You are not logged in.

#51 2009-12-10 19:58:19

cpuesser
Member
Registered: 2009-12-08
Posts: 4

Re: kernel 2.6.32: How to enable ATI KMS?

A new bad message, when I boot, while my Notebook ist on battery, early kms does not work.
I get only a blank screen und nothing happens.

Last edited by cpuesser (2009-12-10 19:59:57)

Offline

#52 2009-12-10 21:52:09

Tapan
Member
Registered: 2009-12-07
Posts: 9

Re: kernel 2.6.32: How to enable ATI KMS?

cpuesser wrote:

A new bad message, when I boot, while my Notebook ist on battery, early kms does not work.
I get only a blank screen und nothing happens.

My notebook boot fine on batery, when i use early KMS.

Offline

#53 2009-12-12 13:19:05

abraxas88
Member
From: Cosenza, Italy
Registered: 2009-12-12
Posts: 87

Re: kernel 2.6.32: How to enable ATI KMS?

Everything works fine, until I don't log in KDE and after a few seconds this is what happens:

[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* fence(ffff880063116d80:0x000007FC) 510ms timeout going to reset GPU
[drm] CP reset succeed (RBBM_STATUS=0x00000140)
[drm] radeon: cp idle (0x10000000)
[drm] radeon: ring at 0x0000000080000000
[drm] ring test succeeded in 0 usecs
[drm] GPU reset succeed (RBBM_STATUS=0x00000140)
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* fence(ffff880063116d80:0x000007FC) 520ms timeout
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* last signaled fence(0x000007FC)
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* fence(ffff88006323fbc0:0x000007FD) 510ms timeout going to reset GPU
[drm] CP reset succeed (RBBM_STATUS=0x00000140)
[drm] radeon: cp idle (0x10000000)
[drm] radeon: ring at 0x0000000080000000
[drm] ring test succeeded in 0 usecs
[drm] GPU reset succeed (RBBM_STATUS=0x00000140)
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* fence(ffff88006323fbc0:0x000007FD) 520ms timeout
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* last signaled fence(0x000007FD)
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* fence(ffff880063116000:0x000007FE) 510ms timeout going to reset GPU
[drm] CP reset succeed (RBBM_STATUS=0x00000140)
[drm] radeon: cp idle (0x10000000)
[drm] radeon: ring at 0x0000000080000000
[drm] ring test succeeded in 0 usecs
[drm] GPU reset succeed (RBBM_STATUS=0x00000140)
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* fence(ffff880063116000:0x000007FE) 520ms timeout
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* last signaled fence(0x000007FE)
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* fence(ffff88006323f9c0:0x00000801) 510ms timeout going to reset GPU
[drm] CP reset succeed (RBBM_STATUS=0x00000140)
[drm] radeon: cp idle (0x10000000)
[drm] radeon: ring at 0x0000000080000000
[drm:r100_ring_test] *ERROR* radeon: ring test failed (sracth(0x15E4)=0xCAFEDEAD)
[drm:r100_cp_init] *ERROR* radeon: cp isn't working (-22).
[drm:r300_gpu_reset] *ERROR* Failed to reset GPU (RBBM_STATUS=0x80010140)
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* fence(ffff88006323f9c0:0x00000801) 666ms timeout
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* last signaled fence(0x00000801)
[drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(3).
[drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Faild to schedule IB !
[drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(3).
[drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Faild to schedule IB !
[drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(3).
[drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Faild to schedule IB !
[drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(3).

Any suggestions? Video card is ATI (of course) Radeon Xpress 200M (ven 5A62)


Asus G53Jw-IX160V Intel Core i7 740M 1.73 GHz, 8 GB RAM DDR3 1333 MHz, nVidia GTX 460M 1.5 GB GDDR5. Arch Linux 64 bit, of course. wink

Offline

#54 2009-12-16 16:29:14

zodmaner
Member
Registered: 2007-07-11
Posts: 653

Re: kernel 2.6.32: How to enable ATI KMS?

Tobias have created a proper solution to this problem, which required testing by us users.

For everyone who could spare time, please visit this bug report and follow the instructions there to help test the solution out.

Last edited by zodmaner (2009-12-16 16:34:06)


Memento mori

Offline

#55 2009-12-16 18:57:34

abraxas88
Member
From: Cosenza, Italy
Registered: 2009-12-12
Posts: 87

Re: kernel 2.6.32: How to enable ATI KMS?

I'll try later and I'll post the results


Asus G53Jw-IX160V Intel Core i7 740M 1.73 GHz, 8 GB RAM DDR3 1333 MHz, nVidia GTX 460M 1.5 GB GDDR5. Arch Linux 64 bit, of course. wink

Offline

#56 2009-12-17 07:12:33

jarryson
Member
Registered: 2007-02-18
Posts: 298

Re: kernel 2.6.32: How to enable ATI KMS?

the random-initrd do work, thanks

but the graphics perfomance reduced a lot when using kernel 2.6.32. E.g i will meet a lot of pause when using opera and even using mplayer to watch a movie. which i can't quite stand. Glxgears score reduced from 1600fps(kernel 2.6.31) to 18fps, but the 2D and 3D acceleration seems all right.

my card is X700 mobility.

Offline

#57 2009-12-17 14:58:23

abraxas88
Member
From: Cosenza, Italy
Registered: 2009-12-12
Posts: 87

Re: kernel 2.6.32: How to enable ATI KMS?

No, it doesn't work sad I don't know why, that's the dmesg output

[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* fence(ffff88006458da00:0x00000865) 510ms timeout going to reset GPU
[drm:r300_ga_reset] *ERROR* VAP & CP still busy (RBBM_STATUS=0x84000140)
[drm] GA reset succeed (RBBM_STATUS=0x00000140)
[drm] radeon: cp idle (0x10000000)
[drm] radeon: ring at 0x0000000080000000
[drm:r100_ring_test] *ERROR* radeon: ring test failed (sracth(0x15E4)=0xCAFEDEAD)
[drm:r100_cp_init] *ERROR* radeon: cp isn't working (-22).
[drm] CP reset succeed (RBBM_STATUS=0x00000140)
[drm] GPU reset succeed (RBBM_STATUS=0x00000140)
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* fence(ffff88006458da00:0x00000865) 663ms timeout
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* last signaled fence(0x00000865)
[drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(11).
[drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Faild to schedule IB !
[drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(11).
[drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Faild to schedule IB !
[drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(11).
[drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Faild to schedule IB !

Asus G53Jw-IX160V Intel Core i7 740M 1.73 GHz, 8 GB RAM DDR3 1333 MHz, nVidia GTX 460M 1.5 GB GDDR5. Arch Linux 64 bit, of course. wink

Offline

#58 2009-12-17 16:03:28

zodmaner
Member
Registered: 2007-07-11
Posts: 653

Re: kernel 2.6.32: How to enable ATI KMS?

abraxas88 wrote:

No, it doesn't work sad I don't know why, that's the dmesg output

[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* fence(ffff88006458da00:0x00000865) 510ms timeout going to reset GPU
[drm:r300_ga_reset] *ERROR* VAP & CP still busy (RBBM_STATUS=0x84000140)
[drm] GA reset succeed (RBBM_STATUS=0x00000140)
[drm] radeon: cp idle (0x10000000)
[drm] radeon: ring at 0x0000000080000000
[drm:r100_ring_test] *ERROR* radeon: ring test failed (sracth(0x15E4)=0xCAFEDEAD)
[drm:r100_cp_init] *ERROR* radeon: cp isn't working (-22).
[drm] CP reset succeed (RBBM_STATUS=0x00000140)
[drm] GPU reset succeed (RBBM_STATUS=0x00000140)
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* fence(ffff88006458da00:0x00000865) 663ms timeout
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* last signaled fence(0x00000865)
[drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(11).
[drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Faild to schedule IB !
[drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(11).
[drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Faild to schedule IB !
[drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(11).
[drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Faild to schedule IB !

Did you follow the instructions in bug report properly? How do you re-create the initrd image?

I followed the instructions but instead of using "mkinitcpio -g test.img" I just went ahead and do a "mkinitcpio -p kernel26".


Memento mori

Offline

#59 2009-12-17 16:40:28

abraxas88
Member
From: Cosenza, Italy
Registered: 2009-12-12
Posts: 87

Re: kernel 2.6.32: How to enable ATI KMS?

Well, that could be an interesting alternative, I've just downgraded to 2.6.31... I'll re-upgrade to 32 and'll rebuild the image using mkinitcpio -p kernel26


Asus G53Jw-IX160V Intel Core i7 740M 1.73 GHz, 8 GB RAM DDR3 1333 MHz, nVidia GTX 460M 1.5 GB GDDR5. Arch Linux 64 bit, of course. wink

Offline

#60 2009-12-17 17:38:02

abraxas88
Member
From: Cosenza, Italy
Registered: 2009-12-12
Posts: 87

Re: kernel 2.6.32: How to enable ATI KMS?

Ok, that's what I did: I left the files posted in the bug report and I installed 2.6.32 again, so the image went built with that configuration.
Nothing new, that's the dmesg output (again):

[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* fence(ffff88006a8a5080:0x00000115) 510ms timeout going to reset GPU
[drm] RB2D reset succeed (RBBM_STATUS=0x80010140)
[drm] CP reset succeed (RBBM_STATUS=0x00000140)
[drm] radeon: cp idle (0x10000000)
[drm] radeon: ring at 0x0000000080000000
[drm] ring test succeeded in 0 usecs
[drm] GPU reset succeed (RBBM_STATUS=0x00000140)
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* fence(ffff88006a8a5080:0x00000115) 520ms timeout
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* last signaled fence(0x00000115)
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* fence(ffff88006a8a5a40:0x00000116) 510ms timeout going to reset GPU
[drm] CP reset succeed (RBBM_STATUS=0x00000140)
[drm] radeon: cp idle (0x10000000)
[drm] radeon: ring at 0x0000000080000000
[drm] ring test succeeded in 0 usecs
[drm] GPU reset succeed (RBBM_STATUS=0x00000140)
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* fence(ffff88006a8a5a40:0x00000116) 520ms timeout
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* last signaled fence(0x00000116)
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* fence(ffff88006a8a5c80:0x00000117) 510ms timeout going to reset GPU
[drm] CP reset succeed (RBBM_STATUS=0x00000140)
[drm] radeon: cp idle (0x10000000)
[drm] radeon: ring at 0x0000000080000000
[drm] ring test succeeded in 0 usecs
[drm] GPU reset succeed (RBBM_STATUS=0x00000140)
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* fence(ffff88006a8a5c80:0x00000117) 520ms timeout
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* last signaled fence(0x00000117)
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* fence(ffff88006a8a5840:0x00000118) 510ms timeout going to reset GPU
[drm] CP reset succeed (RBBM_STATUS=0x00000140)
[drm] radeon: cp idle (0x10000000)
[drm] radeon: ring at 0x0000000080000000
[drm] ring test succeeded in 0 usecs
[drm] GPU reset succeed (RBBM_STATUS=0x00000140)
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* fence(ffff88006a8a5840:0x00000118) 520ms timeout
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* last signaled fence(0x00000118)
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* fence(ffff88006a8a5800:0x00000119) 510ms timeout going to reset GPU
[drm] CP reset succeed (RBBM_STATUS=0x00000140)
[drm] radeon: cp idle (0x10000000)
[drm] radeon: ring at 0x0000000080000000
[drm] ring test succeeded in 0 usecs
[drm] GPU reset succeed (RBBM_STATUS=0x00000140)
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* fence(ffff88006a8a5800:0x00000119) 520ms timeout
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* last signaled fence(0x00000119)
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* fence(ffff88006a8a5880:0x0000011A) 510ms timeout going to reset GPU
[drm] CP reset succeed (RBBM_STATUS=0x00000140)
[drm] radeon: cp idle (0x10000000)
[drm] radeon: ring at 0x0000000080000000
[drm] ring test succeeded in 0 usecs
[drm] GPU reset succeed (RBBM_STATUS=0x00000140)
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* fence(ffff88006a8a5880:0x0000011A) 520ms timeout
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* last signaled fence(0x0000011A)
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* fence(ffff88007413d440:0x00000120) 510ms timeout going to reset GPU
[drm] CP reset succeed (RBBM_STATUS=0x00000140)
[drm] radeon: cp idle (0x10000000)
[drm] radeon: ring at 0x0000000080000000
[drm:r100_ring_test] *ERROR* radeon: ring test failed (sracth(0x15E4)=0xCAFEDEAD)
[drm:r100_cp_init] *ERROR* radeon: cp isn't working (-22).
[drm:r300_gpu_reset] *ERROR* Failed to reset GPU (RBBM_STATUS=0x80010140)
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* fence(ffff88007413d440:0x00000120) 663ms timeout
[drm:radeon_fence_wait] *ERROR* last signaled fence(0x00000120)
[drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(14).
[drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Faild to schedule IB !
[drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(14).
[drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Faild to schedule IB !
[drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(14).
[drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Faild to schedule IB !
[drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(14).
[drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Faild to schedule IB !
[drm:radeon_ib_schedule] *ERROR* radeon: couldn't schedule IB(14).
[drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Faild to schedule IB !

The strange thing is that it happens as I log in kdm, so could it maybe an Xorg error? /var/log/Xorg.0.log has not errors, though.


Asus G53Jw-IX160V Intel Core i7 740M 1.73 GHz, 8 GB RAM DDR3 1333 MHz, nVidia GTX 460M 1.5 GB GDDR5. Arch Linux 64 bit, of course. wink

Offline

#61 2009-12-17 17:53:41

jocheem67
Member
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 208

Re: kernel 2.6.32: How to enable ATI KMS?

I've got kms working ( early start ), with "firmware" in the hooks section. No "radeon", gave me a module not found-error...

System is pretty snappy now. Bit better tha before, especially 2d.

Offline

#62 2009-12-18 06:54:54

germandev
Member
Registered: 2009-11-15
Posts: 14

Re: kernel 2.6.32: How to enable ATI KMS?

Hi!

I am trying to get KMS early start to work. My graphic card is a HD 3200 and I am using the current kernel 2.6.32 from the testing repo.

I tried a lot of workarounds because I got that "firmware load - 1 minute delay" problem. After Tobias' solution everything seemed to work. X and kdm start but after trying to login I get the following messages in the error log:

Dec 17 10:20:40 myhost kernel: [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Invalid command stream !
Dec 17 10:20:41 myhost kdm[4397]: X server for display :0 terminated unexpectedly
Dec 17 10:20:41 myhost kernel: [drm:drm_mode_getfb] *ERROR* invalid framebuffer id
Dec 17 10:20:49 myhost kernel: [drm:r600_cs_packet_next_reloc_mm] *ERROR* No packet3 for relocation for packet at 47.
Dec 17 10:20:49 myhost kernel: [drm:r600_packet3_check] *ERROR* bad SET_CONTEXT_REG 0x28014
Dec 17 10:20:49 myhost kernel: [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Invalid command stream !
Dec 17 10:20:49 myhost kdm[4397]: X server for display :0 terminated unexpectedly
Dec 17 10:20:49 myhost kernel: [drm:drm_mode_getfb] *ERROR* invalid framebuffer id

It's quite annyoing because I have to use Windows atm instead wink

Do you have any idea what the problem might be?

Thank you in advance!

Offline

#63 2009-12-18 07:32:20

ConnorBehan
Trusted User (TU)
From: Long Island NY
Registered: 2007-07-05
Posts: 1,356
Website

Re: kernel 2.6.32: How to enable ATI KMS?

tomk wrote:

you don't need radeon in the MODULES line, if that's what you mean, You do need radeon in the HOOKS line, as detailed above. I don't know what you mean by "it's already built-in".

Really? I do not have radeon or firmware anywhere in my mkinitcpio.conf. All I do is load radeon from the MODULES array in rc.conf and according the dmesg, it finds the R300_cp.bin perfectly. A framebuffer device is created before I start X (which radeon only does when KMS is working) and Xorg.0.log shows the following:

cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep KMS
(II) [KMS] Kernel modesetting enabled.
(II) RADEON(0): KMS Color Tiling: disabled

Is the "early" start somehow critical to getting *good* radeon KMS performance? Because right now my framerate is horrible.


6EA3 F3F3 B908 2632 A9CB E931 D53A 0445 B47A 0DAB
Great things come in tar.xz packages.

Offline

#64 2009-12-18 08:20:52

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,838

Re: kernel 2.6.32: How to enable ATI KMS?

ConnorBehan - I was referring to the original workaround for the early-start method i.e. before the fix suggested in the bug report. Loading from rc.conf is the late-start method. There should be no appreciable difference in performance between the two.

Offline

#65 2009-12-18 17:12:59

linuxgod
Member
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 50

Re: kernel 2.6.32: How to enable ATI KMS?

still doesn't work

Offline

#66 2009-12-18 21:10:31

rusty99
Member
Registered: 2009-03-18
Posts: 253

Re: kernel 2.6.32: How to enable ATI KMS?

linuxgod wrote:

still doesn't work

What doesn't? You don't mention anywhere on this page what you've tried or were going to try next, a bit more info would be helpful pal.

Offline

#67 2009-12-20 16:01:44

germandev
Member
Registered: 2009-11-15
Posts: 14

Re: kernel 2.6.32: How to enable ATI KMS?

doesn't anyone have any idea what my problem might be?

Offline

#68 2009-12-22 16:06:28

hungerfish
Member
Registered: 2009-09-13
Posts: 242

Re: kernel 2.6.32: How to enable ATI KMS?

Ok, I have found a new problem... sad

On a second machine,using stock 2.6.32 kernel from arch, BOTH the 'original' workaround (radeon hook) and the fix from the bug report result in a segfault during loading the radeon module.
I found this:
http://www.mail-archive.com/dri-devel@l … 45422.html
which is what I am getting. This is obviously an old agp-machine ... using 'nomodeset' option resolves the segfault, but also disables kms hmm


Beetles and bacteria are vastly more successful than humans in terms of survival.

Offline

#69 2009-12-28 16:14:04

linuxgod
Member
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 50

Re: kernel 2.6.32: How to enable ATI KMS?

Wont Work Until You Buy Intel Or Nvidia

Offline

#70 2009-12-28 16:44:28

TemplarGR
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2009-12-16
Posts: 55

Re: kernel 2.6.32: How to enable ATI KMS?

linuxgod wrote:

Wont Work Until You Buy Intel Or Nvidia

Well it is only a matter of time until opensource ati drivers surpass in quality even nvidia's drivers. But i shouldn't answer to you since you are obviously a troll...

Offline

#71 2009-12-28 17:31:28

R00KIE
Forum Moderator
From: Between a computer and a chair
Registered: 2008-09-14
Posts: 3,215

Re: kernel 2.6.32: How to enable ATI KMS?

Ati KMS isn't working for me at all now with a Mobility Radeon HD 2400 [1002:94c9] (with kernel 2.6.32.2-2), by this I mean early or late KMS (kernel 2.6.32.1 seemed to work fine though). It just not ready for prime time yet I guess.

TemplarGR wrote:
linuxgod wrote:

Wont Work Until You Buy Intel Or Nvidia

Well it is only a matter of time until opensource ati drivers surpass in quality even nvidia's drivers. But i shouldn't answer to you since you are obviously a troll...

I guess you are right, either troll or a very happy costumer .... until it suddenly stops working with no good cause that is tongue


R00KIE
Tm90aGluZyB0byBzZWUgaGVyZSwgbW92ZSBhbG9uZy4K

Offline

#72 2009-12-28 18:38:20

linuxgod
Member
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 50

Re: kernel 2.6.32: How to enable ATI KMS?

yo man, Im da happiest customer having ati chips in the world!!
im so happy to have chips that do not work at all, oh yeah!
3D dont work, oh yeah!
And even Propriatire drivers dont work (even with old kernel and old Xserver), oh yeah!
And Im so happy, COZ im ATI MEGAPATRIOT!!
love ati - be da happy fool

Offline

#73 2009-12-28 19:40:19

hungerfish
Member
Registered: 2009-09-13
Posts: 242

Re: kernel 2.6.32: How to enable ATI KMS?

So is there anyone out there with agp getting segfaults with ati-kms?


Beetles and bacteria are vastly more successful than humans in terms of survival.

Offline

#74 2009-12-28 20:40:25

wantilles
Member
From: Athens - Greece
Registered: 2007-03-29
Posts: 327

Re: kernel 2.6.32: How to enable ATI KMS?

TemplarGR wrote:
linuxgod wrote:

Wont Work Until You Buy Intel Or Nvidia

Well it is only a matter of time until opensource ati drivers surpass in quality even nvidia's drivers.

Really?

I just broke the back of my chair from the uncontrollable laughter.

Because I have been running Linux since May 2004 (5.5 years).

And I have been hearing the same argument since then.

But with no results, no improvement, until now.

The man is right.

If you want to do anything else than gaming, and run any OS except Windows, your only option is nVidia (or Intel). Not ATi.

Last edited by wantilles (2009-12-28 20:40:56)

Offline

#75 2009-12-29 22:02:48

TemplarGR
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2009-12-16
Posts: 55

Re: kernel 2.6.32: How to enable ATI KMS?

wantilles wrote:
TemplarGR wrote:
linuxgod wrote:

Wont Work Until You Buy Intel Or Nvidia

Well it is only a matter of time until opensource ati drivers surpass in quality even nvidia's drivers.

Really?

I just broke the back of my chair from the uncontrollable laughter.

Because I have been running Linux since May 2004 (5.5 years).

And I have been hearing the same argument since then.

But with no results, no improvement, until now.

The man is right.

If you want to do anything else than gaming, and run any OS except Windows, your only option is nVidia (or Intel). Not ATi.

Just because in the past support was poor doesn't mean it will always be this way. Ati open source drivers are quickly maturing.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB