You are not logged in.

#651 2010-01-18 19:17:45

yimm
Member
From: France
Registered: 2009-10-16
Posts: 106

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

PM Patches seems to block at the depmod part during kernel compilation...

  INSTALL /home/guillaume/compilation/kernel-pm-patches/pkg/lib/firmware/radeon/RV730_me.bin
  INSTALL /home/guillaume/compilation/kernel-pm-patches/pkg/lib/firmware/radeon/RV710_pfp.bin
  INSTALL /home/guillaume/compilation/kernel-pm-patches/pkg/lib/firmware/radeon/RV710_me.bin
  DEPMOD  2.6.33-rc4-rc

and nothing...
Without patches, all work.
I dream? neutral

Last edited by yimm (2010-01-18 19:18:50)

Offline

#652 2010-01-18 22:40:28

Neuro
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2005-10-12
Posts: 352

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

Perry3D wrote:
Neuro wrote:

Ok, I'm using 2.6.33rc4 with Ati PM patches for KMS and mesa full from 20100117. KMS is on and I'm using KDE 4.4. Sometimes the dropdown shadow around the windwos in Kwin turns transparent-yellow. Anyone experienced anything similar?

Maybe it is fixed now: http://cgit.freedesktop.org/mesa/mesa/c … f5db7391df

Nah, it's not that. My chipset is r600 so I didn't think it would work.

Also I have a problem with my kernel. Suspend/resume doesn't work on Ati. Either from X or from console. It just hangs in the framebuffer while suspending. As I have a separate Intel card, I can check, and everything works there. I thought it was the fault of the PM patches, but without them I only have the fan up constantly, but suspend/resume doesn't work.

Has anyone had a similar bug? Where can I report it?

Offline

#653 2010-01-18 23:21:59

korpenkraxar
Member
Registered: 2006-04-02
Posts: 123

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

Neuro wrote:
Perry3D wrote:
Neuro wrote:

Ok, I'm using 2.6.33rc4 with Ati PM patches for KMS and mesa full from 20100117. KMS is on and I'm using KDE 4.4. Sometimes the dropdown shadow around the windwos in Kwin turns transparent-yellow. Anyone experienced anything similar?

Maybe it is fixed now: http://cgit.freedesktop.org/mesa/mesa/c … f5db7391df

Nah, it's not that. My chipset is r600 so I didn't think it would work.

Also I have a problem with my kernel. Suspend/resume doesn't work on Ati. Either from X or from console. It just hangs in the framebuffer while suspending. As I have a separate Intel card, I can check, and everything works there. I thought it was the fault of the PM patches, but without them I only have the fan up constantly, but suspend/resume doesn't work.

Has anyone had a similar bug? Where can I report it?

What hardware are you on? I wonder since I have a Thinkpad W500 with both Intel and ATI graphics chips and I am just compiling 2.6.33-rc4 plus the PM patches myself.

Offline

#654 2010-01-18 23:30:07

ungraven
Member
Registered: 2008-10-23
Posts: 6

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

yimm wrote:

PM Patches seems to block at the depmod part during kernel compilation...

  INSTALL /home/guillaume/compilation/kernel-pm-patches/pkg/lib/firmware/radeon/RV730_me.bin
  INSTALL /home/guillaume/compilation/kernel-pm-patches/pkg/lib/firmware/radeon/RV710_pfp.bin
  INSTALL /home/guillaume/compilation/kernel-pm-patches/pkg/lib/firmware/radeon/RV710_me.bin
  DEPMOD  2.6.33-rc4-rc

and nothing...
Without patches, all work.
I dream? neutral

I got the same thing when I tried last night.

Offline

#655 2010-01-19 00:58:45

korpenkraxar
Member
Registered: 2006-04-02
Posts: 123

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

Neuro wrote:

Ok, I'm using 2.6.33rc4 with Ati PM patches for KMS and mesa full from 20100117. KMS is on and I'm using KDE 4.4. Sometimes the dropdown shadow around the windwos in Kwin turns transparent-yellow. Anyone experienced anything similar?

Yes. I just got that using Perry 3D's 64-bit kernel above. Ouch, that was ugly.

Offline

#656 2010-01-19 04:23:34

bmentink
Member
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 442

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

Hi Guys,

I have tried the KMS stuff on two machines: A laptop and my media PC which has an HD4650 card ..

The glxinfo for the laptop is:

OpenGL vendor string: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.                             
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI R600 (RV710 9553) 20090101 x86/MMX/SSE2 TCL   
OpenGL version string: 2.0 Mesa 7.8-devel                                      
OpenGL shading language version string: 1.10                                   
OpenGL extensions:

The glxinfo for the PC is:

OpenGL vendor string: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.                             
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI R600 (RV730 9498) 20090101 x86/MMX/SSE2 TCL   
OpenGL version string: 2.0 Mesa 7.8-devel                                      
OpenGL shading language version string: 1.10                                   
OpenGL extensions:

When I enable KMS (early) with "radeon.modeset=1" on either machine, I just get a black screen, if I set modeset=0 I run X fine.

I guess My chips above (RV710 and RV730) are still too new for KMS support. Can anyone confirm this?

(PS: I am using mesa-full from aur and all the other packages are -git versions from AUR, kernels are 2.6.32.2-2)

Thanks,
Bernie

Offline

#657 2010-01-19 04:45:12

handy
Member
From: Oz
Registered: 2008-03-26
Posts: 719

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

Apparently kernel 2.6.32 has a bug, it is most likely what the problem is bementink.


I used to be surprised that I was still surprised by my own stupidity, finding it strangely refreshing.
Well, now I don't find it refreshing.
I'm over it!

Offline

#658 2010-01-19 05:57:23

Neuro
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2005-10-12
Posts: 352

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

korpenkraxar wrote:
Neuro wrote:
Perry3D wrote:

Nah, it's not that. My chipset is r600 so I didn't think it would work.

Also I have a problem with my kernel. Suspend/resume doesn't work on Ati. Either from X or from console. It just hangs in the framebuffer while suspending. As I have a separate Intel card, I can check, and everything works there. I thought it was the fault of the PM patches, but without them I only have the fan up constantly, but suspend/resume doesn't work.

Has anyone had a similar bug? Where can I report it?

What hardware are you on? I wonder since I have a Thinkpad W500 with both Intel and ATI graphics chips and I am just compiling 2.6.33-rc4 plus the PM patches myself.

I've got a Lenovo U330 with Ati RHDM 3450 and Intel 4500MHD.

So, the current list of things that don't work:
- Kwin shadow rendering problems. I don't know why sad
- Suspend/resume doesn't work with or without PM patches. Hangs in the radeon modesetting framebuffer (after X exits). Suspend works in intel modesetting drivers.
- I can't adjust brightness at all. I can do that in the console before radeon modesetting starts, I can do that with intel modesetting drivers. Something rings a bell that I might need an additional module? I've already got intel-agp loaded.
- After switching orm kernel 2.6.32.3 to 2.6.33rc4 the frame on my external display is white instead of black. I mean, the modesetting driver drives 1280x800, as it's my internal LVDS resolution, but the remaining pixels on my 1920x1200 HDMI output is white and used to be black. That's really painful.

What does work wonders is:
- Startling fast 2d. I mean: it runs circles around fglrx
- Fast Xv without tearing! That's the single bigges reason to switch. Catalyst was unusable for HD video. This is just heaven.
- Fast 3d compositing. Faster than Catalyst... a lot. There are some Kwin glitches though.

Does anyone know a solution to any my problems? smile

Offline

#659 2010-01-19 06:31:25

insanemal
Member
From: Brisbane/Australia
Registered: 2009-05-05
Posts: 140

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

Neuro wrote:
korpenkraxar wrote:
Neuro wrote:

Nah, it's not that. My chipset is r600 so I didn't think it would work.

Also I have a problem with my kernel. Suspend/resume doesn't work on Ati. Either from X or from console. It just hangs in the framebuffer while suspending. As I have a separate Intel card, I can check, and everything works there. I thought it was the fault of the PM patches, but without them I only have the fan up constantly, but suspend/resume doesn't work.

Has anyone had a similar bug? Where can I report it?

What hardware are you on? I wonder since I have a Thinkpad W500 with both Intel and ATI graphics chips and I am just compiling 2.6.33-rc4 plus the PM patches myself.

I've got a Lenovo U330 with Ati RHDM 3450 and Intel 4500MHD.

So, the current list of things that don't work:
- Kwin shadow rendering problems. I don't know why sad
- Suspend/resume doesn't work with or without PM patches. Hangs in the radeon modesetting framebuffer (after X exits). Suspend works in intel modesetting drivers.
- I can't adjust brightness at all. I can do that in the console before radeon modesetting starts, I can do that with intel modesetting drivers. Something rings a bell that I might need an additional module? I've already got intel-agp loaded.
- After switching orm kernel 2.6.32.3 to 2.6.33rc4 the frame on my external display is white instead of black. I mean, the modesetting driver drives 1280x800, as it's my internal LVDS resolution, but the remaining pixels on my 1920x1200 HDMI output is white and used to be black. That's really painful.

What does work wonders is:
- Startling fast 2d. I mean: it runs circles around fglrx
- Fast Xv without tearing! That's the single bigges reason to switch. Catalyst was unusable for HD video. This is just heaven.
- Fast 3d compositing. Faster than Catalyst... a lot. There are some Kwin glitches though.

Does anyone know a solution to any my problems? smile

Do you have kernel-firmware and radeon-uname installed?

Offline

#660 2010-01-19 07:03:26

Neuro
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2005-10-12
Posts: 352

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

insanemal wrote:

Do you have kernel-firmware and radeon-uname installed?

I've got radeon-ucode and stock (2.6.32) kernel-firmware. I've got kernel26-rc 2.6.33rc4. Will the stock kernel26-firmware do or should I use kernel26-firmware-git?

Last edited by Neuro (2010-01-19 07:05:08)

Offline

#661 2010-01-19 08:47:09

handy
Member
From: Oz
Registered: 2008-03-26
Posts: 719

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

Is anyone playing Regnum with the open-source GPU driver solution?

I just installed Regnum but get the following error, which I put down to my using the stable open-source packages for my HD2600Pro:

Unsupported video card!

There are three possible causes for this error:
1. Your video card is too old
2. You haven't installed the latest available drivers
3. You haven't installed the latest DirectX version

Last edited by handy (2010-01-19 08:47:25)


I used to be surprised that I was still surprised by my own stupidity, finding it strangely refreshing.
Well, now I don't find it refreshing.
I'm over it!

Offline

#662 2010-01-19 09:53:53

csslayer
Member
Registered: 2009-03-05
Posts: 84

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

Perry3D wrote:
Neuro wrote:

Ok, I'm using 2.6.33rc4 with Ati PM patches for KMS and mesa full from 20100117. KMS is on and I'm using KDE 4.4. Sometimes the dropdown shadow around the windwos in Kwin turns transparent-yellow. Anyone experienced anything similar?

Maybe it is fixed now: http://cgit.freedesktop.org/mesa/mesa/c … f5db7391df

Nope, I try following:
kernel26 rc1 + mesa 7.7 + libdrm 2.4.17 xf86-video-ati-git
kernel26 rc1 + mesa git + libdrm git xf86-video-ati-git
kernel26 rc4 + mesa git + libdrm git xf86-video-ati-git
kernel26 rc4 + mesa git + libdrm 2.4.17 xf86-video-ati-git

below all can enter desktop and enable 3d, but only with rc1 works well, no annoying artifacts. I don't know what will happen on rc2 or rc3.
There seems no difference between mesa git or 7.7 about feeling and glxgear fps.

Last edited by csslayer (2010-01-19 09:54:45)

Offline

#663 2010-01-19 16:03:52

Neuro
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2005-10-12
Posts: 352

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

csslayer wrote:
Perry3D wrote:
Neuro wrote:

Ok, I'm using 2.6.33rc4 with Ati PM patches for KMS and mesa full from 20100117. KMS is on and I'm using KDE 4.4. Sometimes the dropdown shadow around the windwos in Kwin turns transparent-yellow. Anyone experienced anything similar?

Maybe it is fixed now: http://cgit.freedesktop.org/mesa/mesa/c … f5db7391df

Nope, I try following:
kernel26 rc1 + mesa 7.7 + libdrm 2.4.17 xf86-video-ati-git
kernel26 rc1 + mesa git + libdrm git xf86-video-ati-git
kernel26 rc4 + mesa git + libdrm git xf86-video-ati-git
kernel26 rc4 + mesa git + libdrm 2.4.17 xf86-video-ati-git

below all can enter desktop and enable 3d, but only with rc1 works well, no annoying artifacts. I don't know what will happen on rc2 or rc3.
There seems no difference between mesa git or 7.7 about feeling and glxgear fps.

So, you say that with kernel26 2.3.33 rc1 and mesa-git, libdrm-git and xf86-video-ati-git you don't get any artifacts in KDE?

Also, does suspend/resume work for you in rc1?

Offline

#664 2010-01-19 16:43:51

korpenkraxar
Member
Registered: 2006-04-02
Posts: 123

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

suspend/resume works fine for me in rc4. I have not managed to compile the rc4 + PM patches yet.

Offline

#665 2010-01-19 18:45:52

yimm
Member
From: France
Registered: 2009-10-16
Posts: 106

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

ungraven wrote:

I got the same thing when I tried last night.

As I see is my processes, it seems to be the sed process who block (line 106 in PKGBUILD)
You must change this :

# set correct depmod command for install                                                           
  sed \                                                                                             
    -e  "s/KERNEL_NAME=.*/KERNEL_NAME=${_kernelname}/g" \                                           
    -e  "s/KERNEL_VERSION=.*/KERNEL_VERSION=${_kernver}/g" \                                         
    -i $startdir/kernel26.install                                                                   
  sed \                                                                                             
    -e "s|source .*|source /etc/mkinitcpio.d/kernel26${_kernelname}.kver|g" \                       
    -e "s|default_image=.*|default_image=\"/boot/${pkgname}.img\"|g" \                               
    -e "s|fallback_image=.*|fallback_image=\"/boot/${pkgname}-fallback.img\"|g" \                   
    -i ${pkgdir}/etc/mkinitcpio.d/${pkgname}.preset

by this :

# set correct depmod command for install                                                           
  sed -e  "s/KERNEL_NAME=.*/KERNEL_NAME=${_kernelname}/g" -e  "s/KERNEL_VERSION=.*/KERNEL_VERSION=${_kernver}/g" -i $startdir/kernel26.install                                                                   
  sed -e "s|source .*|source /etc/mkinitcpio.d/kernel26${_kernelname}.kver|g" -e "s|default_image=.*|default_image=\"/boot/${pkgname}.img\"|g" -e "s|fallback_image=.*|fallback_image=\"/boot/${pkgname}-fallback.img\"|g" -i ${pkgdir}/etc/mkinitcpio.d/${pkgname}.preset

And the compilation continue.

Last edited by yimm (2010-01-19 19:14:21)

Offline

#666 2010-01-19 22:45:45

korpenkraxar
Member
Registered: 2006-04-02
Posts: 123

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

yimm wrote:

set correct depmod command for install                                                           
...
And the compilation continue.

Yes that works for me. I am now running rc4 + PM on the W500 with an ATI 3650/FireGl 5700 chip. The "GPU" sensor in gkrellm still reports 65C which is pretty much the normal temperature without the patches.

Which temperature sensor should I check?
Do I need to activate/specify any power management settings in xorg.conf or similar file?
Are the patches compatible with KMS?

Offline

#667 2010-01-19 23:12:07

Neuro
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2005-10-12
Posts: 352

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

korpenkraxar wrote:

Yes that works for me. I am now running rc4 + PM on the W500 with an ATI 3650/FireGl 5700 chip. The "GPU" sensor in gkrellm still reports 65C which is pretty much the normal temperature without the patches.

Which temperature sensor should I check?
Do I need to activate/specify any power management settings in xorg.conf or similar file?
Are the patches compatible with KMS?

Well I've got an ATI 3450 here.. I only have a "combined" temperature of GPU+CPU. Without the patches in KMS it showed 56C with the fan running constantly in idle. With the patches I've got 49C with the fan and 54C before the fan kicks in.

Offline

#668 2010-01-20 03:29:45

Jookia
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2009-11-19
Posts: 103

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

How come mesa-full works for me but mesa-split doesn't?

Offline

#669 2010-01-20 12:20:29

yimm
Member
From: France
Registered: 2009-10-16
Posts: 106

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

Perry3D wrote:
Neuro wrote:

Ok, I'm using 2.6.33rc4 with Ati PM patches for KMS and mesa full from 20100117. KMS is on and I'm using KDE 4.4. Sometimes the dropdown shadow around the windwos in Kwin turns transparent-yellow. Anyone experienced anything similar?

Maybe it is fixed now: http://cgit.freedesktop.org/mesa/mesa/c … f5db7391df

Same problem here wink

korpenkraxar wrote:

Yes that works for me. I am now running rc4 + PM on the W500 with an ATI 3650/FireGl 5700 chip. The "GPU" sensor in gkrellm still reports 65C which is pretty much the normal temperature without the patches.

Which temperature sensor should I check?
Do I need to activate/specify any power management settings in xorg.conf or similar file?
Are the patches compatible with KMS?

Are you sure that you have activated PM ?

You have to enable it using dynpm parameter (dynpm=1). You can set this on loading module time (modprobe radeon dynpm=1), or in GRUB (radeon.dynpm=1) or in /etc/modprobe.d/some.file

[guillaume@yimm64 ~]$ cat /sys/kernel/debug/dri/0/radeon_pm_info
state: PM_STATE_ACTIVE
default engine clock: 500000 kHz
current engine clock: 300000 kHz
default memory clock: 850000 kHz
current memory clock: 850000 kHz

See state line.

Yes, there are compatible with KMS.

[root@yimm64 guillaume]# sensors
coretemp-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
Core 0:      +49.0°C  (high = +105.0°C, crit = +105.0°C)

coretemp-isa-0001
Adapter: ISA adapter
Core 1:      +51.0°C  (high = +105.0°C, crit = +105.0°C)

acpitz-virtual-0
Adapter: Virtual device
temp1:       +53.0°C  (crit = +100.0°C)

My temperature seems to be at 53°C.

Edit : On battery, my laptop consumes 48W instead of 30W (with fglrx), so +18W with xf86-video-ati.

Last edited by yimm (2010-01-20 13:32:15)

Offline

#670 2010-01-20 14:28:56

Neuro
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2005-10-12
Posts: 352

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

yimm wrote:
Perry3D wrote:
Neuro wrote:

Ok, I'm using 2.6.33rc4 with Ati PM patches for KMS and mesa full from 20100117. KMS is on and I'm using KDE 4.4. Sometimes the dropdown shadow around the windwos in Kwin turns transparent-yellow. Anyone experienced anything similar?

Maybe it is fixed now: http://cgit.freedesktop.org/mesa/mesa/c … f5db7391df

Same problem here wink

So, has  anyone found a related bug report? If no, where should I post it?

Offline

#671 2010-01-20 16:21:51

M177ER
Member
Registered: 2008-06-15
Posts: 148

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

yimm wrote:

acpitz-virtual-0
Adapter: Virtual device
temp1:       +53.0°C  (crit = +100.0°C)

My temperature seems to be at 53°C.

Edit : On battery, my laptop consumes 48W instead of 30W (with fglrx), so +18W with xf86-video-ati.

Does the +53.0°C mean just that it is running at 53°C or does it mean that it is running 53°C above room temperature? My temp1 runs between +40°C and +55°C but the laptop case seems really warm/hot.

Offline

#672 2010-01-20 17:06:33

yimm
Member
From: France
Registered: 2009-10-16
Posts: 106

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

M177ER wrote:

Does the +53.0°C mean just that it is running at 53°C or does it mean that it is running 53°C above room temperature? My temp1 runs between +40°C and +55°C but the laptop case seems really warm/hot.

I think it means that it is running at 53°C... but it's only that I think. Maybe I'm not true... Because 70-75°C is very very hot on "idle"... but why not.
Edit : Now I have 60°C

Last edited by yimm (2010-01-20 18:47:20)

Offline

#673 2010-01-20 18:59:55

Neuro
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2005-10-12
Posts: 352

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

yimm wrote:
M177ER wrote:

Does the +53.0°C mean just that it is running at 53°C or does it mean that it is running 53°C above room temperature? My temp1 runs between +40°C and +55°C but the laptop case seems really warm/hot.

I think it means that it is running at 53°C... but it's only that I think. Maybe I'm not true... Because 70-75°C is very very hot on "idle"... but why not.
Edit : Now I have 60°C

Nah, it definitly means 53C. lm_sensors reports what the sensors attached to GPU and CPU say. There is no way of telling what the reference "room temperature" equals, as there is no additional sensor emasuring it. Moreover, AFAIK modern chipsets (like CPUs) usually have critical temperature levels of 80C.

Offline

#674 2010-01-20 20:07:46

M177ER
Member
Registered: 2008-06-15
Posts: 148

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

Thanks yimm & Neuro.

Offline

#675 2010-01-20 21:57:15

korpenkraxar
Member
Registered: 2006-04-02
Posts: 123

Re: Discussion: the ati/radeon open source drivers & radeon repository

Neuro wrote:

So, has  anyone found a related bug report? If no, where should I post it?

If you file a report, I have a few screenies if that would be of interest.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB