You are not logged in.

#676 2011-04-04 18:17:04

tririver
Member
Registered: 2011-03-02
Posts: 49

Re: gnome unstable repository

Mazur wrote:

I wanted to ask what exactly packages are using Gtk2 now when installing Gnome 3? Is it possible to get rid of this package and use only Gtk3 or for now it won't be possible? I am asking about Gnome 3 and Gnome-Shell only, I know that I will miss many applications when I will drop Gtk2. Any clues?

I have a very naive rule: When the scroll bar of the application looks new, it is using GTK3; when it looks as in gnome 2.xx, it is using GTK2 smile

Offline

#677 2011-04-04 18:21:06

tririver
Member
Registered: 2011-03-02
Posts: 49

Re: gnome unstable repository

Update: After upgrading some other packages to 3.0.0 later today, the problem is gone. Thus please ignore the following ~

Just to report: gnome-settings-daemon 3.0.0-1 brings funny random errors for me. Typically I cannot login. Sometimes the computer stuck with no gnome-shell started; Sometimes, there is a window saying there is something wrong and I need to re-login; Sometimes (I am using dual display) on one screen gnome-shell is started successfully and on the other screen it is saying something went wrong and I need to re-login wink

Downgrading to 2.91.93 solves the problem.

Last edited by tririver (2011-04-04 19:53:24)

Offline

#678 2011-04-04 18:35:47

jolinfire
Member
From: France
Registered: 2007-12-21
Posts: 176

Re: gnome unstable repository

Got a crash in gnome-control-center when choosing keyboard :

[fred@fredo-arch ~]$ gnome-control-center &
[1] 15428
[fred@fredo-arch ~]$ 
GLib-GIO-ERROR **: Settings schema 'org.gnome.settings-daemon.peripherals.keyboard' does not contain a key named 'rate'
aborting...
[fred@fredo-arch ~]$ pacman -Si gnome-control-center | grep Version
Version               : 2.91.93-1

Waiting for gnome-control-center 3.0 ? smile

Last edited by jolinfire (2011-04-04 18:37:00)

Offline

#679 2011-04-04 18:39:09

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,941
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

those who got metacity 2.32 as an update, please downgrade back to extra version


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.

Offline

#680 2011-04-04 18:48:36

jolinfire
Member
From: France
Registered: 2007-12-21
Posts: 176

Re: gnome unstable repository

@wonder : for numlock keyboard bug (not activated on start) : https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=646738

Waiting for new 3.0 packages now big_smile

Offline

#681 2011-04-04 19:14:06

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,941
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

@jolinfire really, not report bugs like that missing schema member until you don't get all packages up to date


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.

Offline

#682 2011-04-04 19:48:42

Mazur
Member
Registered: 2009-06-10
Posts: 103
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

tririver wrote:
Mazur wrote:

I wanted to ask what exactly packages are using Gtk2 now when installing Gnome 3? Is it possible to get rid of this package and use only Gtk3 or for now it won't be possible? I am asking about Gnome 3 and Gnome-Shell only, I know that I will miss many applications when I will drop Gtk2. Any clues?

I have a very naive rule: When the scroll bar of the application looks new, it is using GTK3; when it looks as in gnome 2.xx, it is using GTK2 smile

This is not what I meant but Cheers, I am actually wondering why on clean system while installing Gnome from gnome-unstable I am getting Gtk2 installed as well. What packages need it now?

Offline

#683 2011-04-04 19:52:16

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,941
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

@Mazur firstly the theme. upstream makes it dependable on gtk-engines. then is metacity that is used in fallback mode


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.

Offline

#684 2011-04-04 20:02:16

Mazur
Member
Registered: 2009-06-10
Posts: 103
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

Thank You wonder, so in theory getting rid of metacity later would make my system Gtk2 free, right? Is there a plan to change metacity to Gtk3 or anything like this? Duh sometimes I think that this is going to be huge mess in Linux with releasing Gnome 3, Gtk3 whereas nobody will want to move to the new version because of Canonical who moved to Unity and all apps there will be Gtk2/Qt anyway. Jeeeez.

Offline

#685 2011-04-04 20:06:21

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,941
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

you can have a free metacity system if you want but gnome-themes-standards depends on gtk-engines->gtk2. i don't really see how could you live with a gtk2 system free since all applications that are not in gnome desktop uses it.

for example epiphany is gtk3/ and because of that, it can't use flashplugin or gnash so you are out of luck, firefox and all the other webkit browser uses gtk2


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.

Offline

#686 2011-04-04 22:59:54

korpenkraxar
Member
Registered: 2006-04-02
Posts: 123

Re: gnome unstable repository

This thread is running looooong now so I may have missed if someone posted this before.

I seem to have something weird going on with gnome-terminal (running 64-bit). It always launches as a very small window just showing something like 5 rows. If I resize it manually and then open a new tab or switch among tabs, it resizes back to 5 rows again.

#gnome-shell IRC channel suggests that I update GTK. Has anyone else seen this problem?

Last edited by korpenkraxar (2011-04-04 23:06:25)

Offline

#687 2011-04-04 23:10:37

tririver
Member
Registered: 2011-03-02
Posts: 49

Re: gnome unstable repository

@korpenkraxar, I had this problem sometime ago. After recent updates (perhaps GTK 3.0.8) this problem is gone. Someone else has similar experience, from the discussion above in this thread.

Offline

#688 2011-04-05 03:11:00

jemlynch
Member
Registered: 2011-04-05
Posts: 1

Re: gnome unstable repository

Wonder - I've been updating religiously and just wanted to congratulate you on an excellent job mate.

Keep up the good work smile

Offline

#689 2011-04-05 04:39:01

jolinfire
Member
From: France
Registered: 2007-12-21
Posts: 176

Re: gnome unstable repository

wonder wrote:

@jolinfire really, not report bugs like that missing schema member until you don't get all packages up to date

For this, I'm waiting on gnome-control-center 3.0 hmm

And now gnome-settings daemon is eating 90% to 99% of my CPU every little second sad

cf this screenshot : http://www.flickr.com/photos/fredbezies/5590785897/

gdm guilty here ?!

edit : the guilty is the mix of gnome-control-center 2.91.93 + gdm 3.0 + gnome-settings-daemon-3.0 neutral

A reboot fixed this "bug" hmm

I think this tuesday won't be good at all for me big_smile

Last edited by jolinfire (2011-04-05 05:10:53)

Offline

#690 2011-04-05 04:46:27

A_ch
Member
Registered: 2011-03-27
Posts: 14

Re: gnome unstable repository

A_ch wrote:

Hi,

Gnome3 with gnome-shell was running quite good on my system but unfortunately till the last update. Now, when I start in gnome-shell it loads successful but I am not able to click anywhere or open anything. So, it doesn't react. My only chance is to hit Ctrl-Alt-Bksp and uninstall gnome-shell to use Gnome3 in the fallback mode.

Which log files or information should I provide you guys, so you can take a look over it in order to help me to continue enjoying gnome-shell?
Thanks.

Just updated and I am still not able to open any of the menus in gnome-shell. Any suggestions?

Offline

#691 2011-04-05 07:25:50

zenlord
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2006-05-24
Posts: 1,220
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

Yesterday evening I decided to try 'suspend' (which I have never used, nor configured), and to my surprise the laptop suspended swiftly. Coming back out of suspend-mode was another thing: a whole lot of icons were crammed together in the upper left corner, there was no wallpaper and nothing except for the top-bar was clickable. Logging out and in again solved this.

I updated this morning and it seems we are getting near 3.0. Thanks for your hard work, Wonder!

Offline

#692 2011-04-05 07:36:24

PhuniX
Member
Registered: 2011-04-05
Posts: 5

Re: gnome unstable repository

For me, all work good.

Only Nautilus crash 5s after open it. Anyone have this problem ?

Offline

#693 2011-04-05 10:29:25

A_ch
Member
Registered: 2011-03-27
Posts: 14

Re: gnome unstable repository

Maybe I should mention that its more like a freeze of gnome-shell than not just be able to open a menu. I can just hit Ctrl-Alt-Bksp.

Offline

#694 2011-04-05 10:50:59

kane77
Member
Registered: 2011-01-28
Posts: 12

Re: gnome unstable repository

I upgraded today to 3.0.0 and when I restarted gnome it runs startup apps, but the top panel does not show up (the gnome shell is not started I guess)..

I looked into .xsession-errors and there's couple of lines:
(mutter:23514): Cogl-glx-WARNING **: ./cogl-framebuffer.c:912: Failed to create an OpenGL framebuffer

I'm using nvidia drivers 270.30-3 from extra..

Any ideas?

Last edited by kane77 (2011-04-05 11:04:52)

Offline

#695 2011-04-05 11:35:32

misc
Member
From: Bavaria, Germany
Registered: 2010-03-22
Posts: 115

Re: gnome unstable repository

Looks like poor gnome-panel-bonobo has been forgotten, it has been complaining for weeks about missing "gnome-panel=2.32.1".

Offline

#696 2011-04-05 11:51:15

flamelab
Member
From: Athens, Hellas (Greece)
Registered: 2007-12-26
Posts: 2,160

Re: gnome unstable repository

I remember bonobo being deprecated and not used in GNOME 3...

Offline

#697 2011-04-05 11:55:20

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,941
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

misc wrote:

Looks like poor gnome-panel-bonobo has been forgotten, it has been complaining for weeks about missing "gnome-panel=2.32.1".


if you look at gnome 3 wiki it says to remove gnome-panel-bonobo with pacman -Rncs gnome-panel-bonobo

there are still modules in gnome-extra which will pull gnome-panel-bonobo but those will be either dropped or recompiled without applet support


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.

Offline

#698 2011-04-05 12:46:48

Kernald
Member
From: Toulouse, France
Registered: 2011-03-13
Posts: 32

Re: gnome unstable repository

PhuniX wrote:

For me, all work good.

Only Nautilus crash 5s after open it. Anyone have this problem ?

Just upgraded to testing & gnome-unstable again. No problem to report with Nautilus. The only bug I encountered is the control center crashing when clicking on «keyboard» : GLib-GIO-ERROR **: Settings schema 'org.gnome.settings-daemon.peripherals.keyboard' does not contain a key named 'rate'

Probably an update missing ?

Anyway, thanks for the very good job, both Gnome Team and packagers here smile

Offline

#699 2011-04-05 13:12:08

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,941
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

i forgot to update gnome-control-center big_smile


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.

Offline

#700 2011-04-05 14:09:37

PhuniX
Member
Registered: 2011-04-05
Posts: 5

Re: gnome unstable repository

Kernald wrote:
PhuniX wrote:

For me, all work good.

Only Nautilus crash 5s after open it. Anyone have this problem ?

Just upgraded to testing & gnome-unstable again. No problem to report with Nautilus. The only bug I encountered is the control center crashing when clicking on «keyboard» : GLib-GIO-ERROR **: Settings schema 'org.gnome.settings-daemon.peripherals.keyboard' does not contain a key named 'rate'

Probably an update missing ?

Anyway, thanks for the very good job, both Gnome Team and packagers here smile


No, I have update this morning, and I have always this problem. When It crash , I think XORG crash too. GDM restart and i must reloggin.

I don't know why ?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB