You are not logged in.

#76 2010-03-23 18:38:39

Ventil1
Member
Registered: 2010-03-17
Posts: 123

Re: wifi-select: for selecting wifi network from console (based on netcfg)

1. Netcfg changed in latest version. It doesn't work now with auto-net-wireless loaded in rc.conf DEAMONS.
op could you please update wifi-select please. I love wifi-select.

2. If wireless ESSID is 2 words with space between them. The auto created profile file name is created from 2 words and space also. Netcfg has problems
with it then.

netcfg v2.5.2 - note: change in auto wireless config

Note: wpa-config profiles do not work with this, convert them to wpa-configsection profiles. An example is included in
/etc/network.d/examples/

Last edited by Ventil1 (2010-03-23 18:47:40)

Offline

#77 2010-04-01 08:20:56

norswap
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2010-03-17
Posts: 19

Re: wifi-select: for selecting wifi network from console (based on netcfg)

There seems to be some kind of problem when multiple networks with the same name exist (my campus wireless network for instance), it detects $SECURITY as "none none none ... ".
I would then to think it's related to the regex, but I'm no expert.

Offline

#78 2010-04-01 17:14:42

davvil
Member
Registered: 2008-05-06
Posts: 165

Re: wifi-select: for selecting wifi network from console (based on netcfg)

norswap wrote:

There seems to be some kind of problem when multiple networks with the same name exist (my campus wireless network for instance), it detects $SECURITY as "none none none ... ".
I would then to think it's related to the regex, but I'm no expert.

I sent a patch to the author solving this issue, but it seems it has not been included (is the package being maintained?). You only have to change the line

SECURITY=$(sed -n "s/^$ESSID=\(.*\)=.*/\1/p" $NETWORKS)

with

SECURITY=$(sed -n "s/^$ESSID=\(.*\)=.*/\1/p;T;q" $NETWORKS)

Offline

#79 2010-04-01 17:29:28

norswap
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2010-03-17
Posts: 19

Re: wifi-select: for selecting wifi network from console (based on netcfg)

Thanks !
I managed to achieve the same effect by piping the whole thing to uniq, but that seemed rather fugly to me, so I'll change that right away.

Offline

#80 2010-06-01 16:17:44

gazj
Member
From: /home/gazj -> /uk/cambs
Registered: 2007-02-09
Posts: 679
Website

Re: wifi-select: for selecting wifi network from console (based on netcfg)

Have not noticed when this started happening, but whenever  I use wifi select now to select a never used before network

profile for "network name" already exists, continue using it
profile "network name" does not exist

it really does not exist, any ideas
Is wifi-select still maintained?

Offline

#81 2010-06-07 23:17:34

mbrown
Member
Registered: 2008-11-09
Posts: 10

Re: wifi-select: for selecting wifi network from console (based on netcfg)

gazj wrote:

profile for "network name" already exists, continue using it
profile "network name" does not exist

I filed a bug: 19740

Offline

#82 2010-06-08 08:07:50

gazj
Member
From: /home/gazj -> /uk/cambs
Registered: 2007-02-09
Posts: 679
Website

Re: wifi-select: for selecting wifi network from console (based on netcfg)

mbrown wrote:
gazj wrote:

profile for "network name" already exists, continue using it
profile "network name" does not exist

I filed a bug: 19740

Thanks,  I had noticed the upstream fix, but I flagged the package out of date.  Which was not strictly true.  I should have filed a bug report as you did.  Thank you.

Offline

#83 2010-06-08 10:23:43

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: wifi-select: for selecting wifi network from console (based on netcfg)

Instead of parsing iwlist, wifi-select could parse the output of wpa_supplicant. There's some example code in the netcfg scripts - it uses this instead of iwconfig.

Have a look at wpa_supplicant_scan_info in /usr/lib/network/wireless, an example of how to use this is list_networks in the same file.

wpa_supplicant_scan_info takes 2 arguments, the interface, and a comma separated list of the fields to return. The values for these fields include essid, security and signal strength.

Offline

#84 2010-06-08 12:42:00

Daenyth
Forum Fellow
From: Boston, MA
Registered: 2008-02-24
Posts: 1,244

Re: wifi-select: for selecting wifi network from console (based on netcfg)

gazj wrote:
mbrown wrote:
gazj wrote:

profile for "network name" already exists, continue using it
profile "network name" does not exist

I filed a bug: 19740

Thanks,  I had noticed the upstream fix, but I flagged the package out of date.  Which was not strictly true.  I should have filed a bug report as you did.  Thank you.

Ah that was you!

FYI, flagging out of date when it's not tells me nothing. I just get annoyed and unflag it.

Offline

#85 2010-06-08 12:48:36

gazj
Member
From: /home/gazj -> /uk/cambs
Registered: 2007-02-09
Posts: 679
Website

Re: wifi-select: for selecting wifi network from console (based on netcfg)

Daenyth wrote:
gazj wrote:
mbrown wrote:

I filed a bug: 19740

Thanks,  I had noticed the upstream fix, but I flagged the package out of date.  Which was not strictly true.  I should have filed a bug report as you did.  Thank you.

Ah that was you!

FYI, flagging out of date when it's not tells me nothing. I just get annoyed and unflag it.

Sorry.  I thought I sent an email describing that the package was not really out of date, but did not work anymore, but an upstream fix did.  Maybe I didn't send it which obviously would not make my intentions clear. :S Sorry

Offline

#86 2010-06-08 13:19:18

Daenyth
Forum Fellow
From: Boston, MA
Registered: 2008-02-24
Posts: 1,244

Re: wifi-select: for selecting wifi network from console (based on netcfg)

I was thrown off a bit because I didn't see any recent commits I think

Offline

#87 2010-12-12 21:53:11

Japanlinux
Member
Registered: 2010-05-18
Posts: 173

Re: wifi-select: for selecting wifi network from console (based on netcfg)

hello. As far as i'm aware, wifi-select does not have a gui. Thus  I'd like to create an icon on my panel that, when clicked will start 'wifi-select wlan0'
Does anyone know to do this? Right now I open my terminal and then type the command. I'd rather click a panel icon that will open a terminal and run the command automatically

Offline

#88 2010-12-12 23:08:40

swiftscythe
Member
From: Rennes, France
Registered: 2009-04-28
Posts: 129
Website

Re: wifi-select: for selecting wifi network from console (based on netcfg)

Japanlinux wrote:

hello. As far as i'm aware, wifi-select does not have a gui. Thus  I'd like to create an icon on my panel that, when clicked will start 'wifi-select wlan0'
Does anyone know to do this? Right now I open my terminal and then type the command. I'd rather click a panel icon that will open a terminal and run the command automatically

Try doing this, supposing your terminal app is named Terminal:

Terminal -e "wifi-select wlan0"

Offline

#89 2010-12-12 23:34:50

Japanlinux
Member
Registered: 2010-05-18
Posts: 173

Re: wifi-select: for selecting wifi network from console (based on netcfg)

I just tried that and it kinda works. I can see a terminal pop up but it disappears immediately, which means I can't actually choose the network I want. Any clue why it doesn't stay on screen?

Offline

#90 2010-12-13 00:10:28

skunktrader
Member
From: Brisbane, Australia
Registered: 2010-02-14
Posts: 1,320

Re: wifi-select: for selecting wifi network from console (based on netcfg)

Try

Terminal -e "sudo wifi-select wlan0"

Offline

#91 2010-12-13 00:35:16

Japanlinux
Member
Registered: 2010-05-18
Posts: 173

Re: wifi-select: for selecting wifi network from console (based on netcfg)

fantastic! that worked perfectly. Now I don't need to wicd anymore because this does the job perfectly. Thanks very much

Offline

#92 2011-01-13 02:07:18

Lassulus
Member
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 7

Re: wifi-select: for selecting wifi network from console (based on netcfg)

I have a problem with wifi-select

the command

iwlist wlan0 scan | awk -f parse-iwlist.awk

returns every network as wep protected, even if it is wpa/wpa2

this is an example of my "iwlist wlan0 scan"

wlan0     Scan completed :
          Cell 01 - Address: 00:13:10:0A:D8:09
                    ESSID:"ZOMGNONE"
                    Mode:Managed
                    Frequency:2.417 GHz (Channel 2)
                    Quality:5/5  Signal level:-47 dBm  Noise level:-92 dBm
                    IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
                        Group Cipher : CCMP
                        Pairwise Ciphers (1) : CCMP
                        Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
                    Encryption key:on
                    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
                              24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s
                              12 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s
          Cell 02 - Address: 00:1B:11:FE:2C:E8
                    ESSID:"dlink"
                    Mode:Managed
                    Frequency:2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
                    Quality:4/5  Signal level:-67 dBm  Noise level:-92 dBm
                    Encryption key:off
                    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s
                              9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s
                              48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s

Edit:
t think the problem is "Encryption key:on" is after the "WPA" message, so the Encryption key is interpreted last.

Last edited by Lassulus (2011-01-13 02:08:57)

Offline

#93 2011-03-18 06:23:21

evilgnome
Member
Registered: 2009-02-20
Posts: 54

Re: wifi-select: for selecting wifi network from console (based on netcfg)

Like Prol and Lassulus, WPA networks show up as WEP for me. Even if this were not fixed, it would be a big help if, upon failing to connect to a selected "WEP" network, it offer to try again as WPA.

Offline

#94 2011-03-22 20:28:06

dying_sphynx
Member
From: Kiev, Ukraine
Registered: 2008-03-22
Posts: 44
Website

Re: wifi-select: for selecting wifi network from console (based on netcfg)

Hi all!

I've updated the code, including all the patches mentioned here, thanks to john_schaf and davvil!

Evilgnome, Lassulus,
You were right, the parsing depended on order of fields, which is definitely wrong, so I have fixed the problem. I tested awk script with your "iwlist scan" output, now it works fine.

Version bumped to 0.9.

All the changes available in my Mercurial repository:
http://hg.horna.org.ua/wifi-select/

Daenyth, could you please update the package? Thanks for maintaining wifi-select, by the way! It is very pleasant to come back after few years or so and to see that my wifi-select is still alive and used by the community smile

Last edited by dying_sphynx (2011-03-22 20:28:35)


With best regards,
Ivan N. Veselov.

Offline

#95 2011-03-22 20:32:42

Daenyth
Forum Fellow
From: Boston, MA
Registered: 2008-02-24
Posts: 1,244

Re: wifi-select: for selecting wifi network from console (based on netcfg)

I'll see what I can do. Please mark the package as out of date, and ideally send me an updated PKGBUILD for the new version. My time's been very limited lately so it may take a while to get to it otherwise.

Offline

#96 2011-03-22 20:38:53

dying_sphynx
Member
From: Kiev, Ukraine
Registered: 2008-03-22
Posts: 44
Website

Re: wifi-select: for selecting wifi network from console (based on netcfg)

Thanks for quick reply! Marked package as out of date. Unfortunately I've removed PKGBUILD from source control, don't even have it, so perhaps it would be easier for you to do this. Thanks!


With best regards,
Ivan N. Veselov.

Offline

#97 2011-03-22 20:39:55

Daenyth
Forum Fellow
From: Boston, MA
Registered: 2008-02-24
Posts: 1,244

Re: wifi-select: for selecting wifi network from console (based on netcfg)

You can get the current PKGBUILD version from svn and then update it. It might take me a while to get to it.

Thanks.

Offline

#98 2011-03-22 20:52:37

dying_sphynx
Member
From: Kiev, Ukraine
Registered: 2008-03-22
Posts: 44
Website

Re: wifi-select: for selecting wifi network from console (based on netcfg)

Daenyth wrote:

You can get the current PKGBUILD version from svn and then update it. It might take me a while to get to it.

Thanks.

Hehe, ok, I've updated PKGBUILD, see below. "wifi.diff" is not needed anymore.

# Contributor: Ivan N. Veselov <veselov@gmail.com>
# Maintainer: Daenyth <Daenyth [at] gmail [dot] com>

pkgname=wifi-select
pkgver=0.9
pkgrel=1
pkgdesc='Tool for selecting wifi networks in console.'
arch=('any')
url='http://hg.horna.org.ua/wifi-select/'
license=('GPL2')
depends=('netcfg' 'dialog')
source=("http://hg.horna.org.ua/wifi-select/archive/tip.tar.gz")
md5sums=('dcaf56960957e11f0dd7679afb9847f4')

build() {
#  cd $pkgname-$pkgver
  cd wifi*

  install -D wifi-select "${pkgdir}/usr/bin/wifi-select"

  install -D -m 644 parse-iwlist.awk "${pkgdir}/usr/lib/network/parse-iwlist.awk"
}

Last edited by dying_sphynx (2011-03-22 20:53:40)


With best regards,
Ivan N. Veselov.

Offline

#99 2011-03-23 00:09:26

dolby
Member
From: 1992
Registered: 2006-08-08
Posts: 1,581

Re: wifi-select: for selecting wifi network from console (based on netcfg)

dying_sphynx wrote:

Hi all!

I've updated the code, including all the patches mentioned here, thanks to john_schaf and davvil!

Version bumped to 0.9.

All the changes available in my Mercurial repository:
http://hg.horna.org.ua/wifi-select/

Thanks! I clone directly from hg for my own package.
Although i wasnt bitten by the issues reported above, will update and test general behaviour shortly.


There shouldn't be any reason to learn more editor types than emacs or vi -- mg (1)
[You learn that sarcasm does not often work well in international forums.  That is why we avoid it. -- ewaller (arch linux forum moderator)

Offline

#100 2011-03-23 00:13:02

dying_sphynx
Member
From: Kiev, Ukraine
Registered: 2008-03-22
Posts: 44
Website

Re: wifi-select: for selecting wifi network from console (based on netcfg)

dolby wrote:

Although i wasnt bitten by the issues reported above, will update and test general behaviour shortly.

That would be great! Please feel free to report any issues.


With best regards,
Ivan N. Veselov.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB