You are not logged in.

#526 2009-12-29 20:48:19

bmentink
Member
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 442

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

Nezmer wrote:

cat /sys/module/radeon/parameters/modeset

There is no /sys/module/radeon .... so I guess it wasn't loaded. Oh well ... guess I'll wait for kernel 2.6.33 or use the one from -git.

Cheers,
Bernie

Offline

#527 2009-12-29 21:17:47

descendent87
Member
Registered: 2009-07-23
Posts: 105

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

I have 3D running using just stuff from the repos (testing not enabled), working great so far

Offline

#528 2009-12-29 21:26:56

bmentink
Member
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 442

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

descendent87 wrote:

I have 3D running using just stuff from the repos (testing not enabled), working great so far

Maybe you have an older card, mine is a R600 (HD4500)...
Do you have KMS working though ...

Offline

#529 2009-12-29 21:36:52

bcat
Member
From: New York, NY, USA
Registered: 2009-01-02
Posts: 30
Website

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

bmentink wrote:

mesa-git was the problem, I un-installed mesa-git and installed mesa from the normal place, and all was good again.
It seems the package is missing from mesa-git, or is installed in the wrong place.

The mesa-git PKGBUILD was busted last time I checked. Try mesa-full instead of the {libgl,mesa,ati-dri}-git trio.


Running Arch on a Dell Studio 1735. xmonad FTW! Dotfiles here.
Want free cloud-based file sharing? Sign up for Dropbox and we both get some bonus storage!

Offline

#530 2009-12-29 21:43:45

descendent87
Member
Registered: 2009-07-23
Posts: 105

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

bmentink wrote:
descendent87 wrote:

I have 3D running using just stuff from the repos (testing not enabled), working great so far

Maybe you have an older card, mine is a R600 (HD4500)...
Do you have KMS working though ...

Haven't tried KMS yet, it's disabled by default so just going to leave it until 2.6.33 to make sure it's stable.
Cards a RS780 (HD3200)

Offline

#531 2009-12-29 22:07:57

gee
Member
Registered: 2006-11-29
Posts: 310

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

gee wrote:
Nezmer wrote:

I'm not a programmer. I just looked at those lines in "drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/radeon_drv.c" :

int radeon_no_wb;
int radeon_modeset = -1;
int radeon_dynclks = -1;
int radeon_r4xx_atom = 0;
int radeon_agpmode = 0; 
int radeon_vram_limit = 0; 
int radeon_gart_size = 512; /* default gart size */
int radeon_benchmarking = 0; 
int radeon_testing = 0; 
int radeon_connector_table = 0; 
int radeon_tv = 1; 
int radeon_new_pll = 1; 
int radeon_audio = 1;

Those are module parameters you can generally use when you modprobe or you can pass them to your boot loader. So If you for example prevent the radeon module from auto-loading and modprobe it manually, you can do this:

modprobe -v radeon modeset=1 dynclks=1 audio=1

Additionally, you can see the current parameter values through "/sys/module/radeon/parameters/".

I don't know why I just wrote all this!

Cool thank you smile

so I tried that, and also tried passing the parameter in GRUB, without success sad
It does load the module, but still no sound.
I sent an email to the drm user ml yesterday, but it still did not get through.

Offline

#532 2009-12-29 22:26:30

Perry3D
Member
Registered: 2008-03-20
Posts: 553

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

descendent87 wrote:

I have 3D running using just stuff from the repos (testing not enabled), working great so far

Since yesterday  mesa 7.7 is in extra and and kernel 2.6.32 is in core. It should work now without any development packages.
But kms is disabled by default (no dri2 and direct rendering).

Offline

#533 2009-12-29 23:07:11

bmentink
Member
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 442

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

Perry3D wrote:
descendent87 wrote:

I have 3D running using just stuff from the repos (testing not enabled), working great so far

Since yesterday  mesa 7.7 is in extra and and kernel 2.6.32 is in core. It should work now without any development packages.
But kms is disabled by default (no dri2 and direct rendering).

Well I have direct rendering working, without it I would not get 2000fps in glxgears. I guess thats maybe due to the fact that I am using libdrm-git,libgl-git,xf86-video-ati-git and the kernel
from testing. You didn't mention if they were now in core/extra ...

Offline

#534 2009-12-29 23:25:20

Perry3D
Member
Registered: 2008-03-20
Posts: 553

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

It's in extra since yesterday neutral
I didn't notice cause i am using the git packages.

PS: I updated the howto.

Offline

#535 2009-12-30 00:03:07

flamelab
Member
From: Athens, Hellas (Greece)
Registered: 2007-12-26
Posts: 2,160

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

Perry3D, can you help on editing the ATi wiki page ? Please smile

Offline

#536 2009-12-30 02:52:03

bmentink
Member
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 442

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

I had a try at installing kernel26-git. It installed the files to /boot with the extensions -git.
I made a grub entry of the following:

# (0) Arch Linux
title  Arch Linux (Git version)
root   (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz26-git root=/dev/disk/by-uuid/b8b7b9a9-753c-4c05-a40c-ef002ee868e3 r$
initrd /kernel26-git.img

But I get a kernel panic when I try to boot it.
Anyone know why?

I notice a System.map32-git which I did not rename System.map32 for fear of breaking the backup kernel entries, could this be the reason?
When I built the kernel, I just used the default .config settings provided.

Cheers,

Offline

#537 2009-12-30 03:36:25

bmentink
Member
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 442

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

Ok, went back to the testing version of kernel26.

However now I get no hardware acceleration (with or without KMS )

I did notice that I get the following when I have KMS enabled.

drm] Initialized drm 1.1.0 20060810
[drm] radeon kernel modesetting enabled.
[drm] radeon: Initializing kernel modesetting.
[drm] register mmio base: 0xD0020000
[drm] register mmio size: 65536
[drm] Clocks initialized !
[drm] Detected VRAM RAM=256M, BAR=256M
[drm] RAM width 64bits DDR
[drm] radeon: 256M of VRAM memory ready
[drm] radeon: 512M of GTT memory ready.
[drm] Loading RV710 CP Microcode
[drm:rv770_init] *ERROR* Failed to load firmware!
[drm:radeon_driver_load_kms] *ERROR* Fatal error while trying to initialize radeon.

Which seems strange as my card is a HD4500 which is R600 isn't it?

ATI Technologies Inc M92 [Mobility Radeon HD 4500 Series]

I have this in /lib/firmware/radeon ..

 R600_rlc.bin  R700_rlc.bin

Anyone know why this is not working now .... I have no idea what firmware it is looking for.

Thanks

Offline

#538 2009-12-30 03:49:43

bmentink
Member
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 442

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

bmentink wrote:

Ok, went back to the testing version of kernel26.

However now I get no hardware acceleration (with or without KMS )

I did notice that I get the following when I have KMS enabled.

drm] Initialized drm 1.1.0 20060810
[drm] radeon kernel modesetting enabled.
[drm] radeon: Initializing kernel modesetting.
[drm] register mmio base: 0xD0020000
[drm] register mmio size: 65536
[drm] Clocks initialized !
[drm] Detected VRAM RAM=256M, BAR=256M
[drm] RAM width 64bits DDR
[drm] radeon: 256M of VRAM memory ready
[drm] radeon: 512M of GTT memory ready.
[drm] Loading RV710 CP Microcode
[drm:rv770_init] *ERROR* Failed to load firmware!
[drm:radeon_driver_load_kms] *ERROR* Fatal error while trying to initialize radeon.

Which seems strange as my card is a HD4500 which is R600 isn't it?

ATI Technologies Inc M92 [Mobility Radeon HD 4500 Series]

I have this in /lib/firmware/radeon ..

 R600_rlc.bin  R700_rlc.bin

Anyone know why this is not working now .... I have no idea what firmware it is looking for.

Thanks

Ok, I had the 2.6.31 kernel26-firmware installed .... silly me:/

I installed the testing version of the firmware and now I have this in /lib/firmware/radeon

l

s /lib/firmware/radeon/
R100_cp.bin  R600_pfp.bin  RS780_pfp.bin  RV630_pfp.bin  RV710_pfp.bin
R200_cp.bin  R600_rlc.bin  RV610_me.bin   RV635_me.bin   RV730_me.bin
R300_cp.bin  R700_rlc.bin  RV610_pfp.bin  RV635_pfp.bin  RV730_pfp.bin
R420_cp.bin  RS600_cp.bin  RV620_me.bin   RV670_me.bin   RV770_me.bin
R520_cp.bin  RS690_cp.bin  RV620_pfp.bin  RV670_pfp.bin  RV770_pfp.bin
R600_me.bin  RS780_me.bin  RV630_me.bin   RV710_me.bin

However, even with RV710_pfp.bin in the directory, it is not being found on boot, same error as above.

Any ideas anyone?

Offline

#539 2009-12-30 04:47:35

bmentink
Member
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 442

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

Sorry to keep posting on my own post, but thought I would add detail as I find out more.

With KMS disabled I get my full accelerated video again (2000fps glxgears), if I try to enable KMS (either early or late) I get issues.
The issues above with the ucode is with early ... but at least it eventualy boots.

I tried the late method, but it just caused a lockup when it was time to load the modules. I had to get the install disk out to chroot into the box to fix it sad

Anyone shed some light on this?

Many Thanks

Offline

#540 2009-12-30 07:06:29

handy
Member
From: Oz
Registered: 2008-03-26
Posts: 719

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

I've just upgraded, (not using [testing]) & now I have the best results ever from using the open-source packages:

handy ~  $  glxinfo |grep -i opengl
IRQ's not enabled, falling back to busy waits: 2 0
OpenGL vendor string: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI R600 (RV630 9583) 20090101  TCL
OpenGL version string: 1.5 Mesa 7.7
OpenGL extensions:
handy ~  $  glxgears
IRQ's not enabled, falling back to busy waits: 2 0
6705 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1340.927 FPS
6732 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1346.359 FPS
6701 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1340.079 FPS
6720 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1343.915 FPS
6719 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1343.650 FPS

The GPU 3D hardware is working & my glxgears are over twice as fast as the best I had been able to manage previously (OpenGL renderer string: Software Rasterizer).

Some days ago I modified my menu.lst for KMS as follows:

kernel /boot/vmlinuz26 root=/dev/sda3 ro

& followed the other procedures in the Arch, ATi wiki.

I take it that I can now just leave the menu.lst as it is & follow Perry's instructions re modprobe.d to turn on KMS.  Anyway that's what I'll do. smile

P.S. World of Goo works now. smile


I used to be surprised that I was still surprised by my own stupidity, finding it strangely refreshing.
Well, now I don't find it refreshing.
I'm over it!

Offline

#541 2009-12-30 07:35:10

handy
Member
From: Oz
Registered: 2008-03-26
Posts: 719

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

Black Mage wrote:

oh btw, does anyone know how i can compile the 23rc kernel, without messing with kernel configurations, just using stock arch kerneles configurations with the kernel26rc package.

I may not understand your question correctly, but maybe the following will help you?

You may want the kernel26-vanilla package from AUR, though it sounds like you may want this one - kernel26-rc 2.6.33rc2-1 , it's in AUR also.
________________

How do I check if KMS is functioning?

Last edited by handy (2009-12-30 07:36:24)


I used to be surprised that I was still surprised by my own stupidity, finding it strangely refreshing.
Well, now I don't find it refreshing.
I'm over it!

Offline

#542 2009-12-30 10:25:29

insanemal
Member
From: Brisbane/Australia
Registered: 2009-05-05
Posts: 140

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

Hey guys!!!!

Just so you all know

http://nightly.uhuc.de/x86_64/
http://nightly.uhuc.de/i686/

are the new urls for the http://nightly.user-helfen-usern.de/ repo's

They changed.
Dunno why.. but it means that Black Mage will have to update his lib32 packages.

Just a heads up for all of you!!

Offline

#543 2009-12-30 10:56:28

csslayer
Member
Registered: 2009-03-05
Posts: 84

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

A modified split version of kernel26 rc on AUR

http://saber-personal-project.googlecod … src.tar.gz

It will generated firmware header and kernel packages by one-way make.

(I renamed it to kernel26 because it's wired to see that kerne26-rc 2.6.33rc1 ... or kernel26-rc-headers )
And a missing directory for kernel26-headers is added (include/gernerated)

Offline

#544 2009-12-30 14:12:55

Perry3D
Member
Registered: 2008-03-20
Posts: 553

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

insanemal wrote:

Hey guys!!!!

Just so you all know

http://nightly.uhuc.de/x86_64/
http://nightly.uhuc.de/i686/

are the new urls for the http://nightly.user-helfen-usern.de/ repo's

They changed.
Dunno why.. but it means that Black Mage will have to update his lib32 packages.

Just a heads up for all of you!!

404 not found?

Offline

#545 2009-12-30 14:38:46

insanemal
Member
From: Brisbane/Australia
Registered: 2009-05-05
Posts: 140

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

http://nightly.uhuc.de/index.php?dir=x86_64

Works for me...

[nightly]
Server = http://nightly.uhuc.de/x86_64

is what's in my conf


What's frustrating is I "upgraded" to the new builds of the files... I lost working 3D with kms.
I upgraded my Kernel.. and it didn't help.....

any ideas...
Im on a rv710

Offline

#546 2009-12-30 15:34:15

Rabauke
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2009-12-19
Posts: 19

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

insanemal wrote:

any ideas...
Im on a rv710

KMS on .32.2 is broken and therefore disabled by default.
http://www.archlinux.org/news/477/

Offline

#547 2009-12-30 15:54:18

insanemal
Member
From: Brisbane/Australia
Registered: 2009-05-05
Posts: 140

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

Lulz.. Im on .33

Its all good now.. I found the issue..

It was the git mesa stuff that was built on the 22nd.
Rebuilt mesa full and BAM it all works..

Offline

#548 2009-12-30 18:18:44

Rabauke
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2009-12-19
Posts: 19

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

Mh...

Cause I'm on .33 with 3d, too.
But without working KMS.

Offline

#549 2009-12-30 23:23:43

handy
Member
From: Oz
Registered: 2008-03-26
Posts: 719

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

Rabauke wrote:

KMS on .32.2 is broken and therefore disabled by default.
http://www.archlinux.org/news/477/

Thanks for that info'.

In an earlier post I asked how you check if KMS is working? 

I turned it on per Perry's instructions in the OP, but I can't detect any change, so I'm thinking that is because there aren't any... lol

Last edited by handy (2009-12-30 23:24:58)


I used to be surprised that I was still surprised by my own stupidity, finding it strangely refreshing.
Well, now I don't find it refreshing.
I'm over it!

Offline

#550 2009-12-31 03:07:27

insanemal
Member
From: Brisbane/Australia
Registered: 2009-05-05
Posts: 140

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

I didn't do anything special.
But I did ditch the stuff in the nightly repo.

They are actually all quite old. 22/12 where as the stuff I complied from git last night seems to have worked much better.

Initially when using the nightly repo, If I used KMS things went bad.. if i used No kms things were fine.
Rebuliding Mesa from git.. makes it all work happy.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB