You are not logged in.

#26 2009-06-28 11:09:33

steve-e
Member
Registered: 2007-10-03
Posts: 37

Re: netcfg tray icon v3

Hey,

there seems to be a small bug with profiles named "some_thing". The underscore is not escaped and therefore interpreted by the UI as a short-cut hint.

Anyway, nice utility!

Offline

#27 2009-07-03 13:44:06

eldragon
Member
From: Buenos Aires
Registered: 2008-11-18
Posts: 1,026

Re: netcfg tray icon v3

bug reports:
- when i come back from suspend, the network is not restored (netcfg-tray reports its still connected to the network).

- when hitting auto-wireless button, it does not disconnect whichever profile is on before probing. a net-auto stop / start should be better. although this could be a netcfg2 bug. if it tries to connect to the same profile, it reports a successful connection but it always fails.

Offline

#28 2009-10-14 08:12:45

tvale
Member
From: Palmela, Portugal
Registered: 2008-12-11
Posts: 169

Re: netcfg tray icon v3

Pank wrote:

The university's network starts with 'a'. My home network starts with 'd'. At the moment I only have these two profiles. It always tries to connect to the uni's network even though it is not reachable. It never find my home-network.

I got the exact same problem. My first profile (alphabetically) is named eduroam, and auto-wireless will ALWAYS try to connect to that one, doesn't matter if it's available or wherever I am.


archlinux x86_64 @ Asus UL30A

dwm and patches
conky-dzen

Offline

#29 2009-10-14 08:48:59

Pank
Member
From: IT
Registered: 2009-06-13
Posts: 370

Re: netcfg tray icon v3

Tvale,
Do you have a ESSID={} entry in your profiles? netcfg-auto uses this field. Before I only had ESSID identities in my wpa_supplicant.
--Rasmus,


Arch x64 on Thinkpad X200s/W530

Offline

#30 2009-10-16 00:04:18

tvale
Member
From: Palmela, Portugal
Registered: 2008-12-11
Posts: 169

Re: netcfg tray icon v3

Pank wrote:

Tvale,
Do you have a ESSID={} entry in your profiles? netcfg-auto uses this field. Before I only had ESSID identities in my wpa_supplicant.
--Rasmus,

Indeed, my bad!
Works like a charm now, tyvm!


archlinux x86_64 @ Asus UL30A

dwm and patches
conky-dzen

Offline

#31 2009-10-29 22:28:40

rent0n
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2009-10-29
Posts: 457
Website

Re: netcfg tray icon v3

Awesome project, please continue!
This seems to be absolutely the best gui for netcfg out there. smile

I just have one question for you: what's the name and the path of the icon showing up when netcfg is connected?
I really can't find it and i need to change it!

Thank you very much! wink

Last edited by rent0n (2009-10-29 22:29:09)


rent0n@deviantART | rent0n@bitbucket | rent0n@identi.ca | LRU #337812
aspire: Acer Aspire 5920 Arch Linux x86_64 | beetle: Gericom Beetle G733 Arch Linux i686

Offline

#32 2009-10-30 18:11:48

rent0n
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2009-10-29
Posts: 457
Website

Re: netcfg tray icon v3

Ok, it has been quite hard for me, but i finally managed how to change the "connected" icon in netcfg-tray. big_smile

Normally, netcfg-tray uses stock gtk icons and i didn't find a way to change them...so what i've done was to directly edit the code of /usr/bin/netcfg-tray.

Basically you have to change:

self.statusIcon.set_from_stock(gtk.STOCK_NETWORK)

with:

self.statusIcon.set_from_file("/usr/share/icons/netcfg-tray/netcfg-tray.png")

Of course you have to write the right path to the desired image.

And that's all! Now you can have the icon you like on the tray!

Thank you iphitus for this wonderful app! wink


rent0n@deviantART | rent0n@bitbucket | rent0n@identi.ca | LRU #337812
aspire: Acer Aspire 5920 Arch Linux x86_64 | beetle: Gericom Beetle G733 Arch Linux i686

Offline

#33 2009-10-30 21:33:54

NeoXP
Member
From: MS Matrix
Registered: 2009-01-09
Posts: 206
Website

Re: netcfg tray icon v3

Tried to install it, but I get the following error:

==>  Continue the building of netcfg-tray ? [Y/n]
==>   ----------------------------------------------
==>y


==> Install or build missing dependencies for netcfg-tray:
==> Building and installing package

==> netcfg-tray dependencies:
 - netcfg (already installed)
==> Making package: netcfg-tray 3-1 any (vr okt 30 22:32:40 CET 2009)
==> Checking Runtime Dependencies...
==> Checking Buildtime Dependencies...
==> Retrieving Sources...
  -> Found netcfg-tray-3.tar.gz in build dir
==> ERROR: Integrity checks are missing.
Error: Makepkg was unable to build netcfg-tray package.

Any help???


Arch x86_64 on HP 6820s and on HP nx9420. Registered Linux User 350155, since 24-03-2004
"Everyone said that it could not be done, until someone came along who didn't know that."

Offline

#34 2009-10-30 21:45:26

rent0n
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2009-10-29
Posts: 457
Website

Re: netcfg tray icon v3

NeoXP wrote:

Tried to install it, but I get the following error:

==>  Continue the building of netcfg-tray ? [Y/n]
==>   ----------------------------------------------
==>y


==> Install or build missing dependencies for netcfg-tray:
==> Building and installing package

==> netcfg-tray dependencies:
 - netcfg (already installed)
==> Making package: netcfg-tray 3-1 any (vr okt 30 22:32:40 CET 2009)
==> Checking Runtime Dependencies...
==> Checking Buildtime Dependencies...
==> Retrieving Sources...
  -> Found netcfg-tray-3.tar.gz in build dir
==> ERROR: Integrity checks are missing.
Error: Makepkg was unable to build netcfg-tray package.

Any help???

I can confirm this problem too, i had exactly the same output.
I "solved" installing directly the package linked in the first page of this topic. wink


rent0n@deviantART | rent0n@bitbucket | rent0n@identi.ca | LRU #337812
aspire: Acer Aspire 5920 Arch Linux x86_64 | beetle: Gericom Beetle G733 Arch Linux i686

Offline

#35 2009-10-30 21:47:12

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: netcfg tray icon v3

Run makepkg -g >> PKGBUILD in the pkgbuild directory, it's missing MD5SUMs.

rent0n: The icons used are stock icons, so they can also be changed with your gtk icon theme.

Last edited by iphitus (2009-10-30 21:48:31)

Offline

#36 2009-10-31 08:42:14

NeoXP
Member
From: MS Matrix
Registered: 2009-01-09
Posts: 206
Website

Re: netcfg tray icon v3

iphitus wrote:

Run makepkg -g >> PKGBUILD in the pkgbuild directory, it's missing MD5SUMs.

rent0n: The icons used are stock icons, so they can also be changed with your gtk icon theme.

Solved it with rent0n's solution.


Arch x86_64 on HP 6820s and on HP nx9420. Registered Linux User 350155, since 24-03-2004
"Everyone said that it could not be done, until someone came along who didn't know that."

Offline

#37 2009-10-31 10:39:23

rent0n
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2009-10-29
Posts: 457
Website

Re: netcfg tray icon v3

iphitus wrote:

Run makepkg -g >> PKGBUILD in the pkgbuild directory, it's missing MD5SUMs.

rent0n: The icons used are stock icons, so they can also be changed with your gtk icon theme.

I've tried with no success. Can you explain me how to do that?


rent0n@deviantART | rent0n@bitbucket | rent0n@identi.ca | LRU #337812
aspire: Acer Aspire 5920 Arch Linux x86_64 | beetle: Gericom Beetle G733 Arch Linux i686

Offline

#38 2009-11-22 05:43:53

Anonymo
Member
Registered: 2005-04-07
Posts: 419
Website

Re: netcfg tray icon v3

rent0n wrote:
iphitus wrote:

Run makepkg -g >> PKGBUILD in the pkgbuild directory, it's missing MD5SUMs.

rent0n: The icons used are stock icons, so they can also be changed with your gtk icon theme.

I've tried with no success. Can you explain me how to do that?

copy

md5sums=('b4c65d72cdb54b9b60aebeec946429cb')

to PKGBUILD and run makepkg

Offline

#39 2009-11-22 09:53:19

rent0n
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2009-10-29
Posts: 457
Website

Re: netcfg tray icon v3

Anonymo wrote:
rent0n wrote:
iphitus wrote:

Run makepkg -g >> PKGBUILD in the pkgbuild directory, it's missing MD5SUMs.

rent0n: The icons used are stock icons, so they can also be changed with your gtk icon theme.

I've tried with no success. Can you explain me how to do that?

copy

md5sums=('b4c65d72cdb54b9b60aebeec946429cb')

to PKGBUILD and run makepkg

Thanks, very helpful.
However I was asking about changing icons! tongue


rent0n@deviantART | rent0n@bitbucket | rent0n@identi.ca | LRU #337812
aspire: Acer Aspire 5920 Arch Linux x86_64 | beetle: Gericom Beetle G733 Arch Linux i686

Offline

#40 2009-12-06 12:17:52

toketin
Member
From: Belluno (Italy)
Registered: 2007-04-17
Posts: 317

Re: netcfg tray icon v3

i've tried netcfg-tray and it works fine for me, i've tried a cable connection and my wifi open connection, but i think that it's missing an important feature: a wifi signal displayer that should displays the quality of wifi, so for example 40%, 100%

Offline

#41 2009-12-06 15:04:40

NeoXP
Member
From: MS Matrix
Registered: 2009-01-09
Posts: 206
Website

Re: netcfg tray icon v3

toketin wrote:

i've tried netcfg-tray and it works fine for me, i've tried a cable connection and my wifi open connection, but i think that it's missing an important feature: a wifi signal displayer that should displays the quality of wifi, so for example 40%, 100%

As far as I'm concerned don't implement this, leave is as it is. If I want this kind of information I will configure conky to display it.


Arch x86_64 on HP 6820s and on HP nx9420. Registered Linux User 350155, since 24-03-2004
"Everyone said that it could not be done, until someone came along who didn't know that."

Offline

#42 2009-12-06 23:05:26

toketin
Member
From: Belluno (Italy)
Registered: 2007-04-17
Posts: 317

Re: netcfg tray icon v3

NeoXP wrote:
toketin wrote:

i've tried netcfg-tray and it works fine for me, i've tried a cable connection and my wifi open connection, but i think that it's missing an important feature: a wifi signal displayer that should displays the quality of wifi, so for example 40%, 100%

As far as I'm concerned don't implement this, leave is as it is. If I want this kind of information I will configure conky to display it.

I've a strange problem with conky because i'm trying to check the wifi link signal with the option of conky "wireless_link_qual_perc wlan0" but i can't see it because it displays me "unk" instead of the value of the signal, why?

Offline

#43 2009-12-07 11:45:47

toketin
Member
From: Belluno (Italy)
Registered: 2007-04-17
Posts: 317

Re: netcfg tray icon v3

a simple question, if i loss the connection to wifi netcfg will reconnect immediately?

Offline

#44 2009-12-07 21:22:40

NeoXP
Member
From: MS Matrix
Registered: 2009-01-09
Posts: 206
Website

Re: netcfg tray icon v3

toketin wrote:
NeoXP wrote:
toketin wrote:

...

...

I've a strange problem with conky because i'm trying to check the wifi link signal with the option of conky "wireless_link_qual_perc wlan0" but i can't see it because it displays me "unk" instead of the value of the signal, why?

Don't know about that, I use the following code to see the quality of the signal

Link Quality${alignr} ${wireless_link_qual wlan0} %

Maybe it will help you.


Arch x86_64 on HP 6820s and on HP nx9420. Registered Linux User 350155, since 24-03-2004
"Everyone said that it could not be done, until someone came along who didn't know that."

Offline

#45 2009-12-08 21:15:15

toketin
Member
From: Belluno (Italy)
Registered: 2007-04-17
Posts: 317

Re: netcfg tray icon v3

yes i've solved the problem by starting conky with sudo big_smile

Offline

#46 2010-02-19 14:04:28

rent0n
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2009-10-29
Posts: 457
Website

Re: netcfg tray icon v3

Is this project still alive?
I really like it but it seems not to be maintined anymore.

The PKGBUILD has always the same problem related to the package integrity check and the package itself probably needs to be updated to reflect the changes in the new version of netcfg.

Thank you! smile


rent0n@deviantART | rent0n@bitbucket | rent0n@identi.ca | LRU #337812
aspire: Acer Aspire 5920 Arch Linux x86_64 | beetle: Gericom Beetle G733 Arch Linux i686

Offline

#47 2010-10-23 13:23:32

fijam
Member
Registered: 2009-02-03
Posts: 244
Website

Re: netcfg tray icon v3

Has this project been abandoned? Been using it ever since, but the python3 rebuild broke it.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB