last edited by subzero316 (2010-08-14 12:37:54)

Offline

#2206 2010-08-14 13:52:15

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,306
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

subzero316 wrote:

Also updated to KDE 4.5. Dolphin crashes for no reason, X usage gets high (Nearly 100%) often and Plasma-desktop keeps using a minmum of 14%cpu going way up like X.

EDIT: Why would anyone need 12 plasma activities!!! roll

I also don't like new kde 4.5. Mostly because it's slower than 4.4, rendering colour schemas in different way than 4.4 line - so my own beloved schema looks bad now and there no way to fix it, it's catching some freezes without good reason, amarok crashes when building music library (i guess it may be fixed with new amarok's build), of course it's not working with my older .kde4, and smplayer is generating green artifacts with some fullhd movies. So 4.5 is taking much of functionality, and giving absolutely nothing.
Plus don't forget to disable blur effect cuz it's not working well with catalyst - problems with maximizing/minimizing/resizing windows (at least with ATi 2D accel)

Offline

#2207 2010-08-15 04:03:10

subzero316
Member
From: Melbourne
Registered: 2010-05-03
Posts: 28
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Vi0L0 wrote:

I also don't like new kde 4.5. Mostly because it's slower than 4.4, rendering colour schemas in different way than 4.4 line - so my own beloved schema looks bad now and there no way to fix it, it's catching some freezes without good reason, amarok crashes when building music library (i guess it may be fixed with new amarok's build), of course it's not working with my older .kde4, and smplayer is generating green artifacts with some fullhd movies. So 4.5 is taking much of functionality, and giving absolutely nothing.
Plus don't forget to disable blur effect cuz it's not working well with catalyst - problems with maximizing/minimizing/resizing windows (at least with ATi 2D accel)

+1 on the Blur Effects. It was the first thing I did in KDE 4.5 It looks nice though too bad its unusable.
+1 on Amarok, I did have the issue with amarok even on 4.4.x. But only once, sencond time I load it it runs smooth.
The CPU usage by X had dropped and stayed <10%  all the time after I enabled Direct Rendering.
But the Plasma keeps using 10 - 20% CPU with NO WIDGETS on Desktop(except panel).
On the atrifacts It disappeared after I reinstalled your catalyst/mplayer-vaapi and new_xvba/* But It flickering and artifacts reappear if I suspend/resume. I have to logout and login for it to disappear(Reload the catalyst driver).

Offline

#2208 2010-08-15 23:33:58

DemonHypnos
Member
Registered: 2010-08-15
Posts: 1

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Hi, I've been having weird issues with XvBA on the laptop version of the ATI Radeon HD4670, with Catalyst 10.7 and mplayer-vaapi, xvba-video, and libva from catalyst repo.

When running normally (without connecting to external monitors) launching mplayer with -vo vaapi:gl and -va vaapi results in a system hang (meaning I have to hard reboot), but when connected to an external monitor through HDMI, XvBA runs fine with no system hangs.

vainfo outputs this:

libva: libva version 0.31.1-sds1
Xlib:  extension "XFree86-DRI" missing on display ":0.0".
libva: va_getDriverName() returns 0
libva: Trying to open /usr/lib/va/drivers/fglrx_drv_video.so
libva: va_openDriver() returns 0
vainfo: VA API version: 0.31
vainfo: Driver version: Splitted-Desktop Systems XvBA backend for VA API - 0.7.2
vainfo: Supported profile and entrypoints
      VAProfileMPEG2Simple            :    VAEntrypointIDCT
      VAProfileMPEG2Main              :    VAEntrypointIDCT
      VAProfileH264High               :    VAEntrypointVLD
      VAProfileVC1Advanced            :    VAEntrypointVLD

Anyone else experiencing similar issues?

Offline

#2209 2010-08-18 06:45:54

blacksmith
Member
Registered: 2010-08-18
Posts: 2

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

High all,
I have a small problem. I have been using ATI cards with  the FGLRX driver since radeon 3870 with no problems till now. I have a number of systems currently both running debian testing. the first has an Radeon 4870 using catalyst 10.5 runs perfectly. I have tried 10.6 and 10.7 but both suffered the problem already mentioned in these pages with firefox.
Now the current problem, I have purchased an 5870. This was briefly tried in and ASUS P7P55D-E-Deluxe running debian testing updated some months ago. Kernel is a custom compiled 2.6.32.9. The system previously had an NVidia GTX 260, the driver for it was removed with the NVidia provided tools and FGLRX was installed using the AMD provided package with no problems. The 5870 is great in Windows a real good gaming card. Under linux 3D acceleration appears to be OK. Videos played OK but 2D was pathetic to say the least. The monitor is a SAMSUNG 305T running at 2560x1600. One can see it redrawing the background would probably take at least a 10th of a second.
At this stage of the Driver would this be regarded as normal. What I would like to know is is this problem worth chasing at this stage. Do not mind playing around with it if an improvement can be found. I have been running Linux since mid 1993 (kernel 0.96d) so I am quite used to giving it a go.

Any sugestions also would be much appreciated.

Offline

#2210 2010-08-18 13:12:32

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,306
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

@blacksmith:
Im guessing that you did 'aticonfig --initial' after installing catalyst, but still:
* does your xorg.conf looks good? i mean is there 'Driver "fglrx"' in 'Section "Device"'?
* are there any fglrx errors in /var/log/Xorg.0.log (you can actually paste it's content here or on some paste-bin site and link us to it)?
You can also check ~/.xsession-errors file.
You also didn't write are you using composite, and if any - what renderer are you using (but i guess that it shouldn't affect on poor desktop experience).
Plus is Ati 2D Acceleration enabled?  You can check it out in mentioned log file:

ATI 2D Acceleration Architecture enabled

If you don't see any errors in the log, and ATi 2D Accel is enabled maybe it's all because of this 2D Accel - to turn it off first kill you X server and type

# aticonfig --set-pcs-str=DDX,ForceXAA,TRUE

Offline

#2211 2010-08-18 19:39:55

foutrelis
Developer/TU
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2008-07-28
Posts: 675
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

I have added mplayer-vaapi to [community] (aur-general thread).

It should work the same as the package from [catalyst], but feedback is always welcome. I suppose it could also be removed from the catalyst repo.

Offline

#2212 2010-08-18 21:46:46

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,306
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

@foutrelis: Thank you smile. I've just removed mplayer-vaapi from [catalyst]

Offline

#2213 2010-08-19 01:20:21

sesh
Member
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2008-07-21
Posts: 7
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

I'm having trouble getting compiz to work with the latest driver in AUR and a HD5750 on a pretty fresh install of Arch.

To save re-posting a heap of stuff here, I was hoping someone could have a quick look at this thread:

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=811405

I'm sure it's something completely stupid that I've forgotten to do. I just can't figure out what it is...

Offline

#2214 2010-08-19 03:35:51

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,306
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

@sesh:
1. Reinstall catalyst
2. Is that your full xorg.conf? Cuz some important Sections are missing like ie. :

Section "DRI"
        Mode         0666
EndSection

If that's not helping - as always please provide your /var/log/Xorg.0.log smile

Offline

#2215 2010-08-19 19:58:27

Apocalypsus
Member
Registered: 2010-02-25
Posts: 20
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Hey guys,
Our repo server is currently on maintenance. If your DNS servers aren't updating immediately maybe you'll be unable to use it for a white (a few hours). Sorry for the inconvenience!

Offline

#2216 2010-08-20 02:45:12

mDuo13
Member
Registered: 2010-04-25
Posts: 90

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

So I have been trying to play Starcraft 2 under Arch; it works great except that once in a while -- probably 50% of the time in online multiplayer -- it locks up my computer (both displays go blank and the keyboard stops responding, though other things like Skype continue to work in the background) and I have to hard-reboot. People on WINE AppDB seem to think it's my display adapter's fault. What do you think? Is there a way I can test this? Is there a solution?

Catalyst 10.7, Radeon HD 5770, xorg 1.8.1, kernel 2.6.35-rc6

Offline

#2217 2010-08-20 12:38:50

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,306
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

mDuo13 wrote:

So I have been trying to play Starcraft 2 under Arch; it works great except that once in a while -- probably 50% of the time in online multiplayer -- it locks up my computer (both displays go blank and the keyboard stops responding, though other things like Skype continue to work in the background) and I have to hard-reboot. People on WINE AppDB seem to think it's my display adapter's fault. What do you think? Is there a way I can test this? Is there a solution?

Catalyst 10.7, Radeon HD 5770, xorg 1.8.1, kernel 2.6.35-rc6

This is really interesting question.  Even in more general point of view - "is catalyst reporting hardlock in any way?" Right now i dunno how to answer this question, i have no idea how to force my gpu to hardlock, although i think theres no such reporting. Too bad that Linux catalyst isn't supporting vpu recovery... Because of no right answer from quick search - I did ask this question on irc, but till now theres no answer.
So yes - i think the wine forum user is right and hes words "It looks like that your display adapter crashes because of overheating. This is well known problem for Starcraft II as it doesn't limit fps." are telling true.
You are saying that system is still working so could you try to login to it via ssh (from the other machine) and ie. restart X?
Also i found a way to limit fps in SC2 - it is just a fud, it's solution for MacOS and apple's macbook where the problem of overheating also exist, but i believe it should work:
put those lines to variables.txt (in MacOS placed in ~/Documents/Blizzard/Starcraft II/variables.txt, so you have to search it on your own):

frameratecap=40
frameratecapGlue=30

Of course you can change values of this variables.

Edit: if such hardlock reporting exist it is possible to write script which is searching presence of hardlock in some log file and then restarting X/DM.
Also instead of reseting it's safer to enable acpi support so you may press the power button and wait for system's halt - that way you will avoid any potential data lose.
@mDuo13: if you are able to login via ssh when hardlock could you paste /var/log/Xorg.0.log and output of 'dmesg | grep fgl' command (before restarting X)?
If you arent able maybe /var/log/Xorg.1.log still exist and you can paste it here?

Last edited by Vi0L0 (2010-08-20 13:27:19)

Offline

#2218 2010-08-21 08:25:42

blacksmith
Member
Registered: 2010-08-18
Posts: 2

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Many thanks for your reply ViOLO, one of the main things I was after was should the 2D Aceleration be working. The answer appears to be yes so I will do more testing.

The xorg.log was checked and it looked OK (no obvious errors) but I did not know what errors may show up. There was an "acceleration enabled" line in  there but I do not think it was ATI 2D.

I will give it another couple of weeks and give it a go and try a few things (including your sugestions) since the device should be working.

As I said I have been using FGLRX since the 3870 days and have never had any trouble with it, FGLRX usually just works.

Thanks again,
I will post any progress,
Blacksmith

Last edited by blacksmith (2010-08-21 08:35:29)

Offline

#2219 2010-08-21 10:00:47

agapito
Member
From: Spain
Registered: 2008-11-13
Posts: 495

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Do you have memory consumptions problems? I have a core i5-750 with 4 gigs of RAM and i am using catalyst 10.7 for my HD 5770. I am using KDE 4.5 with kwin effects on. At this moment (after 21 hours using my comp) X process eats 748 MB of RES memory and plasma-desktop eats 357 MB and growing up. When i restart X server memory usage is normal. I don't know if this is a catalyst problem or maybe KDE related but i don't like this wastage of RAM.

Last edited by agapito (2010-08-21 10:38:42)


Excuse my poor English.

Offline

#2220 2010-08-21 11:09:48

Dejan
Member
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 5

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

agapito wrote:

Do you have memory consumptions problems? I have a core i5-750 with 4 gigs of RAM and i am using catalyst 10.7 for my HD 5770. I am using KDE 4.5 with kwin effects on. At this moment (after 21 hours using my comp) X process eats 748 MB of RES memory and plasma-desktop eats 357 MB and growing up. When i restart X server memory usage is normal. I don't know if this is a catalyst problem or maybe KDE related but i don't like this wastage of RAM.

I have HD5750 and  also have thisd problem.
Not that big consumption but still it's problem , X uses 400 mb after 14h uptime ,with KDE 4.5 and kwin effects.

P.S. Sorry for my, not so well, English.

Offline

#2221 2010-08-21 11:40:31

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,306
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

@agapito & @Dejan:
this problem is occurring on some hardware configurations (ie. my also) with KDE's kwin, but only when ATi 2D Accel is disabled. I know no other (simpler) solution than running glxinfo command. Earlier when i was experiencing this bug (im now using ATi 2D and problem doesn't exist) i was using cron entry to avoid it - run 'crontab -e' (it uses vi i suppose), and add entry similar to this:

*/5 * * * * /usr/bin/glxinfo

It should run glxinfo in every 5 minutes smile.

Offline

#2222 2010-08-21 12:16:26

agapito
Member
From: Spain
Registered: 2008-11-13
Posts: 495

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Vi0L0 wrote:

@agapito & @Dejan:
this problem is occurring on some hardware configurations (ie. my also) with KDE's kwin, but only when ATi 2D Accel is disabled. I know no other (simpler) solution than running glxinfo command. Earlier when i was experiencing this bug (im now using ATi 2D and problem doesn't exist) i was using cron entry to avoid it - run 'crontab -e' (it uses vi i suppose), and add entry similar to this:

*/5 * * * * /usr/bin/glxinfo

It should run glxinfo in every 5 minutes smile.

I have direct 2D enabled ...

[    23.653] (==) fglrx(0): NoAccel = NO
[    23.653] (==) fglrx(0): ATI 2D Acceleration Architecture enabled
[    23.653] (--) fglrx(0): Chipset: "ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series" (Chipset = 0x68b8)
[    23.653] (--) fglrx(0): (PciSubVendor = 0x1002, PciSubDevice = 0x2543)

Last edited by agapito (2010-08-21 12:20:21)


Excuse my poor English.

Offline

#2223 2010-08-21 12:31:58

Vi0L0
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 1,306
Website

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

@agapito: lol... so i dunno... glxinfo isn't helping?

Offline

#2224 2010-08-21 12:37:34

agapito
Member
From: Spain
Registered: 2008-11-13
Posts: 495

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

Vi0L0 wrote:

@agapito: lol... so i dunno... glxinfo isn't helping?

No hehe... At this moment X = 794MB and plasma desktop = 347MB

I guees i should restart X server frequently tongue

When i have some time maybe i will test with free driver.

Last edited by agapito (2010-08-21 12:40:14)


Excuse my poor English.

Offline

#2225 2010-08-21 13:16:15

Lothium
Member
Registered: 2009-10-10
Posts: 192

Re: The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill

I use the free driver and my system runs now for round about 4 hours and X uses 12 MB and plasma desktop 24 MB. So I think only the catalyst driver has a memory consumption problem.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB