You are not logged in.

#401 2011-02-25 14:48:27

Moo-Crumpus
Member
From: Hessen / Germany
Registered: 2003-12-01
Posts: 1,444

Re: gnome unstable repository

Giselher wrote:

Hah, got it starting, big_smile
but all my settings are gone

EDIT:
before:
http://i.imgur.com/F2iFv.jpg

after:
http://i.imgur.com/jh3VY.png

Same here. I guess this is normal? But I can't manage to change a theme ore mouse scheme etc...


Frumpus addict
[mu'.krum.pus], [frum.pus]

Offline

#402 2011-02-25 15:12:04

JGC
Developer
Registered: 2003-12-03
Posts: 1,659

Re: gnome unstable repository

GNOME 3.0 will be a release without choice: the only changes you can do to look&feel using GUI are increasing (not decreasing) the fontsize as an accessibility feature, changing the theme to high/low contrast (accessibility feature too) and changing the background. All other changes have to be done trough dconf (org.gnome.desktop.interface and org.gnome.settings-daemon.plugins.xsettings are the ones you're looking for).
There's one big limitation so far, and that's the GTK theme you can use. There's only Adwaita, which means "The one and only" in some language. You guess why they chose that name.

Offline

#403 2011-02-25 16:11:42

hungerfish
Member
Registered: 2009-09-13
Posts: 242

Re: gnome unstable repository

Installing packages from gnome-unstable in the current state means a wrecked system and lots of applications failing to load due to soname bumps.

Hell yeahh smile

@JGC
There wont be any theming support?? Or just no initial support??


Beetles and bacteria are vastly more successful than humans in terms of survival.

Offline

#404 2011-02-25 16:29:38

Giselher
Member
From: Austria
Registered: 2010-02-02
Posts: 150
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

I rebuilt all packages which weren't working. I also have to say It runs fairly stable, except for the dconf-editor. The only thing I can't get working is gnome-shell.

Thansk JGC, I could change the icon theme and gtk theme, but I can't find out how to change the metacity theme. Also a way to remove the panels would be nice. wink

Last edited by Giselher (2011-02-25 17:01:22)

Offline

#405 2011-02-25 20:11:28

Zeqadious
Member
From: New York, USA
Registered: 2007-10-15
Posts: 54
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

I got it all working + gnome-shell (using git).  I can say that there are themes available for gnome-shell, even at gnome-look.org.  Some even work okay!  The bottom line is that its all in fluid state at the moment, probably until gnome 3.0 finally is released.  The biggest problem is the GTK+ 3 theming is missing.  Stock GTK+3 is pretty fugly just like stock GTK+2.  I've not found a theme tweaker for GTK+3 yet (lxappearance esque).  It won't be long though before someone writes one.  Even if GNOME 3 won't officially box a way to modify the "look" of your gnome, there WILL be apps that will.


"Till shade is gone, till water is gone, into the Shadow with teeth bared, screaming defiance with the last breath, to spit in Sightblinder's eye on the Last Day"

Offline

#406 2011-02-26 08:17:21

Giselher
Member
From: Austria
Registered: 2010-02-02
Posts: 150
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

There is a typo in the dependencies list for gedit-2.91.7-1

 depends=('gtksourceview3' 'gsettings-desktop-schemas ''libpeas' 'enchant' 'iso-codes' 'libsm')

Can you see it ;P

Offline

#407 2011-02-26 08:43:32

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

@Giselher thanks. fixed


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#408 2011-02-27 15:09:42

misc
Member
From: Bavaria, Germany
Registered: 2010-03-22
Posts: 112

Re: gnome unstable repository

Nautilus won't start after the latest update (2.91.90.1-2):

(nautilus:28959): libnotify-WARNING **: Failed to connect to proxy
zsh: segmentation fault  nautilus

Last edited by misc (2011-02-27 15:10:04)

Offline

#409 2011-02-27 15:42:19

Giselher
Member
From: Austria
Registered: 2010-02-02
Posts: 150
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

misc wrote:

Nautilus won't start after the latest update (2.91.90.1-2):

(nautilus:28959): libnotify-WARNING **: Failed to connect to proxy
zsh: segmentation fault  nautilus

Are you up-to-date? Because it works for me.

No offense, but If  you can't fix it yourself, you schould't use the repo at the moment, because it isn't finished and wonder said to stop using the gnome-unstable repo tongue .

EDIT: Try compiling from the source.

Last edited by Giselher (2011-02-27 16:06:18)

Offline

#410 2011-02-27 16:39:31

misc
Member
From: Bavaria, Germany
Registered: 2010-03-22
Posts: 112

Re: gnome unstable repository

Giselher wrote:

Are you up-to-date?

I am, or yaourt is lying to me.

gdb reports:

Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
0x00007ffff72bb1fb in gtk_icon_info_load_symbolic_for_context () from /usr/lib/libgtk-3.so.0

edit:

Giselher wrote:

EDIT: Try compiling from the source.

Just did – no change, same error.

edit2:

Whatever it was, for now Nautilus starts properly.

edit3:

Well, there's the cause: sigsegv whenever an external drive is connected.

Last edited by misc (2011-02-28 14:16:14)

Offline

#411 2011-02-28 11:17:45

hungerfish
Member
Registered: 2009-09-13
Posts: 242

Re: gnome unstable repository

Just tried it again, seems to work. gnome-shell and everything smile
...Now to reinstall KDE lol


Beetles and bacteria are vastly more successful than humans in terms of survival.

Offline

#412 2011-02-28 11:57:25

skodabenz
Banned
From: Tamilnadu, India
Registered: 2010-04-11
Posts: 382

Re: gnome unstable repository

I am getting high cpu and memory usage with mutter + gnome-shell  ( htop shows about 20 to 30% cpu usage with mutter --mutter-plugins=libgnome-shell ) . Otherwise gnome-shell launches but keyboard and touchpad cursor are very slow in responding. Any idea whats wrong. Same gnome-shell in a fedora rawhide iso works without high cpu+memory usage (cpu usage seems to be the problem rather than memory here).


My new forum user/nick name is "the.ridikulus.rat" .

Offline

#413 2011-02-28 12:16:36

sbfreak
Member
Registered: 2010-06-06
Posts: 149

Re: gnome unstable repository

So if I do a fresh install will I get gnome-shell? Was the packaging finished?

L.E: Thank you wonder.

Last edited by sbfreak (2011-02-28 14:41:30)

Offline

#414 2011-02-28 12:44:23

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

status of repo at February 28.

* most packages are done and polishing is needed.
* gnome 3 has a fallback mode to a gnome 2 layout. if you want that, you shouldn't install gnome shell
* gnome group is not refactored and a simply pacman -S gnome would install an incomplete gnome 3 desktop
* do not use that repo unless you want to help improving our packages, report bugs upstream.
* current gtk3 3.0.1 is buggy and applications would crash constantly (gtk from git works fine)
* applications that link to libnotify haven't been rebuilt (the biggest blocker)

Last edited by wonder (2011-02-28 12:47:26)


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#415 2011-02-28 19:53:23

Mazur
Member
Registered: 2009-06-10
Posts: 103
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

Love you wonder, really great job on packaging. I had fresh Arch Linux i686 install with Gnome only and Qt Creator/Android SDK/NDK so I wanted to give this gnome-unstable a try. I have updated to [testing] and after that I have updated to gnome-unstable and installed gnome-shell. The only problem I had was with GDM. I wasn't able to login to gnome-shell. After installing "dbus-python" package, it went okay. I am currently testing gnome-shell and I love it, seriously. It is simple and really cool on my machine. I am still wondering how it will be on netbook but on Desktop-PC I really like it. The only problem is that GDM is killing with errors in Terminal also Sound Icon is always muted. Didn't try anything else yet. Gonna try it now and I will report as many bugs as possible. Thanks again!

Offline

#416 2011-02-28 20:17:28

Moo-Crumpus
Member
From: Hessen / Germany
Registered: 2003-12-01
Posts: 1,444

Re: gnome unstable repository

gnome-shell rocks, man. My old Fujitsu-Siemens-Laptop plays it like charm.
I just can't start gdm, it starts to pop up a thousand times.
gnome-terminal's transparency is gone.
The rest of gnome3 is just cute and surprisingly fast.


Frumpus addict
[mu'.krum.pus], [frum.pus]

Offline

#417 2011-02-28 20:20:33

Moo-Crumpus
Member
From: Hessen / Germany
Registered: 2003-12-01
Posts: 1,444

Re: gnome unstable repository

installing dbus-python made gdm behave well.


Frumpus addict
[mu'.krum.pus], [frum.pus]

Offline

#418 2011-02-28 20:23:13

Moo-Crumpus
Member
From: Hessen / Germany
Registered: 2003-12-01
Posts: 1,444

Re: gnome unstable repository

epiphany plugins (flash...) are missed


Frumpus addict
[mu'.krum.pus], [frum.pus]

Offline

#419 2011-02-28 20:27:20

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

Moo-Crumpus wrote:

epiphany plugins (flash...) are missed

flash is blacklisted in epiphany. epiphany is gtk3, flash is gtk2...

http://git.gnome.org/browse/epiphany/co … 521c8298e1

Last edited by wonder (2011-02-28 20:36:35)


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#420 2011-02-28 20:42:11

Moo-Crumpus
Member
From: Hessen / Germany
Registered: 2003-12-01
Posts: 1,444

Re: gnome unstable repository

Oh, well. pulseaudio is doing a quite fine job. I am just testing some mp3s, and my laptop had allways poor sound quality - a lot of noise if volume was over 80%. It is really fine now, clear, even at 100% volume without any noise. Hipp Hipp, I love gnome3. Thanks for sharing, I had no bugs so far.
PS:
Evolution still is buggy, wherefore no arch developper can be blamed. It just ignores maximize ore minimize window actions and does not fit to 1024x786. Bug-Buddy complains it had no idea which gnome I am running.


Frumpus addict
[mu'.krum.pus], [frum.pus]

Offline

#421 2011-02-28 20:50:51

Mazur
Member
Registered: 2009-06-10
Posts: 103
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

Hi, I am playing still with Gnome 3 and it is really usable whereas the only bug (or is it a feature?) is that I have no minimize/maximize icons on all applications but only on chromium but it's built-in.

Offline

#422 2011-02-28 20:53:56

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

Mazur wrote:

Hi, I am playing still with Gnome 3 and it is really usable whereas the only bug (or is it a feature?) is that I have no minimize/maximize icons on all applications but only on chromium but it's built-in.

there is no minimize/maximize in gnome 3 smile.

http://mail.gnome.org/archives/gnome-sh … 00192.html

happy reading


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#423 2011-02-28 21:19:23

Moo-Crumpus
Member
From: Hessen / Germany
Registered: 2003-12-01
Posts: 1,444

Re: gnome unstable repository

minimize / maximize is done clicking on the upper window border.


Frumpus addict
[mu'.krum.pus], [frum.pus]

Offline

#424 2011-02-28 21:21:18

Moo-Crumpus
Member
From: Hessen / Germany
Registered: 2003-12-01
Posts: 1,444

Re: gnome unstable repository

I am happy, thank you very much for maintaining it! Five Stars!


Frumpus addict
[mu'.krum.pus], [frum.pus]

Offline

#425 2011-02-28 22:12:59

flamelab
Member
From: Athens, Hellas (Greece)
Registered: 2007-12-26
Posts: 2,160

Re: gnome unstable repository

Where are gnome 3 settings located ? (like ~/.gnome2 & ~/.gnome2-private in gnome 2)

Last edited by flamelab (2011-02-28 22:13:21)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB