You are not logged in.

#26 2009-07-31 14:23:49

ADcomp
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2009-02-06
Posts: 54
Website

Re: App Launcher - adeskbar

Hi DonVla,

Can you copy/paste your ADeskBar config ( http://pastebin.com/ ) .. ?  I need all wariable to found the problem.

For "export" problem, I don't know why It doesn't work .. But you can maybe create a little script to launch opera ? 
Somethink link this :  my_opera ( put it where you want. /usr/local/bin is a good place I think )

#!/bin/sh

## export what you need
export OPERAPLUGINWRAPPER_PRIORITY=0
## launch your app.
/usr/bin/opera -style skulpture -notrayicon

don't forget to add "execute" permission  ( as root if needed ) ..

chmod +x /usr/local/bin/my_opera

And use it as launcher in ADeskBar .. But I take a look to found why export doesn't work with ADeskBar.

Thanks for feedback .. wink

Last edited by ADcomp (2009-07-31 14:25:33)

Offline

#27 2009-07-31 16:05:50

geoisis
Member
From: greece
Registered: 2007-09-02
Posts: 100
Website

Re: App Launcher - adeskbar

the alpha release http://www.ad-comp.be/public/projets/AD … .3.tar.bz2  gives me errors

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/share/adeskbar/adeskbar", line 45, in <module>
    bar = ADeskBar.Bar(cfg_file)
  File "/usr/share/adeskbar/ADeskBar/__init__.py", line 233, in __init__
    self.load_config()
  File "/usr/share/adeskbar/ADeskBar/__init__.py", line 262, in load_config
    self.cfg = read_config(self.cfg_file)
  File "/usr/share/adeskbar/ADeskBar/core.py", line 88, in read_config
    config[key] = tmp[1].strip(' ')
IndexError: list index out of range

Archlinux x86_64 | post-engineering | last.fm

Offline

#28 2009-07-31 18:28:33

ADcomp
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2009-02-06
Posts: 54
Website

Re: App Launcher - adeskbar

@ geoisis :  can you try to rename your config ?  after ADeskBar should work ..

mv ~/.config/adeskbar/config ~/.config/adeskbar/config.old

Offline

#29 2009-08-01 03:47:27

ADcomp
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2009-02-06
Posts: 54
Website

Re: App Launcher - adeskbar

Hello ..

new source for testing .. : http://www.ad-comp.be/public/projets/AD … .4.tar.bz2

what's new ?  minor change , working on plugin .. configuration in UI settings is not yet ready  but  I made a little hack   wink

.2009-08-01_1440x900_s.jpg

adeskbar_plugin_01-08-09.jpg

If you want to try a plugin , simply add a launcher :  title =>  plugin name ,  command => @plugin  ( take a look at the screenshot )
Other plugins come soon : volume , mediaplayer control , terminal , gmail , searchbox , menu ...

## EDIT :  showdesktop plugin require python-xlib

@ DonVla :  "export" problem is fixed I think .. smile  but I don't have opera , can you give a try ?

Bye

Last edited by ADcomp (2009-08-01 15:04:49)

Offline

#30 2009-08-01 11:22:58

geoisis
Member
From: greece
Registered: 2007-09-02
Posts: 100
Website

Re: App Launcher - adeskbar

ADcomp wrote:

@ geoisis :  can you try to rename your config ?  after ADeskBar should work ..

mv ~/.config/adeskbar/config ~/.config/adeskbar/config.old

thank you again big_smile


Archlinux x86_64 | post-engineering | last.fm

Offline

#31 2009-08-01 12:43:48

DonVla
Member
From: Bonn, Germany
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 997

Re: App Launcher - adeskbar

hi ADComp,

you set wrong file permissions for the cmd.sh temp files:

[ADeskBar] 14:41:19 ~ screen : 1280x1024 , bar : 624x66
[ADeskBar] 14:41:22 ~ Exec. | tabble-wrapper |
sh: /tmp/adeskbar.sh: Permission denied
[ADeskBar] 14:41:28 ~ Exec. | /usr/bin/rox |
sh: /tmp/adeskbar.sh: Permission denied
...

i cannot launch any app.

ps: and i noticed that you cannot set custom icons for the plugins.

Last edited by DonVla (2009-08-01 13:03:34)

Offline

#32 2009-08-01 12:57:34

ADcomp
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2009-02-06
Posts: 54
Website

Re: App Launcher - adeskbar

DonVla wrote:

you set wrong file permissions for the cmd.sh temp files: i cannot launch any app.

sad  .. very strange .. Work fine for me ! Don't think the problem is permission on /tmp/adeskbar.sh .. but on your /tmp  ( separate partition ? config ? )
I take a look and try to quickly found a work around ...

DonVla wrote:

ps: and i noticed that you cannot set custom icons for the plugins.

Not yet ready .. but it's coming  tongue

Offline

#33 2009-08-01 13:03:53

DonVla
Member
From: Bonn, Germany
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 997

Re: App Launcher - adeskbar

hello ADComp,
took a short look at core.py, line 36

 
 if not cmd=='' and not cmd==None:
        logINFO("Exec. | %s |" % cmd)
        os.system('echo "%s" > /tmp/adeskbar.sh' % cmd)
        pid = Popen(['sh','-c','/tmp/adeskbar.sh']).pid

pid = Popen(['sh','/tmp/adeskbar.sh']).pid
should be sufficient.
"-c" means the file should be executed as a command, so you need executive permissions.
"sh" alone simple reads out the script.

ps:

/tmp $ ls -l adeskbar.sh 
-rw-r--r-- 1 vlad vlad 15 2009-08-01 14:48 adeskbar.sh
/tmp $ sh -c ./adeskbar.sh 
sh: ./adeskbar.sh: Permission denied
/tmp $ sh ./adeskbar.sh

last works. sure maybe you have other ulimits set for creating new files, but i think default is always 644 for files and 755 for dirs.

vlad

Last edited by DonVla (2009-08-01 13:06:30)

Offline

#34 2009-08-01 13:08:34

ADcomp
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2009-02-06
Posts: 54
Website

Re: App Launcher - adeskbar

DonVla wrote:

pid = Popen(['sh','/tmp/adeskbar.sh']).pid
should be sufficient.
"-c" means the file should be executed as a command, so you need executive permissions.
"sh" alone simple ready out the script.

Does it work for you if you remove '-c' ..?   Thanks for your help  big_smile

## Edit .. Ok ; I update source ..

ps : I create a new branch on launchpad : https://code.launchpad.net/~ad-comp.be/ … ease-0.1.7

Last edited by ADcomp (2009-08-01 13:11:29)

Offline

#35 2009-08-01 13:10:07

DonVla
Member
From: Bonn, Germany
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 997

Re: App Launcher - adeskbar

ADcomp wrote:

Does it work for you if you remove '-c' ..?   Thanks for your help  big_smile

yes it does.
does it work for you either?

Offline

#36 2009-08-01 13:16:22

ADcomp
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2009-02-06
Posts: 54
Website

Re: App Launcher - adeskbar

DonVla wrote:

yes it does. does it work for you either?

Yes .. cool .. Cool , Thanks for tips !  Now , you can launch opera with your "export" without error ..? 
Another question .. Plugins work for you  ?

## Edit  :

In 'src' directory , you can found 'menu.py' ..  I talk about in this post : http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … 45#p592245

Last edited by ADcomp (2009-08-01 13:35:11)

Offline

#37 2009-08-01 13:36:19

DonVla
Member
From: Bonn, Germany
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 997

Re: App Launcher - adeskbar

ADcomp wrote:

Now , you can launch opera with your "export" ..?

yes, it works now, thank you.

ADcomp wrote:

Another question .. Plugins work for you  ?

yes, all four work. though i think the spacer is a little too large.

vlad

Offline

#38 2009-08-01 13:42:54

DonVla
Member
From: Bonn, Germany
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 997

Re: App Launcher - adeskbar

i see there are a lot of plugins. i'll give them all a try later.

Offline

#39 2009-08-01 13:48:25

ADcomp
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2009-02-06
Posts: 54
Website

Re: App Launcher - adeskbar

DonVla wrote:
ADcomp wrote:

Another question .. Plugins work for you  ?

yes, all four work. though i think the spacer is a little too large.

You're right but when plugins will be finished, you can configure all settings ( size , color , font , image , ... ).

DonVla wrote:

i see there are a lot of plugins. i'll give them all a try later.

Only ' clock ' , ' clock2 ' , ' showdesktop ' , ' spacer ' and ' separator '  already work .. no other

Offline

#40 2009-08-03 23:26:44

ADcomp
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2009-02-06
Posts: 54
Website

Re: App Launcher - adeskbar

Hello ..

New video , playing with some new plugins : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I7moefVLTQs

Bye ..

Offline

#41 2009-08-04 13:02:45

DonVla
Member
From: Bonn, Germany
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 997

Re: App Launcher - adeskbar

nice ...
are these plugins in the launchpad repo?
i'm very keen to test....

Offline

#42 2009-08-04 13:30:23

ADcomp
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2009-02-06
Posts: 54
Website

Re: App Launcher - adeskbar

Hi DonVla,

Not yet .. but let's talk about plugins ..
Menu : is a bit slow when it loading, because I always parse /usr/share/applications. So I must save this in config file , and when add new app. , simply update
Pager : if you click , you go to next desktop ,  roll up/down you switch between first to last desktop (one by one)
WindowList :  something like openbox menu .. It's  simple , but I would add some other feature ( move to [x] desktop , close , min/max/shade/stick , ... )
Terminal : It's possible to configure with tranparencie ? maybe .. why not ? terminator ( use python-vte, too ) can do it  smile
The most difficult plugin for me , is systray .. It really kill me  sad  ..  And plugins add some dependencies , like python-wnck for windowlist/showdesktop , python-vte for terminal

So next release coming soon .. maybe this week-end

@bientot

Offline

#43 2009-08-04 14:09:32

DonVla
Member
From: Bonn, Germany
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 997

Re: App Launcher - adeskbar

windowlist and terminal look really interesting.

btw: which AUR packages do you need?
i adopted python-wnck and i can add python-vte, but googled a little and found nothing. is it inside the extra/vte package?

Offline

#44 2009-08-04 15:12:09

ADcomp
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2009-02-06
Posts: 54
Website

Re: App Launcher - adeskbar

Hello DonVla,

I'm not on archlinux ( crunchbang / *buntu ) .. So with *buntu,  "python-wnck"is part of "python-gnome2-desktop" .. and python-vte has is own package : python-vte  smile
I hope this can help ..

btw, I just push update to launchpad : https://code.launchpad.net/~ad-comp.be/ … ease-0.1.7

@bientot

Offline

#45 2009-08-04 17:15:10

DonVla
Member
From: Bonn, Germany
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 997

Re: App Launcher - adeskbar

trying now the last bzr entry.
when i reload the configuration i get this:

[ADeskBar] 19:12:55 ~ Reacting on USR1 signal (signal 10) - Reload config ..
[ADeskBar] 19:12:55 ~ Reading config ..
[ADeskBar] 19:12:55 ~ config = /home/vlad/.config/adeskbar/config
[ADeskBar] 19:12:55 ~  + mo_form : 6
[ADeskBar] 19:12:55 ~  + mo_anim : True
[ADeskBar] 19:12:55 ~  + mo_fill : False
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/share/adeskbar/adeskbar", line 46, in <module>
    bar.run()
  File "/usr/share/adeskbar/ADeskBar/__init__.py", line 995, in run
    gtk.main()
KeyboardInterrupt

Offline

#46 2009-08-04 18:43:12

ADcomp
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2009-02-06
Posts: 54
Website

Re: App Launcher - adeskbar

# DonVla :  shame on me .. too quickly

take a look at  ADeskBar/__init__.py ,  ~ line 328 :

item.destroy()

But It must destroy widget , not item .. so,

item.widget.destroy()

I push fix to launchpad .. Remember It's only devel trunk ! wink
Btw , Plugins work for you ?  have install python-(wnck/vte)  ..?

Thanks for testing  big_smile

## Edit :  although "Refresh" need some fix because , now with plugins , some stuff remain loaded .. sad   So I need more 'brain damage' for it  wink

@bientot

Last edited by ADcomp (2009-08-04 18:46:41)

Offline

#47 2009-08-04 20:56:54

DonVla
Member
From: Bonn, Germany
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 997

Re: App Launcher - adeskbar

hi all.
i adopted python-wnck (AUR) which is needed for some plugins.
though same functionality is also provided by extra/gnome-python-desktop.
for the terminal plugin extra/vte is needed.

Offline

#48 2009-08-06 00:53:49

ADcomp
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2009-02-06
Posts: 54
Website

Re: App Launcher - adeskbar

Hello ..

A new video : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FdBilLcXdYs

* Plugin : Menu

app_menu.png

* Plugin : New bar with launchers

new_bar_with_launcher.png

* Plugin : TaskList ( like openbox or  "mini" )

tasklist_mini.png

* Plugin : Web search

web_search.png

+ Terminal ( ok ) , Showdesktop ( ok ) , Clock (ok ) , Gmail ( started ) , ...

If someone want to give a try, Launchpad is up to date : https://code.launchpad.net/~ad-comp.be/ … ease-0.1.7

@bientot

Last edited by ADcomp (2009-08-06 00:56:05)

Offline

#49 2009-08-06 05:06:59

keenerd
Package Maintainer (PM)
Registered: 2007-02-22
Posts: 647
Website

Re: App Launcher - adeskbar

Faster and uses less CPU than any other shiny launcher I've tried!  Will install just so norms don't feel so daunted by the dmenu launcher.

A mount/unmount plugin would be useful.  Maybe something along the lines of xfce's mount plugin, which just reads the fstab file.

Offline

#50 2010-01-03 13:08:09

ADcomp
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2009-02-06
Posts: 54
Website

Re: App Launcher - adeskbar

Hello .. and Happy new Year   smile

new release coming soon ...  take a look : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NX-lPkpnOrw

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB