You are not logged in.

#51 2009-10-09 14:00:28

jarryson
Member
Registered: 2007-02-18
Posts: 298

Re: Plymouth is working! How to have a great splash in your box

baze wrote:

i use networkmanager-git at the moment, which fails when i shut down the machine. somehow that causes plymouth to take really long to get over it when shutting down.
has anyone else experienced anything similar?

actually i have to press ESC a couple of times to exit plymouth or else the machine won't shut down at all!

i think you should try to modify the /etc/rc.d/networkmanager.

Offline

#52 2009-10-09 16:47:13

baze
Member
Registered: 2005-10-30
Posts: 393

Re: Plymouth is working! How to have a great splash in your box

jarryson wrote:
baze wrote:

i use networkmanager-git at the moment, which fails when i shut down the machine. somehow that causes plymouth to take really long to get over it when shutting down.
has anyone else experienced anything similar?

actually i have to press ESC a couple of times to exit plymouth or else the machine won't shut down at all!

i think you should try to modify the /etc/rc.d/networkmanager.

yes, i thought so too, but everything looks sane for the stop routine. when i stop the daemon manually, plymouth shuts down fine. weird. need to investigate that. however, plymouth shouldn't be affected that badly by a daemon failing to stop, imho. if i don't use plymouth, the system shuts down fine although the daemon fails to stop cleanly.

btw, avahi-daemon causes the same behaviour. if either one of them is running, plymouth won't shut down flawlessly, causing the shutdown process to hang the machine. when i stop them both before initiating the shutdown, it works.

Last edited by baze (2009-10-09 19:31:54)

Offline

#53 2009-10-10 19:14:07

jarryson
Member
Registered: 2007-02-18
Posts: 298

Re: Plymouth is working! How to have a great splash in your box

i know that, but plymouth is not design for arch, it's a little hard to make everything perfect.

for example, if you shutdown unexpected, you will have to enter the root password and check the disk. but with plymouth enabled is not that simple to do such thing.

Offline

#54 2009-10-10 19:34:56

sHyLoCk
Member
From: /dev/null
Registered: 2009-06-19
Posts: 1,197

Re: Plymouth is working! How to have a great splash in your box

jarryson wrote:

i know that, but plymouth is not design for arch, it's a little hard to make everything perfect.

for example, if you shutdown unexpected, you will have to enter the root password and check the disk. but with plymouth enabled is not that simple to do such thing.

Can't you edit your grub menu and change it to "ro 1" removing vga line? Will that still load plymouth? :\ Just asking, since thats how I do it in splashy.

Last edited by sHyLoCk (2009-10-10 19:36:13)


~ Regards,
sHy
ArchBang: Yet another Distro for Allan to break.
Blog | GIT | Forum (。◕‿◕。)

Offline

#55 2009-10-13 21:08:46

FallenWizard
Member
From: Vienna/ Austria
Registered: 2007-12-10
Posts: 99

Re: Plymouth is working! How to have a great splash in your box

What's the easiest way to get Plymouth working with a selfmade kernel? I don't use a PKGBUILD for my 2.6.32-rc4 kernel.

Offline

#56 2009-10-13 21:10:26

FallenWizard
Member
From: Vienna/ Austria
Registered: 2007-12-10
Posts: 99

Re: Plymouth is working! How to have a great splash in your box

EDIT: please delete this post, forum error'd but the post above is still showing up.

Last edited by FallenWizard (2009-10-13 21:14:16)

Offline

#57 2009-10-16 18:05:09

franzburg
Member
Registered: 2008-12-17
Posts: 3

Re: Plymouth is working! How to have a great splash in your box

Thank you, guys! Great work. Have Plymouth working alongside Gnome-Shell, a joy to look at!

Franz

Offline

#58 2009-10-25 08:53:21

Llama
Member
From: St.-Petersburg, Russia
Registered: 2008-03-03
Posts: 1,285

Re: Plymouth is working! How to have a great splash in your box

Installed plymouth-git from AUR today. It works nice enough, just two questions:

(1) When I hit ESC, the boot messages appear partially garbled, though readable (as if some line feeds were misplaced). Intel GM965, KMS, 1280x800

(2) It says here that the boot messages get dumped into /var/log/boot.log. Apparently there's no such file on Arch; there are no boot messages anywhere else.

Last edited by Llama (2009-10-25 08:54:46)

Offline

#59 2009-10-25 14:41:52

quigybo
Member
Registered: 2009-01-15
Posts: 220

Re: Plymouth is working! How to have a great splash in your box

Hey. Just installed plymouth-git from AUR and it looks great. Couple things:

Like Llama, my boot messages also appear garbled if I hit esc during startup.

I don't see anything on shutdown. Well actually it does look different than normal, instead of displaying all messages on the left of the screen it displays them sequentially centered on the screen. Is this normal behaviour or should I see the arch logo somewhere?

Using ATI, KMS and plymouth-git 20091025.

Offline

#60 2009-11-01 11:38:04

sundown
Member
Registered: 2009-09-13
Posts: 14

Re: Plymouth is working! How to have a great splash in your box

Guys, I am not able to kill the plymouth daemon after the boot process and get to the KDM login screen at all. It's not working by adding "/bin/plymouth quit --retain-splash" in /etc/rc.local nor by removing that line and instead adding "sudo /bin/plymouth quit &" in ~/.xinitrc (then editing the sudoers according to the Plymouth wiki). Any ideas?

Offline

#61 2009-11-01 14:37:39

lukrop
Member
From: /at/vienna
Registered: 2008-01-30
Posts: 27
Website

Re: Plymouth is working! How to have a great splash in your box

sundown wrote:

Guys, I am not able to kill the plymouth daemon after the boot process and get to the KDM login screen at all. It's not working by adding "/bin/plymouth quit --retain-splash" in /etc/rc.local nor by removing that line and instead adding "sudo /bin/plymouth quit &" in ~/.xinitrc (then editing the sudoers according to the Plymouth wiki). Any ideas?

Exactly the same problem here. Using xf86-video-intel.

Offline

#62 2009-11-01 17:25:37

pointone
Wiki Admin
From: Waterloo, ON
Registered: 2008-02-21
Posts: 379

Re: Plymouth is working! How to have a great splash in your box

Same problem here with xf86-video-ati.

quigybo, what you're seeing at shutdown is indeed normal behaviour. 'Tis discussed earlier in this thread, IIRC.


M*cr*s*ft: Who needs quality when you have marketing?

Offline

#63 2009-11-01 18:53:20

sundown
Member
Registered: 2009-09-13
Posts: 14

Re: Plymouth is working! How to have a great splash in your box

I gain access to my system through the fallback kernel image. The plymouth daemon is running and if I try /bin/plymouth --quit --retain-splash or only --quit in the terminal, as root, the daemon is not stopped, rather the command just hangs and I have to break with ctrl+c. Basically the daemon can't be quit the standard way for some reason. You can only kill the process as root, I mean there is no --kill option in /bin/plymouth. Is this all of a sudden a bug, because I have built my package only today and it is the first time I'm doing this manually?

Offline

#64 2009-11-01 22:23:26

pointone
Wiki Admin
From: Waterloo, ON
Registered: 2008-02-21
Posts: 379

Re: Plymouth is working! How to have a great splash in your box

Resolved the issue by downgrading to plymouth-git 20091029 for now.


M*cr*s*ft: Who needs quality when you have marketing?

Offline

#65 2009-11-03 14:15:49

jarryson
Member
Registered: 2007-02-18
Posts: 298

Re: Plymouth is working! How to have a great splash in your box

Sorry, i update it today and meet maybe the same problem. and it wont switch to tty7 and even tty1.

i see a lot of information when remove the "quiet splash" from menu.lst.

Offline

#66 2009-11-15 05:42:47

Xisdibik
Member
Registered: 2009-10-29
Posts: 6

Re: Plymouth is working! How to have a great splash in your box

I have installed plymouth-git and done all the steps on the wiki and from the forums.     Some of the issues i'm having may be normal for the current build but it would be nice to know whats "working as it should for current build" and whats "you setup this wrong"

The bootplash loads after a bit of text, im sure some text is needed before it loads so im not too worried.
After a nice splash screen i get GDM, login things are working nicely. 

When I shutdown though, it get a spam of text before i see the TTY1 and no splash.  It does successfully shutdown though.

Last edited by Xisdibik (2009-11-15 05:43:13)

Offline

#67 2009-11-16 08:16:36

corsakh
Member
Registered: 2009-11-08
Posts: 104

Re: Plymouth is working! How to have a great splash in your box

Can someone explain in a few words what this is and how is it better than fbsplash?

Last edited by corsakh (2009-11-16 08:16:57)

Offline

#68 2009-12-02 05:13:11

Dead Code
Member
Registered: 2009-01-18
Posts: 227

Re: Plymouth is working! How to have a great splash in your box

Installed plymouth and I must say its working like a charm. Does anybody know how many themes are there?

Offline

#69 2009-12-02 16:08:28

jarryson
Member
Registered: 2007-02-18
Posts: 298

Re: Plymouth is working! How to have a great splash in your box

corsakh wrote:

Can someone explain in a few words what this is and how is it better than fbsplash?

you don't need to add any patch or recompile your kernel.

Dead Code wrote:

Installed plymouth and I must say its working like a charm. Does anybody know how many themes are there?

you can check /usr/share/plymouth/themes

Offline

#70 2009-12-02 20:52:41

Shapeshifter
Member
Registered: 2008-03-11
Posts: 217

Re: Plymouth is working! How to have a great splash in your box

does this slowdown the boot process? I guess I'm willing to sacrifice no more then half a second. I have KMS working and go straight to runlevel 5 in inittab and use startx to start my session.

Offline

#71 2009-12-03 18:14:42

jarryson
Member
Registered: 2007-02-18
Posts: 298

Re: Plymouth is working! How to have a great splash in your box

i think more or less it will slow down, but i think it is totally acceptable.

we will be appreciacte if you can make a test. ; )

Offline

#72 2009-12-03 18:46:48

denisfalqueto
Member
From: Belo Horizonte/MG/Brazil
Registered: 2006-03-24
Posts: 194

Re: Plymouth is working! How to have a great splash in your box

Shapeshifter wrote:

does this slowdown the boot process? I guess I'm willing to sacrifice no more then half a second. I have KMS working and go straight to runlevel 5 in inittab and use startx to start my session.

I use it and can't see any noticeable slowdown. In fact, is the fastest solution for graphical boot that I've seen. I've used bootsplash and splashy already.


Satisfied users don't rant, so you'll never know how many of us there are.

Offline

#73 2009-12-04 04:33:58

Dead Code
Member
Registered: 2009-01-18
Posts: 227

Re: Plymouth is working! How to have a great splash in your box

jarryson wrote:
Dead Code wrote:

Installed plymouth and I must say its working like a charm. Does anybody know how many themes are there?

you can check /usr/share/plymouth/themes

thanks, i like the fade-in theme.

I dont notice any difference in the boot time

Offline

#74 2009-12-10 18:02:16

Pl4cek
Member
Registered: 2009-12-10
Posts: 15

Re: Plymouth is working! How to have a great splash in your box

Hi, I've installed plymouth and everything works perfectly, but I wonder, is there an easy way to disable this awful progress bar(infinity theme);/ ? I've checked the PKGBUILD file, but didn't find anything useful. Any ideas?

Offline

#75 2009-12-11 16:05:52

toad
Member
From: if only I knew
Registered: 2008-12-22
Posts: 1,775
Website

Re: Plymouth is working! How to have a great splash in your box

Yep, also works a treat here. While nice enough I sorely miss at least a little window with boot messages - I just want to know what is going on...

I have also been on the lookout for a nice theme howto but haven't got further than changing the background picture. Any more info welcome smile


never trust a toad...
::Grateful ArchDonor::
::Grateful Wikipedia Donor::

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB