You are not logged in.

#1 2008-10-16 20:37:20

tomdbike
Member
Registered: 2008-09-07
Posts: 25

Run a game in a new X server?

Hello,

I would like to start my games in a new X server because I'm running Compiz and opengl windows and fullscreen crash after around 10 mins of game play. I think its due to the limitation in the intel driver and/or limitation in DRI.

I just want to start a game in a new server which I can access through CTRL+ALT+F8 and CTRL+ALT+F7 to get to my desktop.


So far, I have a script to set it up but so far, im unsuccessful. (from archwiki)
Here it is,

#!/bin/bash
DISPLAY=:1.0

xinit /usr/bin/darkplaces-glx $* -- :1.0

It launches the new X server with the X cursor and thats it.
In the terminal in my other X Server, it leaves this:

AUDIT: Thu Oct 16 20:06:12 2008: 2924 X: client 1 rejected from local host (uid 1000)
No protocol specified
..

Over and over again.

Could someone please help me smile

THANKS,
Tom

Offline

#2 2008-10-16 21:24:04

moljac024
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2008-01-29
Posts: 2,676

Re: Run a game in a new X server?

Maybe you need a window manager.
Try running a simple window manager with the game in it's autostart script/configuration file.
That ought to work...


The day Microsoft makes a product that doesn't suck, is the day they make a vacuum cleaner.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
But if they tell you that I've lost my mind, maybe it's not gone just a little hard to find...

Offline

#3 2008-10-16 21:44:10

nogoma
Member
From: Cranston, RI
Registered: 2006-03-01
Posts: 217

Re: Run a game in a new X server?

Check out this page referenced from http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ste … d_X_Server : http://www.linux-gamers.net/modules/wiw … ra+XServer In particular, the wikipage references step 9.


-nogoma
---
Code Happy, Code Ruby!
http://www.last.fm/user/nogoma/

Offline

#4 2008-10-16 21:44:35

tomdbike
Member
Registered: 2008-09-07
Posts: 25

Re: Run a game in a new X server?

moljac024 wrote:

Maybe you need a window manager.
Try running a simple window manager with the game in it's autostart script/configuration file.
That ought to work...

I tried openbox but it didn't work. Am I doing something wrong? could you do some baby steps for me tongue

Offline

#5 2008-10-16 23:54:05

moljac024
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2008-01-29
Posts: 2,676

Re: Run a game in a new X server?

Something like this:

#!/bin/bash

xinit /usr/bin/openbox-session -- :1

with this and ONLY this in your .config/openbox/autostart.sh:

/usr/bin/darkplaces-glx &

You could get creative and make multiple scripts for multiple games.

If you still have problems that could be permission trouble. As stated in the wiki page nogoma gave you a link for, it could be a problem with permissions and you need to see section 9 of this page

Last edited by moljac024 (2008-10-16 23:54:52)


The day Microsoft makes a product that doesn't suck, is the day they make a vacuum cleaner.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
But if they tell you that I've lost my mind, maybe it's not gone just a little hard to find...

Offline

#6 2008-10-17 00:49:04

brebs
Member
Registered: 2007-04-03
Posts: 3,742

Re: Run a game in a new X server?

Before the xinit line, add this line:

xauth add  :1 . $(mcookie)

Offline

#7 2008-10-17 02:02:09

ssjlegendx
Member
Registered: 2008-01-01
Posts: 94
Website

Re: Run a game in a new X server?

brebs wrote:

Before the xinit line, add this line:

xauth add  :1 . $(mcookie)

I encountered the OP's issue when attempting to try out awesome tonight, and brebs's suggestion worked for me.

I think that following the instructions found on the site posted by nogoma will accomplish the same task, but the command quoted above is simpler. smile


#!/vim/rocks

Offline

#8 2008-10-17 17:12:12

tomdbike
Member
Registered: 2008-09-07
Posts: 25

Re: Run a game in a new X server?

brebs wrote:

Before the xinit line, add this line:

xauth add  :1 . $(mcookie)

That launches the game but there are errors and its VERY slow.
Here are the errors:

_XSERVTransSocketOpenCOTSServer: Unable to open socket for inet6
_XSERVTransOpen: transport open failed for inet6/Laptop:1
_XSERVTransMakeAllCOTSServerListeners: failed to open listener for inet6

X.Org X Server 1.4.2
Release Date: 11 June 2008
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
Build Operating System: Linux 2.6.26-ARCH i686 
Current Operating System: Linux Laptop 2.6.27-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Oct 12 15:16:25 CEST 2008 i686
Build Date: 17 August 2008  10:53:07AM
 
    Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
    to make sure that you have the latest version.
Module Loader present
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
    (++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
    (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.1.0.log", Time: Fri Oct 17 18:09:44 2008
(==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf"
(WW) intel: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0:2:1) found
(II) Module "ddc" already built-in
(II) Module "i2c" already built-in
(II) Module "ramdac" already built-in
(EE) [drm] Could not set DRM device bus ID.
(EE) intel(0): [dri] DRIScreenInit failed. Disabling DRI.
DarkPlaces-Quake Linux 05:01:58 Oct  1 2008 - release
Trying to load library... "libz.so.1" - loaded.
WARNING: base gamedir /usr/share/quake/id1/ not found!
Added packfile /home/tom/.darkplaces/id1/pak0.pak (339 files)
Added packfile /home/tom/.darkplaces/id1/pak1.pak (85 files)
Added packfile /home/tom/.darkplaces/id1/pak2.pak (117 files)
Added packfile /home/tom/.darkplaces/id1/darkplaces-qrp-remodel-plus-plagues-pack.pk3 (92 files)
Added packfile /home/tom/.darkplaces/id1/rygel-dp-texturepack-small.pk3 (2791 files)
Playing registered version.
Trying to load library... "libcurl.so.4" - loaded.
Trying to load library... "libvorbis.so.0" - loaded.
Trying to load library... "libvorbisfile.so.3" - loaded.
Trying to load library... "libmodplug.so.0" "libmodplug.so" "/usr/bin/libmodplug.so.0" "/usr/bin/libmodplug.so" - failed.
Trying to load library... "libOffscreenGecko.so" "/usr/bin/libOffscreenGecko.so" - failed.
execing quake.rc
execing default.cfg
execing config.cfg
couldn't exec autoexec.cfg
Client using an automatically assigned port
Client opened a socket on address local:2
Client opened a socket on address 0.0.0.0:0
Playing demo demo1.dem.
Initializing Video Mode: fullscreen 1280x800x32x60hz
Loading OpenGL driver libGL.so.1
Couldn't get an RGB, Double-buffered, Depth visual
Desired video mode fail, trying fallbacks...
Initializing Video Mode: fullscreen 1280x800x32x60hz
Loading OpenGL driver libGL.so.1
Couldn't get an RGB, Double-buffered, Depth visual
Initializing Video Mode: fullscreen 1280x800x32x60hz
Loading OpenGL driver libGL.so.1
Couldn't get an RGB, Double-buffered, Depth visual
Initializing Video Mode: fullscreen 1280x800x32x60hz
Loading OpenGL driver libGL.so.1
Couldn't get an RGB, Double-buffered, Depth visual
Initializing Video Mode: fullscreen 640x800x32x60hz
Loading OpenGL driver libGL.so.1
Couldn't get an RGB, Double-buffered, Depth visual
Initializing Video Mode: fullscreen 640x480x32x60hz
Loading OpenGL driver libGL.so.1
Couldn't get an RGB, Double-buffered, Depth visual
Initializing Video Mode: fullscreen 640x480x16x60hz
Loading OpenGL driver libGL.so.1
GL_VENDOR: Mesa project: www.mesa3d.org
GL_RENDERER: Mesa GLX Indirect
GL_VERSION: 1.4 (2.1 Mesa 7.0.3)
GL_EXTENSIONS: GL_ARB_depth_texture GL_ARB_draw_buffers GL_ARB_fragment_program GL_ARB_imaging GL_ARB_multisample GL_ARB_multitexture GL_ARB_occlusion_query GL_ARB_point_parameters GL_ARB_point_sprite GL_ARB_shadow GL_ARB_shadow_ambient GL_ARB_texture_border_clamp GL_ARB_texture_compression GL_ARB_texture_cube_map GL_ARB_texture_env_add GL_ARB_texture_env_combine GL_ARB_texture_env_crossbar GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3 GL_ARB_texture_mirrored_repeat GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two GL_ARB_texture_rectangle GL_ARB_transpose_matrix GL_ARB_vertex_program GL_ARB_window_pos GL_EXT_abgr GL_EXT_bgra GL_EXT_blend_color GL_EXT_blend_equation_separate GL_EXT_blend_func_separate GL_EXT_blend_logic_op GL_EXT_blend_minmax GL_EXT_blend_subtract GL_EXT_clip_volume_hint GL_EXT_copy_texture GL_EXT_draw_range_elements GL_EXT_fog_coord GL_EXT_framebuffer_object GL_EXT_multi_draw_arrays GL_EXT_packed_pixels GL_EXT_paletted_texture GL_EXT_point_parameters GL_EXT_polygon_offset GL_EXT_rescale_normal GL_EXT_secondary_color GL_EXT_separate_specular_color GL_EXT_shadow_funcs GL_EXT_shared_texture_palette GL_EXT_stencil_wrap GL_EXT_subtexture GL_EXT_texture GL_EXT_texture3D GL_EXT_texture_edge_clamp GL_EXT_texture_env_add GL_EXT_texture_env_combine GL_EXT_texture_env_dot3 GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias GL_EXT_texture_mirror_clamp GL_EXT_texture_object GL_EXT_texture_rectangle GL_EXT_vertex_array GL_APPLE_packed_pixels GL_ATI_draw_buffers GL_ATI_texture_env_combine3 GL_ATI_texture_mirror_once GL_ATIX_texture_env_combine3 GL_IBM_texture_mirrored_repeat GL_INGR_blend_func_separate GL_MESA_pack_invert GL_MESA_ycbcr_texture GL_NV_blend_square GL_NV_fragment_program GL_NV_light_max_exponent GL_NV_point_sprite GL_NV_texgen_reflection GL_NV_texture_rectangle GL_NV_vertex_program GL_NV_vertex_program1_1 GL_SGI_color_matrix GL_SGI_color_table GL_SGIS_generate_mipmap GL_SGIS_texture_border_clamp GL_SGIS_texture_edge_clamp GL_SGIS_texture_lod GL_SGIX_depth_texture GL_SGIX_shadow GL_SGIX_shadow_ambient GL_SUN_multi_draw_arrays 
GLX_EXTENSIONS: GLX_ARB_get_proc_address GLX_ARB_multisample GLX_EXT_import_context GLX_EXT_visual_info GLX_EXT_visual_rating GLX_MESA_copy_sub_buffer GLX_OML_swap_method GLX_SGI_make_current_read GLX_SGIS_multisample GLX_SGIX_fbconfig GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap 
Trying to load library... "libjpeg.so.62" - loaded.
Trying to load library... "libpng12.so.0" - loaded.
S_Startup: initializing sound output format: 48000Hz, 16 bit, 2 channels...
SndSys_Init: using the ALSA module
SndSys_Init: PCM device is "default"
Sound format: 48000Hz, 2 channels, 16 bits per sample
ioctl CDROMREADTOCHDR failed
CDAudio_Init: No CD in player.
Initial CD volume: 1
CD Audio Initialized


<===================================>

the Necropolis
ioctl CDROMREADTOCHDR failed
No CD in player.
progs/eyes.mdl: could not load texture "01 - Default"
You got the shells
You got the Grenade Launcher
^CReceived signal 1, exiting...
darkplaces-glx: xcb_io.c:228: _XSend: Assertion `!dpy->xcb->request_extra' failed.
Received signal 6, exiting...
Couldn't write config.cfg.

waiting for X server to shut down Locking assertion failure.  Backtrace:
#0 /usr/lib/libxcb-xlib.so.0 [0xb7c0b7a7]
#1 /usr/lib/libxcb-xlib.so.0(xcb_xlib_lock+0x2e) [0xb7c0b94e]
#2 /usr/lib/libX11.so.6 [0xb7e9cdf9]
#3 /usr/lib/libGL.so.1(__glXFlushRenderBuffer+0x49) [0xb7779049]
#4 /usr/lib/libGL.so.1 [0xb7789e45]
#5 /usr/lib/libGL.so.1 [0xb7789f81]
#6 /usr/bin/darkplaces-glx [0x80cb767]
#7 /usr/bin/darkplaces-glx [0x80cb8a8]
#8 /usr/bin/darkplaces-glx [0x811067f]
#9 /usr/bin/darkplaces-glx [0x81112c0]
#10 /usr/bin/darkplaces-glx [0x813d932]
#11 /usr/bin/darkplaces-glx [0x80cf8eb]
#12 /usr/bin/darkplaces-glx [0x8173005]
#13 [0xb7f8e400]
#14 /lib/libc.so.6(abort+0x188) [0xb7c52058]
#15 /lib/libc.so.6(__assert_fail+0xee) [0xb7c4965e]
#16 /usr/lib/libX11.so.6 [0xb7e9e01c]
#17 /usr/lib/libXxf86vm.so.1(XF86VidModeSetGammaRamp+0xa8) [0xb7e31b48]
#18 /usr/bin/darkplaces-glx [0x804ba98]
#19 /usr/bin/darkplaces-glx [0x8173a58]
darkplaces-glx: xcb_lock.c:77: _XGetXCBBuffer: Assertion `((int) ((xcb_req) - (dpy->request)) >= 0)' failed.
Received signal 6, exiting...
recursive shutdown
FreeFontPath: FPE "/usr/share/fonts/misc" refcount is 2, should be 1; fixing.


xinit:  unexpected signal 2.

At the end, I killed it.
In the X server, there looks to be no 3D support. Am I missing something? (It works perfectly in my Desktop with frames of 50 and more. There I get around 4.

Offline

#9 2008-10-17 17:22:10

brebs
Member
Registered: 2007-04-03
Posts: 3,742

Re: Run a game in a new X server?

tomdbike wrote:

It works perfectly in my Desktop

Restart your current desktop and retry in your current desktop. Looks like you've changed xorg.conf, which of course takes effect in the new xorg instance but not the current xorg instance.

Offline

#10 2008-10-17 17:24:17

dav7
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2008-02-08
Posts: 674

Re: Run a game in a new X server?

This will probably not end well, but try using Xnest in place of X.

-dav7


Windows was made for looking at success from a distance through a wall of oversimplicity. Linux removes the wall, so you can just walk up to success and make it your own.
--
Reinventing the wheel is fun. You get to redefine pi.

Offline

#11 2008-10-17 18:09:23

tomdbike
Member
Registered: 2008-09-07
Posts: 25

Re: Run a game in a new X server?

brebs wrote:
tomdbike wrote:

It works perfectly in my Desktop

Restart your current desktop and retry in your current desktop. Looks like you've changed xorg.conf, which of course takes effect in the new xorg instance but not the current xorg instance.

I havent changed my xorg.conf at all. Its been the same for months.

Offline

#12 2008-10-17 18:09:58

tomdbike
Member
Registered: 2008-09-07
Posts: 25

Re: Run a game in a new X server?

dav7 wrote:

This will probably not end well, but try using Xnest in place of X.

-dav7

sorry, I'm not following?

Offline

#13 2008-10-17 18:30:56

wuischke
Member
From: Suisse Romande
Registered: 2007-01-06
Posts: 630

Re: Run a game in a new X server?

I'm not sure if this limitation still exists, but I remember that only one instance of X can use direct rendering.

Offline

#14 2008-10-17 18:46:51

dav7
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2008-02-08
Posts: 674

Re: Run a game in a new X server?

tomdbike wrote:
dav7 wrote:

This will probably not end well, but try using Xnest in place of X.

-dav7

sorry, I'm not following?

...run Xnest where you'd run X.

-dav7


Windows was made for looking at success from a distance through a wall of oversimplicity. Linux removes the wall, so you can just walk up to success and make it your own.
--
Reinventing the wheel is fun. You get to redefine pi.

Offline

#15 2008-10-17 19:38:03

burnside
Member
From: Asheville, NC
Registered: 2008-09-27
Posts: 45

Re: Run a game in a new X server?

Xnest allows you to run a separate xsession in a window in your current xsession. I've done it before for testing new window managers without changing my own settings, but I've never tried running a game while I was using heavy OpenGL tasks on my primary desktop. hmm

Offline

#16 2008-10-17 20:12:45

haxit
Member
From: /home/haxit
Registered: 2008-03-04
Posts: 1,247
Website

Re: Run a game in a new X server?

In arcades they run games on linux, red hat to be exact. However I don't think this will really help in the discussion big_smile


Archi686 User | Old Screenshots | Old .Configs
Vi veri universum vivus vici.

Offline

#17 2008-10-18 13:43:57

tomdbike
Member
Registered: 2008-09-07
Posts: 25

Re: Run a game in a new X server?

burnside wrote:

Xnest allows you to run a separate xsession in a window in your current xsession. I've done it before for testing new window managers without changing my own settings, but I've never tried running a game while I was using heavy OpenGL tasks on my primary desktop. hmm

I want to run a game fullscreen in another X session. It needs opengl and if I cannot have it in another X server, I will just have to turn off compiz when i play a game.

Offline

#18 2008-10-18 13:50:00

moljac024
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2008-01-29
Posts: 2,676

Re: Run a game in a new X server?

tomdbike wrote:
burnside wrote:

Xnest allows you to run a separate xsession in a window in your current xsession. I've done it before for testing new window managers without changing my own settings, but I've never tried running a game while I was using heavy OpenGL tasks on my primary desktop. hmm

I want to run a game fullscreen in another X session. It needs opengl and if I cannot have it in another X server, I will just have to turn off compiz when i play a game.

Because of situations like these, linux still sucks.


The day Microsoft makes a product that doesn't suck, is the day they make a vacuum cleaner.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
But if they tell you that I've lost my mind, maybe it's not gone just a little hard to find...

Offline

#19 2008-10-18 17:26:15

tomdbike
Member
Registered: 2008-09-07
Posts: 25

Re: Run a game in a new X server?

moljac024 wrote:
tomdbike wrote:
burnside wrote:

Xnest allows you to run a separate xsession in a window in your current xsession. I've done it before for testing new window managers without changing my own settings, but I've never tried running a game while I was using heavy OpenGL tasks on my primary desktop. hmm

I want to run a game fullscreen in another X session. It needs opengl and if I cannot have it in another X server, I will just have to turn off compiz when i play a game.

Because of situations like these, linux still sucks.

I see, but with DRI2, running compiz + opengl window/games fullscreen be ok on an intel card? Or am I wrong?
Would be great feature to have a game running on its own, more speed wink

Offline

#20 2008-10-18 20:50:17

thoron
Member
From: ohio
Registered: 2008-10-15
Posts: 12

Re: Run a game in a new X server?

there is a program i use to do what you want to do when i play ut2004 its called xlaunch. its in the AUR, i installed it with yaourt -S xlaunch. then to launch the game ya wanna play its xlaunch /path/to/game then i have my game running on alt-ctrl-f8 and my desktop alt-ctrl-f7

Last edited by thoron (2008-10-18 23:12:51)

Offline

#21 2008-10-18 23:10:36

tomdbike
Member
Registered: 2008-09-07
Posts: 25

Re: Run a game in a new X server?

thoron wrote:

there is a program i use to do what you want to do when i play ut2004 its called xlaunch. its in the AUR, i installed it with yaourt -S xlaunch. then to launch the game ya wanna play its xlaunxh /path/to/game then i have my game running on alt-ctrl-f8 and my desktop alt-ctrl-f7

Thank you smile
I will give that a try.


Edit:

the game launches but there is no opengl support in the other X server. The problem I'm having sad

Last edited by tomdbike (2008-10-18 23:17:21)

Offline

#22 2008-10-18 23:36:47

FrozenFox
Member
From: College Station, TX
Registered: 2008-03-23
Posts: 422
Website

Re: Run a game in a new X server?

That appears to be a driver limitation or setup misconfiguration then :S xlaunch works fine with opengl games for me, nvidia 7800gs. You should redirect your focus from how to run a game in another x session to how to get opengl working in another session, and then xlaunch will be the solution you seek.

Offline

#23 2008-10-19 09:07:48

tomdbike
Member
Registered: 2008-09-07
Posts: 25

Re: Run a game in a new X server?

FrozenFox wrote:

That appears to be a driver limitation or setup misconfiguration then :S xlaunch works fine with opengl games for me, nvidia 7800gs. You should redirect your focus from how to run a game in another x session to how to get opengl working in another session, and then xlaunch will be the solution you seek.

nVidia drivers are great for linux. Thats probably why it works.

Intel are ok, just limitations here. And yes, I will try to launch opengl. How will I go around that?

Offline

#24 2009-08-01 04:31:05

Gen2ly
Member
From: Sevierville, TN
Registered: 2009-03-06
Posts: 1,529
Website

Re: Run a game in a new X server?

Looks like xlaunch isn't in AUR anymore but this script will work for xorg server 1.6:

#!/bin/bash

DISPLAY=:1.0

xinit $* -- :1

Setting Up a Scripting Environment | Proud donor to wikipedia - link

Offline

#25 2009-08-01 06:46:35

sand_man
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2008-06-10
Posts: 2,164

Re: Run a game in a new X server?

This thread is almost a year old...


neutral

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB