You are not logged in.

#76 2009-06-13 20:04:36

Cotton
Member
From: Cornwall, UK
Registered: 2004-09-17
Posts: 566

Re: Arch on Asus EeePC 1000

Blind wrote:

... Plus - it gives me the opportunity to play with NILFS2, which has been a really nice experience on the 'slow' 901 SSD (some tweaks needed, though). ext4 without journal works well, too (on the 'fast' SSD)....

Have you documented your experiments with NILFS2 anywhere?

Offline

#77 2009-11-20 17:04:06

brahan
Member
From: South Carolina
Registered: 2009-11-08
Posts: 15

Re: Arch on Asus EeePC 1000

Is there a reason why the events for 1000HE was written so that the silver resolution and fn resolution button would conflict.

EEEPC_BLANK=$KEY_SILVER1
EEEPC_RESOLUTION=$KEY_SILVER1 # Duplicate of Fn+F4
EEEPC_USER1=$KEY_SILVER2
EEEPC_USER2=$KEY_SILVER3

The user1 key is mapped to the resolution key and the user2 key is mapped to the user1 key.  So I did this:

EEEPC_BLANK=$KEY_SILVER1
EEEPC_SILVER_RESOLUTION=$KEY_SILVER2 # Duplicate of Fn+F4
EEEPC_USER1=$KEY_SILVER3
EEEPC_USER2=$KEY_SILVER4

But now the silver resolution key does not work because it conflicts with the fn resolution key so I gave it a new name and did this in acpi-eeepc-generic-handler.sh

$EEEPC_SILVER_RESOLUTION) # Silver function button 2 (Resolution)
                logger "acpi-eeepc-generic-handler: (hotkey): Silver function button (Resolution)"
                execute_commands "${COMMANDS_BUTTON_RESOLUTION[@]}"

Now I can map my fn resolution key to something like rotate screen and my silver key to my dmenu.

Why was something like this not done originally.

-brahan

Last edited by brahan (2009-11-20 17:06:13)


Bradley Hanna (brahan)
brahandevel@gmail.com

Offline

#78 2009-11-20 17:55:21

big_gie
Member
Registered: 2005-01-19
Posts: 637

Re: Arch on Asus EeePC 1000

Please report that to acpi-eeepc-generic's issue page @ http://code.google.com/p/acpi-eeepc-generic/issues/list

Offline

#79 2010-05-28 09:04:36

Uru Wolf
Member
Registered: 2010-05-28
Posts: 8

Re: Arch on Asus EeePC 1000

Hi everyone,
Thanks  so much for the eee 1000 wiki, it was really useful for a first-timer. This is my first Arch build and I have enjoyed it. I am having a small problem with my wireless though. I installed NetworkManager but it is not showing any wireless networks. I am assuming there is something I have missed; I can post configs/outputs if someone tells me what is needed.

Thanks!

Offline

#80 2010-05-28 13:32:41

big_gie
Member
Registered: 2005-01-19
Posts: 637

Re: Arch on Asus EeePC 1000

Is the wireless enabled? Can you see the blue light (under your right wrist when you type)?
Try to disable and enable it again with fn+f2, and see what "dmesg" gives you.

Offline

#81 2010-05-28 15:31:05

Uru Wolf
Member
Registered: 2010-05-28
Posts: 8

Re: Arch on Asus EeePC 1000

Thanks for getting back so fast
The wireless is enabled and pressing fn+f2 disables the wireless but it reactivated in a couple of seconds. It seems that this is because the trigger is quite sensitive, I have to be fast on lifting my fingers or it toggles more than once. I am also not 100% sure what I am looking for in dmesg either.

Last edited by Uru Wolf (2010-05-28 15:36:40)

Offline

#82 2010-05-28 15:45:44

big_gie
Member
Registered: 2005-01-19
Posts: 637

Re: Arch on Asus EeePC 1000

It might be a driver issue. The card coming with the 1000 is IIRC the rta2860. The card is fine, but the driver sucks. At least it did when I was using it. It might be better now though.
Check that the right modules/drivers are loaded. Run "iwconfig" to see if the correct driver is loaded. If iwconfig reports a wireless card, it means that the driver should have been loaded correctly. If it was, I would try with a simpler tool. SHut down any networkmanager, run "sudo ifconfig wlan0 up" and then "sudo iwlist wlan0 scan". It could report an error that would help in diagnosis.
Then, you could try netcfg to connect to an unecrypted network.

Offline

#83 2010-05-28 15:56:44

Uru Wolf
Member
Registered: 2010-05-28
Posts: 8

Re: Arch on Asus EeePC 1000

The wireless device (wlan0) is being picked up and when I run the "sudo ifconfig wlan0 up" command it returns with an error:

SIOCSIFFLAGS: Unknown error 132

Offline

#84 2010-05-29 05:37:41

oupsemma
Member
Registered: 2010-01-01
Posts: 70

Re: Arch on Asus EeePC 1000

Wicd works better on the 1000, see there on how to change from network-manager to it.

Offline

#85 2010-05-29 08:29:01

Uru Wolf
Member
Registered: 2010-05-28
Posts: 8

Re: Arch on Asus EeePC 1000

oupsemma wrote:

Wicd works better on the 1000, see there on how to change from network-manager to it.

This does not seem to be a problem with NetworkManager, seeing that I can't start the device with "iwconfig". I guess it might be a driver problem but I have no idea where to start looking.

Offline

#86 2010-06-07 21:15:21

Uru Wolf
Member
Registered: 2010-05-28
Posts: 8

Re: Arch on Asus EeePC 1000

No ideas anyone?

Offline

#87 2010-06-07 21:53:54

big_gie
Member
Registered: 2005-01-19
Posts: 637

Re: Arch on Asus EeePC 1000

Try to post an original post about it. Maybe it's more Arch related...?

Offline

#88 2010-06-08 06:55:12

Uru Wolf
Member
Registered: 2010-05-28
Posts: 8

Re: Arch on Asus EeePC 1000

Ok, thanks. I thought that because I was using an eee 1000 this would be the best place to post about it. Seeing as I followed the wiki for the eee 1000

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB