You are not logged in.

#1 2009-10-18 16:01:13

leprosys
Member
From: El Salvador
Registered: 2009-02-23
Posts: 75
Website

[Official] broadcom-wl thread

Links:
broadcom-wl on AUR
Broadcom Website

Hello.

I open this thread because:
* I see the driver in AUR has a good number of comments.
* To help me with the PKGBUILD if this needs to change.
* To support those with problems

I hope that those who have problems first read the wiki:
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Broadcom_BCM4312

Commands as "iwlist scan", "ifconfig", etc. typing as root user.

Please post your problems here instead of AUR comments, so everyone could find problems and workarounds if there will be any.

/me no longer maintains this package, because don't has this card

Last edited by leprosys (2010-01-20 18:08:30)

Offline

#2 2009-10-18 16:41:36

gborzi
Member
From: Sicilia
Registered: 2009-03-18
Posts: 102

Re: [Official] broadcom-wl thread

I've had very few problems with this driver. After a major kernel26 upgrade (e.g. 2.6.30 => 2.6.31) I build the package and install it, but it doesn't work, that is to say if I load wl with modprobe nothing new appears as the output of ifconfig. Even rebooting doesn't help.
But it finally works when I rebuild kernel images under /boot with mkinitcpio. So, i suppose that the wl module needs to be loaded early at boot to work. This should also explain why it works fine after minor kernel upgrades (e.g. 2.6.31.3 => 2.6.31.4) without the need to rebuild anything.


Giuseppe Borzi' - Registered Linux user #34028

Offline

#3 2009-10-18 18:43:29

benji.ijneb
Member
Registered: 2008-12-13
Posts: 84

Re: [Official] broadcom-wl thread

gborzi wrote:

I've had very few problems with this driver. After a major kernel26 upgrade (e.g. 2.6.30 => 2.6.31) I build the package and install it, but it doesn't work, that is to say if I load wl with modprobe nothing new appears as the output of ifconfig. Even rebooting doesn't help.
But it finally works when I rebuild kernel images under /boot with mkinitcpio. So, i suppose that the wl module needs to be loaded early at boot to work. This should also explain why it works fine after minor kernel upgrades (e.g. 2.6.31.3 => 2.6.31.4) without the need to rebuild anything.

i have the same issue. could you explain in more detail how you solved it, please? thanks smile

Offline

#4 2009-10-18 19:31:29

vikramr
Member
Registered: 2009-09-22
Posts: 27

Re: [Official] broadcom-wl thread

This works on my dell laptop without any issues.  I get an error when I try to do a system upgrade details captured in http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=82628

Is related to a new kernel vesion in the upgrades ? any plans to update the package ?

thanks

Offline

#5 2009-10-18 19:35:43

gborzi
Member
From: Sicilia
Registered: 2009-03-18
Posts: 102

Re: [Official] broadcom-wl thread

benji.ijneb wrote:

i have the same issue. could you explain in more detail how you solved it, please? thanks smile

After you've installed broadcom-wl, rebuild kernel images in /boot with this command

mkinitcpio -p kernel26

and reboot. Also, I have in the MODULES section of rc.conf the following modules

MODULES=(... lib80211_crypt_tkip wl ...)

which I think you already have.
Hope this helps.


Giuseppe Borzi' - Registered Linux user #34028

Offline

#6 2009-10-18 20:10:31

coolpyrofreak
Member
From: Las Vegas
Registered: 2006-03-13
Posts: 53

Re: [Official] broadcom-wl thread

The other thing that you need to do is actually rebuild the package with the PKGBUILD.  Even reinstalling it didn't work for me until I rebuilt the package against the new kernel.

Offline

#7 2009-10-19 01:10:48

leprosys
Member
From: El Salvador
Registered: 2009-02-23
Posts: 75
Website

Re: [Official] broadcom-wl thread

vikramr wrote:

This works on my dell laptop without any issues.  I get an error when I try to do a system upgrade details captured in http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=82628

Is related to a new kernel vesion in the upgrades ? any plans to update the package ?

1) Yes, you can see the dependences:
depends=('kernel26>=2.6.29' 'kernel26<2.6.32')

Maybe is a problem with yaourt or you have a older version of the package.

2) No, I don't have the problem, someone else has this problem?

coolpyrofreak wrote:

The other thing that you need to do is actually rebuild the package with the PKGBUILD.  Even reinstalling it didn't work for me until I rebuilt the package against the new kernel.

Yes:
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Bro … el_upgrade

Offline

#8 2009-10-19 18:48:32

lldmer
Member
From: Amsterdam
Registered: 2008-05-17
Posts: 119

Re: [Official] broadcom-wl thread

The only issue I have with this driver, is that most of the time it can't see channel 12 and 13, which is kind of annoying in Europe. I said *most* of the time, cause sometimes it is able to operate on those channels without any problems. I forgot to check if there is any difference in the modules that where loaded last time that happened though...

Anyone else got any experience with this?


For lack of better words: chair, never, toothbrush, really. Ohw, and fish!

Offline

#9 2009-10-23 14:48:57

potuz
Member
Registered: 2009-10-23
Posts: 7

Re: [Official] broadcom-wl thread

lldmer wrote:

The only issue I have with this driver, is that most of the time it can't see channel 12 and 13, which is kind of annoying in Europe.

From the README COMMON ISSUES/QUESTIONS:

Why aren't channels 12 & 13 supported?  The driver only supports the default
locale setting wich is ROW (Rest Of World) which does not include channels 12 or 13.

Offline

#10 2009-10-23 15:00:07

potuz
Member
Registered: 2009-10-23
Posts: 7

Re: [Official] broadcom-wl thread

Hello List I am sorry if this does not belong here, but Arch is the only place where I have seen lib80211_crypt_tkip in relation to the wl.ko module. If I were to compile a vanilla kernel from source, where can I select to compile the modules lib802_crypt_*. I can't seem to find any menu with make menuconfig. Can I just add them manually to .config?. Also, more related to this thread: is lib802_crypt_ccmp.ko needed for this module? it seems that the broadcom doesn't use it, is it using hardware encryption or something like this?

Thanks,

R.

Offline

#11 2009-10-24 00:56:28

lldmer
Member
From: Amsterdam
Registered: 2008-05-17
Posts: 119

Re: [Official] broadcom-wl thread

potuz wrote:

From the README COMMON ISSUES/QUESTIONS:

Why aren't channels 12 & 13 supported?  The driver only supports the default
locale setting wich is ROW (Rest Of World) which does not include channels 12 or 13.

Yeah, I read this as well. But I *am* able to see and connect to a channel 13 network at my work, sometimes. Yes, that confuses me too.

I'm not 100% sure this happened using the broadcom-wl driver (because I forgot to compare lsmod output). However, i did not have any other wireless drivers installed at the time.

Last edited by lldmer (2009-10-24 01:03:47)


For lack of better words: chair, never, toothbrush, really. Ohw, and fish!

Offline

#12 2009-10-24 01:02:52

lldmer
Member
From: Amsterdam
Registered: 2008-05-17
Posts: 119

Re: [Official] broadcom-wl thread

potuz wrote:

I can't seem to find any menu with make menuconfig. Can I just add them manually to .config?

You can either add them manually to the config file in the build directory (and update the md5sum in the PGBUILD), or edit the PKGBUILD so it invokes menuconfig instead of simply using the config as is. I think it should be enough to uncomment line 61, reading 'make menuconfig' to do this.

I do not know about lib80211_crypt_tkip though...


For lack of better words: chair, never, toothbrush, really. Ohw, and fish!

Offline

#13 2009-10-24 17:56:37

potuz
Member
Registered: 2009-10-23
Posts: 7

Re: [Official] broadcom-wl thread

lldmer wrote:

You can either add them manually to the config file in the build directory (and update the md5sum in the PGBUILD), or edit the PKGBUILD so it invokes menuconfig instead of simply using the config as is. I think it should be enough to uncomment line 61, reading 'make menuconfig' to do this.

Thanks for your answer, but the point was to build the modules without anything like PKGBUILD, on a linux from scratch type of system for example.

R.

Offline

#14 2009-10-29 13:01:07

fettouhi
Member
Registered: 2007-05-07
Posts: 630

Re: [Official] broadcom-wl thread

Has anyone successfully connected to a WPA2-TKIP network with a HIDDEN SSID with this driver?

Regards

André

Offline

#15 2009-11-11 15:26:58

deadshox
Member
From: Berlin, Germany
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 31

Re: [Official] broadcom-wl thread

Thx, it works with the new kernel after a rebuild the driver. smile

Offline

#16 2009-11-16 01:40:47

reed9
Member
Registered: 2008-06-12
Posts: 77

Re: [Official] broadcom-wl thread

I'm having the same issue as described in this thread: http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=65124

Also on a Dell Mini 9.

03:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g (rev 01)
        Subsystem: Broadcom Corporation Device 04b5
        Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 17
        Memory at f0200000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
        Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 3
        Capabilities: [58] Vendor Specific Information <?>
        Capabilities: [e8] MSI: Enable- Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
        Capabilities: [d0] Express Endpoint, MSI 00
        Capabilities: [100] Advanced Error Reporting
        Capabilities: [13c] Virtual Channel <?>
        Capabilities: [160] Device Serial Number db-db-08-ff-ff-6d-00-23
        Capabilities: [16c] Power Budgeting <?>
        Kernel driver in use: wl
        Kernel modules: wl, ssb

Is there still a patch or other solution for this?

EDIT: Current version of the broadcom-wl in the AUR.

Name           : broadcom-wl
Version        : 5.10.91.9.3-1
URL            : http://www.broadcom.com/support/802.11/linux_sta.php
Licenses       : MIXED/Proprietary  
Groups         : None
Provides       : None
Depends On     : kernel26>=2.6.29  kernel26<2.6.32  
Optional Deps  : None
Required By    : None
Conflicts With : None
Replaces       : None
Installed Size : 1376.00 K
Packager       : Unknown Packager
Architecture   : i686
Build Date     : Sun 15 Nov 2009 08:16:06 PM EST
Install Date   : Sun 15 Nov 2009 08:16:08 PM EST
Install Reason : Explicitly installed
Install Script : Yes
Description    : Broadcom 802.11abg Networking Drivers

And regular Arch kernel 2.6.31.6-1, 64 bit.

Last edited by reed9 (2009-11-16 02:36:00)

Offline

#17 2009-11-16 22:41:31

coolpyrofreak
Member
From: Las Vegas
Registered: 2006-03-13
Posts: 53

Re: [Official] broadcom-wl thread

@fettouhi

I have my SSID hidden and WPA2 enabled on my router at home, and the broadcom-wl driver works great.

Offline

#18 2009-11-23 14:09:10

vfork_0x00f
Member
Registered: 2006-08-28
Posts: 14

Re: [Official] broadcom-wl thread

I am unable to connect to a WPA2 network with a HIDDEN SSID using networkmanager and this driver.

Last edited by vfork_0x00f (2009-11-23 14:10:09)

Offline

#19 2009-12-04 07:36:21

gee
Member
Registered: 2006-11-29
Posts: 242

Re: [Official] broadcom-wl thread

Hello,

I installed the driver following the wiki, I am able to see it in iwconfig:

eth1      IEEE 802.11bgn  ESSID:""  Nickname:""
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.412 GHz  Access Point: Not-Associated
          Bit Rate:14 Mb/s   Tx-Power:32 dBm
          Retry min limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Power Managementmode:All packets received
          Link Quality=5/5  Signal level=0 dBm  Noise level=0 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0


but I cannot get it to find any network and I don't know where to look...

iwlist scan (as root)
lo        Interface doesn't support scanning.

eth0      Interface doesn't support scanning.

eth1      No scan results


Any idea?

Thanks

Offline

#20 2009-12-14 20:32:17

gee
Member
Registered: 2006-11-29
Posts: 242

Re: [Official] broadcom-wl thread

sad

Offline

#21 2009-12-14 20:48:10

darose
Member
Registered: 2004-04-13
Posts: 118

Re: [Official] broadcom-wl thread

Wireless switch turned off?

Offline

#22 2009-12-16 22:15:16

gee
Member
Registered: 2006-11-29
Posts: 242

Re: [Official] broadcom-wl thread

I looked for one on the pci card, but I cannot find anything.
There is a led outside and it is green, but I am not sure what it means either...
Thanks

Offline

#23 2009-12-21 07:44:02

gee
Member
Registered: 2006-11-29
Posts: 242

Re: [Official] broadcom-wl thread

still no luck sad

Offline

#24 2009-12-23 17:04:19

dimaka
Member
From: Ukraine, Bila Tserkva
Registered: 2006-11-23
Posts: 35
Website

Re: [Official] broadcom-wl thread

When it will be available for kernel 2.6.33? Or is there any other way to implement driver? I have to use 2.6.33, cause there's fixed in alsa, to work properly with dell vostro 1015... But now problem with broadcom-wl sad

Offline

#25 2009-12-29 07:10:31

Carex
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 1

Re: [Official] broadcom-wl thread

I have Lenovo S10e netbook with BCM4312 and this no scan results problem occurs randomly. Most of the time this is solved to suspending to ram for couple seconds. After this access points are visible.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB